And btw, whats yer temperature on the fanspeed u set on?...
Cheers
This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 20 2007, 04:45 PM
Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2
Jun 20 2007, 04:38 PM
1,898 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: N.S.A |
akachester : can MSI 8800GTS-OC adjust fanspeed?... i heard some cards can't.. izzit true?..
And btw, whats yer temperature on the fanspeed u set on?... Cheers This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 20 2007, 04:45 PM |
Jun 20 2007, 04:43 PM
7,689 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: The Land of No Return |
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 20 2007, 04:38 PM) akachester : can MSI 8800GTS-OC adjust fanspeed?... i heard some cards can't.. izzit true?.. Bear in mind, i have asked many people regarding this (not directly from shops though) that MSI 8800GTS in Malaysia are NOT bundled together with COH Btw, thats the thing abt BFG or EVGA cards.. its more ex, yet doesnt bundled any games... i wonder its expensive becoz its a U.S company or wut.. I meant for example MSI looks better value/deal to me, its pre-oc and has Company of Heroes Collectors Edition bundled, which the game itself oredi cost at least rm100bucks, no?.. Cheers Anyway, i have not adjusted the fan speed as of yet because the temperature is reasonable with me (around 58 - 60c on idle). Maybe i will test it out tonight and let you know about it ok... The thing about the more expensive price for those brand are because they are hardly available here. People who are bulking in here needed to take into consideration as well about shipping and their own profit. Therefore, it accumulates to be more expensive than those obtained by local distributor.. Besides, their great warranty is also a plus point if you are eager to get them. I was also shocked to see that XFX 8800GTS is going for as low as RM1k in Singapore as well.. |
Jun 20 2007, 04:44 PM
2,378 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri,Sarawak,Malaysia Status: Dead! |
QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 20 2007, 04:38 PM) He did. Thats why i am saying that the temperature for k8118k, even with Asus known for slightly hotter, to be more than 10c than what it suppose to be was surprising.. My bad, I overlooked it. With the temp he's getting, I think its normal as my eVGA as well without adjusting the fan speed get those temp as well and only if his fan speed is also set to auto.QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 20 2007, 04:38 PM) akachester : can MSI 8800GTS-OC adjust fanspeed?... i heard some cards can't.. izzit true?.. Since all 8800 are nVIDIA reference's, all card's fan should be able to be adjusted.Btw, thats the thing abt BFG or EVGA cards.. its more ex, yet doesnt bundled any games... i wonder its expensive becoz its a U.S company or wut.. I meant for example MSI looks better value/deal to me, its pre-oc and has Company of Heroes Collectors Edition bundled, which the game itself oredi cost at least rm100bucks, no?.. Cheers |
Jun 20 2007, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 20 2007, 04:43 PM) Bear in mind, i have asked many people regarding this (not directly from shops though) that MSI 8800GTS in Malaysia are NOT bundled together with COH Aikz!.. u replied too fast!.. i juz chged my post 2mins ago nia.. lol, and dam abt it doesnt comes with COH... =_=", pretty anti-climax to me there... Anyway, i have not adjusted the fan speed as of yet because the temperature is reasonable with me (around 58 - 60c on idle). Maybe i will test it out tonight and let you know about it ok... The thing about the more expensive price for those brand are because they are hardly available here. People who are bulking in here needed to take into consideration as well about shipping and their own profit. Therefore, it accumulates to be more expensive than those obtained by local distributor.. Besides, their great warranty is also a plus point if you are eager to get them. I was also shocked to see that XFX 8800GTS is going for as low as RM1k in Singapore as well.. I see, thx for yer quick replies anywayz.. lol Hyde`fK :Aight, thx for the info Wasted s[H]sIkuA doesnt do COD... Cheers This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 20 2007, 04:56 PM |
Jun 20 2007, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 20 2007, 04:51 PM) Aikz!.. u replied too fast!.. i juz chged my post 2mins ago nia.. lol, and dam abt it doesnt comes with COH... =_=", pretty anti-climax to me there... LOL..I didnt know that as well. Just bumped into your post and clicked reply..LOL...I see, thx for yer quick replies anywayz.. lol Hyde`fK :Aight, thx for the info Cheers Anyway, hope the information helps. You getting the MSI 8800GTS? |
Jun 20 2007, 05:11 PM
akachester: Im kinda between MSI 8800GTS-OC and Winfast 8800GTS..
