its all about gain and loss..lesson learned, never do business with 'FRIENDs'

TSWonder Guy
post Mar 17 2018, 11:10 AM, updated 8y ago

My future wife is an ex designer & photographer in bridal industry, she understand the business of bridal shop pretty well and she also know how to differentiate the good and bad on the outcome of the photo-shooting so when comes to signing up pre-wedding package, she is very particular on attire selection + photo taking skill.

When we discuss about the option , she told me that she got a friend who is very good in photo taking and he started to expand his business from a small shop to a landed house shop like how all the bridal businesses happening in SS2

We went to his shop, talk about almost everything and we found out that his offer is quite good, the main buying factor of his package is
1) all soft copy will be given
2) there will be a short clip (a minute of video capturing moments and we need to do some act on it)
3) new dresses and attire will be added in his closet as he start to expand his shop (we have had browse through his closet, its not that convincing as most of the dresses are too out-dated and old, if we got no choice and have to choose, its either 1 or 2 dresses which looks acceptable only)

Then comes to the part where he wanna push us to sign up, saying that
1) the price will be different once he move his shop
2) soft copy will not be given in full and will charge accordingly
blah blah blah

Eventually, my wife said okay, lets take up this package. DONE and settle, a portion of payment made and we are so excited for that journey

-After 3 months, 2 weeks before the photo shooting date, we had book some venue in Malacca for that purpose and we got to choose attire from his shop.
-Boom, the so called new attire still haven't reach, my wife looks not happy already and ended up only able to pick 1 dresses
-Then she have to go to another bridal shop to rent , have to spend non-necessary amount of money
-After that my wife trying to bargain with him about enhancing and added some value for replacement in our package, all he can do is enlarge our photo printing and add in more photo in the album (gosh, these shit are cheap and nonsense)

So, nothing we can do right, just accept it

Finally, photo shooting day have arrive, as usual, since this is outstation event, we have to cover petrol/lunch/dinner for photographer and makeup artist.
Settled everything, very happy and tired and we all go back to KL for another outcome review set to be few weeks after

One day, my wife told me he request for petrol expenses, which is fine as we still haven't pay them.
Guess what, KL-Malacca-KL, he ask for RM200 ?? seriously?? is he driving a GTR doh.gif
My wife said nvm, we can't argue much, just pay

-Now, we have collected everything, the album, the printing etc
-Suddenly, he told my wife, he couldn't make the video clip because the short video he took that day got problem and he don't think it will work
-My wife do have some skill in video editing and he even dare to ask my wife to try it out and create a better one (such a bastard)
-this is starting to get worse and spoiling mood and he acted like the clip thing is an extra shit, so he don't care about completing it since 90% of the payment is made

My wife just bear on it and proceed. Comes to the day of selecting outfit for dinner and actual day, finally his so called new attire has arrived. (only 2 dresses doh.gif )

-when my wife look at those attire, she nearly puke because it is too ugly
-end up she have to go to another bridal shop to rent 2 more dresses, spent another non-necessary amount of money again

I am not going to reveal which shop is it since his business is really sucks by looking at it and i don't think he can make it for another few years as well

The only lesson learned is doing business with friend is so frustrated because friend used to take for-granted on things that they assume to ignore.

The gain that we had is his amazing photo shoot but other than that, sucks af........... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Wonder Guy: Mar 19 2018, 12:23 PM
ExCrIpT
post Mar 17 2018, 11:13 AM

1,671 posts

QUOTE(Wonder Guy @ Mar 17 2018, 11:10 AM)
My future wife is an ex designer & photographer in bridal industry, she understand the business of bridal shop pretty well and she also know how to differentiate the good and bad on the outcome of the photo-shooting so when comes to signing up pre-wedding package, she is very particular on attire selection + photo taking skill.

When we discuss about the option , she told me that she got a friend who is very good in photo taking and he started to expand his business from a small shop to a landed house shop like how all the bridal businesses happening in SS2

We went to his shop, talk about almost everything and we found out that his offer is quite good, the main buying factor of his package is
1) all soft copy will be given
2) there will be a short clip (a minute of video capturing moments and we need to do some act on it)
3) new dresses and attire will be added in his closet as he start to expand his shop (we have had browse through his closet, its not that convincing as most of the dresses are too out-dated and old, if we got no choice and have to choose, its either 1 or 2 dresses which looks acceptable only)

Then comes to the part where he wanna push us to sign up, saying that
1) the price will be different once he move his shop
2) soft copy will not be given in full and will charge accordingly
blah blah blah

Eventually, my wife said okay, lets take up this package. DONE and settle, a portion of payment made and we are so excited for that journey

-After 3 months, 2 weeks before the photo shooting date, we had book some venue in Malacca for that purpose and we got to choose attire from his shop.
-Boom, the so called new attire still haven't reach, my wife looks not happy already and ended up only able to pick 1 dresses
-Then she have to go to another bridal shop to rent , have to spend non-necessary amount of money
-After that my wife trying to bargain with him about enhancing and added some value for replacement in our package, all he can do is enlarge our photo printing and add in more photo in the album (gosh, these shit are cheap and nonsense)

