Super Thermal Paste Test: 36 brands tested!

TSlolhalol
post May 12 2007, 09:56 AM, updated 19y ago

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

A test made by the russian OC team itc/modlabs; AS5 and ASC are identical in performance, and are, and AS5 is terribly overpriced for the performace it offers:

results

crappy thermal interface
Tital Nano Blue 59
Panasonic 58.5
KPT-8 (reference) 56.6

decent thermal interface
Data Cooler 57
Titan TTG S-104 , S-103 56.7
Pasta Siliconowa 56.6
Zalman CSL 850 56.5
Noctua 56.5
Stars Silver 56.5
Stars 700/Aero 700 56
GeIL GL-TCP1b 55.6
Thermopox 55.6
КПТ-8(BeO) 55.5
Sil more 55.5
Shin-Etsu(white) 55.5
W.P. 55.5
STARS (white, soft pack) 55.5
AKT-842 55
Fanner 420 55
Koolance 55

good thermal interface
Arctic Alumina 55.5
Arctic Silver-3 54.6
AOS 54.5
DC-340 54.5
Asetek 54.5
Arctic Silver-5 53.5
Arctic Ceramique 53.5

great thermal interface
Apus TMG 301 52.5
Gigabyte 52.5
Titan Nano Grease TTG-G30010 52.5
GFC-M1 D90T8-010 52.5
Shin-Etsu MicroSi G-751 52

outstanding thermal interface
Arctic Cooling MX-1 51.5
Shin-Etsu MicroSi MPU-3.7 50.5
Coollaboratory Liquid Pro 50

teh numbers repesent the temps... lower is beter....

This post has been edited by lolhalol: May 12 2007, 10:05 AM
Thrust
post May 12 2007, 10:07 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Does those gigabyte thermal paste they meant are those provided when we buy Gigabyte CPU/VGA coolers?
akachester
post May 12 2007, 10:11 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Wow..the Arctic Cooling MX-1 is categorized as outstanding..I would love to try that out..And the AS5 is only known as good which is 2 level behind..hmm...

Any source for the review?And where is chill factor..lol..
TSlolhalol
post May 12 2007, 10:13 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

i m not sure.... maybe coz i canbt find any thing on their site bout a themalpaste..

Added on May 12, 2007, 10:13 amteh source link is borken...im looking for it now... this is posted over at xs... so im not bullshiting ...

This post has been edited by lolhalol: May 12 2007, 10:13 AM
akachester
post May 12 2007, 10:15 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ May 12 2007, 10:13 AM)
i m not sure.... maybe coz i canbt find any thing on their site bout a themalpaste..

Added on May 12, 2007, 10:13 amteh source link is borken...im looking for it now... this is posted over at xs... so im not bullshiting ...
Dont worry, i am not saying you are BSing..I just wanted to see the review for myself..lol..Should be something good coming..Time to get myself the MX-1..
TSlolhalol
post May 12 2007, 10:18 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

hehe .. teh review is in russion... lolz... so i dun think can read it anyway,...lolz...have to use translater....lolz
emilz
post May 12 2007, 10:54 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 12 2007, 10:15 AM)
Dont worry, i am not saying you are BSing..I just wanted to see the review for myself..lol..Should be something good coming..Time to get myself the MX-1..
ya i tout some one doing bulk on that thing rite hmm.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/445940

here it is

This post has been edited by emilz: May 12 2007, 10:56 AM
wakuwaku-san
post May 12 2007, 11:33 AM

28 posts

bro is coolermaster thermal paste guds??????

i tink wan to buy wan soon....
LittleGhost
post May 12 2007, 12:25 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

oh snap, now i regret finishing two tubes of my MX-1 thermal paste on heatsinking the transistors.

Incredible, i am always a fanboy of Arctic Cooling's MX-1, but i never knew the difference between it and the AS5 was so significant.
TerryZeroX
post May 12 2007, 12:40 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

1 question here tongue.gif is the AS5 fully burnt-in? i doubt its burnt-in
HaHaNoCluE
post May 12 2007, 01:23 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 12 2007, 12:40 PM)
1 question here tongue.gif is the AS5 fully burnt-in? i doubt its burnt-in
i guess same goes to the rest of the thermal paste, they r not bed in yet... most of these paste need at least 200 hours of bedding time... i've seen this review before over xs too... mx-1 does get very good results from a lot reviews, n they do perform better after bedding in... best of all, it's conductivity is zero... so messy guy like me no need worry... just apply n no need to wipe away the excessive 1.. hahaha...
ciohbu
post May 12 2007, 01:30 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ May 12 2007, 01:23 PM)
i guess same goes to the rest of the thermal paste, they r not bed in yet... most of these paste need at least 200 hours of bedding time... i've seen this review before over xs too... mx-1 does get very good results from a lot reviews, n they do perform better after bedding in... best of all, it's conductivity is zero... so messy guy like me no need worry... just apply n no need to wipe away the excessive 1.. hahaha...
mx-1 compare to as-5 ?...i heard that as-5 is conductive right?..
LittleLinnet
post May 12 2007, 01:34 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

AS5 is not conductive
ciohbu
post May 12 2007, 01:37 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 12 2007, 01:34 PM)
AS5 is not conductive
oh..then if compare mx-1 and as-5..which one perform better?..coz the price for both is almost the same..
[KY]
post May 12 2007, 07:33 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 12 2007, 01:34 PM)
AS5 is not conductive
According to their site, AS5 is slightly conductive and advised not to come in contact with electrical components.
DaRkSyThE
post May 12 2007, 08:17 PM

4,809 posts

do u think this thread belongs in the thermal paste discussion thread?
MetalZone
post May 12 2007, 08:22 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE([KY] @ May 12 2007, 07:33 PM)
According to their site, AS5 is slightly conductive and advised not to come in contact with electrical components.
no, it is not conductive. but it is slightly capacitive. hence that advice.
akachester
post May 12 2007, 09:43 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(wakuwaku-san @ May 12 2007, 11:33 AM)
bro is coolermaster thermal paste guds??????

i tink wan to buy wan soon....
For me, CM's thermal paste is a big nono. For that price, i would rather spend abit more and get the AS5 or MX-1 which is proven to be good. Tested CM Nano last time (which was quite expensive as i remember and the performance is not that for off from normal white paste...

