regarding the wi-fi connection of NDSL in malaysia, pls pls pls gimme some good news...

TSHeinrich_28
post May 10 2007, 06:51 PM, updated 19y ago

i just brought a NDSL, and pokemon pearl game, i've train my pokemon team into level 70 each one of them,so now i'm ready for the battle with the world via wi-fi...
but then! i check out wikipedia and found no, i mean theres NO any wi-fi hot spot on malaysia! does this mean that my aim to be the world's greatest trainer is gone forever? hell on wiki they even said that australia only got 25 hotspot, and they dun even mention malaysia!
does this means malaysian cannot, or NEVER can go battle on-line via wi-fi?!
i mean, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I spend rm200 for this pokemon game and rm699 for NDSL now they tell me i can't go on-line battle or trading pokemon?!
ok people, is there ANY other way i can go on-line battle with other fren on the globe without wi-fi, since there won't be any wi-fi hotspot in this tiny country. i mean, please....i'm soooooo desperate now, and i need some expert's help...
Lord_Ashe
post May 10 2007, 07:00 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

I don't get what you mean. You can make your own wifi hotspot if you have a broadband connection, and some Starbucks/shopping centre free wifi even allows the NDSL to connect to Nintendo WFC. Some of us here have been playing Mario Kart, Metroid Prime Hunters and Clubhouse games online for ages.

Any Pokemon experts can verify this?
Mgsrulz
post May 10 2007, 08:06 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Heinrich_28 @ May 10 2007, 06:51 PM)
i just brought a NDSL, and pokemon pearl game, i've train my pokemon team into level 70 each one of them,so now i'm ready for the battle with the world via wi-fi...
but then! i check out wikipedia and found no, i mean theres NO any wi-fi hot spot on malaysia! does this mean that my aim to be the world's greatest trainer is gone forever? hell on wiki they even said that australia only got 25 hotspot, and they dun even mention malaysia!
i mean, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I spend rm200 for this pokemon game and rm699 for NDSL now they tell me i can't go on-line battle or trading pokemon?!
ok people, is there ANY other way i can go on-line battle with other fren on the globe without wi-fi, since there won't be any wi-fi hotspot in this tiny country. i mean, please....i'm soooooo desperate now, and i need some expert's help...
wifi hotspots have been around in malaysia for ages,man..

tmnet hotspot-ever heard of that before?
it's "hotspots" with wireless internet access.

depending on the provider,it is either FOC,or you have to pay a fee.

if you are using streamyx at home,just get yourself a wireless access point,and you can game online 24/7,if you'd like thumbup.gif

dont worry...malaysia is anything but "hotspot"-less tongue.gif

and dont trust wikipedia too much..it can be edited by ANYONE,so it's credibility is always in question wink.gif
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
post May 10 2007, 08:15 PM

241 posts

Stop over-reacting.

First, there ARE wifi hotspots in Malaysia. If you are talking about Nintendo-McDonald sanctioned ones that you saw on Wikipedia, there are none in Malaysia, but it is NOT a must to use them to go on wifi. Just go to any one of those with Timezone. Some of them work.

Second, you can go on wifi from Malaysia. Hell, there's even an option to select Malaysia as a country in the Geonet in the GTS building in the game. And I have traded on wifi so many times already. There is NO country restriction.

Third, use a FREE wifi hotspot since the DS does not support those which needs password access (unless you have a DS browser). If Prime_Minister is reading this he could elaborate on this for you more since he has it.

Barring that, if you have broadband, buy a wireless router or a WiFi Connector. Both gets you on Nintendo WiFi. (You can go on WFC with Dial Up but good luck with the lag)

If you don't have an internet connection at home (or if you do have one, but is not willing to pick up the router/wifi connector), and your area does not have a free wifi spot, sorry there is absolutely NO other way to go on WiFi, and this applies to ALL WiFi games, not just Pokemon.

This post has been edited by Phoenix_Cypher_K1: May 10 2007, 08:19 PM
hafez13
post May 10 2007, 08:50 PM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

lol no hotspot laugh.gif
give me a good laugh today laugh.gif

if no hotspot,how the hell PSP and NDS owner from malaysia play sleep.gif ??
go another country??
anyway read wut the other members said smile.gif

Added on May 10, 2007, 8:51 pmand i hate it u call malaysia so call tiny
sleep.gif

This post has been edited by hafez13: May 10 2007, 08:51 PM
ridzOe
post May 10 2007, 09:57 PM

152 posts

greatest trainer.. ma a**..
TSHeinrich_28
post May 10 2007, 11:23 PM

oh...REALLY! cool then!
after i read the wiki i felt like i'm gonna faint, i thought wi-fi hotspot are only certain place like those in aus and us that indicate "this area is for you to go on-line and beat all the others pokemon trainer and be the world champ" or "Go wi-fi! this area is licensed by nintendo", like mc donald and stuff.
hell now i know that even my house wireless broadband can take my NDSL on-line!
cool! remember the name! Heinrich Von Karl is going to be the champ!
oh, btw, thankx for those that willing to answer me, you guys really helped!

