Boycott Thundermatch Level 4, Sales Manager himself telan promo units

TSromen
post May 13 2007, 12:41 PM, updated 19y ago

1,278 posts

Edit: It would seem I have mistaken Yew Hoong, he is the Sales Manager instead. Mr.Shahrul Nizam (Branch Manager) has posted in the Kopitiam Thread instead. I have called up Thundermatch Office, and left my phone number.

I will be waiting for his call.

Helo everyone,

today I share my worse ever experience in being a consumer. Thundermatch cheated a bunch of us buyers in falsely advertising the number of promo units on sale per day!

ThunderMatch (Lowyat) opened a new branch on the 4th floor on Sat, 12th May.

The Exclusive Offers means each person is only entitled to purchase 1 unit. Runs from 11/05/07 till 13/05/07
the offers were:
Dopod: Discount of RM888 off the retail price. (Limited to 8 units PER day)
Samsung: 732N 17" LCD RM399; retail price RM540+ (Limited to 10 units PER day)

Today, I went to queue up at Thundermatch @ 530am in the morning. I was with my Sis n her bf; we were interested in 2 units of the Samsung LCD. When I arrived, there were already 19 people queuing up! After a few quick questions with them, I got a breakdown that 8 ppl are taking Dopods, 3 are taking laptops, and another 8 taking LCD.
This left me with the exact last two spots! thumbup.gif

So I set up my laptop, and waited patiently for ThunderMatch to open @ 11am

At 1030am, the Sales Manager (Yew Hoong) steps out with the coupons, and proceeds to distribute according to the Exclusive Offers each customer wants. The first few fellas take their Dopod coupons. Around the 5th person, a commotion broke out.

It seems this 17year-old girl (who was with her elder sister) wanted to get the Dopod coupon. They were in the fifth position. Unfortunately, the Sales Manager refused, saying on 18 and above. He gave her the LCD coupon instead. The two girls who were queuing from 3am started asking why is there a 18yr-old limit? Branch Manager couldnt answer, instead he says, "Company Rules!". The girls questioned, then why I can buy the LCD instead? He lost his cool and shouted, "DO YOU WANT THE COUPON OR NOT?!"

The girls retorted, that they been queuing up since 3am! And why this silly rule?! Sales Manager replies, "Who ask you queue up so early?!"

He then gave them the LCD coupon, and walked onto the next customer.

Somewhere towards the 9th customer, a commotion broke out again!!
This time, the guy who wants the Dopod (he should get it, since the girl in front missed it anyway), but instead the Sales Manager tells him, "Finished already"
He complains saying "You say 8 coupon, but now not even 7 yet!"
Sales Manager replied "Do you want the LCD Coupon or not?!" with a raised voice.

Sales manager decides to ignore him whilst the poor buyer continues to argue with the other staff.

Then come the 14th customer, a shouting match starts rclxub.gif
"LCD Finished!!", shouts the Sales Manager
But heck, only 6 coupons issued!! Where are the other 4?!

I joined in at this moment, because me and the last 6 buyers couldnt get a unit! Everyone was damn pissed as we calculated the number of units exactly!! Now suddenly some coupons are missing?!
Now at this point, the Sales Manager takes a "stoned" composure. He gives u blank look, and refuses to answer questions.

All of us buyers were fuming! Only the 4-5 dopod buyers got wat they wanted. Those who couldnt get the dopod, took the LCD coupon, depriving us who wanted the LCD in the first place!!!

Points to Think About
1. A SALES MANAGER can abuse his authority for personal gain?
2. A SALES MANAGER can go around shouting at customers?!
3. How do you justify your customer's time who queued for 6-9 hours for your promo, only to realise that they dont have those items?!

This is really angers me! You could imagine the commotion with 15+ customers hurdling around the Sales Manager and his staff. His attitude and response to us was totally unfit! If you cannot provide that number of units, then dont advertise!!

Thundermatch, please buck up and improve.

Regards,
Adrian Lo

This post has been edited by romen: May 14 2007, 03:29 PM
TSromen
post May 13 2007, 01:15 PM

1,278 posts

the main reason y im so sick of this is because the BRANCH MANAGER should be the 1 controlling the coupons / promo sale, to prevent any abuse

but it seems he himself is abusing it instead

Now if we cant trust the head of the Branch, would you even want to bring your business there?
a point to ponder..
TSromen
post May 13 2007, 09:51 PM

1,278 posts

Christopher_LKL:
True true, but i really didnt expect something so blatant. Come on, wanna give to cronies, find other methods la..

ccy1989:
yeah, i left immediately; disgusted and angry!

eric84cool:
I wont be pursuing this to external authorities as no purchase / sales was made by me. Instead, I just aim to create awareness amongst buyers and the Senior Management of Thundermatch.

gmail:
Eh, the two girls who had problems buying, were they your cousins?

Thunderbolt:
yes very true. Carry your position in a befitting manner.

TSromen
post May 14 2007, 03:39 PM

1,278 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ May 13 2007, 10:15 PM)
nope they r not my cousin.

btw, how did u guys manage 2 go in lyp by 3am??  hmm.gif
Lowyat does not pull the shutters at night. Instead they have guards stationed at the front entrance + lift. They are already well-aware why we were there at such hours, and let us go up to Thundermatch's outlet.