Time to get the MX-1 myself...lol..Any idea where i can get it in LYP?
storm88
post May 12 2007, 10:11 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ May 12 2007, 10:56 AM)
|outstanding thermal interface|
Arctic Cooling MX-1 51.5
teh numbers repesent the temps... lower is beter....
wow
the result make my eyes blink blink drool.gif

Added on May 12, 2007, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ May 12 2007, 09:17 PM)
do u think this thread belongs in  the thermal paste discussion thread?
erm.. i guess not.
its seems like to sharing a reviewed result than a discussion thread.
isnt it? blush.gif

This post has been edited by storm88: May 12 2007, 10:13 PM
uglyvamp
post May 13 2007, 02:43 AM

blink of life
1,666 posts

below is a picture taken from factory showroom while i was in china.

all 3 products in the pictures have the same thermal compound, in 3different branding & packing.

left japanese market,

middle, taiwan & china

right MX-1

we have middle & right smile.gif gonna test it out with my frend's new rig biggrin.gif

ciohbu
post May 13 2007, 03:11 AM

2,104 posts

hahaha..then i will here waiting for ur result..tongue.gif...coz i am using AS-5 now..if MX-1 is really better then might consider to get one after my AS-5 finish
kmarc
post May 13 2007, 07:34 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 13 2007, 03:11 AM)
hahaha..then i will here waiting for ur result..tongue.gif...coz i am using AS-5 now..if MX-1 is really better then might consider to get one after my AS-5 finish
MX-1 is better. I can't remember where I've seen the review but it was about 2-3'c lower compared to AS-5.......

Wished I knew that earlier, would have bought the MX-1 instead!!!
e-jump
post May 13 2007, 08:02 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

Im not sure, but the paste that we get free with TR heatsinks are good too
1-2C higher compared to AS5. not too shabby
akachester
post May 13 2007, 09:15 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 13 2007, 07:34 AM)
MX-1 is better. I can't remember where I've seen the review but it was about 2-3'c lower compared to AS-5.......

And people was discussing which thermal paste was better than the AS5 last time doh.gif ..The AS5 seems unbeatable during that time and now, there is plenty out there..Darn..

To be honest, even the Chill Factor which was supposed to beat the AS5 doesnt really perform to what i had expected. Therefore, i am still sticking to my AS5 for every component that needs it..
ciohbu
post May 13 2007, 10:12 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 13 2007, 07:34 AM)

hehe..nvm lar bro..wait till finish AS-5 then get MX-1 d lor..me too me too.. tongue.gif tongue.gif ..if i knew bout this earlier..sure i get MX-1 d..coz both also same price..anyone using MX-1 here?..can share their opinion?
emilz
post May 13 2007, 12:23 PM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 13 2007, 10:12 AM)
hehe..nvm lar bro..wait till finish AS-5 then get MX-1 d lor..me too me too.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif ..if i knew bout this earlier..sure i get MX-1 d..coz both also same price..anyone using MX-1 here?..can share their opinion?
hahaha me still think want to buy it or not from the bulk

cause i jut get as5 12g damd still lot of it now want to buy another one rclxub.gif
ciohbu
post May 13 2007, 12:52 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(emilz @ May 13 2007, 12:23 PM)
hahaha me still think want to buy it or not from the bulk

cause i jut get as5 12g damd still lot of it now want to buy another one  rclxub.gif
hahaha..me too leh..just got a brand new as-5 to buddle with my gigabyte g power...although used for twice d..but stil got a lot..hehehe...may we can buy together next time in the bulk, mayb can get cheaper..lol rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
akachester
post May 13 2007, 12:56 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 13 2007, 12:52 PM)
hahaha..me too leh..just got a brand new as-5 to buddle with my gigabyte g power...although used for twice d..but stil got a lot..hehehe...may we can buy together next time in the bulk, mayb can get cheaper..lol  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
lol..i got the small tube of AS5, used countless time already, applied on GC, Proc, NB etc and still have alot..

Any user on MX-1 care to comment about its performance against the AS5?

This post has been edited by akachester: May 13 2007, 12:56 PM
kmarc
post May 13 2007, 01:09 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 13 2007, 10:12 AM)
hehe..nvm lar bro..wait till finish AS-5 then get MX-1 d lor..me too me too.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif ..if i knew bout this earlier..sure i get MX-1 d..coz both also same price..anyone using MX-1 here?..can share their opinion?
Errr.... I still have the AS5, CM nanofusion, TIM from Noctua HSF and TIM from chipset heatsink. Probably won't finish any of these in years!!! sweat.gif

I've been searching around for that excellent comparison between TIMs which included the AS5 and AS-MX-1. Can't seem to find it.....
LittleLinnet
post May 13 2007, 03:49 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

i am using MX-1 now previous AS5
temp better a bit i guess since now i using lower cfm fan compared to before when i use higher CFM fan with AS5.

Temp currently no difference.
ciohbu
post May 13 2007, 04:14 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 13 2007, 03:49 PM)
i am using MX-1 now previous AS5
temp better a bit i guess since now i using lower cfm fan compared to before when i use higher CFM fan with AS5.

Temp currently no difference.
hmmm..interesting...at one time AS-5 was well known as the best thermal interface...now MX-1 is here to compete the title tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post May 13 2007, 05:01 PM

628 posts

didn't notice any temp changes (if got i think oso 1 or celcius max)... but i use mx-1 coz it's non conductive, hence i can easily apply to all those smaller chipset which has passive cooler (heat sink) installed)... as it's no metal base so it should last longer, no need reapply after long use... but i think most of us change cooler or paste after only few months, hehehe...
vincent09
post May 14 2007, 11:05 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Hmm may i ask, how many thermal paste that i need to fill in the cpu that metal there?
I saw some picture just put a small dot there, but for my cpu metal there i plug out the heatsink then i saw whole metal is thermal paste.( i'm sure not just put a dot there. "
So how many that i need to fill ?
allenultra
post May 14 2007, 11:52 AM

9,027 posts

just put a dot will do.
when u apply on heatsink on the CPU later, the thermal paste will spread out.
akachester
post May 14 2007, 12:02 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 14 2007, 11:05 AM)
Hmm may i ask, how many thermal paste that i need to fill in the cpu that metal there?
I saw some picture just put a small dot there, but for my cpu metal there i plug out the heatsink then i saw whole metal is thermal paste.( i'm sure not just put a dot there. "
So how many that i need to fill ?
It really depends on certain thermal paste. At best, search at their website and see how should it be applied. For AS5, it is using rice grain method where you will only put a rice grain size thermal paste at the proc and spread it using the HSF. Others such as Zalman and TR Chill Factor will need you to spread it out using a card to all over the proc...
vey99
post May 14 2007, 12:13 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

Whats the application method for the AC MX-1 ? Is it small grain of rice like AS5 or spread all over the surface?

If only this post came up a few days earlier, I just bought one tube AS5 from moderno, and I saw he got stock of MX1....
ciohbu
post May 14 2007, 01:00 PM

2,104 posts

normally i just put a dot..then let the heatsink do its job when i fix it..hehe..
akachester
post May 14 2007, 01:36 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ May 14 2007, 12:13 PM)
Whats the application method for the AC MX-1 ? Is it small grain of rice like AS5 or spread all over the surface?

If only this post came up a few days earlier, I just bought one tube AS5 from moderno, and I saw he got stock of MX1....
My best guess, it should be just using the rice grain method. Try asking ianho for confirmation as he have the MX-1.

