Final Fantasy IV DS Confirmed

TSfirstknight
post May 11 2007, 02:45 AM, updated 19y ago

2,681 posts

source

Well here's one rumor that got confirmed pretty damn quickly. A reader sent us in a scan from Japanese magazine Shonen Jump, confirming that a Final Fantasy IV (2 stateside) 3D remake is in the works for the DS.

I know I should be impressed by Cecil's new 3D look, but it's giving me this odd sort of Viewtiful Joe vibe. Honestly I don't think this game needed to be remade. It was perfect as it was and this...this just feels wrong. Like meeting a cute young girl who sounds exactly like your grandmother when she talks. Disturbing. Michael Fahey

Thanks for the scan Riyu!
hafez13
post May 11 2007, 02:47 AM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

i like the game before and i like the game now smile.gif
bidfordun
post May 11 2007, 02:49 AM

2,234 posts

ya, i also think that the gba one is perfect edy, i would rather see them remake dq 4, 5 and 6 or star ocean but star ocean is going to psp..........
SWATwolf
post May 11 2007, 07:31 AM

431 posts

but ff4's storyline is um.... not really tat nice? =\
bidfordun
post May 11 2007, 08:01 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ May 11 2007, 07:31 AM)
is it? i like the story. at least beta than ff3.......
hafez13
post May 11 2007, 10:35 AM

1,274 posts

the story not nice??
u kidding me rite??
Pr1me_Minister
post May 11 2007, 11:22 AM

314 posts

Why it's not FFVI.......WHY! cry.gif
hafez13
post May 11 2007, 11:24 AM

1,274 posts

finial fantasy 6??
the machines??

Added on May 11, 2007, 11:24 amthe opening that 3ppl riding a machines?

This post has been edited by hafez13: May 11 2007, 11:24 AM
penman
post May 11 2007, 11:29 AM

142 posts

among all the FF, my fav Cerita Garis would still be FF7.

I hope they'll remake it 1 day...

rclxms.gif
Pr1me_Minister
post May 11 2007, 11:37 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(hafez13 @ May 11 2007, 11:24 AM)
finial fantasy 6??
the machines??

Added on May 11, 2007, 11:24 amthe opening that 3ppl riding a machines?
Rise of the Machines lol. laugh.gif

Celes' opera performance will be mind blowing in 3-d.
penman
post May 11 2007, 11:40 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ May 11 2007, 11:37 AM)
Rise of the Machines lol. laugh.gif

Celes' opera performance will be mind blowing in 3-d.
Rise of the Machine?

that's deng~ deng~ deng~ deng-deng! T3!!! mad.gif
ballistix89
post May 11 2007, 11:48 AM

lurker
353 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ May 11 2007, 07:31 AM)
are you kidding? the story is nice,but i hope the characters that die during the game REALLY die until the end.like that more drama thumbup.gif

Added on May 11, 2007, 11:51 am
QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ May 11 2007, 11:22 AM)
Why it's not FFVI.......WHY! cry.gif
if they remake FFIV,im sure they're gonna continue to remake FFV and FFVI

This post has been edited by ballistix89: May 11 2007, 11:51 AM
hafez13
post May 11 2007, 12:07 PM

1,274 posts

i like this game!!
will surely buy!!

Added on May 11, 2007, 12:08 pmops said it again sorry doh.gif

This post has been edited by hafez13: May 11 2007, 12:08 PM
ballistix89
post May 11 2007, 12:13 PM

lurker
353 posts

QUOTE(hafez13 @ May 11 2007, 12:07 PM)
i like this game!!
will surely buy!!
click my sig thumbup.gif
hafez13
post May 11 2007, 12:18 PM

1,274 posts

FF4 DS... not FF1V =6 .... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hafez13: May 11 2007, 12:19 PM
SWATwolf
post May 11 2007, 01:04 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(hafez13 @ May 11 2007, 12:18 PM)
FF4 DS... not FF1V =6 .... sweat.gif
um... IV = 4 sweat.gif
hafez13
post May 11 2007, 01:05 PM

1,274 posts

ops.. my bad tongue.gif
anyways,i don want to buy advance tongue.gif
want to buy DS version biggrin.gif
TSfirstknight
post May 11 2007, 03:45 PM

2,681 posts

i still like VI... very nice.... pic and story...
Humorboy
post May 12 2007, 12:21 AM

187 posts

me is FF noob never really played from FF1-6 until finish..
only played from FF7 till FF9 on PSOne...
so is FF 4 storyline as epic as those from FF7 onwards or just kinda like FF3? to me, i think FF3 storyline a bit too straightforward and predictable...

