Order food ask to hurry up when I inquire about the dish

Then throw the dish on table

Their life is fast paced but in Japan also fast paced yet polite

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Worst is they are rude coz i don't speak Cantonese
Speak mandrin they think I'm PRC so then I speak in English but they don't understand?

They think I'm PRC??? How

This post has been edited by Raddus: Apr 8 2018, 07:34 PM
nicole_4ever
post Apr 8 2018, 07:32 PM

612 posts

You tak suka you keluar???
Baconateer
post Apr 8 2018, 07:35 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

u go to other ppl country..u adapt or improvise..

u dont question why..
pgsiemkia
post Apr 8 2018, 07:37 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ Apr 8 2018, 07:31 PM)
Why Hong Kong ppl so rude?

In restaurant everyone shout at the top of their voice

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Speak mandrin they think I'm PRC so then I speak in English but they don't understand?

You malaysian they say u babarian, malai chye...cannot win these Hong Kies also. learn the language-la..dupe. As long you know how to tiu here and there they respect you...

vexus

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

hong kong people very rude. You go guang zhou or shunde, the people over there more polite.

hong kong & taiwan = same rude. Speak loud
vassilius

494 posts

Despite the familiarity with HK through watching drama since young, HK is the last place to visit in my travel list due to their rude behavior... I traveled a quarter of Europe, Korea, Japan, Australia, and most of SEA countries also dun wanna go HK
k!nex
post Apr 8 2018, 07:39 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Well. Its their culture. Hongkies are always rushing. No, they can definitely tell you're not PRC. Our Msian Mandarin slang is very different from PRC.
Even when i can speak fluent cantonese, they also laansi me as a tourist. So its not discrimating u as a PRC.
maxxxxx0123
post Apr 8 2018, 07:43 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Apr 8 2018, 07:37 PM)
hong kong people very rude. You go guang zhou or shunde, the people over there more polite.

Taiwan waiter mana Ada loud?

HK yes sibeh rude

PRC rude like shit (customer), but their waiter usually not bad
BeefCoin
post Apr 8 2018, 07:46 PM

Look like you have yet to meet the taxi driver in HK yet.
You may need a psychiatrist's help if you have. smile.gif
TSRaddus
post Apr 8 2018, 07:46 PM

239 posts

I came in thinking they are like Japanese...
SUSGlockers
post Apr 8 2018, 07:49 PM

169 posts

LEL. I everytime went HK, i got scolded by their taxi driver. Fuckin ell. What to do because i lazy walk and take their MRT.
MR_alien
post Apr 8 2018, 08:05 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

when you're cramped into such tight space...your mentality becomes like that
SUSb3ta
post Apr 8 2018, 08:08 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

QUOTE(vassilius @ Apr 8 2018, 08:37 PM)
Despite the familiarity with HK through watching drama since young, HK is the last place to visit in my travel list due to their rude behavior... I traveled a quarter of Europe, Korea, Japan, Australia, and most of SEA countries also dun wanna go HK
only if you go to cheap places

you go to the more respectable places the service is anytime better than KL. and i mean anytime
Chaud
post Apr 8 2018, 08:10 PM

1,119 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

you speak mandarin they think u prc...that's why being rude to you laugh.gif almost everywhere...stick to english if you dont wanna be innocent icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Chaud: Apr 8 2018, 08:10 PM
SUSsmallydupe
post Apr 8 2018, 08:13 PM

125 posts

Poorfag TS, travelled to hongkong then wanted to save some miserable money then ate at cheap place expecting five star services. Anyway speaking manglish in Hong Kong and expecting people to understand, well good luck. Must be amateur traveller.
Order food also need 30 minutes to make decision is it? Time is money, if want to inquire go google first before occupying the seat.

carloz28
post Apr 8 2018, 08:15 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

Their life damn 7 stress u know
guailow83
post Apr 8 2018, 08:19 PM

579 posts

sei chat tao
Zaxx_Yong
post Apr 8 2018, 08:21 PM

70 posts

You go to Char Chan Thang sure la

Japan only OSAKA is sincere for you, at Tokyo the drama face is so OSCAR...
delon85
post Apr 8 2018, 08:35 PM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

Small island ppl syndrome

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Ahsin1987
post Apr 8 2018, 08:43 PM

154 posts

High kelas restaurant don't have this issue
SUSweyyt
post Apr 8 2018, 08:50 PM

88 posts

Manade.

Taiwan very polite.
SUSAxolotl
post Apr 8 2018, 08:51 PM

HK not for human live one.

#HKpropertyagentjewtube
tutuyao
post Apr 8 2018, 08:52 PM

noob
876 posts

even they know you're from MY or SG, they still behave the same.

I speak canto to them pun sama.

