I'm looking for hardware that can support 100 wifi user. Currently I'm using Unifi 100Mbps with router Asus RT-AC3200 but the connection is not stable. In 1 or 2 hours will disconnect once or connected but cant access internet
Tech Support [WTA] Ubiquiti or Mikrotik?
Apr 11 2018, 04:21 PM, updated 8y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
12 posts Joined: Jan 2017 From: Selangor |
Hi members,
I'm looking for hardware that can support 100 wifi user. Currently I'm using Unifi 100Mbps with router Asus RT-AC3200 but the connection is not stable. In 1 or 2 hours will disconnect once or connected but cant access internet Thanks |
Apr 11 2018, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(Mr.Ayam @ Apr 11 2018, 04:28 PM) Go with Ruckus Many thanks for the suggestion! 100 users https://www.ruckuswireless.com/products/acc...oor/ruckus-r310 500 users https://www.ruckuswireless.com/products/acc...oor/ruckus-r510 |
Apr 11 2018, 05:28 PM
3,821 posts Joined: May 2016 |
yes go for Ruckus for cost effective solution
If Aruba is too expensive to maintain with volume 100 users |
Apr 11 2018, 06:30 PM
Apr 11 2018, 06:58 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
322 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(azmanshah89 @ Apr 11 2018, 04:21 PM) Hi members, There are a couple of settings under the Wireless-Professional tab that you can disable to improve performance. Example Airtime Fairness, Roaming Assistant etc.I'm looking for hardware that can support 100 wifi user. Currently I'm using Unifi 100Mbps with router Asus RT-AC3200 but the connection is not stable. In 1 or 2 hours will disconnect once or connected but cant access internet Thanks The other issue is the RT-AC3200 (not the GT-AC5300) has the older Broadcom 5GHz chip and a slower processor than the GT-AC5300 or RT-AC86U. You may consider adding another one or more AP from Ubiquiti or Mikrotik and let these AP handle the 100 connected clients, which obviously the AC5300 cannot handle. ASUS had not published the max client for AC5300 and guess its probably 30 to 50, or so clients. |
Apr 11 2018, 07:05 PM
5,714 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Tagging bro soonwai for his expert opinion regarding Mikrotik.
Apr 11 2018, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(XPS @ Apr 11 2018, 06:58 PM) There are a couple of settings under the Wireless-Professional tab that you can disable to improve performance. Example Airtime Fairness, Roaming Assistant etc. I turned off both already.The other issue is the RT-AC3200 (not the GT-AC5300) has the older Broadcom 5GHz chip and a slower processor than the GT-AC5300 or RT-AC86U. You may consider adding another one or more AP from Ubiquiti or Mikrotik and let these AP handle the 100 connected clients, which obviously the AC5300 cannot handle. ASUS had not published the max client for AC5300 and guess its probably 30 to 50, or so clients. Do you suggest I change the ASUS router or add new AP? Which is prior? |
Apr 11 2018, 07:19 PM
If the ASUS works fine, then adding one or two AP will be sufficient. The enterprise AP are not that expensive and will support a lot of users each. With 100 concurrent clients, probably get 2 AP, to load balance and also to offer redundancy. Prices are couple hundred each.
You can still keep AiProtection, VPN client and VPN server etc from ASUS. |
Apr 11 2018, 08:00 PM
Apr 11 2018, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(azmanshah89 @ Apr 11 2018, 04:21 PM) Hi members, in your case, do you have Wifi Controller?I'm looking for hardware that can support 100 wifi user. Currently I'm using Unifi 100Mbps with router Asus RT-AC3200 but the connection is not stable. In 1 or 2 hours will disconnect once or connected but cant access internet Thanks |
Apr 11 2018, 08:55 PM
133 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
I like ubiquity because of the impressive user interface and visibility of network, you can get whatever info you need and easily manage all devices. It also can create guest network easily with one time password and captive portal, you can put company logo on it and looks professional. Limited IT knowledge people also can manage it but do get someone who experience when you first time set it up. Create Vlans for guest and mobile devices that not required local lan resources and only allow those devices connect to internet.
While, it is not the cheapest option, mikrotik also quite good. They have some technical peoples here that can provide you good suggestions and advices. |
Apr 11 2018, 09:48 PM
1,026 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
100 wifi users , I would suggest to use 4 to 5 access points + 1 router. ubiquity network is easy to setup
Apr 12 2018, 02:40 AM
QUOTE(XPS @ Apr 11 2018, 07:19 PM) If the ASUS works fine, then adding one or two AP will be sufficient. The enterprise AP are not that expensive and will support a lot of users each. With 100 concurrent clients, probably get 2 AP, to load balance and also to offer redundancy. Prices are couple hundred each. The ASUS router works fine, but I dont know what caused the internet cut off in few minutes every 1-2 hours. However its still connected You can still keep AiProtection, VPN client and VPN server etc from ASUS. |
Apr 12 2018, 02:41 AM
Apr 12 2018, 02:44 AM
QUOTE(KKTECHHUB @ Apr 11 2018, 08:55 PM) I like ubiquity because of the impressive user interface and visibility of network, you can get whatever info you need and easily manage all devices. It also can create guest network easily with one time password and captive portal, you can put company logo on it and looks professional. Limited IT knowledge people also can manage it but do get someone who experience when you first time set it up. Create Vlans for guest and mobile devices that not required local lan resources and only allow those devices connect to internet. Thanks for your suggestion While, it is not the cheapest option, mikrotik also quite good. They have some technical peoples here that can provide you good suggestions and advices. |
Apr 12 2018, 02:45 AM
Apr 12 2018, 09:51 AM
Apr 12 2018, 09:53 AM
Apr 12 2018, 10:18 AM
83 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
try ping few hours from asus to internet using command prompt
i'd recommended you xcaim, subsidiary of ruckus, aiming entry-level enterprise market personally juz dun like brand ubiquity |
May 6 2018, 04:41 PM
1,139 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
I'll vote ubiquiti hands down!
