Games The Darkness, Yet another FPS...or is it?

TSdouble_agent
post May 12 2007, 01:39 PM, updated 19y ago

97 posts

On the eve of his 21st birthday, the player takes control of Mafia hitman Jackie Estacado who is suddenly possessed by the malevolent powers of The Darkness, a family "Gift" (some family trait). Although this supernatural entity allows him to wreak havoc on his enemies, the Darkness also has a powerful will of its own and Estacado must now learn how to control it. The gameplay uniquely blends both modern crime drama and supernatural horror through both first-person and third-person perspectives. The environments are highly destructible allowing players to demolish the scenery of the New York underworld to wreak vengeance on his former Mafia employers and eventually defeat the terrifying creatures of The Otherworld, a parallel reality where the Darkness dwells.

Celebrity voice overs include Kirk Acevedo (Band of Brothers, Oz) as Jackie, Mike Patton (ex-Faith No More) as The Darkness and Lauren Ambrose (Six Feet Under) as Jenny.

At its core, the Darkness is a first-person shooter, with Estacado's skills as a hitman allowing him to make use of a wide variety of guns, from basic 9mm handguns and submachine guns to high-powered assault rifles and automatic shotguns. Estacado will primarily use these in well-lit environments, when he cannot efficiently use Darkness Powers, and of course they can also be used in conjunction with his power for maximum effect.

In the dark, Estacado will be able to use his hellish ability to summon creatures and artifacts from The Otherworld and Hell itself.

Developer: Starbreeze Studios

Publisher: 2K Games

Release date(s): North America June 25, 2007
Europe June 29, 2007

Genre: First-person shooter

Mode(s): Single player, Multiplayer

Rating: ESRB: Mature (M)

Platform(s): PS3, Xbox 360

Here's an exclusive from X-Play

X-Play Exclusive

For those who don't know,the developer,Starbreeze Studio is the studio that made Chronicles of Riddick:Escape From Butcher Bay

Breaktru
post May 12 2007, 01:53 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

And Chronicles Of Riddick EFBB is one hell of awesome game . I've mixed feeling about this one , but IMO , it will be an above average game at least . Im looking forward to battle The Darkness itself.
acougan
post May 12 2007, 02:23 PM

590 posts

i wonder if witchblade will show up as a cameo character/cross-over side-story/paid DLC? tongue.gif hopefully the storyline in this game is good

-= Virgil =-
post May 14 2007, 02:00 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

From the trailers, its pretty interesting, with the ability to control those dark minions, and the ability to use the dark powers to throw cars and shiet, this is gonna be great!

This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Jun 15 2007, 10:24 AM
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 15 2007, 10:25 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

The Darkness Exclusive Preview drool.gif

Looks good as ever. Hopefully it will be as good as Riddick.
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 15 2007, 10:45 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Definitely one to watch for. I may not be able to afford it when it comes out (too many games to play) but I'll definitely get it at some point.
PrivateJohn
post Jun 15 2007, 10:53 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Pre-ordered & it will come with a free darkness comic book.
Gurdian
post Jun 15 2007, 11:02 AM

1,648 posts

I've got mixed feelings about this game.

I really want it to be good.

We are looooong overdue for a decent FPS for the 360
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 15 2007, 11:14 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jun 15 2007, 10:53 AM)
Pre-ordered & it will come with a free darkness comic book.
Care to provide sc*nl*tion of it tongue.gif

Whoopsie?! rolleyes.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 15 2007, 11:34 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Jun 15 2007, 11:02 AM)
I've got mixed feelings about this game.

I really want it to be good.

We are looooong overdue for a decent FPS for the 360
With COD4, Bioshock, Darkness, Frontlines, Mercs 2 and Army of Two (among others) I'm sure SOME of them will be good smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 15 2007, 01:22 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Seen all 3 trailers in HD .. hopefully that not the actual graphics .. kinda dull and blurry. Shud be better once the final retail ver. is release.
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 15 2007, 07:13 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jun 15 2007, 01:22 PM)
Seen all 3 trailers in HD .. hopefully that not the actual graphics .. kinda dull and blurry. Shud be better once the final retail ver. is release.
Well its meant to be dark anyway right?! laugh.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 16 2007, 02:53 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Check out The Darkness new trailer at http://www.xboxyde.com/news_4453_en.html

