15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

e-Wallet Wechat Pay (MY) Discussion Thread V1, Officially launched!

TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 2 2018, 01:41 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(katowwe @ Sep 2 2018, 12:44 PM)
From Nanyang Siang Pau then we know, if you want become a merchant, you still need to register a Wechat Official account and pay Rm300 per year. All transaction will be charge 1% if you are wechat pay merchant.
How you all think about this? If you are retailer, will you register as wechat pay merchant?

Boost has no any charge until 31 December 2018.
It's normal to have charge for merchants, but this is too much for the small merchants.

If they don't change their strategy, I doubt they can have a stable base here.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 2 2018, 06:13 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(katowwe @ Sep 2 2018, 06:03 PM)
Yes, if small merchants can't accept this. I, don't know how they do big in Malaysia.
Don't think they're ready to expand to smaller merchants yet, we still don't have the method by scanning the merchants QR code.

Their current method only works for POS system.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Sep 2 2018, 06:15 PM
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 2 2018, 06:16 PM

K
3,966 posts

Anyone tried to use it in 99 speedmart yet?

Cuz I'm a bit skeptical if it's available for our Malaysia Wallet or not, cuz the sticker showed outside 99 speedmart that I went previously was showing Wechat Pay logo in chinese instead of english.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 3 2018, 12:40 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(liuyouken @ Sep 3 2018, 12:07 AM)
Already available to 99? Just now bought something but didnt see any logo or displays show it...
Well, at least at the one I went to recently.

But as usual, "system down".

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Sep 3 2018, 12:41 AM
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 3 2018, 11:00 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(liuyouken @ Sep 3 2018, 08:17 AM)
Ok which mean more and more shops for Wechat Pay... Wish the system is stable until we won’t require to bring cash along as back up...
I think we still have to rely on cash most of the times during the next few years, it's because of the typical Malaysian mindset that's preventing e wallets from going mainstream.

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 3 2018, 08:49 AM)
Why am I am surprised as it is typical of businesses in MY when implementing something new. Just gotta wait it out until their system becomes "stable" and good enough for daily usage.
What I'm pissed off about is when it's not ready yet, don't freaking stick the sticker outside showing that they accept the e wallet.

This happened to me many times.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 3 2018, 01:02 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(liuyouken @ Sep 3 2018, 12:14 PM)
Yes we still need to bring cash most of the time but wish that we don’t need to bring cash as back up to go to the shops where e wallet is accepted

The system is ready and staff must be trained to use it as well if not like the Samsung pay is ready but the staff don’t know how to use it and eventually cash is paid 😓
QUOTE(liuyouken @ Sep 3 2018, 12:37 PM)
Ya Samsung Pay is already common or familiar to alot people... Initially i just said pay wave and people wondered when i waved the mobile phone to the terminal...

Wechat Pay will go thru it as well before it become common or familiar to people
If there's still issue when using others like Samsung Pay and Boost, don't expect Wechat Pay to be any different.

Although Samsung Pay is a mobile payment service instead of e wallet, it's easier to use cuz it works on most card terminals. No BS unless there's really something wrong with the card terminal, or the merchant imposed a minimum amount to pay by card.

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 3 2018, 12:20 PM)
Quite a number of us Samsung Pay users have learnt how to work Samsung Pay when it comes to the checkout and payment process. We even take the effort to teach the staffs/cashiers patiently how to get it to work with the various merchant terminals such as NFC or MST ones. I myself am very persistent that I insist on paying with Samsung Pay where Pay Wave is available or end up walking away if they refuse.
I like the way you think, accept my payment method or you're not getting my money. biggrin.gif
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 3 2018, 02:35 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 3 2018, 02:02 PM)
Hopefully with fingers crossed 🤞

Just need more merchants and retailers to adopt and use.
LOLz.....we had a brainstorming session some time ago, over at the Samsung Pay thread V1 and came to a conclusion, the best ways to go about making payments at merchants/retailers who are Pay Wave enabled but refuse to accept Samsung Pay. I suppose the efforts paid off eventually.
Samsung Pay has quite a large base of users, so I guess it's easier to make merchants notice that they're losing money if their staffs keep refusing to accept Samsung Pay, and I'm also intrigued by the the co-operation among users in the Samsung Pay community.