UAP AC HD able to handle 500+ but use the ubiquiti USG Pro 4, and their POE switch as well |
May 7 2018, 11:15 PM
1,781 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
actually for router i suggest mikrotik, for wifi ubiquiti. The reason is that mikrotik is a far better router and ubiquiti calls their fanbase fanatical alongside with other dodgy things in their company politics (shareholder stuff).
May 8 2018, 09:41 PM
1,139 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(System Error Message @ May 7 2018, 11:15 PM) actually for router i suggest mikrotik, for wifi ubiquiti. The reason is that mikrotik is a far better router and ubiquiti calls their fanbase fanatical alongside with other dodgy things in their company politics (shareholder stuff). Agree of Mikrotik Router, but advance configuration also very not so user friendly |
May 8 2018, 10:22 PM
reading the needs, ASUS routers are actually good, but you have to update the firmware, the best way to test is to connect via wifi AC and ping the wifi router itself. Currently even my asus routers are giving me issues on wifi and the best ping i get is 2ms, with the tplink given by tm, i get 1ms or less on wifi.
If you have the tp link given by tm, use that for wifi and use mikrotik as your router, you will get the best experience this way. Otherwise consider getting mikrotik for wifi as for mikrotik, as long as you have sufficient ram and CPU, it wont matter how many users you have whereas with ubiquiti can be buggy for many numbers of users depending on model though. |
May 8 2018, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(System Error Message @ May 8 2018, 10:22 PM) reading the needs, ASUS routers are actually good, but you have to update the firmware, the best way to test is to connect via wifi AC and ping the wifi router itself. Currently even my asus routers are giving me issues on wifi and the best ping i get is 2ms, with the tplink given by tm, i get 1ms or less on wifi. You are probably right about Mikrotik however ubiquiti is ranked equal. IF you want to get serious enterprise stuff, thousands of clients, VOIP, hardened security, realtime transactions routing, fault tolerant etc neither are in that ballpark, not even close.If you have the tp link given by tm, use that for wifi and use mikrotik as your router, you will get the best experience this way. Otherwise consider getting mikrotik for wifi as for mikrotik, as long as you have sufficient ram and CPU, it wont matter how many users you have whereas with ubiquiti can be buggy for many numbers of users depending on model though. At times, the discussion that "SME" gear is best and high end consumer gear is crap mindset is misplaced (not referring to you here, just saying in general). The main difference is that if you do not require multiple VLANS etc its simpler to pick the consumer gear as once setup, you do not need to spend time monitoring and tweaking. The RM500 router, if the right model with good reliability including firmware is sufficient for whatever Unifi package at the moment, or a bit of future proofing the RM1,500 or more router with more fancy features would be enough for up to 1gbps fibre. Just look south at the SG networking forum and see what is common there. |
May 9 2018, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(XPS @ May 8 2018, 11:02 PM) You are probably right about Mikrotik however ubiquiti is ranked equal. IF you want to get serious enterprise stuff, thousands of clients, VOIP, hardened security, realtime transactions routing, fault tolerant etc neither are in that ballpark, not even close. The problem here isnt the internet speed, because even an old single core MIPS router can do 1Gb/s using hardware acceleration, the question here is on wifi and i know by heart that even consumer gear can handle a decent number of clients on wifi, it all boils down to how the wifi router handles wifi clients, either through software or the wifi chip. This is actually where some high end consumer routers are ill equipped because the wifi chip is router through the switch chip which means that the wifi chip is handling the clients limiting the number of wifi clients. Mikrotik puts the burden of handling wifi clients on software, and so do some ubiquiti wifi APs. At a low price point, going with either of those 2 brands for wifi is a good choice for hundreds of clients. MU-MIMO can also be an advantage here too.At times, the discussion that "SME" gear is best and high end consumer gear is crap mindset is misplaced (not referring to you here, just saying in general). The main difference is that if you do not require multiple VLANS etc its simpler to pick the consumer gear as once setup, you do not need to spend time monitoring and tweaking. The RM500 router, if the right model with good reliability including firmware is sufficient for whatever Unifi package at the moment, or a bit of future proofing the RM1,500 or more router with more fancy features would be enough for up to 1gbps fibre. Just look south at the SG networking forum and see what is common there. As far as speed goes, my router will do 10Gb/s software NAT with firewall and QoS without issues but i am also on 100Mb/s unifi. With routers like mikrotik theres no need to spend so much money on a high speed router as you get the same features regardless of price, which is different with ubiquiti. I dont usually recommend ubiquiti after seeing their booklets on trying to get investors, shady business practices and so on. If you want serious enterprise stuff i'd recommend you go with a self built x86 based router with the right OS choice for the job (linux server or purpose based OS like pfsense) coupled with actual enterprise APs and not look at either mikrotik or ubiquiti however ISPs do use mikrotik at their exchanges because their price/performance cant be beat not even by ubiquiti as ubiquiti's speed claims are unreliable for the kind of customers that use them. |
| Change to: | 0.0220sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:57 PM |