Complaints Console Modding Issue, what LYN's stand is on this...

TSgreyshadow
post May 11 2007, 05:00 PM, updated 19y ago

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Just found out today I got 10% warning, for posting in a Nintendo thread called "sending your US wii for modification ... ! "
Not only me gets a 10% warning, EVERYONE in there gets a warning from AsenDURE.

The thread basically is discussing about modded Wii, and some forumers did mention about the piracy stuffs, and they deserve to get warn.
But for some of us we didn't even mention anything about piracy at all and still gets warn!

Here's my posting which gets me a warning:
how about the online capability? does modding affects it?
will online update screwed the modded Wii?

of cos the best thing about a modded Wii is the ability to play all region games.  Then those who has bought a PAL Wii will have no worries of the choice of games they can play lor.

I only talking about multi-region capability, and is that wrong?? Is multi-region = piracy? I believe any of my and some other forumers posting in there mention nothing about piracy.

Is modding illegal in LYN? If it's illegal, then all those posting in threads related to selling or doing modding service should gets warning also!

Just because some mention about piracy in a thread and the whole thread gets a warning is UNFAIR! mad.gif

TSgreyshadow
post May 12 2007, 09:54 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(altie @ May 12 2007, 12:35 AM)
I am not a Nintendo user. I have no say in what goes on in Consoles Couch. So therefore I am merely an impartial bystander.

From the way your post was worded it would seem that you are highly interested about modding your console. As Asendure has pointed out, Nintendo has made it clear that modding their product is illegal. Even I know that modding a Xbox and Playstation is illegal. If the company states that it is illegal, therefore it is illegal to speak about it in this forum. If you didn't know that before, you know now. 10% warn is better than 100% warn or a suspension. Consider it a mild lesson.
Ok, you claim that modding Xbox, PS, Nintendo is all illegal, so that's mean we CANNOT TALK about it at all?

Please have a look at the garage sales area, WHAO!! Tonnes of modded consoles, mod chips, flash cards and modding service for sale! Modded consoles bundle with pirated games some more! All those "illegal" activities are going on there under the broad daylight and no one is making a fuss? and I get a 10% warning because I'm just stating the facts about modding?

which part of my comments there tell you positively that I wanted to engaged in a "illegal activities of modding my console"? All I did is ask a question and stating a fact. (which was proven wrong later on, modded PAL Wii can't play all region game). I don't see any parts of my comments there stating I'm supporting either piracy or "illegal" modding.

For me modding feel into the grey area of legality. Modding doesn't necessary equals to piracy. Btw, which law in Malaysia did state modding is illegal? If the Malaysia law didn't state it's illegal, why can't we discuss here?

TSgreyshadow
post May 12 2007, 12:39 PM

1,844 posts

Dude, I never expect Malaysia to support piracy, nor did I. Since when I mention anything about supporting piracy? and of cos I know piracy is illegal here in Malaysia, but modding your console is not illegal by Malaysia Law IMO.

If modding console is illegal in Malaysia, then why gomen only take action against those selling pirated games, but didn't take action against those selling modded consoles?

Modding doesn't equals to piracy!

This post has been edited by greyshadow: May 12 2007, 12:39 PM
TSgreyshadow
post May 12 2007, 12:58 PM

1,844 posts

it's not about whether it's just a 10% or 50% warn or not, or whether it will go away or not. It's a matter of principles, I believe I did nothing wrong and still gets warn about it.

Lets say one day you did nothing wrong and police gives you a fine of RM10. Ya... RM10 only mar... no big deal, but will you pay the fine for some "offence" you didn't commit?
TSgreyshadow
post May 21 2007, 09:53 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ May 18 2007, 02:34 PM)
Here's what we've decided on this issue:-

We'll allow discussion about moddings etc. 

We'll allow the trading of consoles which have already been modded.

We do not allow trading pirated/modded games

We do not allow discussion about how to pirate or crack a game, and for policy reasons, where to purchase pirated games.
So the conclusion is discussion of modding scenes are allowed lor?
So I'm not guilty as charged lor?
Can some mod please remove my warn? dry.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: May 21 2007, 09:54 AM

0.0164sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:26 AM