Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

lyc1982
post Jul 12 2018, 04:44 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Jul 12 2018, 04:42 PM)
guys, they mentioned that if your premise area only support for certain speed, you will only get that speed. So isn't it unfair ? Those users will need to get a price cut if the area is not supported.
i am pretty sure those unfortunate affected users will launch a massive complaint to MCMC
lyc1982
post Jul 12 2018, 05:12 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(paradiseisland8 @ Jul 12 2018, 05:07 PM)
10x speed upgrade also got so many complain lol.
the problem is...not every user can get the 10x free speed upgrade depending on facility capacity
lyc1982
post Jul 13 2018, 02:52 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(crixalisrox @ Jul 13 2018, 02:48 PM)
Yes, based on few recommendations here.

Taobao price is cheap just 900yuen but the problem is warranty claim. I like to buy stuff from taobao by myself or by using agent depending on volume but never touch on electronic item before.

Do u know the cost of shipping to China if u want to claim warranty in future?
it's not worth it when you have to ship back to china on your own expense for warranty claim
lyc1982
post Jul 13 2018, 03:27 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 13 2018, 03:15 PM)
For 800Mbps? Definitely a good buy @ RM260. With its default config, the RB750Gr3 will be able to handle that speed with ease and still have room for manoeuvring. I don't know how much you do with your router but as you progress, you may start messing with it so would be good to have some extra power. But no hurry, I'm sure I'll post some test results once I get my 800Mbps upgrade.
let's see who will be the first lucky batch to get upgraded to 800Mbps..
lyc1982
post Jul 16 2018, 01:32 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Jul 14 2018, 12:50 PM)
btw is it possible to complain and get it at RM169 ? and I need evidence to show that some users are paying 169 for the same as mine in order to report to MCMC right ?
i tried already last year...and i failed, reason given by TM is that I need to supply them with account numbers...but sadly due to privacy issue i doubt anyone would share it with you

but if you get lucky and managed to materialize it, do let us know here...

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 15 2018, 12:35 AM)
https://unifi.com.my/broadband-improvement-plan/index.html

unifi gives you greater speed for greater savings. We are thrilled to announce that you might be enjoying a free speed upgrade on your existing subscription* as part of our Broadband Improvement Plan (BIP), starting 18 July 2018 onwards.
*Eligible for our unifi and Broadband (Streamyx) customers only

Existing unifi and Broadband (Streamyx) customers need to go through a verification process, consenting to the free speed upgrade and activation.
*Terms and conditions apply.

Verification for your subscription's eligibility on the free upgrade will be available starting from 18 July 2018
ranting.gif  18th!!!!! Instead of 15th. Delay is our culture  whistling.gif
it was actually bring forward from 15th aug to 18th july...
lyc1982
post Jul 17 2018, 10:19 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

need suggestions from sifus here...

if assuming my unifi will be upgraded to 800Mbps...which wifi usb adapter should i get for desktop usage ?

lyc1982
post Jul 17 2018, 10:26 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Jul 17 2018, 10:24 AM)
why not pull lan cable?  or use powerline adapter. 

wifi  i think very hard to get the full speed  since its wireless and not very consistent. 

you could get those very high end  USB3.0  wireless AC adapter.  some brands are asus, tp-link
lan cable - my desktop is on 1st floor while router is on ground floor...so it's gonna be messy

powerline - i tried but the speed performance is worse than using wifi adapter

i am currently using tp-link model....not sure 150 or 300Mbps type
lyc1982
post Jul 17 2018, 01:08 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 17 2018, 10:44 AM)
u probably want to wait a bit.

let the 800mbps kick in, see what u get, see what others using what wifi adaptors + what routers get.

300, 400mbps or higher...? it's a bit of a guessing game now.

i will do nothing until then.
yeap agreed...i just wanna have a feel of the usb wifi adapter price before i start buying when the 800Mbps kicks in (if it does)
lyc1982
post Jul 17 2018, 01:54 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jul 17 2018, 01:49 PM)
Adapter price viewnet
[attachmentid=9919444]
https://www.tp-link.com/us/products/details...cher-T4UHP.html

Archer T4UHP:
Ultimate Wi-Fi Speed – AC1300 (400Mpbs on 2.4GHz band or 867Mbps on 5GHz band) wireless speed with the next generation Wi-Fi - 802.11

so must be connected to 5Ghz band to achieve 800+Mbps...