o btw, i said that malaysia is tiny, coz it's true. we german know none about malaysia, like you dun know zimbawee is really a country. i only feel it's existence after i came here with my father. no offence, really, i just say what is true. so hafez13, dun hate me.
Cyberfriq
post May 10 2007, 11:26 PM

QUOTE(Heinrich_28 @ May 10 2007, 11:23 PM)
oh...REALLY! cool then!
after i read the wiki i felt like i'm gonna faint, i thought wi-fi hotspot are only certain place like those in aus and us that indicate "this area is for you to go on-line and beat all the others pokemon trainer and be the world champ" or "Go wi-fi! this area is licensed by nintendo", like mc donald and stuff.

o btw, i said that malaysia is tiny, coz it's true. we german know none about malaysia, like you dun know zimbawee is really a country. i only feel it's existence after i came here with my father. no offence, really, i just say what is true. so hafez13, dun hate me.
you should ask Malaysians before consulting wikipedia..wink.gif
bidfordun
post May 10 2007, 11:53 PM

2,234 posts

so ts is a german that just migrated to malaysia?
hafez13
post May 11 2007, 12:13 AM

1,274 posts

maybe,
and remember,do not trust wiki accurately,its just made from other ppl from around the world and can be changed by users sweat.gif
reveur
post May 11 2007, 07:43 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Well We all live in trees. To connect to wifi we uses bird tied to a string and then connect it to our ds

I hate ppl that are ignorant about others and yet act as if its not their fault
toughnut
post May 11 2007, 10:25 AM

3,239 posts

oh...REALLY! cool then!

OMG!! doh.gif
U still has long way to go before becoming the greatest trainer sweat.gif

and most of us knew zimbawee is a country...
Pr1me_Minister
post May 11 2007, 10:33 AM

314 posts

First of all, there're ways to connect to the net with your DS Lite. Lots of them.

If you have broadband access at your home, just set up a compatable wireless-b router and you're good to go. Or you can use the Nintendo WFC USB Connector if all these router terms are confusing, just plug it in your broadband equiped PC (sorry no Mac support) and you're almost good to go.

Hotspots is another choice, but it's a hard one. Most "hotspots" are set up by TMNUT, and it requires subcriptions (so far for "free" hotspot). And most Timezone hotspots (most Starbucks have it) requires a login username and password which requires a web browser. The good news is you just need to register a free user account, but the web browser isn't free (Play Asia link). Just use the browser to log in, then switch to your WFC games (in this case, Pokemon) and play.

I wouldn't recomend using hotspots because it's very very hard to find a compatable hotspot. Leeching from unprotected access point? Don't bother.

EDIT:

Come to our monthly DS meetup and I'll pwn you in any games, including Pokemon. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pr1me_Minister: May 11 2007, 11:10 AM
Mgsrulz
post May 11 2007, 11:56 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

who doesnt know about Rhodesia? rclxub.gif
btw,spelling error-it's Zimbabwe, not zimbawee laugh.gif

btw,just curious...how old are you?10?
Pr1me_Minister
post May 11 2007, 12:05 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ May 11 2007, 11:56 AM)
who doesnt know about Rhodesia? rclxub.gif
btw,spelling error-it's Zimbabwe, not zimbawee laugh.gif 

btw,just curious...how old are you?10?
*Spelling police spoted* laugh.gif
TSHeinrich_28
post May 11 2007, 02:03 PM

well again, thankx for those who did really help me, u guy's really helped!
second i'm not a kid ok, i'm 16 now, though most of the game i like are kids favourites, like naruto and stuff. i'm just move to malaysia 1/2 year ago, and i was from german, nurnberg state or nuremberg others call. and my english really sucks, trust me.
monthly meet up of pokemon? cool! when?
sihumchai
post May 11 2007, 03:05 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

We'd be more of a help if you joined our community, it's just a click away from Console Couch wink.gif

Nintendo subforum

And as for the gathering, we have it monthly, for this months(May), no date has been announced, but keep yourself informed with this thread:

The LYN Nintendo DS Gathering

Last but not least, welcome to Malaysia! Hope you enjoy your stay.

hafez13
post May 11 2007, 07:22 PM

1,274 posts

Naruki
post May 11 2007, 07:32 PM

186 posts

umm should I get the European edition of DS Lite Browser? Only Japanese and European released so far, right?
bidfordun
post May 11 2007, 07:52 PM

2,234 posts

usa version of opera browese will be released on june.

0.0170sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:36 AM