It looks awesome.
nargoe
post Jun 17 2007, 04:18 PM

87 posts

when will this game be released here? thinking of buying smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 17 2007, 04:30 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(nargoe @ Jun 17 2007, 04:18 PM)
when will this game be released here? thinking of buying smile.gif
Shud be sometime end of June .. between 27th to 29th. Date not really confirm yet.
iloveredapples
post Jun 17 2007, 05:03 PM

us confirm 4 25th i saw on some site
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 17 2007, 05:09 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(iloveredapples @ Jun 17 2007, 05:03 PM)
us confirm 4 25th i saw on some site
Hmmm .. then Asia version shud be earlier or later smile.gif
iloveredapples
post Jun 17 2007, 06:02 PM

well, should be be4 the end of june anywayz, earlier better 4 me though..my exams start 3rd or 4th or was it 5th?
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 17 2007, 07:02 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(iloveredapples @ Jun 17 2007, 06:02 PM)
well, should be be4 the end of june anywayz, earlier better 4 me though..my exams start 3rd or 4th or was it 5th?
laugh.gif laugh.gif u dunno when ur exam starting .. alamak doh.gif i tot it started last friday. laugh.gif
iloveredapples
post Jun 17 2007, 07:06 PM

no la...i no my exam is in 1st week of july, other than tht kinda fgt.........T_T, never mind as long as release b4 exam is ok
nargoe
post Jun 17 2007, 07:13 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(iloveredapples @ Jun 17 2007, 07:06 PM)
no la...i no my exam is in 1st week of july, other than tht kinda fgt.........T_T, never mind as long as release b4 exam is ok
better after exam tak? why b4 better lol.. need to revise tongue.gif
iloveredapples
post Jun 17 2007, 07:14 PM

can study at same time la.........
Breaktru
post Jun 25 2007, 11:44 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Guys let hype out this game abit more . It's going to be out very soon , I'm betting my money on it .
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 25 2007, 11:46 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Jun 25 2007, 11:44 AM)
Guys let hype out this game abit more . It's going to be out very soon , I'm betting my money on it .
Yea yea ... im waiting for the multiplayer hands-on.
PrivateJohn
post Jun 25 2007, 11:48 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

^
There are already footage of its multiplayer up on gametrailers.com & other site.
As for me, i am looking forward to its singleplayer. I need more singleplayer FPS fix!

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Jun 25 2007, 11:44 AM)
Of course it is, it's coming out this Friday over here...should be few days earlier on other part of the world.

Online purchase come with the comic. Hopefully the guy downstair don't steal my game (sharing house), i lost my GRAW 2 copy once.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Jun 25 2007, 11:49 AM
Breaktru
post Jun 25 2007, 11:49 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Let us pray that the multiplayer rocks , not hardcore but at least should be fun . Too bad the game doesn't support coop sad.gif

Added on June 25, 2007, 11:50 am
QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jun 25 2007, 11:48 AM)

Online purchase come with the comic. Hopefully the guy downstair don't steal my game (sharing house), i lost my GRAW 2 copy once.
LOL PJ , you should be more careful about that .

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Jun 25 2007, 11:50 AM
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 25 2007, 11:57 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Hope ppl in my apartment dun steal my interner access tongue.gif

Added on June 25, 2007, 12:18 pmJust watch the multiplayer deathmatch mode, it reminds me on Quake n Unreal Tournament series ... looks fun to play n funny too. Im getting it.

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jun 25 2007, 12:18 PM
Gurdian
post Jun 25 2007, 01:55 PM

1,648 posts

a review is already up on 1up (pun intended)

so far so good...
nargoe
post Jun 25 2007, 04:19 PM

87 posts

im definetly getting this rclxm9.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 25 2007, 04:22 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(nargoe @ Jun 25 2007, 04:19 PM)
im definetly getting this rclxm9.gif
Haha .. what makes u change ur mind dude ?? smile.gif
nargoe
post Jun 25 2007, 05:13 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jun 25 2007, 04:22 PM)
Haha .. what makes u change ur mind dude ?? smile.gif
trailers... im gonna buy this+bioshock tongue.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 25 2007, 05:23 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(nargoe @ Jun 25 2007, 05:13 PM)
trailers... im gonna buy this+bioshock  tongue.gif
YAY laugh.gif The force is strong with u smile.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 26 2007, 09:59 AM

1,495 posts

Eurogamer gives the darkness 8/10:

http://www.eurogamer.net/article.php?article_id=78377
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 26 2007, 06:50 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Still awaiting some local or bro PJ review on the game...
whistling.gif
TSdouble_agent
post Jun 26 2007, 10:54 PM

97 posts

Oh man,IGN gave this game a 7.8.Claiming it's too short with a 8-10 hours of gameplay,weak AI and a not so deep multiplayer.1up gave it a 9.0.That's pretty far off if you ask me.Whatever,i'm buying it anyway.