Darkchaser
post May 12 2007, 10:06 AM

522 posts

FFI - V have pretty much basic stories, good versus evil. FFIV is an improvement over FFIII though, the story is definitely better.

I liked IV, but yeah, I wished they did VI instead. Or even V. But I sure as hell wouldn't pass up the chance to see the misadventures of Palom and Porom again tongue.gif
bidfordun
post May 12 2007, 10:25 AM

2,234 posts

i wonder how long will they take to remake this game? if it takes around 1 year, maybe they will only remake ff4?
ballistix89
post May 12 2007, 11:37 AM

lurker
353 posts

QUOTE(Humorboy @ May 12 2007, 12:21 AM)
me is FF noob never really played from FF1-6 until finish..
only played from FF7 till FF9 on PSOne...
so is FF 4 storyline as epic as those from FF7 onwards or just kinda like FF3? to me, i think FF3 storyline a bit too straightforward and predictable...
FF4 is definitely not as epic as FF7
Pr1me_Minister
post May 12 2007, 07:15 PM

314 posts

FFVI is the most epic FF ever, with performance from our most favourite villian, Kefka!
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
post May 14 2007, 06:49 PM

241 posts

I want my FFIX for DS sad.gif >_>

(Yea, it's not likely to happen but bleh tongue.gif)
linknf
post May 21 2007, 12:51 PM

ff5 & ff6 will definitely coming out. so for those who r playing d gba version now can stop playing d, wait 4 d DS version. Yahoo
bidfordun
post May 21 2007, 01:22 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(linknf @ May 21 2007, 12:51 PM)
ff5 & ff6 will definitely coming out. so for those who r playing d gba version now can stop playing d, wait 4 d DS version. Yahoo
I dun think u can be so sure of it since remaking every ff game is very time consuming. plus even they will be remade, u can always play gba version first since some would like to experience the 2d version. not everything in 3d must be good.
Dyna-Storm
post May 22 2007, 03:16 PM

292 posts

My gf was playing FF6 on the gba, but she ditch it (for the time being) for Pokemon DS lol

I don't think they will remake FFIX .. but hopefully they will port it over. Im actually replaying it on my ps2 now haha
hafez13
post May 24 2007, 08:46 PM

1,274 posts

got news on FF4DS??
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
post May 24 2007, 09:47 PM

241 posts

Someone is very impatient.
Pr1me_Minister
post May 24 2007, 10:14 PM

314 posts

hafez13
post Jun 5 2007, 05:40 PM

1,274 posts

..... i should not said about pokemon...
anyways i will make a thread about FF4 ...
this is and anoucement nota FF4 thread.. so i make 1 smile.gif
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
post Jun 5 2007, 05:43 PM

241 posts

sleep.gif There is no real need for it when this thread IS about FF4.
hafez13
post Jun 5 2007, 05:45 PM

1,274 posts

sayming
post Jun 5 2007, 05:47 PM

"Welcome, to my DEATH MACHINE, interloper!"
3,410 posts

Bah why must it always be either 1, 2 and 4.
I want a 6...sad.gif
hafez13
post Jun 5 2007, 05:49 PM

1,274 posts

hmm.. 6 realy syok?
better try biggrin.gif
sauying
post Jun 5 2007, 06:19 PM

Orang tua kat LYN
1,464 posts

yup, tried SNES version of FF6
very very nice ...
dono got remake or not ..
hafez13
post Jun 5 2007, 07:14 PM

1,274 posts

got remake of FF6 on GBA biggrin.gif [I think sweat.gif ]
Dyna-Storm
post Jun 5 2007, 08:18 PM

292 posts

Yeap yeap FF6 is on the GBA. Can go pick it up since NDS supports GBA cartridges icon_rolleyes.gif
hafez13
post Jun 27 2007, 07:53 AM

1,274 posts

so....
any news about FF4?
SWATwolf
post Jun 27 2007, 08:38 AM

431 posts

not really. but u could do some research sweat.gif
hafez13
post Jun 27 2007, 09:00 AM

1,274 posts

tried.. and only found videos...
samurai20
post Jun 27 2007, 10:12 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

if this news true.. i will buy NDS... DS here i um.. smile.gif
sihumchai
post Jun 27 2007, 10:33 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

