circusbatman
post Feb 7 2025, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(scchan107 @ Feb 7 2025, 09:53 AM)
Hotspot 5080 (Igor Lab)

Worth a read (via google translate)

Bad cooling on VRM
Guess I'll aim to get a 4090 or 5090 after all. Also, 16GB VRAM really bugs me.
circusbatman
post Feb 7 2025, 12:50 PM

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 7 2025, 12:09 PM)
If your not into RT, 7900XT/XTX is more value for money with loads of VRAM
Was thinking about that, but it's RM5400 for a 7900XTX, and a 5080 is RM5500-RM5800.
I'm also thinking path tracing and RT will be in more games in the near future, with Nvidia's 90% market share and all.
circusbatman
post Feb 7 2025, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 7 2025, 02:26 PM)
LOL if you follow the tered here, pricing is nowhere near MSRP but wayyy higher. And if you want it currently you have to get a whole new rig. Radeon GPU can buy standalone anytime.

For RT I would say 7900XTX is at a playable rate so you wont notice much a huge drawback in playability, avg 60 FPS in 2K.
That's the price quote I got from the retailer.
Building a new rig to replace my 15-year-old Dell prebuilt, and retailer said I could pick all my parts.

For the XTX, I'd probably consider it if the price drops below 5K or so.
circusbatman
post Feb 7 2025, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(Convael @ Feb 7 2025, 10:03 PM)
How's ASUS SEA's warranty reputation? biggrin.gif
Also, anyone have any warranty experience with Zotac, MSI and Gigabyte?
circusbatman
post Feb 9 2025, 08:09 PM

Don't we pay more, though? US MSRP is lower despite needing to ship the stuff halfway across the world.
Or is that because of our tax?
circusbatman
post Feb 10 2025, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(Pravin_Kopite @ Feb 10 2025, 12:56 PM)
Oh wow that is scummy. My last few upgrades were CPU, CPU cooler, etc so I just got from Idealtech since a bit mafan to install those. I thought since GPU is easier and Idealtech usually carries more expensive AIBs I’d try my luck nabbing a cheaper one like Colorful. But it looks like better pay a light premium to avoid BS the stores seem to enjoy pulling. At least they had a few Palits in stock for the 5080/5090 so hopefully they have the 5070tis too. Palit seems like a less popular brand here but I was happy with it on my 3070.
Do you have any RMA experience with Palit? I'd buy a Palit if I knew I could count on the warranty.
circusbatman
post Feb 11 2025, 08:53 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ndmoi1s0ZaY&t=833s

120°C PSU connector after 1min on FurMark sweat.gif

This post has been edited by circusbatman: Feb 11 2025, 09:02 PM
circusbatman
post Feb 14 2025, 01:19 PM

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Feb 14 2025, 12:41 PM)
Can forsee GPU cables being bought and sold at huge markups.
Just get liquid-cooled GPU cables biggrin.gif
circusbatman
post Feb 15 2025, 09:46 AM

QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 15 2025, 08:41 AM)
On top of silly prices, you got QC issue from the power connector. Pay so much for crap quality.
Building high-end PC this year. My choices are other than getting a 5090 are:
1) Get a 5080 with 16GB VRAM planned obsolescence; upgrade to mystery xx80 card in 4 years. Questionable 5080 resell value.
2) Hunt for out-of-production 4090. Models limited; Might only be RM1-2k below 5090 because Asus and Gigabyte.
3) 9070XT probably not going to be high end; also 16GB VRAM.
4) Get a 7900XTX at almost the same price as a 5080.
5) Wait 1-1.5 years for 5080Ti which may or may not come. Wait another 6 months for bundling and release frenzy to end.
circusbatman
post Feb 18 2025, 03:54 PM

https://www.reddit.com/r/pcmasterrace/comme..._at_my_walmart/

Meanwhile, at a certain Walmart...
circusbatman
post Feb 19 2025, 09:14 PM

GPUs need to be regulated like cars mad.gif Just add the damn shunt resistors and fuses Nvidia.
circusbatman
post Feb 21 2025, 02:32 PM

GPU prices might be shit, but Dell AW2725DF 27-inch QD-OLED is RM2600 right now thumbsup.gif
circusbatman
post Feb 21 2025, 07:59 PM

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Feb 21 2025, 07:10 PM)
https://www.techpowerup.com/332884/nvidia-g...-loss-confirmed

still too early to tell what's going on
8 missing ROPs in one of the AIB models
I thought my GPU would be the easiest component to choose after my CPU but it's a clown festival biggrin.gif
circusbatman
post Feb 22 2025, 03:29 AM

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Feb 22 2025, 02:31 AM)
got reports on gigabyte gaming oc and msi suprim 5090s kena

new rumour about defective chips: https://x.com/Zed__Wang/status/1892952718437728645

note: this is still a developing story and under investigation, best case scenario could just be some vbios misconfig, worst case is defective chips
I hope it turns into a total recall. Then they can quietly fix their moronic power delivery system too.
circusbatman
post Feb 22 2025, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Feb 22 2025, 08:29 AM)
Nice. Did you buy one?
Yup, arriving in a couple days. I think it's the lowest price for a brand new one so far rclxms.gif
Meanwhile, Samsung Odyssey G6 G60SD is RM4000 and Philips Evnia 27M2N8500 is nowhere to be found.

This post has been edited by circusbatman: Feb 22 2025, 09:31 AM
circusbatman
post Feb 22 2025, 09:29 AM

-

This post has been edited by circusbatman: Feb 22 2025, 09:31 AM
circusbatman
post Feb 22 2025, 12:23 PM

"Nvidia confirms ‘rare’ RTX 5090 and 5070 Ti manufacturing issue - Production anomaly has been corrected"
https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/1i...90_and_5070_ti/

Check your ROPs, lads.

Hopes of general recall dashed, and they're still silent about the power issue.
circusbatman
post Feb 22 2025, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 22 2025, 03:45 PM)
Power issue will keep happening unless there's they revised the board to detect any power delivery imbalances between all the 12v pins
If they actually revise the board and did a recall, I'd be very surprised lol.

Hopefully some other company can fix this from the PSU side.
circusbatman
post Feb 22 2025, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(Convael @ Feb 22 2025, 09:42 PM)
Some updates for the current 5000 stocks in MY.

A little birdie told me , the retailers in MY has ... quietly received a batch of " restock " supply for RTX 5090 and 5080s few days ago.

However ! Don't rush out and looking to buy yet.  The merchant will continue to tell you those are out of stock. They are not selling them off just yet.
ATM They are looking for 2-3x the profit.

A friend of mine work in lowyat and told me some of the staff has bought up some units and now selling them via the " not so official " channels.
His exact words were " They plan to scalp the fck out of it " .

For eg , they want RM32000 for a non bundle 5090 Astral while they bought it for 16K.

Yep , there you have it .

Interesting. Oh well, until there's a definitive solution for the power draw issue from PSU companies, I'm not in a hurry anyway biggrin.gif
circusbatman
post Feb 23 2025, 09:01 PM

QUOTE(sleyer @ Feb 23 2025, 08:19 PM)
can we / or MY blogger just viral this thing and make some complaint to main distributor@ nvidia directly ?
Based on the stuff Nvidia is doing and has done, I don't think they're THAT customer-friendly biggrin.gif
The only ones who give a shit about this are us.

0.4055sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:11 PM