IGN Review
PrivateJohn
post Jun 27 2007, 08:50 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

gametrailers.com Video Review
Looks fun but it seems that it lack the "rpgness" of Riddick.
I am just gona buy this solely for its singleplayer then sold off, just like Prey laugh.gif

XenoFr3ak
post Jun 27 2007, 09:32 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Teamxbox gave this game a 8.4 in ratings ... thats good enuff 4 me to get this game.
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 27 2007, 09:33 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jun 27 2007, 08:50 AM)
gametrailers.com Video Review
Looks fun but it seems that it lack the "rpgness" of Riddick.
I am just gona buy this solely for its singleplayer then sold off, just like Prey laugh.gif
PJ, you read my mind smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 28 2007, 11:26 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Finally Gamespot has spoken on The Darkness. Gamespot gave The Darkness a 8.5 on ratings ... its all good for me from here smile.gif
hairuLeZ
post Jun 28 2007, 11:43 AM

67 posts

Is this game way more better compare with same gameplay bullet witch in term of graphich and storyline??
Breaktru
post Jun 28 2007, 12:43 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

OMG , bullet witch is just mediocre , comparing to The Darkness . The Darkness > Bullet Witch in every aspect , gameplay , storyline , voice acting etc , and that's from someone who never touched The Darkness but finished the crappy Bullet Witch .
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 28 2007, 01:18 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(hairuLeZ @ Jun 28 2007, 11:43 AM)
Is this game way more better compare with same gameplay bullet witch in term of graphich and storyline??
HAHA .. u did not read the review. The Darkness with stomp over Bullet Witch on all aspect .. no doubt abt that.
scpt
post Jun 28 2007, 02:26 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

How can u compare The Darkness to a game like Bulletwitch? doh.gif

Anyway, I don't quite trust review sometimes, example: Advent Rising biggrin.gif. I loved that game although everyone gave it a lousy score. Except that I hate the graphics laugh.gif
lucashii
post Jun 28 2007, 02:40 PM

288 posts

i cant wait to use those darkling to saw away my enemy =)
huss_wuss
post Jun 28 2007, 02:43 PM

hahaha.. i agree wit mav.. i think the reason of comparing to bulletwitch is cos of the dark spells and wat not... darkness is more like bulletwitch ported to 1st person wit darker spells.. saw the multiplayer video last nite & i tot twas cool... might get it.. but haf to test it first..

p.s eventho bulletwitch is crappy... i still love it..
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 28 2007, 02:48 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(lucashii @ Jun 28 2007, 02:40 PM)
i cant wait to use those darkling to saw away my enemy =)
Not only the Darkling carring a saw ... but they oso carring a BIG A$$ gatling gun.
hairuLeZ
post Jun 28 2007, 02:58 PM

67 posts

hehe.. i didnt yet read the review. Im cannot access such game site from my office. Thats y i asked. thanks though for the details.....
nargoe
post Jun 28 2007, 03:37 PM

87 posts

Gamertrailer's Darkness review

enjoy happy.gif
Ifrit
post Jun 28 2007, 05:28 PM

hmm reading the reviews, seeing the videos im going to get this game ....... after my exam whichi is monday, and end on friday cry.gif
aegis`-
post Jun 28 2007, 05:29 PM

1,480 posts

ifrit u still owe me rm80 and you have not contacted me yet
what shit responsibility u have?
reply pm ffs
nargoe
post Jun 28 2007, 05:40 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(Ifrit @ Jun 28 2007, 05:28 PM)
hmm reading the reviews, seeing the videos im going to get this game ....... after my exam whichi is monday, and end on friday  cry.gif
beli.. jgn tak beli tongue.gif

Added on June 28, 2007, 7:24 pmPJ already started to play darkness ohmy.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nargoe: Jun 28 2007, 07:24 PM
Zephro
post Jun 28 2007, 08:38 PM

174 posts

Somewhat related. Vampire Rain was made by the same company as Bullet Witch. It plays like Splinter Cell, only much crappier.
PrivateJohn
post Jun 28 2007, 11:49 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

This game has superb voice acting & the riddick goodness is back! It has the sorta fake-rpg sense in the game like riddick, you can explore the town & accepting side quest.
Very detailed the level design, awesome ambient sound too! (you can even hear people speaking canto in the Chinatown)

It captures the feel of city life just right, going to subway bla bla bla. thumbup.gif

Oh, check out the romance in this game! Achievement unlock~

This game has all the small small detail that make it fun to spend time with, like the TV channel & telephone call...

