8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Games The Darkness, Yet another FPS...or is it?

TSdouble_agent
post May 12 2007, 01:39 PM, updated 19y ago

97 posts

On the eve of his 21st birthday, the player takes control of Mafia hitman Jackie Estacado who is suddenly possessed by the malevolent powers of The Darkness, a family "Gift" (some family trait). Although this supernatural entity allows him to wreak havoc on his enemies, the Darkness also has a powerful will of its own and Estacado must now learn how to control it. The gameplay uniquely blends both modern crime drama and supernatural horror through both first-person and third-person perspectives. The environments are highly destructible allowing players to demolish the scenery of the New York underworld to wreak vengeance on his former Mafia employers and eventually defeat the terrifying creatures of The Otherworld, a parallel reality where the Darkness dwells.

Celebrity voice overs include Kirk Acevedo (Band of Brothers, Oz) as Jackie, Mike Patton (ex-Faith No More) as The Darkness and Lauren Ambrose (Six Feet Under) as Jenny.

At its core, the Darkness is a first-person shooter, with Estacado's skills as a hitman allowing him to make use of a wide variety of guns, from basic 9mm handguns and submachine guns to high-powered assault rifles and automatic shotguns. Estacado will primarily use these in well-lit environments, when he cannot efficiently use Darkness Powers, and of course they can also be used in conjunction with his power for maximum effect.

In the dark, Estacado will be able to use his hellish ability to summon creatures and artifacts from The Otherworld and Hell itself.

Developer: Starbreeze Studios

Publisher: 2K Games

Release date(s): North America June 25, 2007
Europe June 29, 2007

Genre: First-person shooter

Mode(s): Single player, Multiplayer

Rating: ESRB: Mature (M)

Platform(s): PS3, Xbox 360

Here's an exclusive from X-Play

X-Play Exclusive

For those who don't know,the developer,Starbreeze Studio is the studio that made Chronicles of Riddick:Escape From Butcher Bay

Breaktru
post May 12 2007, 01:53 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

And Chronicles Of Riddick EFBB is one hell of awesome game . I've mixed feeling about this one , but IMO , it will be an above average game at least . Im looking forward to battle The Darkness itself.
acougan
post May 12 2007, 02:23 PM

590 posts

i wonder if witchblade will show up as a cameo character/cross-over side-story/paid DLC? tongue.gif hopefully the storyline in this game is good

-= Virgil =-
post May 14 2007, 02:00 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

From the trailers, its pretty interesting, with the ability to control those dark minions, and the ability to use the dark powers to throw cars and shiet, this is gonna be great!

This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Jun 15 2007, 10:24 AM
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 15 2007, 10:25 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

The Darkness Exclusive Preview drool.gif

Looks good as ever. Hopefully it will be as good as Riddick.
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 15 2007, 10:45 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Definitely one to watch for. I may not be able to afford it when it comes out (too many games to play) but I'll definitely get it at some point.
PrivateJohn
post Jun 15 2007, 10:53 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Pre-ordered & it will come with a free darkness comic book.
Gurdian
post Jun 15 2007, 11:02 AM

1,648 posts

I've got mixed feelings about this game.

I really want it to be good.

We are looooong overdue for a decent FPS for the 360
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 15 2007, 11:14 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Jun 15 2007, 10:53 AM)
Pre-ordered & it will come with a free darkness comic book.
Care to provide sc*nl*tion of it tongue.gif

Whoopsie?! rolleyes.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 15 2007, 11:34 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Jun 15 2007, 11:02 AM)
I've got mixed feelings about this game.

I really want it to be good.

We are looooong overdue for a decent FPS for the 360
With COD4, Bioshock, Darkness, Frontlines, Mercs 2 and Army of Two (among others) I'm sure SOME of them will be good smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 15 2007, 01:22 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Seen all 3 trailers in HD .. hopefully that not the actual graphics .. kinda dull and blurry. Shud be better once the final retail ver. is release.
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 15 2007, 07:13 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jun 15 2007, 01:22 PM)
Seen all 3 trailers in HD .. hopefully that not the actual graphics .. kinda dull and blurry. Shud be better once the final retail ver. is release.
Well its meant to be dark anyway right?! laugh.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 16 2007, 02:53 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Check out The Darkness new trailer at http://www.xboxyde.com/news_4453_en.html

It looks awesome.
nargoe
post Jun 17 2007, 04:18 PM

87 posts

when will this game be released here? thinking of buying smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 17 2007, 04:30 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(nargoe @ Jun 17 2007, 04:18 PM)
when will this game be released here? thinking of buying smile.gif
Shud be sometime end of June .. between 27th to 29th. Date not really confirm yet.
iloveredapples
post Jun 17 2007, 05:03 PM

us confirm 4 25th i saw on some site
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 17 2007, 05:09 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(iloveredapples @ Jun 17 2007, 05:03 PM)
us confirm 4 25th i saw on some site
Hmmm .. then Asia version shud be earlier or later smile.gif
iloveredapples
post Jun 17 2007, 06:02 PM

well, should be be4 the end of june anywayz, earlier better 4 me though..my exams start 3rd or 4th or was it 5th?
XenoFr3ak
post Jun 17 2007, 07:02 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(iloveredapples @ Jun 17 2007, 06:02 PM)
well, should be be4 the end of june anywayz, earlier better 4 me though..my exams start 3rd or 4th or was it 5th?
laugh.gif laugh.gif u dunno when ur exam starting .. alamak doh.gif i tot it started last friday. laugh.gif
iloveredapples
post Jun 17 2007, 07:06 PM

no la...i no my exam is in 1st week of july, other than tht kinda fgt.........T_T, never mind as long as release b4 exam is ok

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0564sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:52 AM