1 table 10 ppl but only 1 food menu. not just 1 restaurant, a few of them! wtf?

end up go for higher end restaurant. normal char chan teng tak boleh
Lada Putih
post Apr 8 2018, 08:58 PM

214 posts

jaguh kampung datuk tempatan
di tanah jauh, nama tak berharga

insaflah
Hollow21
post Apr 8 2018, 08:59 PM

661 posts

TS bodoh why go HK? Nothing to see there...Food is crap.... shopping better go Bangkok or Japan
ChuChai
post Apr 8 2018, 08:59 PM

-must get fitter-
1,329 posts

If you can't beat em, join em!
ListenToTheWind
post Apr 8 2018, 09:03 PM

453 posts

How to be happy when you're constantly chasing after your own tail?
tutuyao
post Apr 8 2018, 09:18 PM

noob
876 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 8 2018, 08:58 PM)
You must understand that Hong Kong is the most densely populated area in the world.

So every inch of land is gold.

If you don't want to order, hundreds of customers waiting to come in and eat because demand more than supply of restaurants.

That's why they can be rude, if they open shop in USA, they would go bankrupt.
agree with you, those are boss mindset.

but the ppl that i dealt with, are staffs. maybe boss also dont care staff rude or what...
mafioso
post Apr 8 2018, 09:20 PM

6,155 posts

If Zora Chen rude to me on the bed..i dont mind brows.gif
aspartame
post Apr 8 2018, 09:22 PM

3,165 posts

What? Taiwanese are damn polite.
Beach_Boy
post Apr 8 2018, 09:32 PM

:D
8,456 posts

cant blame them, shop rental is now sky high in HK, they cannot afford to give you a very good service/wait for you to ask this ask that, turnover is everything yo

like what others have said, if you want to have a proper sit down meal, go to the higher end places, there are plenty of those that will serve you with a smile if you're willing to pay
SGSuser
post Apr 8 2018, 09:37 PM

In your way
2,449 posts

Lan kwai fong sj mau pergi
bridgestone057
post Apr 8 2018, 09:40 PM

ts did u hear dei lei lou mei hakacan
gundamsp01
post Apr 8 2018, 09:41 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

been to hk...never encounter those rude ppl though, other than 1 shop...
Jasonist
post Apr 8 2018, 09:43 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

hong kong is fakap piece of place.. the ppl there are like tat one since their ancestors..
s[H]sIkuA
post Apr 8 2018, 09:44 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

because you don't know cantonese
lel
SUSlaoahpek
post Apr 8 2018, 09:48 PM

40 posts

time is money

cost of living is high

no time to waste
mattfrank
post Apr 8 2018, 09:49 PM

42 posts

Blame yourself for not being born white.
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Apr 8 2018, 10:04 PM

89 posts

Dunno Cantonese... Cina lupa daratan
vexus
post Apr 8 2018, 10:05 PM

6,660 posts

taiwan where got polite when open mouth in hokkien
arc_archive
post Apr 8 2018, 10:09 PM

386 posts

Vera on top of the table to show dominace

takadanicklagi
post Apr 8 2018, 10:12 PM

124 posts

What are you? A pussy? Or a whiner?
vassilius
post Apr 8 2018, 10:13 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Apr 8 2018, 08:08 PM)

you go to the more respectable places the service is anytime better than KL. and i mean anytime
HK is well known for good foods... but good foods usually not serve in high class restaurant, right? u need to eat them at those run down 老招牌 stall
arsenwagon
post Apr 8 2018, 10:20 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 8 2018, 07:39 PM)
Well. Its their culture. Hongkies are always rushing. No, they can definitely tell you're not PRC. Our Msian Mandarin slang is very different from PRC.
Even when i can speak fluent cantonese, they also laansi me as a tourist. So its not discrimating u as a PRC.
Last time they tot im singaporean coz me and my friends spoke english mixed with mndarin

The uncle kept cursing singkapo yan blablabla
arsenwagon
post Apr 8 2018, 10:23 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(Hollow21 @ Apr 8 2018, 08:59 PM)
TS bodoh why go HK? Nothing to see there...Food is crap.... shopping better go Bangkok or Japan
Why sinkie ppl always travel go hk? They proudly say they travel hk gp eat good dim sum and roast pork.. but when go malaysia always diam2 like its something to be ashamed of...
St0rmFury
post Apr 8 2018, 10:23 PM