AC1900 High Gain Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter, Archer T9UH:
Ultimate Wi-Fi Speed– AC1900 (600Mpbs on 2.4GHz band or 1300Mbps on 5GHz band) wireless speed with the next generation Wi-Fi - 802.11ac

this one higher performance...on 5Ghz

This post has been edited by lyc1982: Jul 17 2018, 01:55 PM
lyc1982
post Jul 17 2018, 03:49 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 17 2018, 03:39 PM)
For wifi to achieve 800Mbps, you'll need at least 802.11AC and 3 chains (3x3 MIMO). For both the PC and the router.

iPerf3 artificial test from MacBook (3 chains) to Aztech FG7009 (4 chains) wifi router.
850Mbps iPerf3 from MacBook Pro Retina 2013 (USB3 GBe Ethernet) to MacBook Pro Retina 2013 (5Ghz AC 80MHz)

*Do note that I'm using an el cheapo RM18 USB3 Gigabit Ethernet adaptor on one end. Maybe can go higher if I use a better one.
thanks for the info !
lyc1982
post Jul 18 2018, 09:39 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Jul 18 2018, 08:32 AM)
CONGRATULATIONS! UNIFI 800MBPS
You are eligible for the speed upgrade.
Expected Date for Upgrades : August – December 2018
Terms & Conditions:

Customers' monthly subscription fee will remain the same.
Customer needs to be unlisted from TM blacklist to enjoy the speed upgrade.
The speed upgrade offer is subject to our technical availability.
The same unifi T&C applies.
This is only for your acknowledgment.
Thank you for your continuous support towards our products and services.
We hope you enjoy the new turbo speed.
UNIFI 800MBPS
erm...where did it state you will be upgraded to 800Mbps ?

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 18 2018, 09:37 AM)
Can't seem to find anywhere to give my consent?

[attachmentid=9920579]
this message indicates you already given your consent...i think

same here
lyc1982
post Jul 18 2018, 09:44 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 18 2018, 09:40 AM)
I think it is an image? If you noticed on my image, there is a small x icon which I believe an image failed to load.
it's just a Tick sign..nothing else
lyc1982
post Jul 18 2018, 10:53 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(handsomeahbeng @ Jul 18 2018, 10:28 AM)
say i got the upgrade. But they never say which speed. So confirm i get 800mbps?
nobody can confirm that here i guess...need to wait for tm to announce officially

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Jul 18 2018, 10:46 AM)
Is there any possibility we will receive new modem to accommodate higher speed?

I only got AC-1200 from them...

Sigh
AC 1200 is the router ....no ?

This post has been edited by lyc1982: Jul 18 2018, 10:58 AM
lyc1982
post Jul 18 2018, 03:05 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Jul 18 2018, 02:56 PM)
1 x 5Gb file how long it will take to dload using 800Mbps? 1 min? 2 min?
assuming 100% DL speed...5000mb / 100MBps = 50 sec
lyc1982
post Jul 18 2018, 03:19 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Jul 18 2018, 03:10 PM)
Just checked, my is entitled. Expected date is between August – December 2018.
By the way, you can just login to you unifi account. You can see the turbo upgrade is there.
the turbo upgrade wordings - you mean it will be stated under our account ?
lyc1982
post Jul 18 2018, 04:06 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(xperiaVuser @ Jul 18 2018, 03:57 PM)
yes it's 'SPEED UPGRADE'
Check your unifi account, status/offering, it might have gone through just it did with mine.
ok...i verified that i am eligible..

but not shown under my account Dashboard....weird
lyc1982
post Jul 18 2018, 04:25 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

this tm website...1st attempt i got my upgrade verified, wanna try to check again "ooppss no records found"

lol
lyc1982
post Jul 19 2018, 10:17 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

just did a livechat with tm:

basically you will receive a notification via SMS or email once you can start enjoy the free upgrade
lyc1982
post Jul 19 2018, 11:16 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 19 2018, 10:30 AM)
trying to chat with them.... Q no. 62 or something....
so, really, no need to do anything - u just wait for sms and start to get new speed?

didn't someone say need to sign in, accept, say yes, agree to some T&C ... if not, u dun get??
QUOTE(NotHideOnBush @ Jul 19 2018, 10:30 AM)
So we just wait for email/sms and will automatically upgrade? nice
QUOTE(boonhan @ Jul 19 2018, 10:36 AM)
No need reply anything?
my guess is you still need to click verify or accept or whatnot on the eligibility page...

for me i have done verifying and the chat agent confirmed it, even though i can't re-check my eligibility at this point of time
lyc1982
post Jul 19 2018, 02:37 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(NotHideOnBush @ Jul 19 2018, 01:42 PM)
I'm using unifi 100 mbps at RM199. Yesterday checked I eligible for upgrade to 800mbps on next year Jan - June. But I planned to downgrade back to unifi lite 10mbps.
Will I still get free upgrade to 100mbps in next year Jan - June?
how did you confirm it's gonna be upgraded to 800Mbps when it's not stated upon your verification ?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2302sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:38 PM