Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

ltw82
post May 17 2007, 04:58 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(sanzo86 @ May 16 2007, 10:37 PM)
should i go for 8500GT or 7600GS?
i was like u before, hunting for 8500gt or 7600gs...
tongue.gif
end up buying 8600gt...
7600gs will perform better frame rates in games, while 8500gt perform better in HD-movies+wide screens...

QUOTE(ccm @ May 17 2007, 09:47 AM)
8600gt running everything default on lostplanetdx10

driver version 158.18
snow: 24 cave: 31
8600gt is a very good midrange card, can run almost all games i have on max setting with 1680*1050 res.. oblivion, stalker, cnc3, dark mersiah, dawn of magic, gothics3.. smile.gif) vote for this card;))
tht's nice... then i can play new games now... lost planet...
dattebayo
post May 17 2007, 05:12 PM

5,366 posts

huuhuu... wonder will lost planet cook up a 2900XT if everything was on max rolleyes.gif
my 8600gt rise up instantly to 63C in just a minute or so, unlike most other game, it consume the max of the GC as soon as the menu loaded sweat.gif
on everything default (on 1280*720) , its very playable even on 86gt, but with 4xAA on, I no eye to see shakehead.gif

from this observation, DX10 games can be assumed to be very 'HOT'

RevolutionWorks
post May 17 2007, 05:19 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ May 17 2007, 03:56 PM)
btw........HALO.....its bloody overated.played the game a few years back. wasn't impressed at all. i rather waste my time playing MAFIA. now that is a game begging for a sequel!
yup agree with you. Play Halo port to PC, doesn't feel special at all. And MAFIA is great game, If only there is sequel for it..... drool.gif
LExus65
post May 17 2007, 05:29 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah lost planet so terrible meh the requirement................
mych8660
post May 17 2007, 07:45 PM

15 posts

how is 8600GT compare to 7800GT 256 DDR3 ?
TSHyde`fK
post May 17 2007, 07:49 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 17 2007, 05:29 PM)
wah lost planet so terrible meh the requirement................
Don't feel bad. The demo's coding might be poorly written, like what happened to DOOM 3 last time.
Phoenixwunin
post May 17 2007, 08:22 PM

841 posts

yeah.. it is strange enuf to see how 88Ultra got chooked running the demo... sweat.gif

It can't be the requirement... else no hope for 8600 series and below to ever enjoy the game..
arc_archive
post May 17 2007, 09:13 PM

386 posts

what most of u think running DX10 graphic card with ageia physix...is there any perfomance boost worth to mention??i myself eyeing for this card but after reading those review, its nothing more than another tonne load 2 ur gpu n cpu.had anyone ever testing the card while playing n benchmarking??
stevenlee
post May 17 2007, 09:20 PM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

guy what do u think bout my system temparature...

noon time...
room temparature around 40C
due to my room direct sunlight and all door and windows is close..

GC temp 85c
system temp 56c <- after install 8800gts temp increase 10c
cpu temp 44c
pwm temp 56c

what is your guy opinion...i already palce order to for evercool fox 1 and fox 3 to blow the air in from front and blow the air in from bottom of gc..

waht u guy opinion..?

This post has been edited by stevenlee: May 17 2007, 09:21 PM
Phoenixwunin
post May 17 2007, 09:23 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ May 17 2007, 09:13 PM)
what most of u think running DX10 graphic card with ageia physix...is there any perfomance boost worth to mention??i myself eyeing for this card but after reading those review, its nothing more than another tonne load 2 ur gpu n cpu.had anyone ever testing the card while playing n benchmarking??
I don't think Ageia Physix card is well worth it (unless you got the money.. lots of it to spend)

Correct me if I'm wrong.. but I thought the game supporting this card is limited right??

obefiend
post May 17 2007, 09:56 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 17 2007, 09:23 PM)
I don't think Ageia Physix card is well worth it (unless you got the money.. lots of it to spend)

