Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

kmarc
post Jun 23 2007, 01:38 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 23 2007, 12:02 AM)
Imo, it wont make much difference for those who selling off their gc to get an upgrade, if u peeps know what i meant wink.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 23 2007, 12:54 AM)
To be exact, I meant "depreciation"... in price  sweat.gif

For example, if u have 5900XT and wanna sell off coz u wanna get 6600GT (or any card in that matter). But u heard 6600GT its price-drop in a weeks time. If u waited for that few weeks time, but at the same time, ur 5900XT selling value will be depreciate.

(Ooo.. next mth cheaper by rm100, at the same time.. dam.. my old card had to sell less (depreciate) rm100... sumthin like tat tongue.gif).

Unless, u not selling yer 3Dcard for the next coming card, which ppl shld wait for the price drop. Errmmz... i hope u understand.. my "england" not guud  blush.gif  tongue.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif
Ya, I know what you mean.

What I meant was to get the 8800GTS as a temporary card while waiting for the 9000 series....... Of course it would mean spending more money!!! sweat.gif
akachester
post Jun 23 2007, 03:09 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 22 2007, 08:00 PM)
Yea same here, its a dam ez decision when i saw MSI pre-oc and comes with the best game of the year!.. biggrin.gif

Totally 'anti-climax' to me.. lol

Cheers smile.gif
Well, to be honest, having the game or not doesnt really bother me. Just whether the card performs or not is important to me in the first place.
rockmaniac85
post Jun 23 2007, 04:29 AM

453 posts

Well guys, would like to know, for Nvidia 8800gts, which driver is the best?

currently im using 158.22, which seems to be the official driver in www.nvidia.com

apart from that, there's beta drivers as well.

Is there any significant difference in performance when we use beta drivers or sorts? anyone can clarify? which driver is the best in performance for now?

skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jun 23 2007, 08:57 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 22 2007, 11:37 PM)
NVidia 9series this coming year end OMG!! doh.gif source
interesting...now i can hope 4 the GTS price 2 drop further to 700 perhaps n then sell off my new x1950pro laugh.gif rclxms.gif
LExus65
post Jun 23 2007, 10:47 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah 9 series coming already, hopefully smaller die and better memory can reduce heat and power consumption..........
nicholas_1213
post Jun 23 2007, 12:13 PM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 23 2007, 12:54 AM)
To be exact, I meant "depreciation"... in price  sweat.gif

For example, if u have 5900XT and wanna sell off coz u wanna get 6600GT (or any card in that matter). But u heard 6600GT its price-drop in a weeks time. If u waited for that few weeks time, but at the same time, ur 5900XT selling value will be depreciate.

(Ooo.. next mth cheaper by rm100, at the same time.. dam.. my old card had to sell less (depreciate) rm100... sumthin like tat tongue.gif).

Unless, u not selling yer 3Dcard for the next coming card, which ppl shld wait for the price drop. Errmmz... i hope u understand.. my "england" not guud  blush.gif  tongue.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif
Oh totally understood nod.gif hehe just like what i'd explained in 7series forum.. totally agree with you.. the amount that will be paying for upgrade will still be the same because at that time the price for new card drops, the selling value of our old card drops as well smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 23 2007, 03:12 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Yea, it doesnt really affect those who selling their card to get an upgrade wink.gif

Btw, the 9series cards, if its coming out, imo Nvidia wont be releasing that fast considering theres basically no threat from their competitors yet.

And yea, abt lower power consumptions.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 23 2007, 03:13 PM
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jun 23 2007, 11:13 PM

13,340 posts

mabe the nvidia wanna distance themselves even further from ati brows.gif which is even more beneficial 4 us 2 afford 8800 series card at even cheaper price rclxms.gif

akachester
post Jun 24 2007, 02:25 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

By that time, people would feel that the 8series is a generation behind and start focusing on the 9series. Comments like, gosh, the 9600GT (for example) does not perform well etc etc..Besides that, more questions of whether i should get the DX10.1 (IIRC) or not will come out as well..For me, get whatever you could afford now, enjoy every last bit of it..It would still be some time before 9series would be here...
dattebayo
post Jun 24 2007, 02:30 AM

5,366 posts

Geforce 9 series would be the first batch to use DX10.1 and WDDM 3.0 rite?
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 03:15 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

w00t!.. finally gotten my MSI 8800GTS 320MB OC EDITION!!! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

And best of all it comes with 'Company Of Heroes'!.. thumbup.gif

Juz installed it few hrs ago, runs great and i gotta say its really quiet too, abt the same noise level as my 7600GT.