Did a research on their website and it did show using rice grain method and spread it using the HSF:

http://www.arctic-cooling.com/downloads/in..._mx1_retail.pdf
vincent09
post May 14 2007, 01:39 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

I see, ok i try get some info for that. XD.
Because last time i just buy those cheap cheap themal paste that selling at box on flour that kind. Didn't search any branded 1. Next time try search at Low Yat c c .
ciohbu
post May 14 2007, 01:44 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 14 2007, 01:39 PM)
Because last time i just buy those cheap cheap themal paste that selling at box on flour that kind. Didn't search any branded 1. Next time try search at Low Yat c c .
hehe..those cheap cheap one no use one lar..poor performance compare to AS-5 or MX-1...wondering low yat got sell it?..why u dun wan get from the bulk?..easier and cheaper i think rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
vincent09
post May 14 2007, 03:11 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

I just go Low Yat buy staff 1, sometime i walkaround then c c got what staff buy and buy at there. Then Low Yat which thermal paste that i can find ?

I had clean my gf pc for all dust thing there, i also plug out the cpu heatsink and clean it but i just apply little bit those thermal paste and slot back, but the temperature is around 40 something till 50 C, then i replug again the temperature now is around 40 something. So maybe i get new thermal paste and apply again, because the thermal paste that i use no more already.
akachester
post May 14 2007, 03:12 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 14 2007, 01:39 PM)
Are you using aftermarket/third party HSF?If you are, then its at best to get a good thermal paste as it will be very helpful in decreasing the temperature. After all, a good HSF always need a good thermal paste to function well..

However, if you are not, then i guess its still no harm in using a good thermal paste but of course, you wouldnt see the true potential of it.Maybe a slight 2 - 3c decrease (my best guess)...
vey99
post May 14 2007, 03:18 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 14 2007, 03:12 PM)
However, if you are not, then i guess its still no harm in using a good thermal paste but of course, you wouldnt see the true potential of it.Maybe a slight 2 - 3c decrease (my best guess)...
I tried before AS5 on a P4 2.8E with stock HSF. It was a Waste of Paste blink.gif no temp drop also after curing...
akachester
post May 14 2007, 03:25 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ May 14 2007, 03:18 PM)
I tried before AS5 on a P4 2.8E with stock HSF. It was a Waste of Paste  blink.gif no temp drop also after curing...
I tried using the AS5 before on stock Opteron Heatpipe cooler and it did decrease "slightly" only. Around 2 - 3c. But a change to better HSF really shows the true potential..
vincent09
post May 14 2007, 04:04 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

i see, because i need to apply again the thermal paste, just c got any nice thermal paste or not.
If need to use third party thermal paste...... then maybe i still get cheap thermal paste XD. Because i'm still using that P4 stock HSF.

akachester
post May 14 2007, 04:08 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 14 2007, 04:04 PM)
i see, because i need to apply again the thermal paste, just c got any nice thermal paste or not.
If need to use third party thermal paste...... then maybe i still get cheap thermal paste XD. Because i'm still using that P4 stock HSF.
Well, you can choose either to use or not.Either way, the effects would not be alot..Cause if you really intent to stick with P4 stock HSF, there is no point in wasting money and get those expensive thermal paste..
ciohbu
post May 14 2007, 04:10 PM

2,104 posts

ermm..stock hsf fan with gud thermal paste cant give u gud result actually..coz thermal paste act like a medium to improve heat transfer from ur proc to heatsink..so if u hav a gud thermal paste but ur heatsink not gud as it cant take so much heat at one time.. at the end the effect stil not too big..and u will wasted the gud thermal paste d..
-so my suggestion..pair a gud thermal paste with nice heatsink..then u will notice the result...my proc almost drop 10C when i change my hsf and used AS-5
vincent09
post May 14 2007, 04:38 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

I see, maybe look around c how for my gf pc, don't know wheather she want change or not. Anywhere thank you for the info .
ciohbu
post May 14 2007, 05:09 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 14 2007, 04:38 PM)
I see, maybe look around c how for my gf pc, don't know wheather she want change or not. Anywhere thank you for the info .
hhehe..mayb u can change to mid range or low range of heatsink...since u not oc ur gf pc ma...so i think mid range should be enough d..need around rm100 to rm150 then u can get one d
vincent09
post May 14 2007, 06:29 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Any suggestion ah? I'm not OC my pc and my gf pc, event thought my pc running with c2d and 7900gs there.
ciohbu
post May 14 2007, 06:43 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 14 2007, 06:29 PM)
Any suggestion ah? I'm not OC my pc and my gf pc, event thought my pc running with c2d and 7900gs there.
ermm..tats a lot of choice out there..depends on u actually...ermm..mayb u can try ask moderno coz he is one of the dealer for many big brand..and i deal b4 with him..quite nice guy ...or may u can google around..but must remember 2 things, ur mobo compatibility and also ur casing size..

This post has been edited by ciohbu: May 14 2007, 06:46 PM
vincent09
post May 14 2007, 09:29 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

got depend what pentium socket ?? or other need to care ?
ciohbu
post May 14 2007, 09:51 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 14 2007, 09:29 PM)
got depend what pentium socket ?? or other need to care ?
ya..of course depends on ur socket type also lor..hehe..ermm..and ur budjet gua..and u must check whether the new heatsink will clash with ur mobo component or ram or graphic or not..
vincent09
post May 15 2007, 12:11 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

ya o, those heat sink so "huge". Ok i c around forum here XD.
Thank again XD.
storm88
post May 15 2007, 12:56 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 15 2007, 01:11 AM)
ya o, those heat sink so "huge". Ok i c around forum here XD.
Thank again XD.
maybe AC freezer series might fit your favour
akachester
post May 15 2007, 08:37 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Yes, i do agree that Arctic Cooling products seems to be cheap and perform quite well..Try look into that matter..

Anyway, to be honest, if your gf dont mind using that stock cooling, i dont see why there is a need to change to a better HSF.Yes, maybe it will prolong the life of the processor but i am pretty sure the stock HSF is enough if the cpu is running on stock speed..lol..

Anyway, this topic is for discussion of TIM. I guess we should stay away from HSF discussion..lol..
ciohbu
post May 15 2007, 11:28 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 15 2007, 08:37 AM)
Yes, i do agree that Arctic Cooling products seems to be cheap and perform quite well..Try look into that matter..

Anyway, to be honest, if your gf dont mind using that stock cooling, i dont see why there is a need to change to a better HSF.Yes, maybe it will prolong the life of the processor but i am pretty sure the stock HSF is enough if the cpu is running on stock speed..lol..

Anyway, this topic is for discussion of TIM. I guess we should stay away from HSF discussion..lol..
hehe..ya..artic cooling is included in the middle range of hsf...ai yah bro akachester, sometime we no need follow the law so close ma, he just asking few opinion only.nvm lar..as long as we didnt change the whole thread to discuss hsf d can lor.. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif .hahahha..no offence ya..just my opinion.. whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
akachester
post May 15 2007, 11:35 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 15 2007, 11:28 AM)
hehe..ya..artic cooling is included in the middle range of hsf...ai yah bro akachester, sometime we no need follow the law so close ma, he just asking few opinion only.nvm lar..as long as we didnt change the whole thread to discuss hsf d can lor.. icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif .hahahha..no offence ya..just my opinion.. whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
lol..i noe lar..scare later mod come susah ma..lol..

