Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

cstkl1
post May 13 2007, 06:49 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ May 13 2007, 06:46 PM)
The last time I heard about 8800 Ultra, it will be very expensive (of course), and it should be very rare and limited. I guess its not that rare after all. Most of board partners have their version of 8800 ultra and some of them come with different flavors.
its is limited
as far as i know leadtek taiwan dont have anymore..kekeke
xfx retailers are limiting one car per customer
so is evga and bfg.

sniper69
post May 13 2007, 07:00 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 13 2007, 05:52 PM)
member named floppy
i gave the link above for this post with 320mb slied...
also the dude is a admin for vrzone forum  blink.gif
erk... floppy is a guy tongue.gif...

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 13 2007, 06:26 PM)

Added on May 13, 2007, 6:28 pm

on sale already dude..
just wondering

a lot of ppl said oh i wait for this and that and will get it..
next story most probably be wait till the price drop to be competitive...

so wonderin how come nobody benching this card after all the hoo haa about getting this card.

second. the price is reasonable for the current performance offered by 8800gts 640.
er... 8800GTX and 8800 Ultra, the differences? core/shader clock? memory clock, it is same core right, for all i know, it's like 8600GT and 8600GTS, same class, tweaked a bit... icon_idea.gif
cstkl1
post May 13 2007, 07:13 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ May 13 2007, 07:00 PM)
erk... floppy is a guy tongue.gif...
er... 8800GTX and 8800 Ultra, the differences? core/shader clock? memory clock, it is same core right, for all i know, it's like 8600GT and 8600GTS, same class, tweaked a bit... icon_idea.gif
shader clock is the big difference
u cant achieve that shader clock with core clocks of a gtx
second 0.8ns GDDr3 vs 1.1ns GDDr3.
third the GPu itself.. its technically not the same as its a different revision since nvidia claimed that a more enchance manufactoring process of some silicon thingy they can achieve better clocks... which is very true
612 core clock of ultra gives u 1500 shader
626 core clock of gtx gives u 1450 shader
the gap widens
650 core clock of gtx gives u 1500 shader
648 core clock of ultra gives u 1600 shader.
675 core clock of ultra gives u 1678 shader
700 core clock of ultra gives u 1728 shader
so u can forget the gtx ever reaching this without some serious water cooling...which u might as well buy a ultra..kekeke
i dont consider the mem bandwidth as performance difference so just ignore that.
so far ppl have been comparing a OCed gtx to a 8800 ultra..

nobody going to complain with the xfx 8800 ultra xxx edition..kekek
to give u an example of shader clocks ure going to need 700 core to even come close to it..

i am just hoping to run mine at 648 to get 1600 shader clock..20percent gain about comparad to 8800gtx.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: May 13 2007, 07:17 PM
ggoo
post May 13 2007, 07:49 PM

483 posts

hey.. i'm planning to buy a 8600GT.. theres few brands i found that are up to my budget..

MSI 8600GT
GIGABYTE 8600GT
COLORFUL 8600GT
LEADTEK WINFAST 8600GT
PALIT/XPERT V 8600GT

this 5 cards.. are about 450-rm 550..which card is better among these brands?? or is there any better cards that fit my budget??
amd_hardcore
post May 13 2007, 07:57 PM

Pening
848 posts

i will choose MSI 8600GT.....

raist86
post May 13 2007, 08:07 PM

1,577 posts

cstkl1, have you found a way to check the shader clock?