So far played RainbowSixVegas which runs great at 1680x1050res!!.. was playing at 1280x800res on my 7600GT, even that res oso laggish sweat.gif

And i benchmarked using COH, and i gotten
avg 73.1fps
max 137fps
min 32.9fps

and best of all it rated "GREAT" status... sweet gaming here i come! biggrin.gif

Btw, first time using the latest drivers for 8series.. i noticed kinda different, like the part when i click to see GPU temperature, and it asked me to download nTune.

I gotta say nTune pretty big filesize comparing other 3Dcards utility softwares.

And heres the idle temp. readings i gotten from nTune :-
CPU: 36'C and GPU: 59'C
Good temp.?

Cheers icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2007, 03:19 AM
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 24 2007, 03:20 AM

841 posts

Congratz for your great buy mr. Tomatoman rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 24 2007, 02:30 AM)
Geforce 9 series would be the first batch to use DX10.1 and WDDM 3.0 rite?
Wa... Dx10 games isn't out yet and there's already talk about DX10.1 blink.gif

Very fast meh...
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 03:37 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Phoenixwunin : Thx man! biggrin.gif

Btw, if u peeps wanna test stress yer card use this demo :-
http://www.daionet.gr.jp/~masa/rthdribl/#Download

This demo was out few years oredi, if not mistaken.

Im sure u peeps seen this demo before rite?... supposed to be the first HDR demo at that time too.. lol

Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2007, 03:38 AM
mADmAN
post Jun 24 2007, 03:52 AM

10,530 posts

congrats bro....

what are the clocks u running? and what are the stock clocks?

and most important question... 3dmark05 score?? biggrin.gif
zeustronic
post Jun 24 2007, 05:27 AM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Jun 23 2007, 09:57 AM)
interesting...now i can hope 4 the GTS price 2 drop further to 700 perhaps n then sell off my new x1950pro laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
Bro.. Good news again the price is about drop or is already droping??? Source

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Jun 24 2007, 05:30 AM
ben3003
post Jun 24 2007, 08:09 AM

10,859 posts

wow... if drop again i feel tempted to buy 8800gts le.. See ur benchie i cannot tahan oleidi.
arc_archive
post Jun 24 2007, 08:34 AM

386 posts

ya ya..tell us the stock clock of ur GTS...is it more than mine??

finally a words bout 9 series...hoping no delay...
nicholas_1213
post Jun 24 2007, 09:39 AM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

this waiting game will never end, while waiting to get the 8series, 9series will be released pula.. and it'll always be like this.. sad.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jun 24 2007, 09:42 AM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jun 24 2007, 05:27 AM)
Bro.. Good news again the price is about drop or is already droping??? Source
great stuff...from 899 bux the 1st time its release until 599 bux is great 300 bux drop rclxms.gif so that would b rm1.9k estimated 4 the card rclxms.gif
akachester
post Jun 24 2007, 10:05 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 24 2007, 03:15 AM)
w00t!.. finally gotten my MSI 8800GTS 320MB OC EDITION!!!  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif

And best of all it comes with 'Company Of Heroes'!..  thumbup.gif

Juz installed it few hrs ago, runs great and i gotta say its really quiet too, abt the same noise level as my 7600GT.

So far played RainbowSixVegas which runs great at 1680x1050res!!.. was playing at 1280x800res on my 7600GT, even that res oso laggish  sweat.gif

And i benchmarked using COH, and i gotten
avg 73.1fps
max 137fps
min 32.9fps

and best of all it rated "GREAT" status... sweet gaming here i come! biggrin.gif

Btw, first time using the latest drivers for 8series.. i noticed kinda different, like the part when i click to see GPU temperature, and it asked me to download nTune.

I gotta say nTune pretty big filesize comparing other 3Dcards utility softwares.

And heres the idle temp. readings i gotten from nTune :-
CPU: 36'C and GPU: 59'C
Good temp.?

Cheers  icon_idea.gif
You got a good deal there. How much you got it anyway?

For the COH, what setting you used cause i am getting average only on my com. Worried that it might be either my card or processor..

For the idling temp, i am getting roughly the same. around 58 - 61c most of the time. enjoy the card...

125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:59 PM