Anyway, besides AS5, Chill Factor, MX-1, ACeramique, any other type of good TIM you guys had tried before?I ony did on Zalman which was such a waste of money as well as CM..
ciohbu
post May 15 2007, 11:39 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 15 2007, 11:35 AM)
lol..i noe lar..scare later mod come susah ma..lol..

Anyway, besides AS5, Chill Factor, MX-1, ACeramique, any other type of good TIM you guys had tried before?I ony did on Zalman which was such a waste of money as well as CM..
ermm...i did try b4 those unbranded one..hahha..totally can throw into dustbin..for CM, i dun trust CM product ,for example their fans or hsf, OEM product with poor performance !!
akachester
post May 15 2007, 02:12 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 15 2007, 11:39 AM)
ermm...i did try b4 those unbranded one..hahha..totally can throw into dustbin..for CM, i dun trust CM product ,for example their fans or hsf, OEM product with poor performance !!
CM fans are still ok, definitely not the best..So do their HSF. At least they are not that expensive anyway when compared to those higher end ones...

I tried quite a number of TIM before (not sure why i am addicted to those) like the Zalman Super Thermal Grease, CM High Performance Thermal Grease, AS5, TR Chill Factor, Zerotherm & Noctua Thermal Grease (these i got from the coolers i bought), and to be honest, i am still sticking towards the AS5.

But my impression might be changed since i am getting the MX-1 soon..
kmarc
post May 15 2007, 03:04 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 15 2007, 02:12 PM)

But my impression might be changed since i am getting the MX-1 soon..
Cool! Tell us how much cooler it is ok?

I just bought the AS-5 last week!!! doh.gif
ciohbu
post May 15 2007, 04:51 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 15 2007, 03:04 PM)
Cool! Tell us how much cooler it is ok?

I just bought the AS-5 last week!!!  doh.gif
huh?..wat u mean by how much cooler?.. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
vincent09
post May 15 2007, 05:52 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Hmm at low yat i just c many CM's HSF only. If for those nice HSF it just need a dot of thermal paste is it? XD.

Really need to go low yat walk walk c about HSF and thermal paste.
ciohbu
post May 15 2007, 06:29 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 15 2007, 05:52 PM)
Hmm at low yat i just c many CM's HSF only. If for those nice HSF it just need a dot of thermal paste is it? XD.

ermm..cant say nice hsf need a dot of thermal paste only..it depends on the thermal paste and heatsink itself...hahha...ya..low yat got a lot of CM and Tt hsf..but if u really wanna get a nice one*(other than CM and Tt)...i think u only can find it in LYN..lowyat doesnt sell those big brand in heatsink

This post has been edited by ciohbu: May 15 2007, 06:31 PM
[KY]
post May 15 2007, 06:41 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 15 2007, 11:39 AM)
Some CM hsf do perform well for their price range like example the CM Hyper TX.
kmarc
post May 15 2007, 07:53 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ May 15 2007, 04:51 PM)
huh?..wat u mean by how much cooler?.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I meant better thermal paste like the Mx-1 will transfer heat better. As such, the PC component e.g. CPU will be slightly cooler by a few degrees..... (see TS first page) biggrin.gif
akachester
post May 15 2007, 07:56 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 15 2007, 05:52 PM)

No. It does not work that way. The way to apply the thermal paste does NOT depends on the HSF. Its solely depend on the thermal paste itself. You will need to apply it as shown by the manufacturer to get the best out of the thermal paste. The need for good HSF is to show the potential of the thermal paste itself...

QUOTE([KY] @ May 15 2007, 06:41 PM)
Some CM hsf do perform well for their price range like example the CM Hyper TX.
Yes, i do agree that CM Hyper TX is a very good HSF that comes at a good pricing as well...
vincent09
post May 15 2007, 08:29 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Er may i ask where is LYN ?? Because many ppl talk to this place to find something.

I see than if i want get that HSF then i want to c those website got tell how to apply that thermal paste XD.

Thermal Take product at Lowyat also less because i still finding it's casing fans ....
kmarc
post May 15 2007, 08:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 15 2007, 08:29 PM)
Er may i ask where is LYN ?? Because many ppl talk to this place to find something.

I see than if i want get that HSF then i want to c those website got tell how to apply that thermal paste XD.

Thermal Take  product at Lowyat also less because i still finding it's casing fans ....
Errrr... are you from Malaysia aaa? Just curious....

You know where is Berjaya Times square? How about Imbi plaza? Well, Low Yat is just at the corner.....

Edit : Or are you asking about LYN - Low Yat Net. That's this website!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 15 2007, 08:46 PM
ciohbu
post May 15 2007, 08:45 PM

2,104 posts

Thermal Take  product at Lowyat also less because i still finding it's casing fans ....
LYN is lowyat.net lor..hahaha doh.gif doh.gif
vincent09
post May 15 2007, 08:56 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

OMG ..... i thought LYN is another place... XD.
So sorry ah XD. Make so big mistake here XD.
kmarc
post May 15 2007, 09:00 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 15 2007, 08:56 PM)
Here's where you can get some good stuff:

http://forum.lowyat.net/BulkOrders
http://forum.lowyat.net/GarageSales

Enjoy your shopping!

BTW, what's with the XD?

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 15 2007, 09:00 PM
ciohbu
post May 15 2007, 09:15 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ May 15 2007, 08:56 PM)
hahah..nvm lar..its ok de
vincent09
post May 15 2007, 10:12 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Thank you kmarc for the info.
XD < face of pain, cross eye + smiling mouth.

akachester
post May 16 2007, 11:56 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Dont misunderstood the point. HSF does not influence the way you are going to apply the thermal paste itself. You need to apply the thermal paste according to way that particular thermal paste recommends you to..For example, if you are using AS5, you will need to apply the thermal paste using the recommended way by AS5 themselves. Therefore, no matter you are using stock cooler, Noctua, TR, Zalman etc, you will still apply that thermal paste the same way as what recommended by AS themselves..Hope you get my point there..
[KY]
post May 18 2007, 08:29 PM

256 posts

Well there isn't a specific BEST way to apply thermal paste. You could spread a thin layer of AS5 and it still performs well. The more important part would be that there are different way of applying thermal paste for different processor. Intel C2D had their processor's core fixed at a different place than AMD or their previous processors. So the thermal paste placing goes different too.
TerryZeroX
post May 18 2007, 09:47 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Guys, i bought my MX-1 yesterday and its not performing. It has higher temp than a brandless thermal paste that i got from a friend. Seems that MX-1 is 2-3c higher than the brandless thermal paste lol. I even reapplied my MX-1 today incase i applied it wrongly.
ciohbu
post May 18 2007, 10:36 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 18 2007, 09:47 PM)
Guys, i bought my MX-1 yesterday and its not performing. It has higher temp than a brandless thermal paste that i got from a friend. Seems that MX-1 is 2-3c higher than the brandless thermal paste lol. I even reapplied my MX-1 today incase i applied it wrongly.
hmmm..unbranded verus MX-1 and MX-1 lost..??..weird weird.. shocking.gif shocking.gif
kmarc
post May 18 2007, 10:49 PM