Read that it increases with core clock speed.. Any way to verify it and calculate how much exactly it increases?
cstkl1
post May 13 2007, 08:19 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ May 13 2007, 08:07 PM)

Read that it increases with core clock speed.. Any way to verify it and calculate how much exactly it increases?
yes sniper posted it
two ways so far
one is using riva tuner
second on my vista run the everest sidebar gadget...

my 8800gts now running at 575/1700 ... shader at 1350...kekek compared to stock at 1200... around 5-10 percent boost.

sniper69
post May 13 2007, 08:28 PM

7,173 posts

ok, i use RivaTuner Final Release 2.01 (downloadable at Guru3D.Com), here's a little test i ran to find about the shader clock vs core clock thing, everytime i increase the core clock, the shader will increase too by 3%~5%, here's the simple way tongue.gif

stock clock 702MHz on GPU, 1458MHz on Shader
735MHz @ 1512MHz
770MHz @ 1620MHz
800MHz @ 1674MHz

- copy/paste from previous thread tongue.gif
cstkl1
post May 13 2007, 08:30 PM

6,799 posts

dude just try it
run riva tuner
load the statistics window
then overclock ure core
and see how much it increase.

i cant vouch for all 8800gts to be the same.
zhen^wei
post May 13 2007, 09:31 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(ggoo @ May 13 2007, 07:49 PM)
hey.. i'm planning to buy a 8600GT.. theres few brands i found that are up to my budget..

MSI                      8600GT
GIGABYTE            8600GT
COLORFUL            8600GT
LEADTEK WINFAST 8600GT
PALIT/XPERT V      8600GT

this 5 cards.. are about 450-rm 550..which card is better among these brands?? or is there any better cards that fit my budget??
storm88 selling his new colorful 8600gts at RM680. try get it..
raist86
post May 13 2007, 09:56 PM

1,577 posts

okie, running my 8800gts stable at 675mhz core and 1050mhz memory. Riva tuner monitor shows an increase from 1200mhz shader to 1400mhz. smile.gif

can't do bench now cos using crappy proc.

Btw, what i mean by stable is no warning sound from atitool "scan for artifact".
LExus65
post May 13 2007, 10:09 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wander if those Ultra A03 core ever make it into mainstream GTS and GTX ..... if it does it good news for a lot of ppl........
angelic-x
post May 13 2007, 10:24 PM

Not a member
644 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ May 13 2007, 09:31 PM)
storm88 selling his new colorful 8600gts at RM680. try get it..
new colorful 8600GTS now selling at rm699 if not mistaken.. it from PC Zone.

sniper69
post May 13 2007, 10:51 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(angelic-x @ May 13 2007, 10:24 PM)
new colorful 8600GTS now selling at rm699 if not mistaken.. it from PC Zone.
duh, it's just RM19... besides, it's considered new, even me myself will let go at close to new price biggrin.gif
cstkl1
post May 13 2007, 11:06 PM

6,799 posts

http://r800.blogspot.com/2007/05/3dmark06-...-vs-2900xt.html

oced x2900xt beat 8800ultra stocked
bata
post May 13 2007, 11:42 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 13 2007, 11:06 PM)
hehe...for real?
....unknown VGA....sweat.gif

Chow.
luthansa
post May 14 2007, 12:06 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 13 2007, 05:18 PM)
ok hmm trying to find floppy benchies last time with 8800gts 320mb slied.

X6800 2.93 stock with 8800gts 320mb slied...
12672... geeee

my guess.. round one to x2900xt...
My 8800 GTS 320MB SLI
3dMark06 - 13325

Intel C2D E6420 @ 3.12GHz
cstkl1
post May 14 2007, 12:18 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(luthansa @ May 14 2007, 12:06 AM)
My 8800 GTS 320MB SLI
3dMark06 - 13325

Intel C2D E6420 @ 3.12GHz
always wonder which fella in malaysia will do this.. pump it higher bro.

but actually in real world performance the the difference is not too much the xt vs gts
Phoenixwunin
post May 14 2007, 12:21 AM

841 posts

wow... you guys really crazy arr... OC up up until like that... scary larr for me who never dare oc my PC...

Maybe I'll try some oc when my new rig finish.. hopefully it won't blow away on the first try sweat.gif
ggoo
post May 14 2007, 12:32 AM

483 posts

hey... 8500GT 512 mb or 8600GT 256 mb is more better??

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:36 AM