how can i learn to play guitar well?

TScahatri
post Mar 19 2018, 02:17 PM, updated 8y ago

I have studied guitar for a month, but now I have forgotten it. I want to ask how can I learn guitar well?
sh4msul
post Mar 20 2018, 09:41 AM

Going to class will make you better understanding. Or you can learn from online tutorial, youtube, blog etc..

Btw, what is your skill level? Know all the basic chords?

im not an expert, but i know all the basic chords. So i keep playing my fav songs everyday. Maybe you can pickup any songs you like, and try master it.
brownman90561495
post Mar 21 2018, 12:47 AM

Sangkar Nikolai will touch your National Treasure!
963 posts

practice, and practice correctly. and practice some more.
lockheed90
post Mar 27 2018, 11:51 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(cahatri @ Mar 19 2018, 02:17 PM)
I have studied guitar for a month, but now I have forgotten it. I want to ask how can I learn guitar well?
For me, one of the best way to speed up learning the guitar is to jamm along with your mates in a band. playing songs through MP3 and by jamming in a band is a totally different.
pleasuresaurus
post Mar 28 2018, 12:46 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Only a month leh, that's waaaaay to short, fingertips barely get calloused. Need to spend more time.

In the beningging, u need to learn ur chords - memorize major & minor chord shapes and practice chord changes using actual songs. Learn songs that let u play a lot of chord shapes - Oasis Don't look back in anger is a good starting point. Warm up before u play by doing chromatic scales exercises (google if u dont know what it means). Give it at least 1 hour a day for 2 months, keep a short note to track ur daily progress.

Once u can play along with songs correctly (and I mean correctly: pitching, timing etc.), come back and we can discuss triads and inversions.

mpyw
post Mar 28 2018, 12:49 PM

3,603 posts

Practice, practice and practice

no short cut
quarantined
post Mar 28 2018, 05:05 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

No harm giving this a try biggrin.gif

LeaSe*lineR
post Mar 28 2018, 11:35 PM

622 posts

1 word...repetition haha
senapang
post Mar 28 2018, 11:35 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Mar 28 2018, 12:49 PM)
Practice, practice and practice

no short cut
Yeah..there is no short cut..the most important thing is to enjoy..create a band with some friends, this will motivate u
senapang
post Mar 28 2018, 11:36 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 28 2018, 05:05 PM)
No harm giving this a try biggrin.gif

Wow..thats good
audy
post Apr 11 2018, 12:37 AM

460 posts

The mantra is to keep practising. As a newbie myself, I'm interested to know what is a good effective way to practise. I'm entering my 4th month of lessons and I must say I'm quite overwhelmed by the amt of things to practice. I know my basic chords but unable to change fast yet, still need lots of practise there.

Then my guitar teacher started me on my first fingerstyle song which I know to play albeit slow tempo but I cant play flawlessly yet as I keep forgetting some notes so more practice needed. I was given a new song to learn now so need more time to learn understand the tab. In between I need to practice chromatic exercise, chord progression, and my teacher is also starting me on C scales.

I spent 1-2 hrs practice daily and I felt like I am not utilising the time effectively to cover all of above practice. Any tips? Also, I always feel a little pressured to do well for the next class to prove to the teacher I do practice but usually ends up I dont play well in front of teacher. How la?

This post has been edited by audy: Apr 11 2018, 12:44 AM
Username is for the weak
post Apr 11 2018, 02:51 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Apr 11 2018, 12:37 AM)
The mantra is to keep practising. As a newbie myself, I'm interested to know what is a good effective way to practise. I'm entering my 4th month of lessons and I must say I'm quite overwhelmed by the amt of things to practice. I know my basic chords but unable to change fast yet, still need lots of practise there.

Then my guitar teacher started me on my first fingerstyle song which I know to play albeit slow tempo but I cant play flawlessly yet as I keep forgetting some notes so more practice needed. I was given a new song to learn now so need more time to learn understand the tab. In between I need to practice chromatic exercise, chord progression, and my teacher is also starting me on C scales.

I spent 1-2 hrs practice daily and I felt like I am not utilising the time effectively to cover all of above practice. Any tips? Also, I always feel a little pressured to do well for the next class to prove to the teacher I do practice but usually ends up I dont play well in front of teacher. How la?
Sounds like u practise the guitar to satisfy ur teacher, not to have fun sweat.gif sweat.gif

audy
post Apr 11 2018, 10:13 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Username is for the weak @ Apr 11 2018, 02:51 AM)
Sounds like u practise the guitar to satisfy ur teacher, not to have fun  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Haha, cos I have high expectations of myself and aims to do my best and not look like i have been slacking. I expect to do better in my lessons esp now entering 4th month but im frustrated that im quite slow.
quarantined
post Apr 12 2018, 04:49 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Apr 11 2018, 10:13 PM)
Haha, cos I have high expectations of myself and aims to do my best and not look like i have been slacking.  I expect to do better in my lessons esp now entering 4th month but im frustrated that im quite slow.
But compared to who??? Learning guitar is a long process, theres no instant gratification here.

have you try finding a mate to jam with? it will help pickup things faster.
Leong Kok Leong
post Jun 9 2018, 06:56 PM

111 posts

acoustic or electric?
if you play acoustic try to play some easy fingerstyle
elctric try some riffs from rock songs.
i learnt my electric from playing riffs from artic monkeys
and now can play blues guitar
SUSBarbossa
post Jun 19 2018, 09:00 PM

407 posts

took me 3 months to learn 1 songs though

used to teach myself from youtube tutorial but it was hard though

have to pause every time
ZackFerrum
post Jul 25 2018, 06:15 PM

Lol Listen to Metallica's "Nothing Else Matters" for two weeks straight.
One day you'll wake up and try to play the intro. That's the point of no return.
archcherub
post Jul 30 2018, 01:01 PM

64 posts

best way is to find a music school near ur home. so easier for u to travel
cheapest way is to learn via youtube!
free!

0.0198sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:59 PM