14,576 posts

Ehhh? Cannot be aaa? Mx-1 supposed to be better than AS5! Maybe you have to wait for it to sink in first......
akachester
post May 18 2007, 10:56 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Try wait for it to sink in first and see how. Not sure whether the MX-1 need sink in time or not though..Might get my MX-1 next week and maybe test it out to match it with my current AS5 temperature. In the meantime, must find a replacement GC to power up my PC when the MX-1 arrive...
TerryZeroX
post May 19 2007, 01:03 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

LoL i was suprised myself biggrin.gif brandless thermal paste has better results tongue.gif i'll see how's the result tomorrow as i fold 24/7
kmarc
post May 19 2007, 01:10 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 19 2007, 01:03 AM)
LoL i was suprised myself biggrin.gif brandless thermal paste has better results tongue.gif i'll see how's the result tomorrow as i fold 24/7
This is part of the article I got from AS website:

Break-in period
Due to the unique shape and sizes of the particles in Arctic Silver 5 conductive matrix, it will take a up to 200 hours and several thermal cycles to achieve maximum particle to particle thermal conduction and for the heatsink to CPU interface to reach maximum conductivity. (This period will be longer in a system without a fan on the heatsink or with a low speed fan on the heatsink.) On systems measuring actual internal core temperatures via the CPU's internal diode, the measured temperature will often drop 2C to 5C over this "break-in" period. This break-in will occur during the normal use of the computer as long as the computer is turned off from time to time and the interface is allowed to cool to room temperature. Once the break-in is complete, the computer can be left on if desired.
TerryZeroX
post May 19 2007, 01:23 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Hmmm. Aight then i shall let it cooldown for tonight biggrin.gif and see how it goes
TerryZeroX
post May 19 2007, 12:17 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Hmmm i don't know izzit juz me or what biggrin.gif no difference. maybe need more time to sink-in
akachester
post May 19 2007, 05:50 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 19 2007, 12:17 PM)
Hmmm i don't know izzit juz me or what biggrin.gif no difference. maybe need more time to sink-in
I guess we need to wait and see..You tested it on the PC as the spec in your Sig?
kmarc
post May 19 2007, 05:52 PM

14,576 posts

No difference meh? How do you test the core temp? When orthos 15 min? Idling?
[KY]
post May 19 2007, 06:03 PM

256 posts

But not yet sink in also lose to brandless thermal paste meh? Even AS5 not sink in beat my stock AM2 thermal paste on the cooler.
kmarc
post May 19 2007, 06:09 PM

14,576 posts

Hmmmm..... but TS's first post says differently! Maybe can ask TS how he applied the MX-1..... should be the same, isn't it?
Thunderbolt
post May 19 2007, 06:16 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

I heard it takes around 200 hours for the thermal paste to take effect, is that correct ?
kmarc
post May 19 2007, 06:47 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ May 19 2007, 06:16 PM)
I heard it takes around 200 hours for the thermal paste to take effect, is that correct ?
That's what the manual say. See above post #82.....
TerryZeroX
post May 19 2007, 06:52 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 19 2007, 05:50 PM)
I guess we need to wait and see..You tested it on the PC as the spec in your Sig?
yeap thats the rig i tested

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 19 2007, 05:52 PM)
No difference meh? How do you test the core temp? When orthos 15 min? Idling?
i fold, i check my temp when i fold biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: May 19 2007, 07:00 PM
kmarc
post May 19 2007, 07:19 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ May 19 2007, 06:52 PM)
i fold, i check my temp when i fold biggrin.gif
Folding using SMP client or 2 single-core client?

However, folding won't accurately show your core temp. I'm also folding using 2 single-core client but if I look at my CPU usage, it never reaches 100%.

CPU usage would fluctuate from 90-100% (for both cores). Thus, to accurately look at your core temp, you should run an app that stresses your CPU at 100%. Something like orthos for 15-30 mins.

Another thing is your ambient temperature which may affect the core temp.....

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 19 2007, 07:20 PM
e-jump
post May 19 2007, 07:29 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

Folding do take the cpu usage to 100%, unless you messed up the settings.
However, i doubt the AS5 200hrs sink in gimmic.
I see not much improvement after more than 200hrs, and i already finished my AS5 small tube (imagine how many times i already do internal cleaning over the years)
Nevertheless, AS5 is indeed better than the cheapo rm5 no branded ones. Juz that dont hope for wonders after 200hrs.
TerryZeroX
post May 19 2007, 07:30 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 19 2007, 07:19 PM)
Folding using SMP client or 2 single-core client?

However, folding won't accurately show your core temp. I'm also folding using 2 single-core client but if I look at my CPU usage, it never reaches 100%.

CPU usage would fluctuate from 90-100% (for both cores). Thus, to accurately look at your core temp, you should run an app that stresses your CPU at 100%. Something like orthos for 15-30 mins.

Another thing is your ambient temperature which may affect the core temp.....
I fold with SMP client. it does goes to 100% constant biggrin.gif
kmarc
post May 19 2007, 07:37 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ May 19 2007, 07:29 PM)
Folding do take the cpu usage to 100%, unless you messed up the settings.
However, i doubt the AS5 200hrs sink in gimmic.
I see not much improvement after more than 200hrs, and i already finished my AS5 small tube (imagine how many times i already do internal cleaning over the years)
Nevertheless, AS5 is indeed better than the cheapo rm5 no branded ones. Juz that dont hope for wonders after 200hrs.
Hehe....I actually set the 2nd single-core client to 80% CPU usage. Pai se, pai se.... blush.gif

Ya, I don't believe the 200 hours either, but who knows better than the Arctic company themselves. Probably need 1 or 2 days for the break-in.....
kucingfight
post May 19 2007, 07:53 PM

5,784 posts

Folding will not maximise the heat output, for that purpose, i use OCCT
Thunderbolt
post May 19 2007, 10:33 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 19 2007, 06:47 PM)
That's what the manual say. See above post #82.....

Thanks, i didnt know MX-1 perform better than AS5 which i just bought recently
HanevE
post May 21 2007, 02:50 PM

125 posts

OMG i tought MX-1 is worst T.Paste than AS5 .. last year i bought it RM10-12 per small tube at Overclocker Paradise, LYP. LOL~
akachester
post May 22 2007, 10:52 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Well, i am going to get the MX-1 today and will definitely check it out in comparison with AS5
akachester
post May 22 2007, 07:55 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Surely do.I already receive the paste.Just that i need my GC to come back or get a new one to be able to test it...Maybe i could test the Chill Factor, AS5, and MX-1 at one go..Depends on i have the time or not though..
ciohbu
post May 22 2007, 08:42 PM

2,104 posts

haha...or mayb u can get new compound tat is better than MX-1...who knows..
storm88
post May 26 2007, 10:15 PM

5,595 posts

er.. by reffering to source
MX1 will be stop production soon, and would be replaced bby MX2
akachester
post May 27 2007, 08:47 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Ouch, luckily i got one already. Applied it to my NB and SB already but yet to test it out. Is the way i apply it is by rice grain method?At least thats what i saw ianho doing..lol...