Now, how do i divide my time among "The Darkness", "Overlord", "Flatout UC" & my Shadowrun addiction still going strong!
alkt
post Jun 29 2007, 12:51 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

i saw myself online laugh.gif

can't wait for the game. how's the game PJ? biggrin.gif
huss_wuss
post Jun 29 2007, 04:06 AM

hahahaha.. i can get the feeling of wat its like to be pj during romantic moments wit a girl... look left..look right... look around.. all nervous.. haha.. doh.gif
Gurdian
post Jun 29 2007, 01:54 PM

1,648 posts

demmit....djinn when pre-orders coming....

djinn and I were explaining to someone who brought his ps3 to djinn's shop yesterday about wat this game is all about

i got overexcited and started raving about the good reviews it got everywhere

i wonder who that was...

This post has been edited by Gurdian: Jun 29 2007, 01:56 PM
SinaranX
post Jun 29 2007, 02:29 PM

168 posts

Hopefully could get my copy on wednesday >.< I really cant wait to play this game...blackhole here i come!
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 29 2007, 04:01 PM

1,495 posts

PJ, how's Flatout UC? Fun?
PrivateJohn
post Jun 29 2007, 05:19 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

The game is fun but i find it too hard to aim, but then because of that it makes you go John Woo-Chow Yun Fatt dual wield fiesta.
I think some people will get dizzy playing this game...especially those non-FPSer.

QUOTE(huss_wuss @ Jun 29 2007, 04:06 AM)
hahahaha.. i can get the feeling of wat its like to be pj during romantic moments wit a girl... look left..look right... look around.. all nervous.. haha.. doh.gif
I just got 21...& finally legal, that's why very nervous laugh.gif
For my birthday, i got the magical creeping dark power.

The comic that come with the game (don't have time to read yet)

@Lord_Ashe, erm...i think it's Dirt + Burnout. laugh.gif Pretty fun, graphic nice too...but the game too hard for me rclxub.gif (was striking for gold medal, usually 1st level won't be hard but not this one...)
The deathmatch mode is nice though...playing a racing game like a FPS arena..Fragging each other~
oops, OT.
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 29 2007, 05:25 PM

1,495 posts

Thanks thanks smile.gif

Will be looking out for Darkness smile.gif

Merlin MY
post Jun 29 2007, 05:37 PM

45 posts

OT...

i want the darkness & overlord now! don't want to wait no more!
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 29 2007, 05:37 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jun 29 2007, 05:25 PM)
Thanks thanks smile.gif

Will be looking out for Darkness smile.gif
Dun just look .... BUY BUY BUY laugh.gif

Added on June 29, 2007, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(Merlin MY @ Jun 29 2007, 05:37 PM)
OT...

i want the darkness & overlord now! don't want to wait no more!
U really want darkness ... i can help you. Very easy .. just turn off all the lights .. haha .. sorry bad joke whistling.gif

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jun 29 2007, 05:39 PM
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 29 2007, 05:42 PM

1,495 posts

Yes! Yes!

Overlord and Darkness!
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 29 2007, 08:07 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

nargoe
post Jun 30 2007, 12:32 PM

87 posts

The Darkness Achievements

i want this game badly..
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 30 2007, 07:56 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

DARKNESS DARKNESS DARKNESS ... im goin koo koo liao rclxub.gif
PrivateJohn
post Jun 30 2007, 08:25 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

The suckness indeed. tongue.gif

Although i got The Darkness, i am putting more time on Overlord now. Can't play two game at the same time!!
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 30 2007, 08:49 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jun 30 2007, 08:25 PM)
The suckness indeed. tongue.gif

Although i got The Darkness, i am putting more time on Overlord now. Can't play two game at the same time!!
But .. u can play 2 games at the same time ... go buy another Xbox360 and TV .. LOL laugh.gif
SUSmayatsan
post Jul 1 2007, 06:45 PM

this game is f***in briliant.....superb...full of evil n darkness....sighhhh...i fell like a cool macho assasin and bad ass guy when playing this...still when am with innocent people i do a good thing and earned the respect from them...huh...the voice of jackie remind me to cool Antonio banderas strarring MEXICAN....VOLLA!!!!! i give 8.5 for this game thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

P/S: now im watching the tv in the subway station heavy metal music video....cool man..i mean u can watch the tv as long as u can!!!now...am goin to cx my gf jenny at chinatown...jenny im cumin laugh.gif

Added on July 1, 2007, 7:35 pmaaahhhh.....how sooth it was...come n meet jenny...and its a birthday cake for me...thx...and she ask me to accompany her watching tv ...well ok...i sit for quite a long time ...hugging her...then i got a kisses drool.gif wub.gif and gotta romantic achievement...wwwwooott... ohhh come on just a kiss...NO WAY! i want more drool.gif drool.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by mayatsan: Jul 1 2007, 07:36 PM
PrivateJohn
post Jul 2 2007, 03:47 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(mayatsan @ Jul 1 2007, 06:45 PM)
P/S: now im watching the tv in the subway station heavy metal music video....cool man..i mean u can watch the tv as long as u can!!!now...am goin to cx my gf jenny at chinatown...jenny im cumin laugh.gif
You coming you mean?? Not that... whistling.gif

