4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Mountain Bike v34, The lowyat.net mountain bike community

aquilaTE
post Mar 20 2018, 10:20 AM

481 posts

Seems quiet here since the last thread closed.
aquilaTE
post Mar 27 2018, 06:46 PM

481 posts

Ummm... a new set of budget flats whistling.gif
aquilaTE
post Mar 29 2018, 10:28 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Mar 29 2018, 10:13 AM)
What brand? good or not?
Dragonback... so far so good... light and cheap... dunno abt durability or strength until I hit a tree or something... whistling.gif
aquilaTE
post Mar 30 2018, 03:07 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Mar 30 2018, 02:13 PM)
Ok because i saw decathlon bike is around rm1700.
I'm guessing it's a Btwin brand. I pulled up uncle Google and I think you may have seen the Rockrider 520s,540s or 560s. The last one the spec looks ok but the frame... I can't say.
aquilaTE
post Apr 6 2018, 09:46 AM

481 posts

Question... if my rim is ETRTO 558x23, can I fit a 584-40 tyres? Forgive me as I'm still unfamiliar with certain bike related.
aquilaTE
post Apr 6 2018, 11:11 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Apr 6 2018, 10:08 AM)
This is RB tire standard? Not familiar with it. Only know MTB. If it says 27.5 size and up to 2.5mm width then that's just it. lol.
Nope... Apparently it's MTB slicks... all the info I can find off my MTB rim and the info I get off the tyre website. I do know both the rim and the tyre I was looking are 27.5...
aquilaTE
post Apr 10 2018, 10:32 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Apr 9 2018, 09:59 AM)
Can't help you with that man. Not familiar with these skinny tires at all. I assume if you are using suspension forks, they should fit fine because they have a lot of clearance. Maybe only matters with the rigid forks.
No worries... will check out with the LBS some time soon once I send my bike for service. Cheers
aquilaTE
post Apr 11 2018, 09:35 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Apr 10 2018, 04:55 PM)
guys
recently my chain putus and i replace new khs chain

but problem is at certain gear my chain will jump and skipped
when apply hard pedalling

im using shimano deore 10spd with khs 10spd compatible
last time with old chain no problem at all

issit my gear tooth problem already?
omg
How many kms have you done on your ride? I'm only guessing worn chainring or cassette.
aquilaTE
post Apr 11 2018, 03:02 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(wai57 @ Apr 11 2018, 11:48 AM)
Guys, how much would you be willing to spend on a full bike?
QUOTE(thurtin @ Apr 11 2018, 12:12 PM)
This question has no right answer. Some people only want to spend RM2k or less, some people are willing to spend RM20k or more. It depends really on your budget, how serious are you with MTB, brand preference, weight obsession, favourite trails, etc.

Just based on groups of friends that I know, most of us started off spending RM3k to RM5k for a hardtail then upgrading to new/2nd hand full sus ones that cost RM8k to RM20k and above.
If you ask me, at this point in time... I'm only willing to spend abt RM3K. And I do agree with thurtin's opinion too.
aquilaTE
post May 2 2018, 11:17 AM

481 posts

hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aquilaTE: May 2 2018, 11:21 AM
aquilaTE
post Jun 8 2018, 11:34 AM

481 posts

Me was using this initially coz I tot I may upgrade to clipless from flats eventually... I'm still scared too so I stick to flats too... blush.gif

aquilaTE
post Jun 18 2018, 12:08 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(mohd syabu @ Jun 16 2018, 09:58 PM)
im looking for xc hardtail. expensive frame or expensive groupset. which one is better?
As the few sifu here says, I go with proven frame over groupset in the beginning...
aquilaTE
post Jun 21 2018, 02:17 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(neverknowgirl @ Jun 21 2018, 01:43 PM)
Hi All, I'm interested to buy a bike and my friends recommend me mountain bike based on my need and use. I plan to use it for exercise and its gonna be around city area (damansara).

so i need suggestion on which bike should i try as my first bike, i survey twitter brand so far, so incase you can suggest me on this i would really appreciate.

Let just say im interested with cycling but not yet sure i into bike yet to invest to big chunk of money into it.
Just as long as the bike stays off the heavy trails... those Chinese oems with price tag below RM2K shud do fine. You probably give the foldies and hybrids a thought too...
aquilaTE
post Jun 25 2018, 10:13 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(neverknowgirl @ Jun 24 2018, 01:13 PM)
Thank you for your recommendation, just bought hybrid, merida speeder 100.
Nice! No worries. Enjoy your ride...
aquilaTE
post Jul 2 2018, 09:35 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(muhd syabu. @ Jun 29 2018, 05:19 PM)
hi. with unlimited budget, what is the best hardtail frame i can buy today? what i should look for in a hardtail frame? mainly for xc racing. i was a runner, want to try mtb now as i have feet problem.

drool.gif
aquilaTE
post Jul 2 2018, 12:37 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Jul 2 2018, 10:52 AM)
Well, there is no "best" bike really. Depends on what you want and your preference. I'm not super familiar with XC bikes. I don't think most people will be able to tell you the real world difference between them anyways. Fan boys will tell you brand X is the best. What is your top priority?

Weight - do you want the lightest bike out there or are you ok with something that is considered very light? 
Stiffness - it's hard to determine what style you like, but some like the frame to be super stiff for speed or a bit more flex for comfort
Design and color - up to your preference
Specs - do you want top of the line Eagle/XTR and carbon everything? Maybe you are ok with parts a step below?

If I wanted to buy a high end XC bike, I would get either the Spez Epic or Scott Spark. Super nice bikes.
Not hardtail... cry.gif

Yeah... do consider the criterias thurtin mentioned... helps to narrow down what you look in a bike. I can't tell you much how the various frames differ...

This post has been edited by aquilaTE: Jul 2 2018, 12:40 PM
aquilaTE
post Jul 2 2018, 12:50 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ Jul 2 2018, 12:45 PM)
Why consider hardtail only? Short or medium travel full sus is pretty good nowadays. Can go fast and climb, and still ok for the downs.  icon_idea.gif
Was based on his criteria... he mentioned he wanted HT...

The next Nino Schurter... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by aquilaTE: Jul 2 2018, 12:51 PM
aquilaTE
post Jul 3 2018, 11:42 AM

481 posts

So far I was googling for lightest frame/XC HT... this was the result...

https://www.singletracks.com/blog/mtb-gear/...s-in-existence/

aquilaTE
post Jul 13 2018, 09:27 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(ryder @ Jul 12 2018, 10:24 PM)
Quick question all, which tire is good for front? Maxxis Ardent / Ikon? Mostly for riding at PCP and Bukit Kiara trails....will be using Larsen TT for rear
I would go with the Ardent for better grip over the Ikon.
aquilaTE
post Jul 16 2018, 09:13 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(muhd syabu. @ Jul 14 2018, 03:44 PM)
im contemplating the best tooth for my single chainring.

should i take 32t or 36t ?

im currently on 3x10 shimano SLX. the max i need for my trail is 22t chainring and 36t cassette.

i want to have the same ratio for climbing on my local trail, but i also need a max speed of 40KM/h for flat road.
When you go 1x way, it's hard to satisfied the both ends of the spectrum of the off and on-road therefore I still think 2x and 3x are still essential for this situation.

I dun have the right answer for you but I can suggest you download this app called Gear Calculator. Try out the various settings for your chainring and cassette setup together with your cadence and wheelsize to determine how much km/h you can achieved.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:35 PM