MX-1 should be discontinued already. By looking at the back label, this product should already be here long time already cause its comparing AS2/3 temperature..lol...
Ryo
post May 28 2007, 06:45 PM

.:: Rise Lord Vader ::.
871 posts

woohoo! seems that MX-1 rule the paste market, currently using one thumbup.gif
[KY]
post May 28 2007, 06:56 PM

256 posts

Which got bigger particle? In AS site it states AS5 particel size is o.49 micron. If MX-1 is smaller then it works better on mirror shine based heatsink. If larger then on my groove based heatsink.
akachester
post May 29 2007, 11:29 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

May i know, is there 2 different version of MX-1 available in term market?I bought one recently and saw that the tube is a long thin tube without any labels on it. However, from pictures at Arctic Cooling website, its more like a short, thick tube with MX-1 label.

Further checking leads me to uglyvamp's BBS price list that also shows 2 different version. MX-1 OEM going for RM25 and MX-1 which is about RM50+..So, is there many version out there?
SlayerXT
post May 30 2007, 04:58 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

MX-1 plus Water cooling must be the best combo available
HaHaNoCluE
post May 31 2007, 02:21 AM

628 posts

the short mx-1 is those arctic giving FOC with their HSF/cooler.. the long 1 is the standard retail 1...
duo8668
post May 31 2007, 03:50 AM

327 posts

whr can find dis " Coollaboratory Liquid Pro " ???
toughnut
post May 31 2007, 05:15 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(duo8668 @ May 31 2007, 03:50 AM)
whr can find dis  "  Coollaboratory Liquid Pro  "  ???
if not mistaken, it's for industrial use lol. i think i saw it somewhere before. big bottle of it. big i meant coke 1liter bottle sweat.gif

*actually it's just ordinary liquid coolant. not Coollaboratory Liquid

This post has been edited by toughnut: Jun 1 2007, 08:44 AM
akachester
post May 31 2007, 09:43 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ May 31 2007, 05:15 PM)
if not mistaken, it's for industrial use lol. i think i saw it somewhere before. big bottle of it. big i meant coke 1liter bottle sweat.gif
lol..And that would be enough for like what..1million PC?lol..
kmarc
post May 31 2007, 09:55 PM

14,576 posts

@akachester - so did you apply the Mx-1 to your CPU? Any difference compared to AS5?
akachester
post Jun 1 2007, 08:56 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 31 2007, 09:55 PM)
@akachester - so did you apply the Mx-1 to your CPU? Any difference compared to AS5?
Lol..I did reapply it on my SB when i switch my Noctua there. Will reapply again on the NB when i fix my HR05 Sli. I also wanted to test it out but no GC to power up my PC for now.Give me another week as i am searching for a GC by this week...
DaRkSyThE
post Jun 1 2007, 03:07 PM

4,809 posts

ok, i have just spent my time reading through, and cleaning this thread,
please keep it clean so that users (like myself) can find what we are looking for easily.
lichyetan
post Jun 1 2007, 03:17 PM

2,295 posts

any updates or results for mx-1 vs chill factor?
storm88
post Jun 1 2007, 05:58 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 29 2007, 12:29 PM)
May i know, is there 2 different version of MX-1 available in term market?I bought one recently and saw that the tube is a long thin tube without any labels on it. However, from pictures at Arctic Cooling website, its more like a short, thick tube with MX-1 label.

Further checking leads me to uglyvamp's BBS price list that also shows 2 different version. MX-1 OEM going for RM25 and MX-1 which is about RM50+..So, is there many version out there?
no. i don think there are many version there..
RM50? shocking.gif
Czone sells RM25 onli sweat.gif
akachester
post Jun 1 2007, 11:17 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Jun 1 2007, 03:17 PM)
any updates or results for mx-1 vs chill factor?
I personally tested the Chill Factor with AS5. Performance aint very good and looses out to AS5. Will test the MX-1 with AS5 when my GC is here and if its better than AS5, then sure it will be a good buy..

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 1 2007, 05:58 PM)
no. i don think there are many version there..
RM50? shocking.gif
Czone sells RM25 onli sweat.gif
Yea, try looking in the price list. Even when you check you AC website, you can see a totally different MX-1 design than those currently on sale. AC website shows it come in a short version with label but those on sale are long version with no label...
akachester
post Jun 5 2007, 09:55 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

After just barely getting myself the MX-1 and still have yet the time to test it out, i saw this news around about the MX-2 being launched. Damn, not sure how good it is though..

http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=8944
kmarc
post Jun 5 2007, 10:03 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 5 2007, 09:55 PM)
After just barely getting myself the MX-1 and still have yet the time to test it out, i saw this news around about the MX-2 being launched. Damn, not sure how good it is though..
And look what it said - "promises to beat all newcomers"!!!

Errr.... anybody wanna buy my AS5? Just used once so far..... whistling.gif whistling.gif
akachester
post Jun 5 2007, 10:58 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 5 2007, 10:03 PM)
And look what it said - "promises to beat all newcomers"!!!

Errr.... anybody wanna buy my AS5? Just used once so far.....  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
LOL..its said newcomers. AS5 is not new. Its well established..Lol..Anyway, rumours of AS6 had been long said but no concrete news yet as off now..
kmarc
post Jun 6 2007, 10:08 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 5 2007, 09:55 PM)
Hey, I've got an idea. Since you're waiting to test out for MX-1 on your proc/HSF, why not get the MX-2 also. Then you can compare ma..... whistling.gif
akachester
post Jun 6 2007, 01:30 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Wahaha..Then i mar have plenty of thermal paste lying around?AS5, ChillFactor, Zalman, Chaplang version, CM Nano, MX-1...So many used until die also havent finish..LOL..I am so crazy about trying thermal paste.

Anyway, i doubt MX-2 will be released so soon. Maybe by that time, i am interested to get one..LOL...
burner
post Jun 7 2007, 07:22 AM

112 posts

how much is one of those ultra high quality thermal paste? the last time i bought my ceramique 3 was RM38 per tube but very long lasting... i wonder how much more u have to pay?
akachester
post Jun 8 2007, 08:41 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

AS5 - RM25
Chill Factor - RM26
MX-1 - RM25

Others, should be below RM30 considering you are not getting those huge tube. Even a 5g version can last you very very long..
kmarc
post Jun 8 2007, 09:57 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 8 2007, 08:41 AM)
AS5 - RM25
Chill Factor - RM26
MX-1 - RM25

Others, should be below RM30 considering you are not getting those huge tube. Even a 5g version can last you very very long..
I should think the small tube would be enough for most people. Unless of course, your the type who change thermal paste every month!

Once you've finished with the tube, probably a new one comes out and you can try that new one instead! thumbup.gif
akachester
post Jun 8 2007, 11:52 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 8 2007, 09:57 AM)
I should think the small tube would be enough for most people. Unless of course, your the type who change thermal paste every month!