225 posts

Don't even think about hanging around after you finish your food.
drug5
post Apr 8 2018, 10:28 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Apr 8 2018, 10:23 PM)
Why sinkie ppl always travel go hk?  They proudly say they travel hk gp eat good dim sum and roast pork.. but when go malaysia always diam2 like its something to be ashamed of...
Go there eat dimsum and roast pork while bei yan diu laugh.gif
arsenwagon
post Apr 8 2018, 10:30 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(drug5 @ Apr 8 2018, 10:28 PM)
Go there eat dimsum and roast pork while bei yan diu laugh.gif
Yah. Dun understand.. Go there bei ya diu happily pay expensive cutthroat food price

Come malaysia cheap cheap complain everything bad
SUSWanie404
post Apr 8 2018, 10:33 PM

79 posts

What about mainlanders? Are they rude as well
TSRaddus
post Apr 8 2018, 11:11 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 8 2018, 08:05 PM)
Seems like Penang ppl also similar

Crowded island although not as dense

Their attitude also can be rough

Instead of Cantonese they speak hokkien

This post has been edited by Raddus: Apr 8 2018, 11:16 PM
kamfoo
post Apr 8 2018, 11:25 PM

846 posts

Becos u seksi
Juan86
post Apr 8 2018, 11:27 PM

651 posts

just tell them u are staying a 2000+ sf house
hackwire
post Apr 9 2018, 06:35 AM

4,256 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

they have a bit of sarcasm level but they took it with a pinch of salt. unlike malaysian, too brittle. u horn someone , u get middle finger. even though they were rude, they are better GENTLEMAN than malaysian.
shirohamada
post Apr 9 2018, 07:58 AM

944 posts

hong kong is not for human bean to live in.
bereev
post Apr 9 2018, 08:22 AM

257 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

first world problem , is not they rude is they faster than Malaysia, some of them choose to works here not because salaries or money, just because wanna enjoy easy slow life.
Rusty Nail
post Apr 9 2018, 08:38 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Apr 9 2018, 08:22 AM)
first world problem , is not they rude is they faster than Malaysia, some of them choose to works here not because salaries or money, just because wanna enjoy easy slow life.
I was in Shanghai, the pace there is pretty fast too.
But the people there are nowhere near to hongkies rudeness. All my encounter with shanghainese were very pleasant. They got even more friendly when they found out I'm Malaysian.

The only friendly hongkie i met is actually a Singaporean, been doing business there for years.
bereev
post Apr 9 2018, 08:46 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Apr 9 2018, 08:38 AM)
I was in Shanghai, the pace there is pretty fast too.
But the people there are nowhere near to hongkies rudeness. All my encounter with shanghainese were very pleasant. They got even more friendly when they found out I'm Malaysian.

The only friendly hongkie i met is actually a Singaporean, been doing business there for years.
u need to understand HK pressure , one side they need to preserve their culture , another hand sked PRC come get the opportunity and ownership , they act fast so ppl think they rude, road side street ppl are shouting LOU MOU, HAM KA LING everywhere biggrin.gif this is HK culture even TV program got say about it. laugh.gif
SUSandylyc
post Apr 9 2018, 08:48 AM

27 posts

HK adapting to China now.
teongpeng
post Apr 9 2018, 08:51 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

This is true...the waiters will just chuck your utensils on the table.
SUSPerfect.Stranger
post Apr 9 2018, 08:52 AM

58 posts

thats the way of their life..

happy la at least you can experience it
maraippo
post Apr 9 2018, 08:55 AM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

Live in small reban sure bekam liddat la
maraippo
post Apr 9 2018, 08:57 AM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 9 2018, 06:35 AM)
they have a bit of sarcasm level but they took it with a pinch of salt. unlike malaysian, too brittle. u horn someone , u get middle finger. even though they were rude, they are better GENTLEMAN than malaysian.
Sedap ke jilat?
tutuyao
post Apr 9 2018, 09:16 AM

noob
876 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 06:20 AM)
Boss are only concerned with profit, the more the better.

They expect you to order fast, eat fast and leave the restaurant fast.

There are no benefits of being polite to you if they get less profit. Like what I said, there are many customers waiting to eat there.

It doesn't work in other countries where there are more restaurants than customers. You must be polite to retain customers.
agree with u sir.. thumbsup.gif
J1g54w
post Apr 9 2018, 09:22 AM

1,449 posts

Imagine living with 7 million ppl in an average 470 sqft cramped space with average $3.2k per sqft price. Then you can understand why they so stressed.

Cukur lah TS.
lifeofkuli
post Apr 9 2018, 09:31 AM

97 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

they wanna earn $ fast
everything is fast there
ganz
post Apr 9 2018, 09:31 AM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

Hk got nice people also..