Just finish reading the comic, quite interesting how it link with the game. As a matter of fact, they release stand-alone comic just for the game, there are more issues other than the one that come with the game.
Gona hunt for the comics now (the game version)

Jackie : All Right, Guys. Do It. Take Him. Now!
Darkling : No Jackie. Love Must Die!
Jackie : ...I Love Her.
Darkling : Love Must Die. THERE IS ONLY THE DARKNESS.
*Jenny die*

SUSmayatsan
post Jul 2 2007, 08:59 AM

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jul 2 2007, 03:47 AM)
You coming you mean?? Not that... whistling.gif
supposedly after the kiss...u know wut i mean...should be cumin laugh.gif drool.gif wub.gif

Added on July 2, 2007, 7:35 pmTHE ONLY WAY INTO THIS WORLD IS SUICIDE ON HOLY GROUND

Added on July 2, 2007, 7:49 pmI'M A CONTRACT KILLER, I KILL PEOPLE FOR FRANCHETTI CRIME FAMILY

This post has been edited by mayatsan: Jul 2 2007, 07:49 PM
munky
post Jul 2 2007, 08:15 PM

1,971 posts

looks like u really enjoy this game. Maybe i should get it as well hehe
oniee
post Jul 2 2007, 08:22 PM

133 posts

any online impression? i heard that it lag big time?
SUSmayatsan
post Jul 2 2007, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(munky @ Jul 2 2007, 08:15 PM)
looks like u really enjoy this game. Maybe i should get it as well hehe
mmg best gile...mmg berbaloi fariz drool.gif drool.gif
blackshirt
post Jul 2 2007, 09:33 PM

Goodwell Car Detailer
1,313 posts

Guys see this..

http://www.gameaxis.com/home/?blog=1558
PrivateJohn
post Jul 2 2007, 09:38 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Banned in Singapore? Means no more asian version?? (or have to resort to HK, Taiwan etc)
Gears of War not ban but the darkness?
SUSmayatsan
post Jul 2 2007, 09:39 PM

QUOTE(blackshirt @ Jul 2 2007, 09:33 PM)
aarrrghhhhh WTF was this. vmad.gif ..how dare???? huh....tak nak ganas gie main sabun la...isk isk....typical SINGAPORE....blah la...luckily i got this game in UK...well for bioshock and GTA...looking for asian or japan version...or hoping its region free so if no japan and asia...time for U/C or PAL sweat.gif
munky
post Jul 2 2007, 09:41 PM

1,971 posts

oh noes. I thought malaysia censorship was bad enough, and this came up doh.gif

Hopefully there'll be english versions for other asian countries that can be bought from play-asia or something
SUSmayatsan
post Jul 2 2007, 09:44 PM

QUOTE(munky @ Jul 2 2007, 09:41 PM)
oh noes. I thought malaysia censorship was bad enough, and this came up doh.gif

Hopefully there'll be english versions for other asian countries that can be bought from play-asia or something
weh fariz...game ni region free la...brp kali mau cakap? laugh.gif u can get either U/C or PAL....erkk jap...ko maksudkan game darkness ke or bioshock and GTA hmm.gif hehehe
DjiNn
post Jul 2 2007, 10:33 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

laugh.gif is indeed banned in Singapore. But not the entire Asia Country. As Mayatsan said.. is free region..

Hamster X
post Jul 2 2007, 10:54 PM

315 posts

Everyone forgot about Dead Rising? My bro bought an NTSC version but he bought it in Singapore.

This post has been edited by Hamster X: Jul 2 2007, 10:54 PM
iloveredapples
post Jul 2 2007, 11:00 PM

got no asian version of dead rising anyway
munky
post Jul 3 2007, 12:56 AM

1,971 posts

oh free region ka ? my bad my bad tongue.gif
pitok235149
post Jul 3 2007, 02:26 PM

89 posts

good graphic!!! really pop my eyes out..but the storyline a bit slow... thumbup.gif
-= Virgil =-
post Jul 3 2007, 08:09 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

I read from some other discussion boards that the game does have a lack in details on the hair of Jackie. They said its like layer of hair rather than every string of hair.. And they say the loading screen might get a little too repetitive and a waste of time.
PrivateJohn
post Jul 4 2007, 05:03 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

The hair are like the one in DOA4 biggrin.gif
The texture though, is nice...

