Lazada new app

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 04:11 PM, updated 8y ago

67 posts

Lazada app requires update to continue use.

It asks for these permissions :-

1. Device & app history

Allows the app to view one or more of: information about activity on the device which apps are running, browsing history and book marks.

2 calendar

Uses calendar information

3. WiFi connection information

Allows the app to view information about WiFi networking, such as whether WiFi is enabled and names of connected WiFi devices

4. Device ID & call information

Allows the app to determine the phone number and device ID, whether a call is active and the remote number connected by call.

(Sorry, I dunno how to put a screenshot into thread)

Don't you find these all terribly intrusive And unnecessary just to shop online?

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 04:13 PM

67 posts

I would like this moved to Serious Kopitiam - any staff or mod around, pls help me do this. Tq
se7en
post Mar 15 2018, 04:15 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

screenshot, and we will ask them.
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 04:17 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Mar 15 2018, 04:15 PM)
I hv made the screenshots but sadly hv no idea how to insert the screen shots into LYN thread.

# sad noob

This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Mar 15 2018, 04:18 PM
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 04:30 PM

67 posts

what I think the permissions asked for mean.

Re 1.

Wtf, Lzd even wants to know which porn sites I've been browsing?

I basically only want to buy groceries online, how will Lzd knowing what websites I browse n wat the heck I bookmark enhance my grocery shopping experience?

Re 2

Lzd wants to know all my appointments noted in my calendar.

Why? So they'll put on specials for sick ppl when they know I hv a doctor's appointment?

Re 3

Lzd not only wants to know which network I'm on but ALL other devices connected to it.

I can't think of any reason why this info is vital to my online groceries.

Re 4

Lzd fg wants to know who I've been calling? How will I be able to keep my secret lovers n mistresses secret?

~~

Perhaps I'm just stupid n I've simply misunderstood what these permissions really require.

#bersangka baik

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 04:41 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Mar 15 2018, 04:15 PM)
I'll be happy to provide the screenshot if someone can kindly let me know how to attach screenshots to lyn thread.

juzmafia
post Mar 15 2018, 04:50 PM

562 posts

Juz upload the image to any photo hosting site and share the links here..(ex: imgur)

Anyway here is the permission screenshot:-

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 04:54 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Mar 15 2018, 04:50 PM)
Juz upload the image to any photo hosting site and share the links here..(ex: imgur)

Anyway here is the permission screenshot:-

Tks.

This is not what I've screenshot.

My screenshot is of short explanations by Lzd app when asking for additional permissions prior to updating.

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 05:00 PM

67 posts

Hope this works

https://postimg.org/image/6bfq86dt7/823624dc/
Orzie
post Mar 15 2018, 05:04 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Mar 15 2018, 05:00 PM)
Helped TS to post screenshot

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 05:04 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Orzie @ Mar 15 2018, 05:04 PM)
Helped TS to post screenshot
Tqvm
Orzie
post Mar 15 2018, 05:06 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Mar 15 2018, 04:11 PM)
Lazada app requires update to continue use.

It asks for these permissions :-

1. Device & app history

Allows the app to view one or more of: information about activity on the device  which apps are running,  browsing history and book marks.

2  calendar

Uses calendar information

3. WiFi connection information

Allows the app to view information about WiFi networking,  such as whether WiFi is enabled and names of connected WiFi devices

4. Device ID &  call information

Allows the app to determine the phone number and device ID,  whether a call is active and the remote number connected by call.

(Sorry,  I dunno how to put a screenshot into thread)

Don't you find these all terribly intrusive And unnecessary just to shop online?
Wanting to know browser history and running apps is ridiculous lol
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 05:12 PM

67 posts

I noticed my first screenshot has the last few lines missing.

So here's one showing the last few lines re calls

https://postimg.org/image/v7dr97fij/77c0f1b3/

Just for completeness

This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Mar 15 2018, 05:12 PM
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Mar 15 2018, 05:16 PM

67 posts

I apologise for all my inadequacies.

:-(
Orzie
post Mar 15 2018, 05:26 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Mar 15 2018, 05:12 PM)
I noticed my first screenshot has the last few lines missing.

So here's one showing the last few lines re calls

https://postimg.org/image/v7dr97fij/77c0f1b3/

Just for completeness

There you go:

se7en
post Mar 15 2018, 07:20 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

thanks! we're following up on this.
crumpetss
post Mar 16 2018, 03:54 PM

dummie
523 posts

pretty sure its for data mining to target u with more relevant items, either way that's is terribly intrusive imo
Ckc Chen
post Mar 16 2018, 09:44 PM

60 posts

Anyone know how to disable tracking in the app?
It seems that when I view an item, the same/similar item always follow me (Facebook, then in the app the item always show up)

It's good if you are looking for that one item, but I just want to see a variety of product and compare them.

So the new app really turns me down.
sakuraboo
post Mar 17 2018, 10:59 AM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

But your phone can allow/block those permissions right

It's off by default
SUSAmeiN
post Mar 17 2018, 01:21 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

https://www.lowyat.net/2018/157912/lazadas-...ot-permissions/

The information required in the screenshot is necessary information that is collected in order to offer a better user experience on the app. Lazada does not sell, or trade customers’ personal information collected online with third parties.

Personal information collected online will only be disclosed within our corporate group and to third parties for the purposes for which it was collected.

Lazada takes the security and privacy of users very seriously. For full details on how we collect, store and use the information, please refer to our Privacy Policy at https://www.lazada.com.my/privacy-policy/

Ya, right...

0.0207sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:11 PM