Nokia Official Nokia N82, 5 mp camera with Carl Zeis n Xenon

toughnut
post Nov 29 2007, 10:59 AM

3,239 posts

in europe, it's priced almost the same as N81 8Gb. that meants N81 8GB fight head to head with N82 since N95 8GB cost a lot more

N81 8GB = Music/Gaming
N82 = Imaging
N95 8GB = PMP due to big screen

design wise, it's a shiny brick with fingerprint magnet. only advantage N82 have to N81 and N95 is it's a candybar phone. solid piece but because of that, screen size also limited.
toughnut
post Nov 30 2007, 01:47 PM

3,239 posts

IMHO, i dont think there will be upgraded version of N82. currently nokia launched 3 new Nseries to replace previous models.

Multimedia: N95 8GB replace N95
Imaging: N82 replace N73
Music: N81 8GB replace N91

if N82 upgraded to 8GB, it probably will disrupt nokia intended market

actually i thought of getting N82 as my secondary phone to compliment my N95, but after reading multiple reviews, i changed my minds due to this few reasons.
1. picture quality still the same, cuz camera module same as N95-1/N95-2/N95-3

2. speaker sound weak

3. kinda huge size for a candybar phone, eventhough screen only 2.4in

4. battery capacity still low
toughnut
post Dec 1 2007, 09:02 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(DeanKueh @ Nov 30 2007, 11:47 PM)

1. No, it's the same. the only advantages is Xenon flash, which improved the ability to capture photo in low light.

2. I didnt states sound quality. i meant the speaker doh.gif . moreover, i cant comment anything on sound quality as i cant hear/test it, compare to photo quality which can be seen/inspect on screen.

3. N73 is large to me rolleyes.gif blush.gif

4. I stated battery capacity lol. not battery life doh.gif . it's BP-6MT 1050mah, same with N81. N95-1 BL-5F 950mah. yes, N81/N82 undeniably last long but it's due to smaller screen and single core 369mhz cpu.

pls read words by words and understand before give any comments. it's just my opinions notworthy.gif
toughnut
post Dec 2 2007, 08:34 AM

3,239 posts

@ericchan

how's the built quality? n95 i'm using now feel cheapo...

does it feel solid? or plasticky?
toughnut
post Dec 2 2007, 01:19 PM

3,239 posts

yup, price for this phone will definitely drop and catch up with K850i, it's intended prey. hopefully it will reach rm1.8k and other color option available. then i will consider opening my thin wallet T_T

@warrior
that's from a reviewer. can u do a test to verify? LOL. wonder which channel u gonna take it out from ur body.... sweat.gif
toughnut
post Dec 2 2007, 01:39 PM

3,239 posts

@steventanz

basically a clone of N95 in candybar shape and smaller screen. check the spec at nokia.com
toughnut
post Dec 3 2007, 08:49 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(warrior @ Dec 2 2007, 01:52 PM)
it was how the reviewer express the phone's solidness in humor, wonder y couldn't u get the meaning or you just like to make fun of ppl's reply  doh.gif
as long as the reviewer isn't bias, most of time they're trustable. they reviewed more phones than you've ever bought  whistling.gif
sweat.gif i'm joking LOL
notworthy.gif sorry if that hurt ur feeling blush.gif

anyway, anyone already bought this phone?
toughnut
post Dec 4 2007, 08:33 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(zac1 @ Dec 4 2007, 01:02 AM)
yeah ,i also view it juz now
the price macam very cheap in compare to N95
actually it's the N95 price dropped.

according to EURO price,
N81 8GB EURO450
N82 EURO480
N95 EURO550

convert EURO480 to MYR is around rm2.2k
toughnut
post Dec 7 2007, 08:19 AM

3,239 posts

@mstr583

it's built into the firmware. that's meant u can uninstall it and update to newer version on your own, unless new firmware updates. i still prefer it being released as a standalone software (which meant can be "tested" on other phone like N95 tongue.gif )
toughnut
post Dec 8 2007, 08:18 AM

3,239 posts

@Victor3010

Camera part-ok la

still not good enough?ohmy.gif
actually N82 advantages is lowlight photo due to the presence of xenon flash.

btw, i guess that make u the first owner of N82 here thumbup.gif
toughnut
post Dec 9 2007, 08:29 AM

3,239 posts

@clsia1001
i though u havent buy since no pictures or reviews from you brows.gif
about the end key, it will close most of the program incl messaging. on old S60, it will make it running in the background. i also have problem adjusting to the new "behaviour" sweat.gif

@rayzrblade
in dilemma? n95-2 or n82? brows.gif it's up to your preference. slider with 8GB or candybar with xenon. other spec are identical.

for the focus lock sound, it supposed to have that sound. probably bugs with the display unit.

for the edit key, i prefer the idea of combined it with the # key. current S60 phone have a lot of keys sweat.gif
toughnut
post Dec 12 2007, 08:49 AM

3,239 posts

yesterday i tried N81, N82 and N95 8GB. imho, N82 has the best feature/price but the design suck big time....

at my place, N82 retailed for rm1800+- for AP set, same price with N95-1 (phone i use currently)