Check this out guys...is he not cheating!?!? Where is the ball?

Love the subway feel of the game. That's how you get around in the game...

Finished Overlord, that's why playing the Darkness now. The online mode sux0r. Lag fest and it's not that fun....IMO.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Jul 4 2007, 05:04 AM
SUSmayatsan
post Jul 4 2007, 07:44 AM

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jul 4 2007, 05:03 AM)
The hair are like the one in DOA4 biggrin.gif
The texture though, is nice...

Check this out guys...is he not cheating!?!? Where is the ball?

Love the subway feel of the game. That's how you get around in the game...

Finished Overlord, that's why playing the Darkness now. The online mode sux0r. Lag fest and it's not that fun....IMO.
hahahaha...finally almost there....just finish 90% of the game...coz im so damn sleepy...about the LUCAS trick u have to complete the side mission...im not sure whats the guy name...but he is a nigga...well help him to kill some thugs at lower east side...return to him and ask him for the tips to win in d lucas game...hmmm basicaly u have to destract him thumbup.gif

btw cx this out....

Special Darklings

At any in-game phone enter the number and you will unlock a special Darkling

Password Effect
555-5664 Unlocks the European Retailer (Golfer) Special Darkling
555-GAME(4263) Unlocks Special 2K Darkling

Unlockable How to Unlock
Collectable 10 5556118
Collectable 08 5554682
Collectable 07 5554676
Collectable 06 5554649
Collectable 05 5554603
Collectable 04 5554569
Collectable 09 5554691
Collectable 03 5554565
Collectable 02 5554525
Collectable 01 5554463

This post has been edited by mayatsan: Jul 4 2007, 07:51 AM
PrivateJohn
post Jul 5 2007, 04:48 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

lol, finally got it.

So how do i bring down the chopper? Haven't unlock that achievement....i don't think my gun is power enough to bring 'em down!
SUSmayatsan
post Jul 5 2007, 09:11 AM

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jul 5 2007, 04:48 AM)
lol, finally got it.

So how do i bring down the chopper? Haven't unlock that achievement....i don't think my gun is power enough to bring 'em down!
To destroy the chopper, aim a black hole up out the skylight
window.(use the black hole power)...btw i finished the game.....and the ending is so romantic rclxm9.gif
ruztynail
post Jul 5 2007, 09:13 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

is it nice. i heard allot of people got motion sickness while playing it.

SUSmayatsan
post Jul 5 2007, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 5 2007, 09:13 AM)
is it nice. i heard allot of people got motion sickness while playing it.

fell like DON...fell like a real contract killer...feel like mafia....feel like am SUPER BAD ASS GUY...and lastly...feel like IM THE MOST ROMANTIC GUY...huh what a package huh whistling.gif
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Jul 14 2007, 07:17 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,747 posts

Just bought the US version today at 1u... Just came out today!! So happy!! smile.gif
silencer
post Jul 14 2007, 07:24 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Just finished overlord...wonder when DJinn will bring this game...arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
DjiNn
post Jul 14 2007, 07:27 PM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jul 14 2007, 07:24 PM)
Just finished overlord...wonder when DJinn will bring this game...arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
mine still waiting, currently the US version quote me RM 230 la~. me don't want to take.. since 2k games will come out asia eventually.. hopefully can get lower price lo.

RM 230 is too expensive liaw for me.. But if I cannot tahan the game I might take it laugh.gif
silencer
post Jul 14 2007, 07:33 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Jul 14 2007, 07:27 PM)
mine still waiting, currently the US version quote me RM 230 la~. me don't want to take.. since 2k games will come out asia eventually.. hopefully can get lower price lo.

RM 230 is too expensive liaw for me.. But if I cannot tahan the game I might take it laugh.gif
wow..RM230 is too darn high..i don mind waiting for asian released..if it iwont take too long.... thumbup.gif
PrivateJohn
post Jul 15 2007, 09:19 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(mayatsan @ Jul 5 2007, 09:11 AM)
To destroy the chopper, aim a black hole up out the skylight
window.(use the black hole power)...btw i finished the game.....and the ending is so romantic rclxm9.gif
Finished the game second time on Hard setting but didn't get the achievement, dammit...
Great game... thumbup.gif

Dramatic moment in The Darkness wub.gif

The Darkness Ending whistling.gif

lucashii
post Jul 15 2007, 12:11 PM

288 posts

the darklings are kinda useless ;/ darkholes all the way!
quackers
post Jul 19 2007, 07:10 PM

19 posts

Has The Darkness for the X360 finally arrived????
Thrust
post Jul 19 2007, 07:15 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Yes, It's here.
munky
post Jul 19 2007, 07:22 PM

