Huawei Huawei P20 and P20 Pro

tehoice
post Jun 25 2018, 06:34 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 25 2018, 06:06 PM)
I would say if price is not the problem, definitely go for p20pro for future proof. But considering mate 10 pro is like 1k lower price, consider if you want the new full screen design, the best camera to date. If those 2 doesn’t bother u, definitely go for mate 10 pro. Those 2 elements that set the bar for p20 series from the older huawei models
how about p20 pro vs p20?

i'm contemplating to get one, but really unsure of which to go with...... icon_question.gif
tehoice
post Jun 25 2018, 07:41 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(monocle @ Jun 25 2018, 06:47 PM)
I would say its between small size phone vs bigger phone.

but of coz the p20 pro offers more value.

cheapest i saw online for p20 pro is 2.9k, for p20 is 20xx

difference of RM900, it's all up to you if you're willing to fork out the extra rm900 for water resistance, bigger battery, better camera and more ram
hmm...... i'm planning to sign up a plan for it.

it's about 1.7k+ for p20

about 2.4k+ for p20 pro, so the difference is smaller and lower cost of ownership.
tehoice
post Jun 25 2018, 07:41 PM

5,529 posts

has there been any known issues with p20 pro and p20?
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 09:32 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 25 2018, 09:49 PM)
Same here planning to sign up a plan and from what the service representative calculate for me the diff is RM7 much more per month for P20 Pro caompare to Mate 10 Pro
RM7 difference for how many months? if not years. hahaha biggrin.gif
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 09:33 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(leinnz @ Jun 26 2018, 08:53 AM)
just use do no disturb la. 100% whole night. and i am pity that some of you mentioned night shot is good for p20.
yeah, i wonder how does it do under low light condition?

S9 has very good low light condition shooting for its camera. how does p20 fair in this one?
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 09:41 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 26 2018, 09:39 AM)
Standard 2 years contract (24 months)
small difference only. no brainer right. must upgrate hehe.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 09:56 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 26 2018, 09:43 AM)
haha good poison
lol,. cos i think i will also go for p20 pro hahaha.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 11:00 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 26 2018, 09:57 AM)
haha lets do it and get the unlock code before its too late just in case
when are you getting yours? how much will you be paying for the phone and plan ya?

QUOTE(leinnz @ Jun 26 2018, 10:10 AM)
for normal camera mode, it is sufficient. to performed advanced photography in low light, P20 is not your choice. the AI could not be disable and is always sharpening the photo
wanna see how does it perform under low light condition.

AI sharpening the photo is no good?
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 11:12 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 26 2018, 11:10 AM)
P20p can be turned off right, but P20, cant is it?
do you mean the AI?

it seems like i have a lot to read before deciding which one to get.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 11:58 AM

5,529 posts

i have a fuji mirrorless camera XE2. guess that's enough for my more advance photography.

meanwhile handphone is more for casual photography.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 02:37 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 26 2018, 12:59 PM)
I personally didn’t own any of p20 series, but i bought p20 for my wife.. i did try it many times, and i think it is a good phone and worth the price.. if this is samsung phone it will be much more expensive.. and my wife, from a long time iphone use, she likes p20, she just need sometime to get familiar with android, other than that she loves things she can do with p20, especially the cam, well u know female vs selfies. Lol.. so, p20 good, hence p20pro should be better.. i myself using note 8 and iphone both, so u know where i’m judging from.
thanks man! appreciate that.

i guess i have set my mind with p20, but just unsure whether should i go for the upgraded version of p20 > pro.

tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 02:43 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 26 2018, 02:38 PM)
go for the upgraded p20 pro  brows.gif
today your turn to poison me yo......... drool.gif
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 03:39 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 26 2018, 02:45 PM)
hehehe.. come2 join the wagon  rclxms.gif
coming soon liao.

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Jun 26 2018, 03:10 PM)
Anyone using the Type-C earphone bundled with the smartphone? Not sure if P20 and P20 Pro have the same earphones bundled, but this thing is the best I have heard in a while given how its a bundled earphone, which I expected it to be a complete crap like usual. I have owned many headphones and earphones, so this is quite unexpected.

It's not. I'm very surprised. Although by default the low end is kind of of overhyped (muddies the mids and highs), I managed to create some EQ presets that gives it more clarity and a lot more balanced sounding while preserving the good top end already present with the earphones.

If anyone wants them, feel free to look at them below. I know they're not for everyone. Maybe these presets only sound good to me. tongue.gif

---

(1) Better Balance and Clarity -- My favourite
[attachmentid=9880792]
This is my currently favorite preset. I toned down the lows so that they're not overhyped and doesn't muddy the rest of the spectrum. I also added a little boost in the mids, making it enjoyable for almost all kinds of music. I listen to rock, metal, jazz, electronic, pop and even some classical. So far, so good.

(2) Better Balance and Clarity + Bass Boost
[attachmentid=9880813]
If you feel like you need more bass, don't worry. I have you covered. However, this boost mostly in the very low ends of the bass, or sub bass. They make a huge difference, and might not be suitable for music like rock, jazz or metal because they (the bass) tend to be too loud with this preset.

(3) More Bass and Mids please
[attachmentid=9880837]
I don't know what you'd use this for but if you feel like you need more boost in the mids, for guitar or vocals, you can use this one. Your taste. I don't really like this one.