U go to europe also got rude people.. paris, amsterdam and even london..
mushigen
post Apr 9 2018, 10:00 AM

4,954 posts

Not surprised to hear Msians kena farked in HK. - Two person visit cha charn teng and try to occupy a table for four
- spend 20 mins poring over the menu
- take own sweet time to drink beverages after finishing main course
- ask for chilli sauce, soya sauce, etc

alanyuppie
post Apr 9 2018, 10:05 AM

2,834 posts

Suspect the stressful ratrace lifestyle + stuck inside a small island causing them anxious and everything must be quick and rush.
SUSstinky
post Apr 9 2018, 10:07 AM

1,436 posts

I been to HK few times,
Somehow during winter i get very good treatment. At chan chan teng, they are very polite. As i know they are always in a rush, i told my dad to eat faster. But the boss over heard and said, no need to rush. Enjoy the food. They even smile and checked if we need anything else. This happened on a few trips.

But during summer, i never kena anything before from HKies as i am familiar with their attitude. Somehow my frends who always travel with me kena alot. Ask about menu set A,B,C, kena scold, eat slow kena scold, 4 person order 3 sets kena scold, took up more space on table kena scold, bargain price kena scold...........i think its due to Summer heat and our Malaysian laid back attitude that doesnt match with theirs. They want to get things done fast and doesn't want to be delayed.

This post has been edited by stinky: Apr 9 2018, 10:09 AM
xperiaDROID
post Apr 9 2018, 10:29 AM

K
3,966 posts

Do some research before going there

It's a well known fact that everything there must be fast, it's their culture, so they don't give a fuck if u triggered or not, u don't wanna kena marah, then do like a Hongkie, be rush and fast

Would rather visit China than HK, Shanghai was top notch for me, everyone was polite and like the other said they will be friendlier if they know u are from Mahresia, surely there were rude uncivilized arses but those are mostly their local tourists from lower tier cities.
sacwoc
post Apr 9 2018, 11:35 AM

306 posts

Been working here for a while and I do go to my neighborhood char chan teng often. My cantonese is half bake but they have been quite nice to me and can joke with me as well. As yes they can be rude like just putting the utensils down with a thud but its just because of the speed. So far I havent had really bad experience with really rude people but I know it does exist. Sit in a bus and you can hear people talking on the phone so loudly that you will know where he will be going for tea and with who.
SUSMarioKart
post Apr 9 2018, 11:36 AM

22 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Diamlah PRC.

Btw, what is "Lei Ho mo ah?" - Are you a Homosexual? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by MarioKart: Apr 9 2018, 11:40 AM
deathTh3Cannon
post Apr 9 2018, 11:37 AM

248 posts

cos they thought you are prc
hackwire
post Apr 9 2018, 11:40 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Apr 9 2018, 08:57 AM)
Sedap ke jilat?
siapa jilat tahi cili, terasa.
TreyLey
post Apr 9 2018, 12:09 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Apr 8 2018, 08:08 PM)

You are just part of the 1% group of elitist who dont normally face the real situation because your money speaks louder than their voices
TreyLey
post Apr 9 2018, 12:14 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Apr 9 2018, 10:07 AM)
I been to HK few times,
Somehow during winter i get very good treatment. At chan chan teng, they are very polite. As i know they are always in a rush, i told my dad to eat faster. But the boss over heard and said, no need to rush. Enjoy the food. They even smile and checked if we need anything else. This happened on a few trips.

But during summer, i never kena anything before from HKies as i am familiar with their attitude. Somehow my frends who always travel with me kena alot. Ask about menu set A,B,C, kena scold, eat slow kena scold, 4 person order 3 sets kena scold, took up more space on table kena scold, bargain price kena scold...........i think its due to Summer heat and our Malaysian laid back attitude that doesnt match with theirs. They want to get things done fast and doesn't want to be delayed.
So fast that they can beat japan?

Pfftt

Japan even faster in term of progress yet politeness is not cast aside

Prove that hk are just sub human who pretends to be first world citizen
SUStiestoycc
post Apr 9 2018, 12:15 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(BeefCoin @ Apr 8 2018, 07:46 PM)
Look like you have yet to meet the taxi driver in HK yet.
You may need a psychiatrist's help if you have.  smile.gif
their driving skill is top notch! got 1 time i from tsim tsa tsui want to go to lan kwai fong, the driver actually quite okay eh, can talk, can teach u some stuff la... but driving time.. FULAMAK! my balls shrink man! fucking drifting at night in HK! hahahahaha fucking awesome shits
happyking4ever
post Apr 9 2018, 12:17 PM

354 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

those are commoner speaking. they no consider rude you consider it rude only bcos you no use to it. to them it is like hello how are you level only.

those tv dramas all toned down this kind of common talk so you dont see it onscreen only.
ISawYou
post Apr 9 2018, 12:17 PM

531 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

just speak english. dont speak mandarin even if you can
TreyLey
post Apr 9 2018, 12:26 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Apr 8 2018, 10:20 PM)
Last time they tot im singaporean coz me and my friends spoke english mixed with mndarin

The uncle kept cursing singkapo yan blablabla
Lol what is wrong with them that when they know u are not local, it is right to curse?
CoffeeDude
post Apr 9 2018, 12:26 PM

1,609 posts

They live in a fast paced and cramped environment.