Coz my fren can get it at the same price for either MSI or Winfast I think im more towards to MSI due its pre-oc and Winfast has "meh" bundles.. but i do confess... i do like its "Transform'ish" heatsinkfan... heh By the think of it, i never actually owned/have any MSI products before.. so far all my gfx cards are from Winfast Leadtek since Geforce2 era to Geforce7 era... heh So, thinking of trying MSI this time Cheers |
Jun 20 2007, 05:12 PM
14,576 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 20 2007, 04:43 PM) The thing about the more expensive price for those brand are because they are hardly available here. People who are bulking in here needed to take into consideration as well about shipping and their own profit. Therefore, it accumulates to be more expensive than those obtained by local distributor.. Besides, their great warranty is also a plus point if you are eager to get them. I was also shocked to see that XFX 8800GTS is going for as low as RM1k in Singapore as well.. And those from local distributors are limited warranty? |
Jun 20 2007, 05:29 PM
645 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 20 2007, 05:12 PM) So does that mean that if we buy from bulk that gets the products from overseas, the warranty is lifetime? asian warranty is different compare to western countryAnd those from local distributors are limited warranty? xfx, evga, bfg all got nice warranty i got my xfx 86 from bata, lolx... nice to kick this card around while waiting next gen card awake... lolx... have fun!! mainstream card with double lifetime warranty quite abit |
Jun 20 2007, 06:35 PM
386 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Luo Yang |
even my fan running at 70%, still the temp insist to go lower than 70C...but when both gc shoot out to 70%, it does annoy u...the sound damn noisy...
bfg offer double lifetime warranty...that whats written on the box...dunno is it apply to asian country like us... |
Jun 20 2007, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 20 2007, 05:11 PM) akachester: Im kinda between MSI 8800GTS-OC and Winfast 8800GTS.. To be honest with you, i am not so much a fan of MSI either. Dont really like it due to some problems i had with their mobo last time during the my P4 platform days..Anyway, when the time comes, i did not think much and grab hold of this card due to the good price i get..Coz my fren can get it at the same price for either MSI or Winfast I think im more towards to MSI due its pre-oc and Winfast has "meh" bundles.. but i do confess... i do like its "Transform'ish" heatsinkfan... heh By the think of it, i never actually owned/have any MSI products before.. so far all my gfx cards are from Winfast Leadtek since Geforce2 era to Geforce7 era... heh So, thinking of trying MSI this time Cheers Besides, these cards are basically the same due to the fact they are all on reference board. The OCed version i had is a plus point to me. Well, i dont really have any particular brand in mind when i was searching for the 8800GTS. All i wanted was it to be in a cheap price. I dont like the "tranformish" HSF of the Winfast, so better dont ask me..LOL... If i were you, i would take MSI anytime due to the fact that it is preOCed. You wont need to performing OCing on your own and it performs well. At least in my side though.. QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 20 2007, 05:12 PM) So does that mean that if we buy from bulk that gets the products from overseas, the warranty is lifetime? Well, i am not sure about the overseas version before but i had enquire quite a number of bulkers here and most of the products are obtained in Asian Region. In this case, XFX's double lifetime warranty are only applicable in US Region while in Asia, its only a *2 years warranty (not sure how long)...And those from local distributors are limited warranty? So, better enquire with some of them first before purchasing a product... |
Jun 20 2007, 09:52 PM
1,021 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Penang Island, Alor Star |
i realized that my nvidia ntune doesn't load my OC speed everytime i startup windows .. anybody facing this problem?
or should i change my OC utility to something else? i'm using nvdia whql 158.22 driver for my 8500GE This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Jun 20 2007, 09:53 PM |
Jun 20 2007, 10:21 PM
2,061 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Jabaronie to Astaka Status: のあ..? |
use rivatuner instead..