Once you've finished with the tube, probably a new one comes out and you can try that new one instead!  thumbup.gif
For me, even changing every month can still last you very long. My small tube of AS5 have been used for very long already. On my VGA, Chipset, Southbridge, CPU etc and its still quite alot now...
uzairi
post Jun 9 2007, 01:52 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

You change your thermal paste every month ? For real ? sweat.gif
kmarc
post Jun 9 2007, 07:28 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 8 2007, 11:52 PM)
For me, even changing every month can still last you very long. My small tube of AS5 have been used for very long already. On my VGA, Chipset, Southbridge, CPU etc and its still quite alot now...
Ya, didn't notice that. Why do you need to change thermal paste every month aaa?? Is there any references to this or just generally consensus..... hmm.gif
akachester
post Jun 9 2007, 09:52 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

No, i dont change it like a timetable or something. Its just that i hate my casing when its collecting dust. Therefore, i will take out all the things and clean up the dust especially on the cooler. With that, i will always reapply a new thermal paste..

Besides, everything i install a new cooler of hardware, i will also take some time out to add new TIM as well..Last, i am some kind of a thermal paste freak. I love to get thermal paste and test them..lol.

In real, i am really not sure how long we should change it. Heard some saying 1 month, some say 3 month, some even 1 year...

This post has been edited by akachester: Jun 9 2007, 09:53 AM
kmarc
post Jun 9 2007, 10:24 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 9 2007, 09:52 AM)
No, i dont change it like a timetable or something. Its just that i hate my casing when its collecting dust. Therefore, i will take out all the things and clean up the dust especially on the cooler. With that, i will always reapply a new thermal paste..

Besides, everything i install a new cooler of hardware, i will also take some time out to add new TIM as well..Last, i am some kind of a thermal paste freak. I love to get thermal paste and test them..lol.

In real, i am really not sure how long we should change it. Heard some saying 1 month, some say 3 month, some even 1 year...
Ya, from your description, I can "feel" that you are really into computers thumbup.gif

I like computers too but lazy with cleaning and maintenance. As long as there's no 1-cm thick dust on the computer parts, that's ok with me... whistling.gif

So, since you're the thermal paste freak, I assume you'll be getting the MX-2 when it comes out? Waiting for your feedback then! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 9 2007, 10:25 AM
mfa333
post Jun 9 2007, 04:17 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

1 question, what is the the best way to put TIM? 1 drop on the center and let the hsf pressure it or spread thinly to whole cpu surface?

This post has been edited by mfa333: Jun 9 2007, 04:18 PM
kmarc
post Jun 9 2007, 06:30 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jun 9 2007, 04:17 PM)
1 question, what is the the best way to put TIM? 1 drop on the center and let the hsf pressure it or spread thinly to whole cpu surface?
Yup. The amount is generally described as half a grain of rice..... Mind you, it won't spread to cover the whole CPU but the centre part which is the most important part.
akachester
post Jun 9 2007, 07:47 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 9 2007, 10:24 AM)
Ya, from your description, I can "feel" that you are really into computers  thumbup.gif

I like computers too but lazy with cleaning and maintenance. As long as there's no 1-cm thick dust on the computer parts, that's ok with me...  whistling.gif

So, since you're the thermal paste freak, I assume you'll be getting the MX-2 when it comes out? Waiting for your feedback then!  rclxms.gif
Well, MX-2 wise, i might not be getting it as soon as its released. I will surely see some review and oppinion first. Do not want to waste money if it doesnt perform. Besides, i am not a guy who really know how to review something. All i do was apply new thermal paste, check the idle, check the load and thats all i do..LOL..

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jun 9 2007, 04:17 PM)
The most recommended way would to search for the TIM's official website and use the recommended one by them. Most of them would need only 1 rice grain like MX-1 and AS5 but something like chill factor or zalman might need you to cover the whole proc..

Just look at the website and see the recommended way..
Frankiec91
post Jun 11 2007, 01:39 PM

253 posts

waiting MX-2 release..... smile.gif
blessedvillain
post Jun 11 2007, 08:30 PM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

akachester,
i read from somewhere that there's a limited number of times for installation/uninstallation of heatsink from the mobo....bull? since you r frequently taking your heatsink out for maintenance, just to let you know bout this....guys, any prove to this claim??
akachester
post Jun 11 2007, 08:37 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(blessedvillain @ Jun 11 2007, 08:30 PM)
akachester,
i read from somewhere that there's a limited number of times for installation/uninstallation of heatsink from the mobo....bull? since you r frequently taking your heatsink out for maintenance, just to let you know bout this....guys, any prove to this claim??
Er..Limited number of time as in?The mobo breaks or the heatsink die?Seems BS to me..

Unless they are saying the number of time is around 1million, then i cant say much..For me, i took it out more than once every month. Already countless time and it doesnt seem to affect anything as off now..Just the CPU HSF scratch abit at the bottom lar..LOL...
blessedvillain
post Jun 11 2007, 08:50 PM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

When i read this...i doubt it also....but maybe the mobo manufacturer doesnt wan the users to mess around with it too much, as in physically....it scared the shit out of me when i found out my mobo supports only 12times of installation cos previously i was doing a lot of adjustment to my stock heatsink to find out my temperature problem.mmm... I'll dig up the statement when i go back to my hometown...
akachester
post Jun 11 2007, 08:54 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(blessedvillain @ Jun 11 2007, 08:50 PM)
When i read this...i doubt it also....but maybe the mobo manufacturer doesnt wan the users to mess around with it too much, as in physically....it scared the shit out of me when i found out my mobo supports only 12times of installation cos previously i was doing a lot of adjustment to my stock heatsink to find out my temperature problem.mmm... I'll dig up the statement when i go back to my hometown...
I really doubt that will happen. If it really will, then just ditch that mobo brand and never get it again. My 2nd rig Gigabyte K8N SLI had been taken out by me countless time as well as my current DFI Lanparty. No sign of breaking or what so ever. Dont worry too much. I am pretty sure that would not happen. .
blessedvillain
post Jun 11 2007, 09:06 PM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

i dun give a damn also....just changed my heatsink from intel stock to AC Freezer Pro7 today.....it didnt perform as what i expected...only cool down by around 5C...from 51C to about 46C..i'll wait till the MX-1 paste hardened within the next few days, see whether there's any improvement...

So, should i maintain my thermalpaste which comes with it or reapply AS5??

This post has been edited by blessedvillain: Jun 11 2007, 09:07 PM
akachester
post Jun 11 2007, 09:09 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(blessedvillain @ Jun 11 2007, 09:06 PM)
i dun give a damn also....just changed my heatsink from intel stock to AC Freezer Pro7 today.....it didnt perform as what i expected...only cool down by around 5C...from 51C to about 46C..i'll wait till the MX-1 paste hardened within the next few days..

So, should i maintain my thermalpaste which comes with it or reapply AS5??
It comes with MX-1?If it is, maybe you should let it be for while and check out the temperature. For sure, dont expect wonders like 10c drop cause temperature is affected by many things - HSF, air flow, casing, TIM etc. 5c is already very good but i am not sure whether the MX-1 need sinked in time or not.

