Kia Sportage 2018

widget
post Apr 4 2018, 08:52 AM

1,156 posts

Having own a Sportage GT Awd since 2011, I can say that the maintenance cost is almost comparable to Japs cars. The periodic servicing cost is about the same of my missus 2014 CRV Awd.
Minor servicing at SC cost me between 2 to 3 hundreds, while wear and tear/consumable parts like brake pads, wipers, etc, can be replaced or installed cheaper at outside workshop.
I believed for new models, Naza also gives 3 years free servicing, incl parts and labours, so ownership should be comparable to Japs cars.

widget
post Apr 4 2018, 12:02 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 4 2018, 09:09 AM)
Thanks! That's the information I am looking for! How's the car performance and pickup?
Any bad stories on the service so far?
Performance wise, the NA 2.0l engine is not the best pair for a mid-size SUV with AWD.
It will struggle for hill accent or overtaking, and the fuel consumption is very bad especially if you are stuck in traffic jam.
For 2011-2016 AWD model, many users including myself only gotten about 300-350 km range on full tank of 55l for city driving.

I'm driving a 2018 Mazda CX-5 2.2D Fwd now and on almost the same full tank, I'm getting about 650-700 km
I've considered the 2018 Sportage 2.0l Diesel but I opted for the CX-5 due to the look and driving dynamic

As for KV SC, try NSS Glenmarie or KIA Setapak.
widget
post Apr 4 2018, 06:05 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Forever01 @ Apr 4 2018, 05:14 PM)
cannot, and if diesel model i think better dont turn off due to too powerful, petrol still ok.

because i heard a lot of people saying their cx5 diesel FWD is having wheel spin when press pedal at corner, quite dangerous...
Encountered few times before on my CX-5 2.2D FWD.
But mainly when exiting from minor junction to main road.

My fuel consumption for mix driving is 15km/L.
On highway following speed limit with RPM around 2k, getting about 18km/L
For city driving, stuck at traffic jam, about 12-13km/L.
Mind you, my engine is not seasoned yet as only clocked 4k km on the odometer.

The full tanks on my CX-5 and 2011 Kia Sportage are 55/56l
I'm not sure what are the changes made to the new 2.0NA engine on the new Sportage.
But IIRC, the Nu engine on the facelifted 2013 model is more economical

widget
post Apr 5 2018, 09:52 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 5 2018, 09:05 AM)
This fuel consumption stats is for Kia Sportage petrol or diesel? The stats looks pretty good.
Sorry to dissapoints you.
The figures are for my CX-5 2.2D.

My 2011 KIA Sportage AWD definitely has poor FC.
As I mentioned before, few users of the 2011-2013 AWD Sportage (pre-facelift) only getting 300-350 km full tank, including me.
Can join the FB Sporatge group fro more info

This post has been edited by widget: Apr 5 2018, 09:53 AM
widget
post Apr 5 2018, 04:04 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Forever01 @ Apr 5 2018, 01:18 PM)
so your kia sportage is about the same FC as mazda CX5, in facebook CX5 group they are also getting 400km full tank only...
I'm not sure on the CX-5 claims of only getting 400km full tank, but I'm aware that those driving CX-5 2.2D, especially 2018 production are getting poorer mileage compared to those driving 2.2D Facelift version.
I've read some members driving the latest 2.2D only getting 500-550 for a full tank, which is not as expected from a diesel engine.

widget
post Apr 5 2018, 04:49 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 5 2018, 04:02 PM)
I don't really care much on FC because SUV and FC don't usually go hand to hand. To me if the FC is around 10km/L for city drive, I can accept that.

But if somebody tells me that other SUV like Mazda can get 15-16 km/L while Kia Sportage gets 9 km/L, then that worries me sweat.gif
I should have made it clear in my posts that I'm comparing my 2011 KIA Sportage 2.0l AWD petrol with a 2018 Mazda CX-5 2.2D Fwd diesel.
The previous version Sportage with its AWD, NA petrol engine and 18" wheels are not the most fuel efficient SUV during it's time, even more so with the latest SUV models with more efficient engines.
It's not exactly apple to apple comparison.