Similar way should be done when using e wallets. But too bad, the e wallet community is filled with cheapskates that keep abusing the system to get as much benefits as possible. When there's no benefit, these cheapskates will just ditch the whole service. If you've been to the Boost thread in Kopitiam, you will know it, bunch of cheapskates getting proud of themselves. And the fact that it's in Kopitiam, makes it even worse so serious users couldn't really have a serious discussion when others are fooling around.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 3 2018, 02:59 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 3 2018, 02:52 PM)
Yes, you are absolutely right Bro. I visited the Boost thread and their cheapskate display of arrogance just sicken's me, and so I ran as though the Apocalypse is upon us and never looked back. Hopefully, the Wechat Pay users will be more civilized and have a better sense of the e-wallet.
Our thread is more civilized here cuz the thread is in a proper section, someone just gotta volunteer and open another discussion thread of Boost in this section so everything can be managed well.

Being a cheapskate is up to the person, can't be stopped. But when the thread is starting to get out of hand like the occasionally rude comments and some people sharing the promotions from other e wallets in that thread, action should be taken. But again, it's in Kopitiam, so nothing much can be done.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Sep 3 2018, 02:59 PM
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 3 2018, 04:32 PM

K
3,966 posts

Just passed by a Hari Hari store in Pasar Seni, and I think I saw a sticker outside the store showing that they accept Wechat Pay.

If there's a Hari Hari store in your area, maybe can go check it out and probably buy some clothes.

No pics though, cuz I'm inside the bus.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 3 2018, 11:18 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 3 2018, 10:52 PM)
I really wish we can go further especially credit cards now have SST, I wish e-wallets business will bloom here.
It depends on three sides to make that happen...government needs to encourage the usage of e wallets and also control the flooded e wallet market, merchants need to adopt e wallets, and consumers like us need to use it.

Anyone here who wishes to see the day that our lovely Malaysia becomes a cashless country, please support and use e wallets (Boost, Wechat Pay, Favepay etc.) more often when the merchant accepts it.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 3 2018, 11:28 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 3 2018, 11:25 PM)
No worries, I use a lot of e-wallets here too. laugh.gif
Which e wallets are you using here?
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 4 2018, 10:29 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Sep 4 2018, 02:41 AM)
I went to Beijing during May 2018. Whole trip spending using cash. Ticket to Great Wall, Dynasty Palace, etc all also can buy with cash.

I am going to Guangzhou again on 8 September 2018. Will bring cash as well. E-wallet is for convenience, but that doesn't mean they don't accept cash.
During my previous trip, which was from Shanghai to Suzhou to Wuxi, the merchants/retailers that I visited did accept cash. It's awkward yeah, but there's no reason for them to not accept cash, not that they would look at you weirdly, just that they would know you're a tourist.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 4 2018, 04:21 AM)
The Communist Party issued a statement last month that merchants refusing to accept cash can be slapped with a hefty fine.

Anyway, telcos play a major role to make sure payment by e-wallet works too. I’ve beenin situation where my Digi data wasn’t working and I wasn’t able to pay with FavePay. This happened at Sunway Pyramid’s Mr. Fish and Komugi  doh.gif
And yet Digi wants people to use their Vcash e wallet lol.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2018, 08:48 AM)
Some use terminals, some just stick QR code on their counter, just scan and pay.
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Sep 4 2018, 08:24 AM)
How is alipay different from Boost? Do they have this separate terminal like Boost for merchant to scan? Just wondering how is the adoption rate so high
Correct me if I'm wrong, but that kind of terminal doesn't exist in China. When I was in China, I only saw merchants that either have the QR code sticker on their counter or it's implemented into their POS system so that they will scan the customer's code instead.

The terminal that we have here is just a stupid idea, that's where you will get bunch of BS like system down blah blah blah.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 4 2018, 10:32 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 3 2018, 11:32 PM)
GrabPay and Boost are the main ones. Sometimes Fave. I think that's all.
Cool, but I wonder how many are using Grabpay though...

