Samsung S9 Plus vs Huawei P20 Pro

TSdrizzle86
post Apr 10 2018, 05:35 PM, updated 8y ago

dont know if this question comes up much but P20 Pro or S9 PLus?

Im looking for something that will last me at least 2-3 years, has great camera and wont slow down after 1 year (like iphones...)
I used a Huawei Honor 7 before and hated Huawei's feel, but that may be because its a budget version. Been using S7 Edge and have been enjoying it until recently.

This time around, ive been seeing plenty of amazing reviews of the P20 Pro, but ive also been seeing even better reviews of the S9 Plus.

So, should i splash abit more cash for the S9 Plus?
azuradaniel
post Apr 10 2018, 05:51 PM

265 posts

If can wait, wait Mate 20/Pro

Samsung S series suppose compare with Mate series & Samsung Note series compare with Mate Pro. P series quality not as goos as S series.
S9 overall better than P20, if car it is like compare Merc E series with BMW 3 series.
TSdrizzle86
post Apr 10 2018, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(azuradaniel @ Apr 10 2018, 05:51 PM)

Samsung S series suppose compare with Mate series & Samsung Note series compare with Mate Pro. P series quality not as goos as S series.
S9 overall better than P20, if car it is like compare Merc E series with BMW 3 series.
Wow, this is very helpful. When do you think the Mate 20 Pro will be released? I cant seem to find any rumours online about Malaysia's release date
azuradaniel
post Apr 11 2018, 08:10 PM

265 posts

Normally mate series release before Samsung Note series. Hopefully on Jun/july
lolfuzzy
post Apr 15 2018, 05:24 PM

Just feel like want to ask something, is there really a big different to have the 3rd camera? Has anyone like to give some personal review about that triplets camera on the P20 pro?
Theoutspokenguy
post Apr 16 2018, 12:42 AM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

i vote s9+
WhyYouSoSerious
post Apr 16 2018, 03:08 AM

bruised banana
500 posts

P20 Pro ftw
off_shore
post Apr 17 2018, 12:02 PM

841 posts

S9+for all rounder phone

P20 pro camera is too overrated. Yes it takes great night shots pictures and better battery life but that's all about it. Unless you are a person loves snapping photos.. else s9+ is the phone.

Better display, faster proc, headphone jack, wireless charging, camera is still one of the best in the market...
gruntz99
post Apr 21 2018, 04:46 PM

420 posts

Wait for Huawei's new Mate siries
xerox8908
post Apr 22 2018, 12:39 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(azuradaniel @ Apr 10 2018, 05:51 PM)

Nope . It's Hyundai vs 红旗

QUOTE(Jayne K @ Apr 21 2018, 04:31 PM)
i know tis is between huawei & samsung, but anyone comparing them with the latest zenfone 5z? it looks sooo pretty when i saw the ad!
U mean " so iPhone "

This post has been edited by xerox8908: Apr 22 2018, 12:41 AM
Theoutspokenguy
post Apr 22 2018, 06:26 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(Jayne K @ Apr 21 2018, 04:31 PM)
i know tis is between huawei & samsung, but anyone comparing them with the latest zenfone 5z? it looks sooo pretty when i saw the ad!
zenphone we consider it low and mid class not in hua wei and samsung playing ground.
TSdrizzle86
post Apr 22 2018, 06:42 PM

thanks guys, decided to get the S9+ instead and am very very happy. I need a headphone jack, wireless charging and other smaller things and thats where the S9+ beats the P20 for me. Thanks everyone for your feedback!

WiLeKiyO
post Apr 23 2018, 01:36 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(drizzle86 @ Apr 22 2018, 06:42 PM)
thanks guys, decided to get the S9+ instead and am very very happy. I need a headphone jack, wireless charging and other smaller things and thats where the S9+ beats the P20 for me. Thanks everyone for your feedback!
You made the right choice thumbup.gif
ezboyz
post Apr 23 2018, 05:17 PM

45 posts

good choice. S9+ is possibly the king of android in 2018. POSSIBLY
SUSkevin23
post Apr 29 2018, 12:06 PM

1,803 posts

I have both s9plus and p20pro.

In my honest non bias opinion la, s9plus is not worth the money. Seriously for what its offering, if its priced at 3099 then it wud have been a better buy. But at 3999, nope. Plus the camera is good but i would not say its great, it produces sharp images but thats about it.