It is true Samurai smile.gif There are screens floating around for sometime now.
hamtarox
post Jun 27 2007, 10:40 AM

281 posts

i more prefer they remake FF6.....one of the best RPG in my SFC gameplay life...
hafez13
post Jun 27 2007, 11:15 AM

1,274 posts

FF4... FTW!!!!
samurai20
post Jun 27 2007, 11:45 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

whoa... i think i will pokai again.. dammit square why maa.. u release lot of FF.. this year.. FF7:CC lagi.. must but PSP.. for that game.. smile.gif...
hafez13
post Jun 27 2007, 11:50 AM

1,274 posts

samurai buy... yeah more ppl to get this game thumbup.gif
eone
post Oct 26 2007, 09:21 AM

Prime
2,678 posts

oh man, the 'theme of love' song got voice now, anyone know where can i get it?

This post has been edited by eone: Oct 26 2007, 09:22 AM
ayip_bashah
post Oct 27 2007, 10:10 PM

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Jun 27 2007, 10:40 AM)
i more prefer they remake FF6.....one of the best RPG in my SFC gameplay life...
AGREE thumbup.gif
Best FF game EVER!!!
Pr1me_Minister
post Oct 27 2007, 10:20 PM

314 posts

Just get Final Fantasy VI Advance. I love the music player function in it. wub.gif
bidfordun
post Oct 27 2007, 11:03 PM

2,234 posts

i think ff6 is kinda overrated edy. i played it and i dun find myself to enjoy the storyline at all. i prefer ff4 more.
Pr1me_Minister
post Oct 27 2007, 11:52 PM

314 posts

Terra used Trance
Terra used Ultima on Biddy
Terra used Ultima on Biddy (doublecast)
Gogo copies what Terra have done. tongue.gif
ayip_bashah
post Oct 28 2007, 01:47 AM

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Oct 27 2007, 11:03 PM)
i think ff6 is kinda overrated edy. i played it and i dun find myself to enjoy the storyline at all. i prefer ff4 more.
FF 6 is overated..??? U mean FF7 tongue.gif
FF6 was 1 of the best SNES games I ever played...
I assume you didnt play the original version on the Super Nintendo...

bidfordun
post Oct 28 2007, 02:42 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(ayip_bashah @ Oct 28 2007, 01:47 AM)
FF 6 is overated..??? U mean FF7  tongue.gif
FF6 was 1 of the best SNES games I ever played...
I assume you didnt play the original version on the Super Nintendo...
haha, tat is my personal opinion lo.

never played snes version b4, so judging from gba version.
indeed, ff4 is more fun than ff6 imho. at least i manage to complete ff4 and i am kinda surprised by the story. ff6 leh.... the story is predictable, battle system is less fun than i tot and quite imbalanced, yet to complete it...
rhoyo
post Dec 18 2007, 05:24 PM

-
2,800 posts

w00t japanese version is already out ! biggrin.gif
soulsync
post Dec 19 2007, 01:35 AM

167 posts

yeah but i not able to play it ler sad.gif
sob sob
jdreamer
post Dec 19 2007, 08:48 AM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

English version will be released in 2008, right?
bidfordun
post Dec 19 2007, 08:51 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Dec 19 2007, 08:48 AM)
English version will be released in 2008, right?
usa version has not been announced yet but i think shud be spring 2008.

This post has been edited by bidfordun: Dec 19 2007, 08:51 AM
jdreamer
post Dec 19 2007, 08:59 AM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Thanks for the information. tongue.gif
fazco85
post Mar 30 2008, 01:57 AM

210 posts

has any1 played the Jap version? how was it?
squall_12
post Mar 31 2008, 07:07 PM

1,779 posts

QUOTE(fazco85 @ Mar 30 2008, 01:57 AM)
very good love it thumbup.gif and the voice acting is top notch better than ff3 remake(which dont have voice acting) overall i give it 9/10 the only cons it have is the game is hard compare to none remake ff4.....
Kellicros
post Mar 31 2008, 08:48 PM

1,028 posts

QUOTE(fazco85 @ Mar 30 2008, 01:57 AM)
The game looks pretty good, the voice works are nice, the musics are much better and there's a vocalized theme song. The cut-scence are very well done too, very good presentation and yes, it is also pretty hard especially in the later part of the game, I have been KO'ed so many times in this compared to other FF. tongue.gif
squall_12
post Apr 1 2008, 12:18 PM