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ May 14 2007, 02:54 AM)
wah..queue so early in the morning..then how ppl go to the loo?? if u leave your spot then the otehr guy sure take the spot..
or are they kind enough to reserve it for you
The people who were real early (first 18, to get the 8 dopod + 10 LCD), came in groups. Everyone was pretty well prepared with drinks, games and reading material
Toilets were open, so if they went, they still have frens to hold the queue
Frankly im very proud to say that no one tried to cut queues at the first 18. Everyone was pretty happy and relaxed, until the Sales Manager says they were out of coupons!

QUOTE(chrono-storm @ May 14 2007, 11:54 AM)
this trread from c zone staff.....my friend form tmatch already told me...this c zone staff already buy form tmatch....but it was consider as cheating.....no wonder la he get scolded......1more thing.....he came on 8.....not 3 oclock....becoz pak gat low yat stays guarding in the building......and will take ppl name even ppl in the shop....hove andrian lo can prove himself right first before blaming others....and for yew hong, hes not branch manager.....he is in tmatch managent....correction please....
I cant really understand you, but on Sunday, the first person to arrive was @ 230am, whilst I was the LCD buyer, who arrived @ 530am

Btw, here's an update for everyone
I just got off the phone with Mr.Shahrul Nizam
1. He very quickly explained that the dopod buyers may be repeat buyers, therefore depriving other potential buyers. He will check with the CCTV.
2. The issue of 17 years old cannot buy was actually more due to the girl being unable to provide her IC.
3. He himself is unaware that possibly 4 units (or more) of LCD coupons went missing on Sunday.

They will have a meeting at 5pm. He promised to contact me again after he is done with their internal meeting.

My questions are such:
1. If they bother to check IC, why didnt they record it to stop repeat buyers?
2. Why do you want some1 to present their IC, if you dont record it? You want to verify the person is malaysian?? Jeez, there were a group of 3 Indian nationals queuing behind me to buy laptops. Will they be turned away?
3. Y is the control of coupons so poorly done? Do they not understand that it's (RM888 x 8) + (RM150 x 10)?? Yeah that's RM8604!! Times it with 3 days, u get a whopping RM25812!! Enough for a new Viva or Saga sleep.gif"

We havnt even started talking about the shouting match between the Sales Manager and the customers. Trust me, red faces aplenty should they show out the CCTV footage at their 5pm meeting.

TSromen
post May 15 2007, 12:08 PM

1,278 posts

QUOTE(SirMaximus @ May 15 2007, 12:40 AM)
Personally, I don't think this thread is from Czone staff. Though I'm not sure who Adrian Lo is, I guess he must be the guy sitting in front of the handphone shop watching 'Heroes' on his laptop. And right behind him in the queue were 3 Indian guys playing cards. There were another 3 or 4 ppl playing cards on the handphone counter. To be frank, I was there at 6am. Got in via the carpark lift without bumping into any security guards. When I saw the queue, I left immediately with my bro. Damn! These guys beat me to it. Might as well go home and get some rest.
Yes, I agree. Not all of them are that bad. However, I'd like to comment the Sales Manager once again. I was there on the first day of promotion. Friday to be exact. Went there with a few of my friends. Could not get the LCD coupon so I bought the HP printer for RM199. When it came to my turn, I asked the Sales Manager what Star Buy(RM1) items are left. He ignored me TWICE. I needed to asked as I was at the back of line and wasn't sure what item had depleted. In the end, I settled for the mouse which I saw behind him. Next in line was my friend. SHE asked him the same question. However got a better treatment than what I had to endure. He spoke nicely to her and pointed out at the remaining items. I'm still wondering how can a person with this kind of attitude and mentality be promoted to a Sales Manager. If this is an example of the higher management at Thundermatch, they'll surely lose their customers in years to come. Unless appropriate actions are taken to cool down the heated flames within us consumers, this incident is sure to leave them a scar for life.
Just sharing my experience.
hello! Ah, great to meet some1 who was there at the same time too
Yes, i was the 1 with the laptop; dammit everything was screwed up from day 1.

They have great ideas, intentions and promos for their launching. But poor execution and 2 bad apples spoilt everything. Sorry to say that Thundermatch.

Added on May 15, 2007, 12:12 pm
QUOTE(storm88 @ May 15 2007, 11:21 AM)
actually hor, i suspect the guy is from Tmatch itself
i had never know any ADRIAN in Czone...

But, TS u were in CX-XOM b4 rite?
I've never worked at Lowyat before, although I used to frequent the place a lot during my college days..

Yes, It would seem some of the customers queuing up were indeed staff from another tenant in lowyat.
But to me, it should not be an issue as they are coming as customers, not as the tenant themselves, buying and then reselling at their own shop.
Anyhow, I cannot comment from the business rivalry point of view. This is beyond the scope of this thread.

This post has been edited by romen: May 15 2007, 12:12 PM
TSromen
post May 15 2007, 08:18 PM

1,278 posts

Yes, Yew Hoong is the Sales Manager

Average height, fair, no specs, a bit on the "soft" side if you know what i mean smile.gif
Ask around, a Sales Manager doesnt hide behind counters or storerooms..

0.0184sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:22 AM