So, nothing we can do right, just accept it

Finally, photo shooting day have arrive, as usual, since this is outstation event, we have to cover petrol/lunch/dinner for photographer and makeup artist.
Settled everything, very happy and tired and we all go back to KL for another outcome review set to be few weeks after

One day, my wife told me he request for petrol expenses, which is fine as we still haven't pay them.
Guess what, KL-Malacca-KL, he ask for RM200 ?? seriously?? is he driving a GTR  doh.gif
My wife said nvm, we can't argue much, just pay

-Now, we have collected everything, the album, the printing etc
-Suddenly, he told my wife, he couldn't make the video clip because the short video he took that day got problem and he don't think it will work
-My wife do have some skill in video editing and he even dare to ask my wife to try it out and create a better one (such a bastard)
-this is starting to get worse and spoiling mood and he acted like the clip thing is an extra shit, so he don't care about completing it since 90% of the payment is made

My wife just bear on it and proceed. Comes to the day of selecting outfit for dinner and actual day, finally his so called new attire has arrived. (only 2 dresses  doh.gif )

-when my wife look at those attire, she nearly puke because it is too ugly
-end up she have to go to another bridal shop to rent 2 more dresses, spent another non-necessary amount of money again

I am not going to reveal which shop is it since his business is really sucks by looking at it and i don't think he can make it for another few years as well

The only lesson learned is doing business with friend is so frustrated because friend used to take for-granted on things that they assume to ignore.

The gain that we had is his amazing photo shoot but other than that, sucks af..........
By not revealing the name, others will fall for it and go thru the same thing as u did, what ur doing is protecting him
ObeLIsK
post Mar 17 2018, 11:19 AM

225 posts

Yea, mind to share?
TSWonder Guy
post Mar 17 2018, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Mar 17 2018, 11:13 AM)
By not revealing the name, others will fall for it and go thru the same thing as u did, what ur doing is protecting him
QUOTE(ObeLIsK @ Mar 17 2018, 11:19 AM)
Yea, mind to share?
its all because of 1 word - Friend
the clip that he promised , he does it for other client and he show us some example that's why we like it
but when the time he found out that the video he took got issue, he just notify us and assume we will accept it just because of FRIEND
imagine if he is a stranger for us and he did it to us, we will bark at him until he give us something, too bad....because of FRIEND !!
ObeLIsK
post Mar 17 2018, 12:58 PM

225 posts

Understood.

Well for all you know, he probably had only that 1 sample and that's how he's been running it?

Guess the take away is that skilled individuals may not necessary do well in biz, especially if alone...it becomes a different ballgame I reckon.
mini orchard
post Mar 17 2018, 06:12 PM

14,511 posts

Not sure the reasons for your post.

Not seeking any advise, suggestions or help.

Not help society by keeping confidential the name of the shop.

If you are just letting go hot steam and want comfort word ....
I can just say ...

'I feel you'
DoomCognition
post Mar 17 2018, 08:17 PM

737 posts

Share the name. Hiding for what?
lwliam
post Mar 19 2018, 03:18 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

Like someone mentioned above before, by not revealing the name, others will fall for the hardship and heartache like you did, and nothing is going to stop that.
darrenwks
post Mar 20 2018, 10:04 AM

220 posts

Sad to hear that bro, it's better if you reveal the name else you're just helping your FRIEND & others will fall into the same tragedy
yingying213
post Mar 20 2018, 10:56 AM

I feel you, even if is not friend. I have sign up a full package with a reputable bridal studio. After sign up, is like all about money, service efficiency also changed. For the petrol claims, they are charging base on mileage, eg. RM0.50 per km, I think that's the reason why it come up to RM200.

terryfu
post Mar 23 2018, 03:08 PM

514 posts

Hmmmm. This are the reasons why I very sceptical of such businesses. Worse is still friend.

Btw I didn’t do any pre wedding shoot and just paid RM 500 for a photographer shoot at thean Hou. Guess what the photos are damn good (wife bought a nice gown from taobao and sold it away at same price) and he even gave a video which I shared during a small reception in kedah.

The shoot was about 2-3 hrs including rom and around the thean hou venue and looks so good that will probably use it as my wedding album when I have my next reception.
MiLKTea
post Apr 9 2018, 10:26 AM

942 posts

So why are you still considering him as friend since he doesn't see your wife as friend but just a water fish?
webking911
post Apr 12 2018, 12:34 AM

KL-MLK-KL... RM200 is consider quite friendly price. If u really go ask around the industry. Normally charge about RM300-500. KL- MLK- KL. About 300KM.. plus d touring inside the city for shooting n tolls.. Bro.. Dun u think is quite affordable.. U try Grab for one way also cost u RM200 already.

Second thing is all about wedding agreement... u so call selected friend without truly find out the gown.. den who mistake is that... n u claimed your wife is from the industry.. n she doesnt know about this thing?

n u keep hiding the name.. for wat purpose.. show us your innocent/naive face? or telling us ur wife dun reali know about this industry how work..
kingz113
post Apr 25 2018, 01:31 AM

323 posts

This post has been edited by kingz113: Apr 26 2018, 01:32 AM

0.0172sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:31 PM