1,779 posts

DS FF3 is for novice and FF4 for old timer rpg player which dont mind spending countless hours just for level up your character.....
Humorboy
post May 13 2008, 02:21 PM

187 posts

is there any CGI cut scenes in between the game or just the beginning part only?
FF3 only have them in the beginning which sucks... even ending also dun have... doh.gif
fazco85
post May 24 2008, 09:39 PM

210 posts

hmm...got some nice reviews here. maybe I'll give this game a try then tongue.gif

w00t! new (maybe?) info!

got this email from square. guess better start saving for this wonderful game now tongue.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by fazco85: May 24 2008, 09:47 PM
hafez13
post May 24 2008, 09:54 PM

1,274 posts

this is the first and the best FF game i played...heck no i will not buy it!
bidfordun
post May 31 2008, 03:02 PM

2,234 posts

haha, u decide. is this a good english dub?

PaiGeWonG
post Jul 22 2008, 05:15 PM

219 posts

Final Fantasy IV has released today ENGLISH version !
Lizan
post Jul 22 2008, 05:18 PM

48 posts

In US now 5 am, so not released yet. Unless you ordered and arrived already for you
PaiGeWonG
post Jul 22 2008, 05:19 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Lizan @ Jul 22 2008, 05:18 PM)
In US now 5 am, so not released yet.  Unless you ordered and arrived already for you
LOL .. i have it already ~ but havent try on the game yet
i mean in AHEM ~
prazole
post Jul 22 2008, 10:58 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

visit the official website ppl.. its beautiful!
blackamikaze
post Jul 23 2008, 12:34 AM

Trooper Rank: BIG HEAD SERGEANT
2,671 posts

oh cecil...
s[H]sIkuA
post Jul 23 2008, 12:03 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

I just hope they don't screw up the translation

You spoony bard!
-= Virgil =-
post Jul 23 2008, 02:01 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Final Fantasy IV (US Version) Reviews

* GamePro (95/100) says the game is still an epic experience: "Ultimately, Final Fantasy IV remains the same epic experience it was seventeen years ago, and the DS's improvements are a welcome treat for fans of the series and newcomers to the franchise alike. With an engrossing story, ambitious characters, and challenging yet rewarding gameplay, I can't help but recommend Final Fantasy IV as a worthwhile purchase, especially if you missed it the first time around. Even if you aren't a huge Final Fantasy fan, this is still one fantastic role-playing title worth checking out."

* Gamespot (90/100) thinks the game is great, despite some minor issues with the voice work: "Although it has been rereleased several times throughout the years, this full remake of one of the most celebrated stories in video game history is in many ways more poignant and impressive than it was all those years ago, despite minor irks with the voice acting. With a cast of memorable characters and villains, a more accurate and authentic translation, a new skill-customization system, and a few important new story elements that help to better explain key plot points, this is the definitive version of Final Fantasy IV that everyone should experience."

* IGN (87/100) is of the mind that FFIV is quite impressive: "It's a rush in the most traditional way, and it's an RPG that makes you feel for your characters, fight for every level, and strategize before battles in ways new role-playing games don't bother to do anymore. For fans, FFIV is an impressive resurrection to an awesome, pioneering RPG. For newcomers, you're about to get a lesson in "hardcore gaming 101," but if you put in the time, and put up with the difficulty, you'll have a chance to really "get" what Final Fantasy is all about."

* 1UP (75/100) scored the game the lowest of this bunch: "It's not a bad little game -- it is, after all, an upgraded version of a 16-bit masterpiece -- but it's needlessly redundant for anyone who picked up FFIV Advance. Of course, die-hard Final Fantasy fans will want to test their mettle against the crazy-hard new difficulty level while checking out the new voices for old favorites: Cecil is appropriately wussy, Kain sounds as tough as you'd expect, and Golbez now sounds like Darth Vader instead of just looking like him. But everyone else might want to wait it out a few years for that inevitable, definitive next-gen remake. When it comes to Square Enix, what goes around comes around. And around. And around."

This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Jul 23 2008, 02:05 PM
mecharojak
post Jul 23 2008, 05:24 PM

84 posts

http://www.g4tv.com/xplay/reviews/1814/Fin...tasy_IV_DS.html

Xplay review!!
bose00
post Jul 23 2008, 11:54 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Jul 23 2008, 05:24 PM)
Yet to play FF III, wonder it will be worthwhile to get this FF IV.

is there any continuation of the story ?