Jun 20 2007, 10:59 PM
2,605 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: A Place Between Heaven & Hell |
QUOTE(arc_archive @ Jun 20 2007, 07:35 PM) even my fan running at 70%, still the temp insist to go lower than 70C...but when both gc shoot out to 70%, it does annoy u...the sound damn noisy... lolz... Let the fan be noisy, still better silent pipe cooler... My fren got Gigabyte 8600GT silent cool load @ 79C playing game hang or bluescreen, he suspect graphic overheat... anyone encounter tiz problem???bfg offer double lifetime warranty...that whats written on the box...dunno is it apply to asian country like us... |
Jun 20 2007, 11:17 PM
1,995 posts Joined: May 2005 |
i'm using asus, my idle at 63 also, load around 68 ~ 70 only.......fan also 60% all time, i think the main problem is that the clock speed is slightly higher then stock.....the fan is actually slower too....
now trying to get a big fan to blast it see whether it goes down or not, i found that the underneed is indeed very very hot, if a heat sink is there would help a lot |
Jun 21 2007, 12:04 AM
514 posts Joined: May 2005 |
hello there =)
galaxy 8800 gts 320mb idle 65-70 playing games 76-78 and the nvidia control panel, i cant set the fan speed..... |
Jun 21 2007, 03:56 AM
QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jun 20 2007, 09:52 PM) i realized that my nvidia ntune doesn't load my OC speed everytime i startup windows .. anybody facing this problem? u need to save the adjustment u made and apply the option for startup load ur configuration. better, use riva tuner.or should i change my OC utility to something else? i'm using nvdia whql 158.22 driver for my 8500GE QUOTE(jonjon87 @ Jun 21 2007, 12:04 AM) hello there =) try googling or go to guru3d and download rivatuner..galaxy 8800 gts 320mb idle 65-70 playing games 76-78 and the nvidia control panel, i cant set the fan speed..... |
Jun 21 2007, 07:18 AM
3,158 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: -Butterworth, Penang- |
QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jun 20 2007, 11:17 PM) i'm using asus, my idle at 63 also, load around 68 ~ 70 only.......fan also 60% all time, i think the main problem is that the clock speed is slightly higher then stock.....the fan is actually slower too.... last time mine also very hot due to as lots of hot air trap inside my casing.. thus making my cpu ambient temperature around 50+ now trying to get a big fan to blast it see whether it goes down or not, i found that the underneed is indeed very very hot, if a heat sink is there would help a lot i put 2 blower evercool fox 1 and fox 3 whihc has high speed fan to blow out the hot air...now my case ambient temparature around 30 which exactly the same of room temperature... this will help lower down every part temperature as the air inside is not that hot anymore... even u have fan blow direct under the gfx, i still feel that ur fan is blowing hot air inside casing on to it..thus i dun think it help more... |
Jun 21 2007, 09:12 AM
ya thats when using stacker, the alignation of ur fan does help a lot..if u put 4 fans suck in the cool air from outside, but none blow it out...it will be hot like hell!
ya, i already thinking on getting a blower but when do sli ing, not much space left coz being occupied by gc and sound card. |
Jun 21 2007, 09:50 AM
2,810 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bangsar |
QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Jun 19 2007, 04:15 PM) Im thinking getting MSI NX8800GTS 320MB OC-EDITION My pny 8800gts 640mb had the default fan speed set at 100% and I can say my aircond sound is more noticeable than the graphic card fan spinning sound.Juz wondering, how loud are those GTS?... izzit loud?... coz my casing pretty near to me.. akachester : how much u bought yers?.. Cheers |
Jun 21 2007, 10:01 AM
1,995 posts Joined: May 2005 |
thx for advice, stevenlee, stacker do have some advantage on this.....there a lot of place for ventilation, extra intake would just force the hot air out at the other side or top.........
the air in my casing is not hot, around ambient only like 30.......... only problem is the air filter works too well........ all the fan air flow is mess up and cut down like 60%, u should take notice of that Arc........that why i need additional fans to direct the air flow to place where i want...... i have try to put fan blowing straight on the card itself, helps quite a lot manage to cut it down to around 58.......i i believe it can go lower..... have no time to experiment with another configuration yet....... btw mine cpu and mobo all on passive cooling, so the mobo area only relies on casing exhaust for ventilation, |
| Change to: | 0.0172sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:26 PM |