But I believe that the amount of users using Grabpay are more than Mcash, VCash, Kiplepay, Razer Pay etc.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Sep 4 2018, 10:32 AM
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 4 2018, 11:33 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 4 2018, 10:33 AM)
I use Grab but I didn't pay from the wallet.
I charge the fare to the stored card.
QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2018, 10:36 AM)
I'm using GrabPay for my rides as I can reload with AmEx during weekends and use on weekdays. I use Grab to work everyday.
Plus, it has Tealive and now llao llao promo if pay with GrabPay. tongue.gif My colleagues purposely reloaded GrabPay for Tealive though they don't use Grab for rides.
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 4 2018, 10:40 AM)
I believe the number of users are quite a lot. I occasionally use Grabpay myself as well.
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 4 2018, 10:47 AM)
I used it to paid my fares but not merchant yet as my nearby 100km only Tealive supported it.

So far, Grabpay for foods/Merchant only in Big Cities like KL/Penang...
Sorry for the confusion though, but what I meant by Grabpay is actually using it as an e wallet to pay for merchants, not for the fare.

Just curious how many are actually using it normally when paying for their meals and stuffs, aside from paying Grab rides.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 4 2018, 10:36 AM)
It exists, I used it in hotels which they scanned my code instead. smile.gif
Most of the time just the sticker though.
I see...

It's different here I guess, the terminals are just common, even the place where I got my haircut uses one instead of a QR code sign/sticker.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 4 2018, 01:25 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Sep 4 2018, 01:15 PM)
Grabpay can use Amex to top up. So that reason itself already make it outstanding from other e-wallet.

The problem with Grabpay is they don't allow transfer out to bank. So ppl cannot play the game, mean less users.

Use grabpay to pay for ride, for example, your house to KLIA/KLIA2, sometime get promo RM35 instead of RM65. So using grabpay to pay for ride is ALWAYS more benefit than straight charge to credit card.
Yeah, Grabpay even accepts Unionpay and JCB cards as well, basically everything is covered in terms of cards support.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Sep 4 2018, 01:26 PM
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 5 2018, 08:36 PM

K
3,966 posts

On Boost's thread, someone mentioned that Mydin started accepting Wechat Pay alongside Boost.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 5 2018, 08:46 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 5 2018, 08:39 PM)
That is great news, but too bad I don't shop at Mydin. My bad 😅
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 5 2018, 08:40 PM)
LOL, my area no Mydin, so far only saw 1 koptiam accepted Boost but no one ever pay with it.
The nearest Mydin I could find is at Pasar Seni, will go there and confirm whether if they accept Wechat Pay or not soon, but most likely I'm gonna pay with Boost lol.

If I'm not wrong, the first e wallet that Mydin accepted is Vcash, and then now Boost. If there's also Wechat Pay, then at least Mydin has something to boast about cuz they accept few e wallets lol.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 6 2018, 11:18 AM

K
3,966 posts

Someone shared this on Boost thread...

Mydin seems to be the first one that's going all in to cashless payments.

TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 6 2018, 11:24 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Sep 5 2018, 10:30 PM)
good that if Mydin accepts WeChat, but me too don't go Mydin, only once when they first launched.

what kind of strategy is Wechat pay playing actually.. so secretive and let us to discover merchant one by one..
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Sep 6 2018, 08:44 AM)
Exactly! Should openly announce and advertise for everyone to see and know. Don't know what kinda marketing ploy they are using
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Sep 6 2018, 10:45 AM)
Yaloh, why not just make public announcements via their official account?
When it was first made available in KK mart, only KK mart themselves were promoting it lol, Wechat did nothing at all.
TSxperiaDROID
post Sep 6 2018, 11:26 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 6 2018, 11:22 AM)
Wonder how many terminals they need in order to support all these published payment options.
I think the e wallets are implemented into their POS system, at least that's what they showed during the launch of partnership with Boost, they used the scanner to scan the code from customer.

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0750sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:37 PM