Choosing Brand of CF Card, So many brands , all diff. prices

TSgavind87
post May 13 2007, 12:23 PM, updated 19y ago

Wings over Asia
1,147 posts

I intend to buy a CF card

But I'm not sure which to invest in .

I acquired a Transcend 2GB 133x but died out after 3 months and it was a very unstable CF card

Currently happy with SanDisk but it is a little steep as far as the price goes

How bout apacer , kingston and the rest ?
clemong_888
post May 13 2007, 12:25 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

go sandisk, go lexar.

maybe kingston?
TSgavind87
post May 13 2007, 12:27 PM

Wings over Asia
1,147 posts

Was thinking of Apacer
Apacer Photo Steno Pro III 1GB CompactFlash CF 150X cost RM95 @ Shashinki

Using D70 btw
R a D ! c 4 L
post May 13 2007, 12:49 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

Sandisk or lexar as clemong suggested. smile.gif pricey? yes! quality yes!
xandman
post May 13 2007, 01:03 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

sandisk!
most camera have been tested to work well with sandisk...and also the reliability is unrivalled...

scorgio
post May 13 2007, 01:05 PM

4,695 posts

i'm using 1 kingston, 1 imation & 1 transcend.
all performed well & up to expectation.
neoardi
post May 13 2007, 01:12 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

I'm using Kingston 1GB for more than 2 years now and still kicking. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by neoardi: May 13 2007, 01:12 PM
ac98
post May 13 2007, 06:11 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

For me it's Sandisk or Kingston saja ... I recommend Lexar also smile.gif
TSgavind87
post May 13 2007, 08:15 PM

Wings over Asia
1,147 posts

Nobody using Apacer?

neoro_blitz
post May 13 2007, 09:07 PM

492 posts

Sandisk Ultra 2 smile.gif Never failed me so far smile.gif

Lexars are on the high-end range imho.. same goes for the Ultra 3s for Sandisk
User61
post May 14 2007, 07:30 PM

218 posts

Sandisk, Extreme III. Mainly because it's not that much different in price from Ultra 2. In Singapore, it's about 5-7 dollars different between Ultra II and Extreme III. Only SGD70 for 2GB. Lifetime warranty.
ac98
post May 14 2007, 09:28 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Most newbies to advance amateurs are using mostly 3-5 frames per second DSLRs, models like the Extreme III and Extreme IV is an overkill and a waste of money for cameras less than 5fps unless you're bursting a full 5fps and shooting RAW format, that would kill YOU first after the photo session when you have dozens of RAW files to transfer and edit! laugh.gif

I jammed a standard Sandisk 512MB once and I am damn afraid, I managed to jam my Kingston Elite Pro 1GB once. Time to get a Ultra II or Extreme III when I have the money unsure.gif
aero99
post May 15 2007, 10:32 AM

581 posts

got myself a sandisk ultra 2 2GB CF ... din hav much prob so far...somemroe life time warranty (altho it is limited ) tongue.gif
g88
post May 15 2007, 11:06 AM

1,631 posts

Kingstone Elite Pro thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by g88: May 15 2007, 11:08 AM
iamyuanwu
post Jun 2 2007, 03:24 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(gavind87 @ May 13 2007, 12:23 PM)
[...] I acquired a Transcend 2GB 133x but died out after 3 months and it was a very unstable CF card. [...]
What happened to the Transcend? I thought it should be pretty well made and could last reasonably long.
You'd probably need to format the card if it is corrupted.

Anyway, I would recommend Sandisk UltraII. It's very reliable, as long as you treat it right. As for being a little pricier, I'd rather have peace of mind rather than worrying about the card all the time.
myjunk
post Jun 2 2007, 09:20 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ May 14 2007, 09:28 PM)
I jammed a standard Sandisk 512MB once and I am damn afraid, I managed to jam my Kingston Elite Pro 1GB once.
how does it get Jam? The thing will lock up or something??

My KitLens came with a normal Kingston 1GB(Normal speed). I'm happy with it as it can do continuous shooting no prob like 30 frames (got internal buffer mah) This is with L settings on the 400D but not RAW format lah..

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 2 2007, 03:24 AM)
What happened to the Transcend?
Yeah.. what happened to it? No claim warranty? So much money ah you??
kelvinyam
post Jun 3 2007, 09:04 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

There are many Taiwan made memory cards on sale on the forum. A 2GB SD at 150x is available as low as RM75. Has anyone come across any problem using those memory cards?
Pls feedback with real experience, not assumption. Thanks.
Vint
post Jun 4 2007, 01:19 PM

ºI'm ♫♪♫♪♫♪..
1,492 posts

sandisk/....
julchin_09
post Jun 4 2007, 03:37 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Just got a Kingston Ultimate 133X 2GB CF for RM110. So far shooting at 5fps Raw or JPEG is fine......
groucho
post Jun 4 2007, 04:33 PM

120 posts

the local malay "pendrive" ones are very cheap, and reliable with good warranty
i have a sandisk ultra III 4GB which is great, but kinda expensive for what it is smile.gif

0.0185sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:27 PM