Correct me if I'm wrong.. but I thought the game supporting this card is limited right??
is a gimmick card to me. when they first luanch the card multi core processor is not out yet. these days any pc with quaad core can do all the physics processing. i dont think a few more paricle spark and blowing crates will make a game better.. dont really if the chap i'm shooting at really got blown away realistically. killing is killing........LOL
Zicron
post May 17 2007, 09:58 PM

Come to the Dark Side
899 posts

Not to mention even the 8800 already have physics funtion

NVIDIA Quantum Effects Technology:
Advanced shader processors architected for physics computation enable a new level of physics effects to be simulated and rendered on the GPU - all while freeing the CPU to run the game engine and AI.

Phoenixwunin
post May 17 2007, 10:05 PM

841 posts

Well guys... I have some question that has been wandering inside my head for quite some time...

The 8800GTS has two version... 320MB and 640MB.

What did this additional memory on 640MB does actually?? Did it increase the fps?? Because a few times I stumbled with some graphs from 3dguru showing the 640MB version performing lesser than its 320MB brother...

All this time I'm thinking the higher the memory.. the better the fps. But it seems now that is only a myth in my mind sweat.gif

Can someone clear this up for me??
obefiend
post May 17 2007, 10:14 PM

863 posts

as far as i know more memory means better texture quality........more buffer.. that's all.......

sorry if i'm wrong.......
dattebayo
post May 17 2007, 10:37 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 17 2007, 10:05 PM)
Well guys... I have some question that has been wandering inside my head for quite some time...

The 8800GTS has two version... 320MB and 640MB.

What did this additional memory on 640MB does actually?? Did it increase the fps?? Because a few times I stumbled with some graphs from 3dguru showing the 640MB version performing lesser than its 320MB brother...

All this time I'm thinking the higher the memory.. the better the fps. But it seems now that is only a myth in my mind sweat.gif

Can someone clear this up for me??
more memory will unleash its performance when u re gaming in ultra high resolution, eg. more than 1600*1200
cstkl1
post May 18 2007, 12:19 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ May 17 2007, 09:13 PM)
QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 17 2007, 09:23 PM)
QUOTE(obefiend @ May 17 2007, 09:56 PM)
is a gimmick card to me. when they first luanch the card multi core processor is not out yet. these days any pc with quaad core can do all the physics processing. i dont think a few more paricle spark and blowing crates will make a game better.. dont really if the chap i'm shooting at really got blown away realistically. killing is killing........LOL
Lets see some rebutal..
first so few games supports quad core and thats mainly to supreme commander..
hurray for 3-5fps more... lets rejoice at the extra two cores... so the multi core rubbish on physx ended there.
second it does work and its better than what gpu can offer right now.

i recommend ageia physx only for ppl who has more FPS in their games that needed.
all benches whos that with physx u have lower fps. theory on it is because ure cpu bound and i think this condition will exist for quite some time. therefore u need a lot of fps to spare like 20 fps less for physx.

my case i have too much gpu power and proc with high clocks (aiming at 3.73) so physx no probs for now...

obefiend
post May 18 2007, 02:04 AM

863 posts

the only game that i know who uses AGEIA are

GRAW 1 an 2
Cellfactor <-- nok even ouk yek..
viqq
post May 18 2007, 03:12 AM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

hey guys just wondering...do i need a vista certified or compliant motherboard to run a 8-series card?
TSHyde`fK
post May 18 2007, 03:18 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ May 18 2007, 03:12 AM)
hey guys just wondering...do i need a vista certified or compliant motherboard to run a 8-series card?
No you don't have to. Any board with PCI-E slot will run the card.
arc_archive
post May 18 2007, 06:36 AM

386 posts

actually im gonna pair it up wif my 2x 8800gts 320mb...n maybe oc up my proc e6600 to the max..is it enough huh??
care 2 tell the difference between using and not using ageia physix @cstkl1 while doing benchie??is it a big leap wif ur current setup??

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:54 PM