But I love their food. Very nice drool.gif
smon80
post Apr 9 2018, 12:28 PM

100 posts

i try to speake cantonese v police officer but he reply in english in hesitated tone.
in char chang teng.they are used to fast peace esp peak hour. try avoid that time. nothing special in hk as far as i see. food wise, they hav diff taste frm us. we are more heavy but they are more light taste.
psyduck89
post Apr 9 2018, 12:28 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

speak some malay word,
then
shout at them..

alllaaaawwooooaaaaa......................

mydurian
post Apr 9 2018, 12:31 PM

854 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Really ? Uncle went there so happy. PPl are friendly and always smiling. And very talkative too.

wait........Uncle spoke Cantonese. tongue.gif
MeToo
post Apr 9 2018, 12:32 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 8 2018, 07:39 PM)
Yes.

They memang rude.

Its part of the culture.

Cannot accept dont go. I went, they were rude (only those volume game restaurant la), proper places they were much nicer.
DValentine
post Apr 9 2018, 01:28 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:26 PM)
Msian Cantonese can't be used outside Malaysia. There are lots of Malay and some hokkien words in Msian Cantonese that you don't realise.

'lui', 'semua', 'senang' are all Malay words.
'ching cai', 'kaki' are Hokkien words.

Learn pure Cantonese before using abroad.
but those vulgar still same

DLLMCHHKCPKDLLM laugh.gif laugh.gif
ozak
post Apr 9 2018, 01:30 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:28 PM)
It's not  a matter of speaking English or Mandarin, it's a matter of speed.

They have zero patience.
Than don't try to promote HK as a holiday place.

COOLPINK
post Apr 9 2018, 01:31 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:28 PM)
It's not  a matter of speaking English or Mandarin, it's a matter of speed.

They have zero patience.
dun forget zero tolerance also.
welcome to HK. shakehead.gif
Afterburner1.0
post Apr 9 2018, 01:43 PM

771 posts

Can hear shouting
Lei GAO Chor ah???
Chi seen
Lei ho mo ah??

Tats why i nvr gonna go back to HK, the food is really not that nice either, over hyped esp the wan tan mee.... been there once and thats it....
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 01:45 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Like you say, they have 0 patience. Can't even ask for directions without getting a told off sometimes. However I've also met nice people who are polite, soft spoken and nice.

If you can at least speak Cantonese, some of them still layan. I have heard unkers in coffee shops badmouthing and laughing at the PRCs in Cantonese right in front of them. Epitome of rudeness, noise and smokers, that's why I don't think I'll be making another trip to HK any time within the next few years.

No doubt there's also good things about the country. The government acts fast in times of disaster. The typhoon that happened so terribly - the street was swept clean within a couple of days and things went back to business.

Japanese on the other hand is more soft spoken. They do things quickly (eg. walk fast) due to the fast pace. They have been educated since young to be tolerant and considerate of others, thus no eating and drinking in the train/ subway and along the street. By not complying, this will result in rubbish in the train/ street and any spillage from the drink or food will cause inconvenience to others (someone may step on it or fall down as a result).

So at the end of it, everything boils down to the constitutions' including family's education. Thus Malaysians' mannerism isn't all that bad compared to HK laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Apr 9 2018, 01:48 PM
ozak
post Apr 9 2018, 01:47 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:40 PM)
Msian Chinese go to HK because they watch too many TVB dramas and also the fantastic food ie. Dim Sum and wantan min.

I don't think they need to promote HK. It's overcrowded now because 1.4 billion PRC want to go to a tiny island the same size as Singapore.
HK is in my last list. Probably never think about it.

Once this HKer have to understand what tourist mean.

People go for holiday because have time and called it leisure and relax.

If they no patient to serve the tourist and rushing them, better don't promote the farking place.
toda_erika_II
post Apr 9 2018, 01:58 PM

rawr~~
540 posts

KL cantonese better? Look at KL cantonese hawkers.
mushigen
post Apr 9 2018, 02:09 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:26 PM)
Msian Cantonese can't be used outside Malaysia. There are lots of Malay and some hokkien words in Msian Cantonese that you don't realise.

'lui', 'semua', 'senang' are all Malay words.
'ching cai', 'kaki' are Hokkien words.

Learn pure Cantonese by watching Hong Kong TVB before going abroad.

Msian English also can't be used outside Malaysia. Too many Malay rojak words too.
Pure Cantonese, I LOL.
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 02:16 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 01:54 PM)
Msian Chinese is only slighly better than HK.