This post has been edited by bose00: Jul 23 2008, 11:55 PM
Kellicros
post Jul 24 2008, 01:34 AM

1,028 posts

QUOTE(bose00 @ Jul 23 2008, 11:54 PM)

Both games are totally unrelated in term of story, FF3 hardly has any plot at all but FF4 is very epic, highly recommended.

The voice-over is pretty good in the trailer even though Kain sounds like an old hag, feel like replaying the english version. :\

This post has been edited by Kellicros: Jul 24 2008, 01:36 AM
bidfordun
post Jul 24 2008, 01:55 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(bose00 @ Jul 23 2008, 11:54 PM)

ff IV should be good if my gba is the indication. but dun get ff3. it pales in comparison to my ff IV advance. shakehead.gif
mecharojak
post Jul 24 2008, 12:01 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Jul 24 2008, 01:55 AM)
ff IV should be good if my gba is the indication. but dun get ff3. it pales in comparison to my ff IV advance. shakehead.gif
FF3 DS is not that bad. Art & music direction is pretty good.
Story is pretty much straight forward with loads of grinding.
Considering the source is a japanese 1990 famicom game that was never release in English before.
Give it a try, FF fans.
s[H]sIkuA
post Jul 24 2008, 01:02 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

Play FFIV for the story =)

Now the NDS version is out, play it for the extra visuals + music tongue.gif

F*** YEAH DRAGOON
bidfordun
post Jul 24 2008, 07:41 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Jul 24 2008, 12:01 PM)
FF3 DS is not that bad. Art & music direction is pretty good.
Story is pretty much straight forward with loads of grinding.
Considering the source is a japanese 1990 famicom game that was never release in English before.
Give it a try, FF fans.
hehe, it is hard for me to get into ff3 since the previous ff that i played were all gba versions,which means near to zero loading time and make grinding much faster. ff3 on the other hand has some serious loading problem and it really compromises the whole experience. I guess the trade off of pretty graphics is unbearable loading time. sad.gif
hafez13
post Jul 24 2008, 10:49 PM

1,274 posts

9.0 at gamespot..
nice!
i told u all that this game is fckin epic!!
PhoenixByte
post Jul 25 2008, 08:56 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

This game is hard...T_T
I hv to lvl up many times just to survive T_T
navilink
post Jul 25 2008, 01:11 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

should i give FF III DS a go before playing this epic FF IV? random encounter suxxor so just want to save time if FF III not worth to play compare to FF IV...
s[H]sIkuA
post Jul 25 2008, 04:13 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jul 25 2008, 01:11 PM)
should i give FF III DS a go before playing this epic FF IV? random encounter suxxor so just want to save time if FF III not worth to play compare to FF IV...
FF3 does have something different then IV but it is also pretty bland compare to IV in term of storyline. I will absolutely try to play it if I have the time, if not then I will only play FFIV. Considering I've played the original FFIII long ago, I wouldn't mind skipping the NDS version tongue.gif

And also, FFIV is HARD. The nds version might tune down the difficulty but if you have ever played the original version with HARD mode, you really need to use every opportunity to win every battle. Not as easy as modern FF that we are all used to. Go in a random battle and attack all the way? You will be dead in no time in IV tongue.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jul 26 2008, 01:10 AM

798 posts

Level up until level 20 on the first mission (when it was only cecil n kain)..then it'll be a bit easy happy.gif

Skip FF3 if u can...FF4 is wayyyy better.
navilink
post Jul 26 2008, 09:01 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jul 26 2008, 01:10 AM)
Level up until level 20 on the first mission (when it was only cecil n kain)..then it'll be a bit easy happy.gif

Skip FF3 if u can...FF4 is wayyyy better.

ok...i guess i'll follow ur advise...maybe one day if no other good games released, can play back FF3...
Alucrix
post Jul 26 2008, 12:45 PM

Make sure you play in a quiet room. When... certain 'storyline' elements come into play, much screaming and BAWWWing is guaranteed for first timers of FFIV wink.gif
gM | Mutsumi-san
post Jul 26 2008, 11:01 PM

PhD Falcon punch, Gunslingin, Sentry & Trollin Engineering
1,429 posts

oh shiet fabul has reverse trap xD
and its bald as well tongue.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jul 27 2008, 08:08 AM

798 posts

haha true true indeed on the unexpected things happy.gif
nerd