1,971 posts

u can close the thread now laugh.gif
Unwritten law
post Jul 19 2007, 07:24 PM

| | NJ Legion Iced Tea | |
745 posts

i believe in a thing called love?
alkt
post Jul 19 2007, 07:29 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

black shuck! black shuck! blackkkkk shucckkkkkk! rclxm9.gif
Unwritten law
post Jul 19 2007, 07:31 PM

| | NJ Legion Iced Tea | |
745 posts

Your growing on me!
gnome
post Jul 19 2007, 07:35 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

I want The Brightness sad.gif
Naota-kun
post Jul 19 2007, 07:35 PM

All the stars below are lights in the heavens.
1,345 posts

QUOTE(Unwritten law @ Jul 19 2007, 07:24 PM)
i believe in a thing called love?
[attachmentid=263994]
sexy!
Hamster X
post Jul 19 2007, 08:22 PM

315 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/455861
quackers
post Jul 21 2007, 02:15 AM

19 posts

is the asian version out yet for the X360?????
Taman Linkin
post Jul 21 2007, 07:49 AM

Bijes
1,657 posts

Other gaming forum still says darkness demo is up on market. And I still cant find it lol.

This post has been edited by Taman Linkin: Jul 21 2007, 09:12 AM
nargoe
post Jul 21 2007, 09:35 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ Jul 21 2007, 07:49 AM)
Other gaming forum still says darkness demo is up on market. And I still cant find it lol.
I can't find it too .. even with my US acc
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 21 2007, 11:05 AM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

someone told me that Asia version or Darkness will be available on 27th..i dont know 27th this month or wat.. rclxub.gif
munky
post Jul 21 2007, 12:56 PM

1,971 posts

27th january 2008 ? laugh.gif
SUSmayatsan
post Jul 21 2007, 01:01 PM

QUOTE(munky @ Jul 21 2007, 12:56 PM)
27th january 2008 ? laugh.gif

haha....kesian laugh.gif laugh.gif
Rocky
post Jul 21 2007, 01:14 PM

Darkness (NTSC) already out. Saw a few copies in Sg Wang (Imbi Mario/Gamester) last week. All of the copies have been sold! These copies are very expensive cause it come from HK due Darkness is been banned in Singapore. Price around MYR$220 - $230. Anyway, got my copy for PS3. Damn violent, killed people like mafia and chew thier hearts up. Cool!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 21 2007, 02:53 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

maybe that the US version...Asian version could be NTSC/J i think..
Rocky
post Jul 21 2007, 07:13 PM

Yup! That's US version and is region free. Not sure about if there is any Asian version. Heard it was banned in HK too! sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by Rocky: Jul 21 2007, 07:15 PM
nargoe
post Jul 22 2007, 10:06 AM

87 posts

downloadong the demo as we speak
ghostdevice
post Jul 22 2007, 02:08 PM

53 posts

played the demo hmmm cool wei
Zephro
post Jul 22 2007, 09:27 PM

174 posts

Game is fun, but replay value is somewhat lacking. First time through the game should take a while, second (On Hard) to get all the missing collectibles should be even shorter, maybe 5 hours.
Haven't tried MP, but I've seen many complaints about the netcode (lag) on other forums.
If there were rentals in Malaysia, I would say this is a rent-worthy game, instead of a buy.

My 2 cents.
Breaktru
post Jul 22 2007, 09:28 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Well , there are rental in malaysia wink.gif
Taman Linkin
post Jul 22 2007, 10:37 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Jul 22 2007, 09:28 PM)
Well , there are rental in malaysia wink.gif
care to tell which shop offer it?
DarkSaviour
post Jul 24 2007, 08:47 PM

336 posts

wei..... the darkness out liow lar asian version.. at PA

alkt
post Jul 24 2007, 08:52 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

i believe djinn's stocks will come in the next few days smile.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 24 2007, 08:54 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

Yeah cant wait now..
alkt
post Jul 29 2007, 11:17 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

just got the game. fun! rclxms.gif

but 1 thing i dun like is when low ammo, damn hard to kill ppl. the darkling and minions are uber cool man! thumbup.gif
Mr. Alby
post Jul 29 2007, 11:33 AM