I've been ordered not to eat inside shop because I didn't order drink by owners.
Everything is also very fast in Msia, they don't have time to answer your questions too and also very rude. If you order very little, the Msian Chinese owner will scold you too.

They hire Indon waiters who can't speak English nor Chinese to take your orders. do you think these Indon or Myanmar waiters know how to be polite? laugh.gif

Go to Taiwan or Thailand, they are much more polite there.
But I must say, friend nor I have been 'maltreated' by the kopitiam staffs. Probably because I did tons of research before going and usually know what I want to order so it was fast. When you're not sure/ need to think, tell the employee to give you time and they'll gladly go off. Of course the challenge then is to get someone's attention to place order when you're ready.

I've not experienced problems in Chinese hawker places, whether i get a drink or not. As long as I eat or drink there, no one ever said anything. Service are average and it gets complicated when you want to 'customize' your drinks etc or when it's a new guy. Other than that it has been fine.

No doubt some other countries like Taiwan or Thailand is better. As tourist, it's also good service in places like Cambodia, Philippines etc. Even PRCs are nice when you talk to them. I've had better experience in Shanghai (in terms of asking for directions) compared to HK.

QUOTE(toda_erika_II @ Apr 9 2018, 01:58 PM)
Not targeting specific hawker or their ethnicity.
My guess is you've not been to HK. Get there, try their kopitiam service and you'll understand the statement wink.gif
esdome
post Apr 9 2018, 02:34 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Apr 9 2018, 01:43 PM)
Tats why i nvr gonna go back to HK, the food is really not that nice either, over hyped esp the wan tan mee.... been there once and thats it....
Me too. I still remember they pour the oyster sauce to the BBQ pork with wantan mee. The taste is awful and it is expensive as hell.

The only food I can accept is the fast food, BBQ duck and the milk tea.
SUSKLboy92
post Apr 9 2018, 02:36 PM

189 posts

I find HK a lot like Singapore. probably even Singapore plus.

oh and obviously TS went to cheapo places only to eat. in other places their service is way better.

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Apr 9 2018, 02:37 PM
SUSKLboy92
post Apr 9 2018, 02:40 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 02:23 PM)
If that Chinese coffee shop is crowded everyday, then you get rude treatment just like HK.
I got that treatment in a shop when I didn't order drink and different waiters asked me several rounds whether I want any drink.

There are other incidents at other Chinese shops when I order just one plate of mee but got scolded. This happened in the Loke Yew wantan mee shop where the female waiter is one  bitch.

In other shops where it's not that crowded, of course you get average treatment but not polite treatment. But if it's crowded, you get same treatment like in HK.

Msian Chinese are also rude but not as rude as HK.
^ face problem kot rolleyes.gif
il0ve51
post Apr 9 2018, 02:42 PM

1,054 posts

hong kong is a fast pace society, so yea, if you laid back type sure cannot keep up.
on another word, they stuff (except property) is way cheaper if compare to malaysia. assume you work there and earn hkd, food there is way cheaper. even the KFC also very cheap. if earn their local salary, everyday KFC also no empty inside wallet. compare in malaysia, your wallet hole is bigger if you every consume KFC

This post has been edited by il0ve51: Apr 9 2018, 02:45 PM
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 02:46 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 02:23 PM)
If that Chinese coffee shop is crowded everyday, then you get rude treatment just like HK.
I got that treatment in a shop when I didn't order drink and different waiters asked me several rounds whether I want any drink.

There are other incidents at other Chinese shops when I order just one plate of mee but got scolded. This happened in the Loke Yew wantan mee shop where the female waiter is one  bitch.

In other shops where it's not that crowded, of course you get average treatment but not polite treatment. But if it's crowded, you get same treatment like in HK.

Msian Chinese are also rude but not as rude as HK.
My guess is that since it's common for people to order a drink (most common being at least Chinese tea), the waiters did not know and could thought that they have either missed your order or have not taken your order.

When the shop is crowded, it's common for patrons to be fast and allow turnover for the table. It is no good when inconsiderate diners hog the table even when they have finished eating, as I have seen many such cases. They will sit around and continue to read newspaper or merely do nothing, or refused to finish that last sip of drink in order to hog the table.

Busy coffee shops are for people to eat and leave. This is the same in Japan where some restaurants have as much as only 7-8 seats only while having the need to serve a long queue. Diners are expected to eat and then leave. You can chat and have coffee in Cafes or restaurants with plenty of empty tables.

