Rusty grille in less than a year, Looking for Dulux powder coated spray

TScorosadia
post Apr 8 2018, 12:20 AM, updated 8y ago

93 posts

House renovations have its ups and downs. It's never perfect. Not everything will be fixed correctly or according to specs.

There is always something to patch up or fix within the first two years after the renovs is completed and after spending a bomb. For some houseowners, it's worse and have to look forward to longer years of pain as they try to make the best of a situation with whatever limited resources they have.

My main door grille is but a small example....It's powder coated ...too thin I discovered later...and parts of it is rusting.
Another grille maker later told me need to sand out the rust, add primer and then respray back.

am looking for the exact Dulux spray (Dawn Gray) ...know where i can get it in PJ/KL? Have checked with a few hardware shops but they have Nippon and Jotun colours that are not matching.

Is there such a thing as powder-coated spray in a can that you can buy off the shelf?

Any help appreciated.

This post has been edited by corosadia: Apr 8 2018, 12:22 AM

fireballs
post Apr 8 2018, 12:37 AM

5,648 posts

if its rusting like that.. better one shot change color and paint them all again. use normal paint brush to do it, and buy a easier to source color.

before paint, you can sand it with coarse sand paper. this will last you for the next 10 years. if no sanding, maybe one year later u will see dark spot. coming out.

randoll
post Apr 8 2018, 01:10 PM

506 posts

Very true. Worst still if the owner is not someone who is in this field. Just listen to whatever the contractor bluff, whether they use good material or not we also don't know. When it is done of course it looks good, but a few years or maybe months down the road later only problem starts to surface, find the contractor also no use already.
enriquelee
post Apr 9 2018, 12:20 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(corosadia @ Apr 8 2018, 12:20 AM)
House renovations have its ups and downs. It's never perfect. Not everything will be fixed correctly or according to specs.
There is always something to patch up or fix within the first two years after the renovs is completed and after spending a bomb. For some houseowners, it's worse and have to look forward to longer years of pain as they try to make the best of a situation with whatever limited resources they have.
My main door grille is but a small example....It's powder coated ...too thin I discovered later...and parts of it is rusting.
Another grille maker later told me need to sand out the rust, add primer and then respray back.
am looking for the exact Dulux spray (Dawn Gray) ...know where i can get it in PJ/KL? Have checked with a few hardware shops but they have Nippon and Jotun colours that are not matching.

Is there such a thing as powder-coated spray in a can that you can buy off the shelf?
Any help appreciated.
You can get the Dulux Gloss paint at those colour customise hardware/paint shop. Is a gloss paint, then up to you whether you want to spray, brush or roller on the gate.

Powder coated spray, as i know there is no such thing. But i think we have a coating specialist in lowyat forum which you might want to consult them.
ozak
post Apr 9 2018, 12:45 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(corosadia @ Apr 8 2018, 12:20 AM)

Any help appreciated.
You need to understand how powdercoat work. Powdercoat cannot do outside the workshop or in handy way. Like a spray paint or brush paint.

Powdercoat require high voltage charge unit, powder spray gun and oven.

So forget the powdercoat unless you takeout the whole grill and send to factory.

There is 2 way for you to get the same color (almost) from the shop.

Find a Dulux mix color shop. Show him the color code and ask them mix it for you.

or scrap a small portion of the paint out from the grill. show him the paint color and match the nearest wan out.

Mix paint shop have the color chart for you to match. Bring the color chart out to sunlight to match. Don't check under any light condition. It will give you wrong color match. (white balance influence the color K)

To paint, scrap out the paint, sand out the rust. Paint a primer (antirust). Than finally your choice of color paint.

Fail to follow the proper way will repeat the rust again.
lowyat101
post Feb 26 2023, 03:34 PM

2,547 posts

Would like to ask, is it ok to paint on a powder coated grill with normal paint for steel like the Dulux Aura?

Any special surface prep needed before the painting? Or just the normal sanding will do?

absolut
post Feb 28 2023, 12:55 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 9 2018, 12:45 PM)
You need to understand how powdercoat work. Powdercoat cannot do outside the workshop or in handy way. Like a spray paint or brush paint.

Powdercoat require high voltage charge unit, powder spray gun and oven.

So forget the powdercoat unless you takeout the whole grill and send to factory.

There is 2 way for you to get the same color (almost) from the shop.

Find a Dulux mix color shop. Show him the color code and ask them mix it for you.

or scrap a small portion of the paint out from the grill. show him the paint color and match the nearest wan out.

Mix paint shop have the color chart for you to match. Bring the color chart out to sunlight to match. Don't check under any light condition. It will give you wrong color match. (white balance influence the color K) 

To paint, scrap out the paint, sand out the rust. Paint a primer (antirust). Than finally your choice of color paint.

Fail to follow the proper way will repeat the rust again.
Can use this type instead? May not require primer if rust not deep.
https://professional.nipponpaint.com.my/pro...eous-Iron-Oxide

This post has been edited by absolut: Feb 28 2023, 12:55 PM
EdEd
post Mar 1 2023, 08:51 PM

357 posts

Are u sure it's powder coated in the first place? Macam kena con
Jason
post Mar 4 2023, 02:36 AM

6,354 posts

My powder coated grill also rust at the edges. Contractor idiot never advise to get it galvanized.

I cleaned the rust area with wire brush, wipe it down with water. After it dried I just spray about 10 light coats of Rustoleum.

Lucky me the powder coat is grey. Bought Rustoleum in flat black from Ace hardware. Don’t really notice the color if you don’t go look for it.

0.0216sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:46 AM