QUOTE(skyjuyce @ Mar 26 2018, 08:58 AM)
Yes. A tv is not necessary, and only useful for HyppTV.Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi
Mar 26 2018, 09:14 AM
5,714 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Mar 30 2018, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(epalpai @ Mar 30 2018, 08:21 AM) ok the technician did come yesterday to change the modem and router. Which router did you get? It’s either the C1200 or the DIR850L, both which are very basic. If you want something better, you have to invest in your own router. I suggest the Asus RT-AC1300UHP, or the TP-Link C3150 v2, if you have the budget.BUT how come the signal upstairs is weak? new peripherals not good eh? anyone with same experience? |
Mar 30 2018, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(hjh87 @ Mar 30 2018, 09:27 AM) Hi guy, Just take it out per normal. If you not sure how, first identify the type of fiber cable and see how: https://www.arcelect.com/fibercable.htmIf I'm moving my unifi to another location (transfer), how to dismantle the fiber cable from that BTU unit?? QUOTE(RickJames09 @ Mar 30 2018, 09:34 AM) Hi. Yes, but definitely not 100Mbps speed with 2.4Ghz. The coverage with 5GHz is bad with the DIR850L tbh, so if you want something good, you have to buy it yourself.TM will upgrade my internet from 50Mbps to 100Mbps sometimes next week. Will they change my router as well or they will keep using the current one. Currently, TM gave me DIR850L. Can that router support 100mbps speed? Thanks. QUOTE(epalpai @ Mar 30 2018, 10:02 AM) am not sure lorr which router i got last time.. but got antenna one.. hehe.. Yes, the last time one would be the C1200, which is shit. Hope the new DIR-850L is good.hopefully with the upgrade, no lagging when watching kodi lor |
Mar 31 2018, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Mar 31 2018, 12:14 PM) Hi guys I just bought ASUS RT-AC86U but when I setup the internet connection under PPPoe. There is no special requirement from isp box to tick. How can I connect to uniFi if that’s the case? Read the manual. If there is really none, manually tag VLAN500 for internet and VLAN600 for HyppTV. |
Mar 31 2018, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(cskean @ Mar 31 2018, 10:03 AM) Guys, need some suggestion here... 2.4GHz is full of interference and congestion. Use 5GHz. If you want to use AP, make sure it’s connected directly to the router via Ethernet and not wireless. Asus router are good to be used as AP in their AP mode. If you have any other questions, just read and research based on the threads given by bro AVFAN.Yesterday TM contractor came and replace the fiber optic cable for my unifi and finally I'm able to use my unifi again... Before they leave, I've tested the speed using my smartphone via wifi, under 2.4g it reaches around 70-80mbps, and 5g it reaches 100mbps... That was sitting in front of my router though... But when I'm using my laptop on second floor, I run speed test from my laptop using 2.4g and the speed only runs around 20mbps max.... I'm staying in a 2sty house with about 2500sf built up... I did some study, if I opt for wifi range extender, it has to be on the same power point line as my router in order to get it done, right? What about if I buy another router and use it as an Access Point on second floor? If this is the better solution, any recommended AP or router that can fully optimize the Unifi 100mb speed on the entire 2nd floor? Suggestion & advice are much appreciated from expert here~ TQVM~ QUOTE(jjgoh @ Mar 31 2018, 10:57 AM) Exactly same scenario with me for now. Change your router and check the wireless channels in your area and adjust accordingly.Like my lappy, it did not support 5GHz bandwidth. So, via 2.4Ghz it sucks tho. Worst is the Unifi modem and router need to be close to TV. Waiting for expert reply also huhu |
Mar 31 2018, 07:08 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(cskean @ Mar 31 2018, 02:29 PM) I was about to ask this, Access Point must be connected via Ethernet cable only? Cannot be done over wifi? You can but not recommended. Ethernet cable is better than wifi especially for your house. Lol, your friend is half right. Center of your house is right, but higher location is BS. You need to get a good router, and for your case, an enterprise router with multiple WIRED APs is much better than a single router.I went to consult one of my friend, he recommend me to relocate my router to a higher location and more towards the centre of my house in order to get a better signal range and speed. With this setup, I need to hang my router near to the ceiling and need to have a longer RJ45 cable. Any comment on this setup? I personally feel a bit not eye pleasant, but still acceptable if the outcome is good... Btw, I'm using the TP LINK AC1200 provided by TM, and it is sitting on the tv cabinet level... QUOTE(FunkyBass @ Mar 31 2018, 04:10 PM) Check your PPPoE username and password.QUOTE(toytoy @ Mar 31 2018, 05:34 PM) Finally completed the 100Mb upgrade today. Thought TM gonna change modem but gave me a new archer ac1200 router instead. 🤔 Lol, even if you give me for free, I wouldn’t take that router. If you are using 100Mbps, and have a bigger house, consider getting the Asus RT-AC1300UHP or the TP-Link C3150 v2. |
Apr 1 2018, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(cskean @ Mar 31 2018, 10:16 PM) May I know which brand / model have the enterprise router with multiple WIRED APs? Miktrotik or Ubiquiti, whichever you prefer. And how does the multiple wired APs would help in my situation? It will give you strong consistent wireless signal throughout your house. See here for an example from someone who did it with Ubiquiti in Australia, all of which equipment can be bought in Malaysia as well: https://www.troyhunt.com/ubiquiti-all-the-t...-my-dodgy-wifi/ |