Yes so my point is that Malaysian restaurants are still somewhat better than the ones in HK in terms of service.
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 02:47 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Apr 9 2018, 02:42 PM)
hong kong is a fast pace society, so yea, if you laid back type sure cannot keep up.
on another word, they stuff (except property) is way cheaper if compare to malaysia. assume you work there and earn hkd, food there is way cheaper. even the KFC also very cheap. if earn their local salary, everyday KFC also no empty inside wallet. compare in malaysia, your wallet hole is bigger if you every consume KFC
I agree. In fact, their food portion is a lot bigger as well so whatever amount you paid, you feel that it's at least worthy in value.
Afterburner1.0
post Apr 9 2018, 03:12 PM

771 posts

QUOTE(esdome @ Apr 9 2018, 02:34 PM)
Me too. I still remember they pour the oyster sauce to the BBQ pork with wantan mee. The taste is awful and it is expensive as hell.

The only food I can accept is the fast food, BBQ duck and the milk tea.
who eats oyster sauce wantanmee? their dim sum is also so so .... most of their good chef have migrated to UK or the US or canada.
jumpercable
post Apr 9 2018, 03:20 PM

1. Small Island People Syndrome

2. Dense population caused stress + being part of PRC makes them stress

3. Cantonese mentality
jumpercable
post Apr 9 2018, 03:23 PM

1. Small Island People Syndrome

2. Dense population caused stress + being part of PRC makes them stress

3. Cantonese mentality
nagflar
post Apr 9 2018, 03:28 PM

1,813 posts

HONGKIE = PRC . what TS expect .
esdome
post Apr 9 2018, 03:30 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Apr 9 2018, 03:12 PM)
who eats oyster sauce wantanmee? their dim sum is also so so .... most of their good chef have migrated to UK or the US or canada.
Yalo. Their dim sum is also not that good compared to ours.
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 03:33 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Apr 9 2018, 03:28 PM)
HONGKIE = PRC . what TS expect .
Definitely not true. Even Hongkies have problem with PRCs.
mousqy
post Apr 9 2018, 03:36 PM

758 posts

those are PRC not local HK-ian

local HK ade class and kutuk PRC kaw kawwwww

nagflar
post Apr 9 2018, 03:53 PM

1,813 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 9 2018, 03:33 PM)
Definitely not true. Even Hongkies have problem with PRCs.
YES AGREE. but they share the same behavior and attitude .
nagflar
post Apr 9 2018, 03:55 PM

1,813 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ Apr 9 2018, 03:36 PM)
those are PRC not local HK-ian

local HK ade class and kutuk PRC kaw kawwwww
irony 1990s LOCAL hk look down PRC . call them ah chan

2010s they worship them like god , when PRC tourist come , they jilat jilat kaw kaw
citizen162888
post Apr 9 2018, 03:56 PM

177 posts

It is a stressful.life there.
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 03:58 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Apr 9 2018, 03:53 PM)
YES AGREE. but they share the same behavior and attitude .
That one not really. There are some difference. Generally at least HK people do queue up, but unfortunately the vast majority of PRCs I observed have the habit of cutting queues whether when in taking public transport, food line, airport etc. I have also been personally pushed around by PRCs trying to make their way into a crowded shop. At least Hongkies do not behave in this manner. Some Hongkies can be loud (so are Malaysians) but generally the locals/ people in bus, train, on the street etc do not speak as loud as most PRCs do (based on personal observation and encounter).
nagflar
post Apr 9 2018, 04:02 PM

1,813 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 9 2018, 03:58 PM)
That one not really. There are some difference. Generally at least HK people do queue up, but unfortunately the vast majority of PRCs I observed have the habit of cutting queues whether when in taking public transport, food line, airport etc. I have also been personally pushed around by PRCs trying to make their way into a crowded shop. At least Hongkies do not behave in this manner. Some Hongkies can be loud (so are Malaysians) but generally the locals/ people in bus, train, on the street etc do not speak as loud as most PRCs do (based on personal observation and encounter).
haha maybe just some hk people. i also have not very good experiences with hk people.
post Apr 9 2018, 04:02 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Apr 9 2018, 03:55 PM)
irony 1990s  LOCAL hk look down PRC . call them ah chan

2010s they worship them like god , when PRC tourist come , they  jilat jilat kaw kaw
ironically ,
the gomen earned so much from housing tax.
and those house buyer mainly are PRC laugh.gif
sweet_pez
post Apr 9 2018, 04:10 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Apr 9 2018, 04:02 PM)
haha maybe just some hk people. i also have not very good experiences with hk people.
There are both pleasant and unpleasant people there, just like in Malaysia. Hope in your next trip you'll be able to meet some nice people to reduce the stereotype.
jumpercable
post Apr 9 2018, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(TreyLey @ Apr 9 2018, 12:14 PM)
Prove that hk are just sub human who pretends to be first world citizen
Ain't that the truth? They clever look down on SE Asian especially Pinoy, but fact is they are as worse as those.