The reason why ppl are buying Huawei nowadays is because of the Leica effect. It makes the photos look good the moment u take it. And u can straight away upload to ur social media.

I have compared the same picture side by side with s9plus, and i honestly prefer the p20pro one.

Also qhd screen is a gimmick la. No significant advantages besides draining ur battery faster. Its slightly sharper but not by much. I understand why Huawei is gng with Full HD plus because its more than enough and saves battery.

And also the s9plus curve edges is a pain in the ass. Its difficult to type especially the keys on the side of the screen even after increasing sensitivity.i have had countless times i accidentally press the screen when i am holding the phone.

The area which the s9plus beats the p20pro hands down is video recording. But then again, if u hardly take videos, its pointless.

S9plus is a phone to get if u just want to waste money. But my opinion is p20pro is the better and smarter buy and will last u a long time.

Theoutspokenguy
post Apr 29 2018, 12:46 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

wise choice. Make sure activate your samsung pay. Many rewards awaiting you from samsung rewards that hua wei do not have.
Theoutspokenguy
post Apr 29 2018, 01:07 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 29 2018, 12:06 PM)
I have both s9plus and p20pro.

In my honest non bias opinion la, s9plus is not worth the money. Seriously for what its offering, if its priced at 3099 then it wud have been a better buy. But at 3999, nope. Plus the camera is good but i would not say its great, it produces sharp images but thats about it.

The reason why ppl are buying Huawei nowadays is because of the Leica effect. It makes the photos look good the moment u take it. And u can straight away upload to ur social media.

I have compared the same picture side by side with s9plus, and i honestly prefer the p20pro one.

Also qhd screen is a gimmick la. No significant advantages besides draining ur battery faster. Its slightly sharper but not by much. I understand why Huawei is gng with Full HD plus because its more than enough and saves battery.

And also the s9plus curve edges is a pain in the ass. Its difficult to type especially the keys on the side of the screen even after increasing sensitivity.i have had countless times i accidentally press the screen when i am holding the phone.

The area which the s9plus beats the p20pro hands down is video recording. But then again, if u hardly take videos, its pointless.

S9plus is a phone to get if u just want to waste money. But my opinion is p20pro is the better and smarter buy and will last u a long time.
From your review it does look bias. Hua wei can never claim their phones king of camera smartphone even till todate like Nokia because leica its just a marketing branding. If hua wei put RM3999 they will lose so much sales because their brand is not big enough to value that high. Hua wei branding started very bad due to their cheating like

Their first leica phone P9 posted fake DSLR shot claim as taken by the phone - https://petapixel.com/2016/07/05/huawei-imp...e-gets-slammed/
Their P10 also got problem by lying and putting slower memory - https://www.gizmochina.com/2017/04/22/huawe...mate-9-website/

I got note 8 and s8+ while i do not have issue you claimed of the curve edge instead it look stunning like having 3D effect. Here is my s8+ notice there is no button at the edge so since you say its difficult to type it could means you never own a samsung with curve edge hence your review is bias based on assumption.

s9+ beats hua wei p20 pro in many ways like

Samsung pay with amazing rewards
Fast warranty replacement and if you deal with samsung representatives they are very professional
Curve edge for 3D effect everything looks floating
UIX experience more mature than hua wei dull theme.
earphone jack
Wireless charging

The key pros of hua wei isnt the camera beside marketing stunt but the following
Great battery life
Reasonable price

This post has been edited by Theoutspokenguy: Apr 29 2018, 01:09 PM
Kaka23
post Apr 29 2018, 10:01 PM

8,259 posts

What is the price for hwawei mate?
digitalz
post Apr 30 2018, 09:56 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

Let's be honest. Both phones are great in their own way. I've been using the s9+ for quite a bit now and I had the chance to handle the p20 pro for around a week courtesy of my bro.

I came from Pixel (both gen) so I'd be comparing phones to them.

Note: Pixel users have unlimited storage on Photos so storage for the phone is still manageable.

S9+

P20 Pro

Overall, that's what I feel on both phones for now.

This post has been edited by digitalz: Apr 30 2018, 09:57 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 2 2018, 03:09 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 29 2018, 12:06 PM)

But according to Dxomark... P20 Pro (98pts) win S9 Plus (91pts) on video too.

0.0265sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:50 AM