Apr 1 2018, 08:48 AM
Apr 1 2018, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(cskean @ Apr 1 2018, 11:34 AM) Thanks for the info guys. No harm to learn something new. Just wondering how much would it cost for this kind of setup compare to normal one? Very expensive. For you, one good router, and one wired AP, or powerline, or extender as a last resort, would be enough. Disregard my previous advice. I would recommend the TP-Link C3150v2 for you, and a wired AP, poweline, or extender, up to you. |
Apr 1 2018, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(cskean @ Apr 1 2018, 02:01 PM) Alright, might not need it now... See here: https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/wi-fi-extende...reless-signals/Sorry to ask but what is a powerline? I kinda understand AP and extender. But this powerline, I have no idea how does the thing works... Mind to enlighten me a bit? Btw, if I change my current TP Link Ac1200 to C3150 v2, and maintain back the current location for my router (which is on top of my tv cabinet in the living hall), will it enhance the wifi range & speed in 2.4G & 5G? I'm looking at improvement at my 2nd floor family area & 2 rooms at the rear part (above the kitchen area)... Bro, just get the TP-Link C3150 v2 for now and don’t get anything else. It will be enough to boost your range and speed. You don’t have to change the current location of your router. I am using that particular router and it is very good, with excellent coverage and stability. See here for a great review from bro Jjuggler about this router: https://techmemasta.wordpress.com/2018/03/1...3150-v2-review/ |
Apr 1 2018, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(cskean @ Apr 1 2018, 02:30 PM) This seller is good and I have bought many times from him: https://shopee.com.my/TP-LINK-Archer-C3150-...80984.110665528 |
Apr 1 2018, 11:06 PM
Apr 2 2018, 10:36 PM
Apr 4 2018, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(xbloodx @ Apr 4 2018, 11:37 AM) i want to ask if anyone is using asus RT-N12HP with Unifi 100 Mbps.. is it working? canyou get full speed Highly unlikely with just N, 2.4GHz. It could do that, if your area is not congested or if there are no interference from other wireless devices. Otherwise, it would be advisable to get a dual-band router that can support AC, 5GHz.QUOTE(hitz666 @ Apr 4 2018, 11:43 AM) Hi Guys, Doesn’t matter, as long as it supports 5GHz. The 600 or 1200Mbps is just theoretical maximum thoroughput numbers that don’t really mean anything,p. You should be thinking of changing your router as the C1200 has some issues.Plan to upgrade my usb wifi adapter, should i get 600mbps or 1200mbps wifi adapter? My router is Acher C1200. Glad if anyone can answer |
Apr 4 2018, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(carsalesperson @ Apr 4 2018, 07:19 PM) "Upgraded" my plan to 100mbps , package price 199 but the issue is the router do not support 100mbps and the most i could get out of the router is 60mbps They will give you the TP-Link C1200, which is absolute crap. Get your own third party router. I recommend the TP-Link Archer C7 v4 as a minimum, followed by the Asus RT-AC1300UHP if you have the money.complaint to TM live chat as I have been ensured the original router would work just fine before the upgrade and now they gave me 2 choice, live with it or renew 2 year contract and get a TP Link (unknown model ) anyway to ask TM replace the router without signing another 2 year contract |
Apr 4 2018, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(Rudd @ Apr 4 2018, 10:45 PM) I have a really newbie question; Yes, I leave it on 24/7, why not? If you constantly off and on, you are going to damage it.Is it recommended to leave unifi appliances powered on 24/7 ? Or is there a downside, if I constantly plugged off all the unifi appliances everytime I goes to work? |
Apr 6 2018, 08:38 AM
Apr 6 2018, 11:53 AM
Apr 9 2018, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(eehong @ Apr 8 2018, 09:39 PM) i'm on unifi 100Mbps (RM189) You are already on a good price and hypptv is bundled so you can’t really lower it any further.is there any package or anyway to downgrade the hypptv bundles to lower tier package/price? becos i dont use hypptv at all, it's such a waste. but for speed wise, i want to stick to 100Mbps [attachmentid=9716291] QUOTE(Elvin7 @ Apr 8 2018, 11:29 PM) I am new to Unifi. My connection was suddenly off just now. Router seem restart with the power LED blinking and I noticed the BTU LED for LAN1 is off. Is this the common issue for C1200 that causing auto restart? Could be an issue with the BTU itself. But, yes, the C1200 is generally crap. |
Apr 9 2018, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(xyekit @ Apr 9 2018, 02:39 PM) Hi LYN, Sounds like your computer is compromised and being used in a botnet, as a spam machine or something more sinister. It’s either that or your currently allocated IP address has a history of being used for malicious purposes. Lately I received a warning email entitled "Warning from TM Abuse Admin-BOTNET (username)". The sender is "tmcops@tm.com.my". Did anyone get this kind of email before? Some information regarding this would help me greatly. I've called TM and they're not helpful at all. They either have no clue or don't want to deal with this issue completely. In any case I've sent an email to help@tm.com.my and awaiting their reply. Will update accordingly. However, scan any computer on your current network with Malwarebytes, and Avast Free, just to see if your computer has been infected with any malware that is using your computer as a botnet. |
| Change to: | 0.2473sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:05 PM |