QUOTE(smon80 @ Apr 9 2018, 12:28 PM)
i try to speake cantonese v police officer but he reply in english in hesitated tone.
From my experience Police officer much more polite
tutuyao
post Apr 9 2018, 04:34 PM

noob
876 posts

QUOTE(esdome @ Apr 9 2018, 03:30 PM)
Yalo. Their dim sum is also not that good compared to ours.
THIS! +999

but their lai char, milk tea better than Malaysia.

and portion is always bigger than MY
tutuyao
post Apr 9 2018, 04:35 PM

noob
876 posts

My Uber experience in HK is pretty good. Took quite a number of rides, all ok.. Chit chat, talk about government, people, etc..
esdome
post Apr 9 2018, 05:04 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(tutuyao @ Apr 9 2018, 04:34 PM)
THIS! +999

but their lai char, milk tea better than Malaysia.

and portion is always bigger than MY
Yes. Can't deny that their si mat milk tea is the best milk tea I've ever had.
Red_rustyjelly
post Apr 9 2018, 05:49 PM

867 posts

my company people sometimes being seen as china PRC want to copy their business when they visit their tradeshow.
even speaking in English, they wont bother about you.
PeppaPenguin
post Apr 9 2018, 06:00 PM

Recently i met a hong kongie who seems interested to be involved with me(relationship). Should I be afraid now?
il0ve51
post Apr 9 2018, 06:11 PM

1,054 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 9 2018, 03:47 PM)
I agree. In fact, their food portion is a lot bigger as well so whatever amount you paid, you feel that it's at least worthy in value.
same thing in tokyo also, a budget meal cost around rm30, but damn pack with a lot meat also.
tutuyao
post Apr 9 2018, 06:42 PM

noob
876 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 05:45 PM)
We don't go to HK for UBer, we go there for the food and attraction.

Their MRT and bus are so efficient and clean, why take Uber?

except if you carry a big luggage.
My parents leg is not doing well.. I don't want to torture them by having to walk to train station, but station, waiting for train, standing inside the train, etc..
G_KeN
post Apr 9 2018, 06:44 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

yea hong kongers are some of the rudest people ive ever met, more so than mainland chinese.
anthonywongy
post Apr 9 2018, 07:47 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 8 2018, 08:05 PM)
This is the main cause.
Neo8663
post Apr 9 2018, 07:50 PM

1,244 posts

You go taiwan before ?
PeppaPenguin
post Apr 9 2018, 07:55 PM

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 06:10 PM)
Are you a girl or boy?

If girl yes, if boy no.
So u mean hongkie boys ok hongkie girls no no?
bikinapaan
post Apr 9 2018, 07:56 PM

pukimak najis byk di halaman umah..
tankerbell12345
post Apr 9 2018, 08:37 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(toda_erika_II @ Apr 9 2018, 01:58 PM)
Actually u go anywhere with cantonese majority , u are going to see their boastfulness and loudness.

If they are the minority such as penang, thyh will be quiet and shy.

This post has been edited by tankerbell12345: Apr 9 2018, 08:43 PM
vexus
post Apr 9 2018, 08:46 PM

6,660 posts

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Apr 9 2018, 07:50 PM)
You go taiwan before ?
Their hokkien damn rude.
LooneySpoopy
post Apr 9 2018, 08:58 PM

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Apr 9 2018, 06:11 PM)
same thing in tokyo also, a budget meal cost around rm30, but damn pack with a lot meat also.
But japan rm30 food is like 1.5x portion of malaysian rm30 food.
ozak
post Apr 10 2018, 09:18 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 9 2018, 05:45 PM)
We don't go to HK for UBer, we go there for the food and attraction.

Their MRT and bus are so efficient and clean, why take Uber?

except if you carry a big luggage.
What attraction got there ?

I only see concrete everywhere.
il0ve51
post Apr 10 2018, 10:22 AM

1,054 posts

QUOTE(LooneySpoopy @ Apr 9 2018, 09:58 PM)
But japan rm30 food is like 1.5x portion of malaysian rm30 food.
yea thats why, first world country enjoy life more with less price, even cheaper if you work there.
same thing with japan, fresh cut of fish is so cheap there compare to us (no so fresh cut)

their national cuisine is sushi, our national cuisine is nasi lemak.
ozak
post Apr 10 2018, 10:26 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(arenax @ Apr 10 2018, 10:21 AM)
Disneyland, TVB studio, Hong Kong actors memorial statues.
You just remember me that I have to plan for a tokyo disneyland this yrs. I forget. tongue.gif

Sorry. I prefer outdoor natural.

0.0390sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:00 PM