If you have the AS5, what i suggest will be, after a week or so, take it out, reapply with AS5 and check to see whether it is better or not (of course AS5 need 200hours sink in time)..If its not, just simple reapply the MX-1 again. At least thats what i do cause i dont mind the hassle...
blessedvillain
post Jun 11 2007, 09:18 PM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

I'll give MX-1 a try first...right now, the temperature fluctuate like mad during idle...
Discrucio Anima
post Jun 12 2007, 01:45 AM

578 posts

One question, do you guys use TIM removers like ArtiClean or plain tissue will do?

I tried looking around Lowyat, Sg Wang and Imbi for MX-1. Seems like all they have are white goop and CM products (Nanofusion, HiPerformance, Premium, etc etc)
blessedvillain
post Jun 12 2007, 07:29 AM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

hahaha....i've been there like your situation. Lowyat Plaza really cannot offer anything exotic or a wide selection of products. If you wan these stuffs...try looking around at trade zone....

by the way, i clean off the TIM using only those cloths for cleaning our spectacles...
vixxiee
post Jun 12 2007, 12:56 PM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

QUOTE(Discrucio Anima @ Jun 12 2007, 01:45 AM)
One question, do you guys use TIM removers like ArtiClean or plain tissue will do?

I tried looking around Lowyat, Sg Wang and Imbi for MX-1. Seems like all they have are white goop and CM products (Nanofusion, HiPerformance, Premium, etc etc)
dont have money to buy articlean..just use kain..

i see mx-1 at lowyat 2 weeks b4..the shop is infront of viewnet...if im not wrong...like to try is oso but just bought the as5 from bulk..
akachester
post Jun 12 2007, 02:42 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Discrucio Anima @ Jun 12 2007, 01:45 AM)

I do use the Arctic Clean. Very useful if you ask me for RM25 only. Using it for quite a while and its still available now. But many people did say using other method is ok as well like using those nail polisher or alchohol stuff (even minyak angin). Clarify with them and see...

Its not easy to use tissue only. Sometimes when the TIM hardened, its hard for you to only wipe with tissue. You will need TIM remover to help remove it or else, risk scratching the IHS of your processor..
kalakatu
post Jun 13 2007, 01:02 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

i personally use my dad's zippo to clean remove those TIM..
well, its kinda hard when the it got hardened but the result is ok lar..not so bad for using a zippo wink.gif
akachester
post Jun 13 2007, 08:57 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Yea, hardened TIM is kinda hard to remove. I am fine with my Arctic Cleaner.Used so long already and its still good..
akkmutd0711
post Jun 30 2007, 09:57 PM

188 posts

for those of you who are looking for the XS source, here it is:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=135359
raymond5105
post Jul 3 2007, 09:41 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Jun 12 2007, 12:56 PM)
dont have money to buy articlean..just use kain..

i see mx-1 at lowyat 2 weeks b4..the shop is infront of viewnet...if im not wrong...like to try is oso but just bought the as5 from bulk..
Bulk order only have AS5 but the MX1 currently noone is selling right?I'm also interested to get 1 MX-1

This post has been edited by raymond5105: Jul 3 2007, 09:49 AM
akachester
post Jul 3 2007, 01:43 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jul 3 2007, 09:41 AM)
I'm also interested to get 1 MX-1. I found there is a bulk here too.The MX-1 result is better than AS5,want to try on it and see the result.
Well, i saw many people here had said that the MX-1 indeed does perform better than the AS5. They say there is a drop of roughly 2 - 3c when compared to AS5.
raymond5105
post Jul 3 2007, 04:40 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 3 2007, 01:43 PM)
Well, i saw many people here had said that the MX-1 indeed does perform better than the AS5. They say there is a drop of roughly 2 - 3c when compared to AS5.
Yaya,i also read this thread here.The result is better than the AS5. smile.gif I'm planning to get one for myself later.Hehe. nod.gif
MakNok
post Jul 4 2007, 08:13 PM

5,713 posts

see this review from indonesia!!

this thermal paste rock but not for aluminium!!

http://www.obengware.com/uji/coollaboratory.htm

it beat AS5 handdown!!!!!

Added on July 4, 2007, 8:18 pm|outstanding thermal interface|
Arctic Cooling MX-1 51.5

Based from above thermal paste!!

now i am waiting for the delivery of Shin-Etsu MicroSi MPU-3.7 50.5 and

I have also ordered the Coollaboratory MetalPad as well..

there is a new paste using diamond!!
trying to get it in!!!
as good as AS5.....no need burn in... performance as good as AS5

Update again;
For Diamond Thermal paste...there are two brand out there as shown below;
(a)IC Diamond 7 Carat Thermal Compound....goggle "Heatsinkfactory.com "

and

(b)JetArt Nano Diamond Thermal Compound....goggle jetart.com.tw

Diamond paste is as good as AS5 and the best is ...no need burn-in as compared to AS5...needs about 200hours as stated in thier website.

Currently trying to order online but yet to find any seller that willing to ship to malaysia

Now,just waiting for my Shin-Etsu MicroSi MPU-3.7 50.5 and
Coollaboratory Liquid Pro 50 and Coollaboratory MetalPad..

This post has been edited by MakNok: Jul 4 2007, 08:35 PM
wodenus
post Sep 27 2007, 11:46 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

So what happened to the results of all these tests ? smile.gif
nik0ns
post Sep 29 2007, 11:09 PM

Ingenium
1,302 posts

just putting mx-1 to my 7900gt, my gc temp is lower 6 degree now rclxms.gif
kinwai88
post Sep 29 2007, 11:29 PM

964 posts

I got 4 different types of thermal paste from ShinEtsu Micro Si....all in syringes....Should be the latest from ShinEtsu Micro Si

I lazy to test them out....

Any one want to help to try them ?

Just pay the poslaju ...I ship to u to try it out...

coz I want to know the result of this...

Just send me a pm coz I seldom post here....

This post has been edited by kinwai88: Sep 29 2007, 11:32 PM
IcEMoCHa
post Oct 1 2007, 08:40 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Is coolermaster thermal paste good compared to the products on the 1st page?
Xtral
post Jan 14 2010, 07:33 PM

13 posts

Lol, everyone here is looking for the MX-1, I'm kinda looking for the IC Diamond Carat 7, anyone knows where to get one? and what about the pricing and stuff.

a Good suggestion for the a paste cleaner would also help biggrin.gif
smallvill3
post Jan 15 2010, 10:44 AM

657 posts

Hey guys,

I need some recommend Thermal Paste i can get from Lowyat Plaza.
law1777
post Jan 21 2010, 12:20 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

why is everyone looking for mx-1 when there is the super performance mx-2? i bought it at rm48 @@
AceCombat
post Jan 21 2010, 12:46 PM

5,434 posts

Cause u were reading the post which is few years ago laugh.gif
law1777
post Jan 21 2010, 02:59 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

nope.. look at post #157.. only few days ago.. ahhahah