---

By the way, does anyone know the make and model of the earphones? biggrin.gif
starred this, for future use.

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jun 26 2018, 03:10 PM)
Both P20 and P20 Pro are equally good phones. Just go with your liking and budget.
If you want a bigger screen and triple lens camera, then the Pro is for you. if you want compact iPhone X size, then P20 is adequate. I feel both have equally good cameras.
ya man IKR. budget is only 600 bucks extra ma. (i do monthly installment somemore, so it's 50 bucks extra monthly for the next 12 months)
since i only buy phone like once every 2-3 years. so oklah can splurge a bit.

QUOTE(leinnz @ Jun 26 2018, 03:12 PM)
P20 Pro.
better screen. amoled vs led
bigger rom/storage 128GB
more ram 6gb
bigger screen
bigger battery and additional battery lifespan (amoled uses less battery compared to led screen)
triple lens camera for better AI quality pictures
it seems like pro wins hands down in many department except for the pricing.

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jun 26 2018, 03:23 PM)
Actually, both have 128GB storage, just that P20 has 4GB ram vs 6GB ram on Pro if I not mistaken.  hmm.gif
yes, both also 128GB.

4GB and 6GB ram for p20 and p20 pro respectively.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 03:40 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 26 2018, 03:34 PM)
Yeah one of the reason why I opt for P20 Pro for its bigger RAM & IP rating.
IP rating important for you? i mean like, will you dip your phone into the water for photography?
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 04:15 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 26 2018, 03:43 PM)
I dont do photography that much. tapi alang2 buy a phone to replace my old oneplus one that im using now might as well get the better spec.
QUOTE(olygopoly @ Jun 26 2018, 03:43 PM)
sometimes when go swimming with kids no need to worry if phone kena air/ accidentally drop in water just like my wife's IP7+.
i see, but mind you, the deepest it can go is only 1M, anything deeper will also damage your phone too.

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Jun 26 2018, 03:50 PM)
My experience with ip68 phone is that, its almost impossible to take photo underwater, the screen won't work, and if u dip to water, have to spend some times to clean the charging port or else they won't charge

Good thing is when u accidentally drop ur phone into pool, ur phone will definitely survive

One thing have to bear in mind is amoled are hard to take care of if u use if long time, my friend s7 edge now suffer from burn in(he outdoor alot, auto brightness kill amoled pixel), and u constantly need to find black theme/background to save batteries, something that ips screen better at

All things considered, best choice still is p20 pro, if u dont mind the budget and prefer bigger phone
so cannot really take underwater photo, i think last time sony did it right? which allows underwater picture.

don't mind the budget, but prefer p20 in size to be honest.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 04:30 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Jun 26 2018, 04:28 PM)
Smartphones aren't intended as replacement to underwater cameras. IP ratings are there for accidental drops and spills.
I went for the P20 instead of the P20 Pro mainly because of the size. I know the P20 Pro is small for a 6.1 inch phone but the length isn't the problem for me but the width. Too wide and my hands will hurt. Add a case and it is worse.

If you don't mind an LCD panel (mind you, a very beautiful LCD display), then go for the P20.
As for the camera, both are equally capable (a tech reviewer even said the P20 is more consistent overall).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYI19AzFvJc

The only advantage I can think of with the P20 Pro is the 3x optical zoom.
No hybrid zoom can match a really good hardware.

In the end, follow your <3
okay. thanks man! for the advice.
will view the video.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 06:39 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Jun 26 2018, 04:28 PM)
Smartphones aren't intended as replacement to underwater cameras. IP ratings are there for accidental drops and spills.
I went for the P20 instead of the P20 Pro mainly because of the size. I know the P20 Pro is small for a 6.1 inch phone but the length isn't the problem for me but the width. Too wide and my hands will hurt. Add a case and it is worse.

If you don't mind an LCD panel (mind you, a very beautiful LCD display), then go for the P20.
As for the camera, both are equally capable (a tech reviewer even said the P20 is more consistent overall).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYI19AzFvJc

The only advantage I can think of with the P20 Pro is the 3x optical zoom.
No hybrid zoom can match a really good hardware.

In the end, follow your <3
whoa, it seems like p20 is more user friendly, as in, take out point-to-shoot. than the p20 pro where you may have to tweak the camera settings etc.

most consistent.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 07:35 PM

5,529 posts

will the 4gb and the 6gb ram differs a lot?

given that i'm not a super heavy multitasker. just another point to consider.
tehoice
post Jun 26 2018, 11:02 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jun 26 2018, 10:59 PM)
4gb suffice.. 6gb give extra room.. on my note 8, whenever i check ram usage, it usually around 3gb+ (I never bother closing app, multitask frequently too). i never noticed it exceed 4  hmm.gif
okay, thanks for sharing mate!
tehoice
post Jun 27 2018, 06:16 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(aizielectreon @ Jun 27 2018, 05:25 PM)
took this photo while riding MRT to Bukit Bintang..
first time took MRT..a bit jakun  biggrin.gif
nice one. wanna see the lights movements?

try the pro mode. lower down the shutter speed, try not to increase too much on the ISO which may result in some standard deviation (noise).

you may get another feeling on this picture, it will be a stunning picture. rclxms.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:08 AM