N82 button might be small but it's quite easy to use but slippery. the silver body really make it look like silver surfer but few times uglier. the phone bigger and thicker than i'm expected.

actually wanna trade my N95-1 in for N82, but i'm keeping my N95-1 for now biggrin.gif

@pigcat
N95 headset should be compatible
toughnut
post Dec 13 2007, 05:44 PM

3,239 posts

@fyefyefye
the first photo, the macro one, is good thumbup.gif

@Moutzu
i hope the card work properly. i always suspicious of china made product. remember the 32gb sony vaio thumbdrive and fake sandisk memorystick? lol. if it can work properly, u should buy more and sell here brows.gif
toughnut
post Dec 14 2007, 08:15 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Dec 14 2007, 01:13 AM)
However, with the extra xenon flash can mean a lot to certain people, although most of the time a flash photo will be less appealing than a photo taken in good source of light which in my opinion prefered most of the time. But then, personally I've encountered how pathetic the 5MP camera of my N95 is last time went to karaoke box with friends although night mode might work but surely will be miles away from xenon flash. sweat.gif Oh, don't forget the N95 8GB is fixed at 8GB storage with a very slow transfer speed, N82 will be able to to put in as much or even more than that if a >8GB card ever gonna release.
in certain situation, u will hope that the phone have both LED+Xenon flash (on some SE phone). macro mode in low light, if use Xenon, will make the subject glowing bright lol.

therefore, LED flash best for macro shot, Xenon best for normal shot. but on N95/N82, macro shot still suck due to minimum focus of 10cm.

no comment on "speedy" transfer on N95-2 tongue.gif

8GB microsdhc already available. moreover, it's level4 and above thumbup.gif
toughnut
post Dec 17 2007, 08:37 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(Jeffery @ Dec 17 2007, 04:13 AM)
hey interested in this phone alot... dilemma of getting w960i or n82....

w960i is cheaper, touchscreen that's all.... (i think batt last longer, and i like SE than Nokia actually...)

n82 has so much pros against w960i.... better cam, better recording, gps, ngage but but i have few question about it, hope expert out there can answer my questions.

Can this n82, receive file thru bt without going into inbox? it's the lousiest thing of nokia phone which keep every received file into inbox unlike SE which able to identify the file type and auto goes into the right folder.

What's the batt life? listening music in flight mode last how long? and if the phone seldom been used, can last 3 days?

wat's the lastest AP set price for this phone?
1. w960i or n82? u like touchscreen or keypad? that's the main deciding factor

2. all files received put into mailbox. use 3rd party file browser to sort it up

3. music mode in offline mode can last 12-13 hrs. 3 days under light usage should be achievable but i highly doubt that u will use it lightly.

P.S: battery last longer on SE phone cuz:
1. smaller screen (average 2in) with 2XXk color compare to nokia that mostly use 16M color and larger screen.
2. flight mode in SE deactivate completely other functions except Walkman, thus saving a lot of power. on the other hand, nokia offline mode only deactivate SIM but ALL functions accessible except CALL
toughnut
post Dec 19 2007, 08:53 AM

3,239 posts

@mstr583

MAP ID: 209? u able to unlock the locked map? which map u use?
toughnut
post Dec 19 2007, 10:22 AM

3,239 posts

@prozac

possible to sync K750i with MS Outlook? if possible, after sync it, sync Outlook with N82
toughnut
post Dec 20 2007, 08:18 AM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Dec 20 2007, 08:09 AM)
can ask something??
if snap the moving object like fan with the flash,
the pics is blur or focus ?? (u know what i means?) sweat.gif
AFAIK, with Xenon flash, the shutter speed will be adjusted to faster speed. so the picture will show freeze blade instead of blurred, still moving blade.

P.S: on N95, it's hard to capture photos at higher shutter speed due to lack of adequate lighting source.
toughnut
post Dec 20 2007, 12:53 PM

3,239 posts

whether the fan freeze or not depend on shutter speed doh.gif
1/100 or faster enough to freeze the frame.

to know the shutter speed, ISO, etc, check the EXIF properties of the photo.

@fyefyefye
ur fan probably full blast, spinning to fast lol. cant check the EXIF due to altered photo. mind checking on the actual photo EXIF for shutter speed?

@micwin1437
ur pic shutter speed is 1/30. that's meant ur fan probably rotate at 1800RPM or slower laugh.gif

This post has been edited by toughnut: Dec 20 2007, 12:59 PM
toughnut
post Dec 20 2007, 01:44 PM

3,239 posts

QUOTE(sanook @ Dec 20 2007, 01:18 PM)
I can see there are a lot of stupid people here who don;t know anything about camera and its functions and yet are arrogant enough to compare the camera function between phone models and even complain about one is better than the other..
well said. even a DSLR in hand of n00bs will end up producing craps...

Added on December 20, 2007, 1:47 pmbtw, here da bomb
http://www.thenokiaguide.com/my_weblog/200...or-nam-n95.html

This post has been edited by toughnut: Dec 20 2007, 01:47 PM

0.0294sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:33 AM