Hopefully those driving the latest Sportage 2.0NA can chip in their experiences.
My first reply was only to highlight that the maintenance cost of my 2011 Sportage is almost on par, or even cheaper that the equivalent Japs SUV.

widget
post Apr 8 2018, 05:11 PM

1,156 posts

You might still be able to get the GT petrol as I saw posts by SA in Sportage FB group that there are few GT petrol left.

widget
post May 23 2018, 07:36 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ May 22 2018, 09:20 AM)
Well, every car makers also got complain about their after sales service and service center. I just checked out the Mazda FB group, there's a lot of complains as well  sweat.gif Additional thing that I learnt from there is bad fuel consumption (most had about 8 to 9km/l) and the iStop thing is irritating. Also the famous thug thug sound?

Yea I just read about turbo lag. I guess what I experienced about the sluggishness for Kia Sportage is actually the turbo lag. It's how turbocharged diesel engine works so I don't think there's much I can do sweat.gif
The iStop thing is indeed irritating as I normally press the button for more than 2 seconds to disable it everytime I starts the engine.
But there are members/tuners in the group that can provide the service to disable the iStop function for Rm150 or so, and which you can always pay them to enable it should you want to send the car to SC for any warranty claim.

Even the Mazda 2.2D also has turbo lag, but I've no idea if it is better or worse then the KIA 2.0D.
The revised 2018 2.2D that already launched in Australia was reviewed to have less turbo lag than the 2017 model, and tuned with higher Hp and torque as the reviewers said they are using new improved turbo charger.
If you can't wait for the revised 2.2D to be introduced in Bolehland, you can always send it to tuners to have the ECU reflash to improve the low rev acceleration.
I'm thinking of going that route after I've done my 10k servicing.
When I test drove the Sorento 2.2D (should have test drive the Sportage 2.0D too), the turbo lag is also noticeable but what made me to cross out the Sorento is the steering feedback is almost non-existent, i.e. very light.
widget
post Jun 18 2020, 02:15 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Jun 18 2020, 12:39 PM)
Mechanic gave a comment "Pricey spare part and the parts are not long lasting. ABS breakdown frequently"
I plan to grab a 2nd hand one, manufactured year 2012-2014 which cost around 38k-45k
I drove the last gen Sportage, i.e. year 2011 CBU until I sold it in 2018 after clocking 120k km or so.

Things that you need to consider for this model:
1. It's a fuel guzzler. I was only getting 350-400 per tank.
2. Aircond compressor is a well known issue after driving for 2-3 years
3. Spare parts are not that pricey as there are many shops that can service this model. After my warranty ended, I did the servicing at Autosaver, which are cheaper than SC

This post has been edited by widget: Jun 18 2020, 02:16 PM
widget
post Jun 19 2020, 09:06 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Jun 18 2020, 03:03 PM)
Thanks widget for the review.
I read your post on the fuel highlight which compare with CX5, it is about 50% higher consumption
Not sure the 2013-2014 model has any improvement on the fuel consumption part.

May I know how much the Aircond compressor cost? so it is like 2-3 years need to replace once to fixed the aircond problem?
So far any electronic issue with the car?
My aircond started giving problem from the 3rd year ownership, but I just top-up the a/c gas every 6-8 months or so.
The aircond compressor is a well known issue for last gen Sportage in the local FB group too.

As for electronic, not much issue really just that sometimes the rear view monitor on the rear view mirror refused to function when engaged R gear.
Also check the sun roof as if not use for sometimes, the motor might not work properly.
Overall, it is a good car and still a looker. Just that the high FC (especially if stuck in traffic jam) can be a deal breaker
widget
post Jun 19 2020, 01:50 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Jun 19 2020, 01:12 PM)
So even replace the aircond compressor still couldn't solve the problem?
Heard many feedback on high FC as this factor could turn me off since it is the long term cost.
I did not change the a/c compressor but the a/c did give me a problem from 3rd year onward.

0.0200sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:30 PM