128 posts

i cant play more than 1 hour....
if i push myself....i feel like vomiting tongue.gif
alkt
post Jul 29 2007, 11:48 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

i can play more than 1 hour but i can't...today working laugh.gif

tonight its Darkness time! biggrin.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 29 2007, 12:13 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

juz one tips i get while playing this game..Dont reload ur weapon..let is Auto Reload...Cause if u Reload u lose all the bullets in it cause it changes the whole Magazine...
Syuji
post Jul 29 2007, 07:20 PM

how can you run out of ammo lar quaker?
my ammo never runs out biggrin.gif
DjiNn
post Jul 29 2007, 07:37 PM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

noobs will only run out of ammo ahahaha tongue.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 29 2007, 08:11 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

hahaha i never run out of ammo once... laugh.gif
scpt
post Jul 29 2007, 08:36 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

Conclusion, quaker=noob thumbup.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 29 2007, 08:50 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

have to try the darkness online
munky
post Jul 29 2007, 09:22 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Jul 29 2007, 08:36 PM)
Conclusion, quaker=noob thumbup.gif
or

everyone > noob = quaker tongue.gif

This post has been edited by munky: Jul 29 2007, 09:23 PM
alkt
post Jul 29 2007, 10:18 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

at least i won 3 Deathmatch games just now against syuji and siebel whistling.gif
munky
post Jul 29 2007, 10:37 PM

1,971 posts

so everyone > quaker > syuji & siebel ?
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 29 2007, 10:50 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

Fariz = All show no Game whistling.gif
Mr. Alby
post Jul 29 2007, 11:53 PM

128 posts

the MP sucks wei... tongue.gif

sorry for the game just now....got DC like mad la....
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Jul 30 2007, 12:52 AM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,747 posts

Just completed the game... Great game... Didn't do all the sidequests.. Maybe on second playthrough.. Hehe smile.gif
Syuji
post Jul 30 2007, 07:01 AM

finished the game also...a good game smile.gif
eyer...quaker host,then he turned into a creature and followed me everywhere and he keep scratching my ass until i am dead sad.gif
alkt
post Jul 30 2007, 08:13 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

that is what the darkling for mah laugh.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 30 2007, 01:43 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

Eeeee quaker gay go scratch syuji's a$$.. whistling.gif
munky
post Jul 30 2007, 04:35 PM

1,971 posts

^

i see jealousy in the post above whistling.gif
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 30 2007, 06:43 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

ur head la..im not as GHEY as u are...
nyg
post Jul 31 2007, 05:24 PM

28 posts

Darkess is one of the shortest games I've played. Ever. I finished it in 2 days!

Tonnes and tonnes of fun though!!
Mr. Alby
post Jul 31 2007, 07:01 PM

128 posts

i still havent finish it.. sweat.gif
..now, i can only manage to play 1/2 hour per day or darkness.....
dizzy la..... tongue.gif
infe_red555
post Aug 2 2007, 06:25 AM

Darkness Owners ! calling out for a all time crazy mp player. Those who are participating Darkness on Friday or saturday at nite. PLease post their gamertag ! Its TIME TO BATTLE THE DARKNESS !!!
MonsterJ9
post Aug 15 2007, 05:06 PM

244 posts

How to toss the object? how to kill ppl using our snake?
huss_wuss
post Aug 15 2007, 07:12 PM

snake? u meant crawling dark? LB.. the game has in-game tutorials on how to work on specific darklings and dark powers..
MonsterJ9
post Aug 15 2007, 07:23 PM

244 posts

sorry i dunno..today only i bought
acougan
post Aug 21 2007, 10:22 AM

590 posts

hm... the star intech review the game today. the review copy courtesy of GH, eh? but no mention which version(360/ps3) was reviewed, but a warning regarding the swearing and the gore tongue.gif
Hitman190
post Aug 21 2007, 11:58 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Aug 21 2007, 10:22 AM)
hm... the star intech review the game today. the review copy courtesy of GH, eh? but no mention which version(360/ps3) was reviewed, but a warning regarding the swearing and the gore tongue.gif
Star Intech so cool onez!!

But wait....arent these guys the same people who just reviewed Brothers in Arms 2....like last week.. tongue.gif
refnulf
post Aug 21 2007, 12:13 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

Those fellas are horrible reviewers.

Hitman190
post Aug 21 2007, 12:26 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Aug 21 2007, 12:13 PM)
Those fellas are horrible reviewers.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
MonsterJ9
post Aug 21 2007, 08:30 PM

244 posts

I'm inside the castle then what i do against the darkness??
huss_wuss
post Aug 21 2007, 09:26 PM

kill his darklings.. whn he's fedup... approach him.. u'll both reunite as one..
MonsterJ9
post Aug 21 2007, 10:23 PM

244 posts

done,now in final chapter
zc_squash
post Aug 22 2007, 09:28 PM

1,149 posts

Just done this game in the afternoon =) A great game i must say but the combat is not thaaaaaat great lah....

Mampus kau Uncle Paulie!

0.0462sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:15 AM