Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 Official V2 Thread], It's what computers have become

Survivor
post Apr 10 2007, 08:48 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(calvinyou89 @ Apr 10 2007, 07:31 AM)
guys buy avaxx better because avaxx have asia map but zitron does't have..........
Do you have FACTS to backup ur statement? I am using Zitron set and it has asia map.

Added on April 10, 2007, 9:41 am
QUOTE(youngkies @ Apr 10 2007, 04:14 AM)
hope further firmware upgrade will get it better, but i highly doubt so from nokia past history, n73 and n93.
From my past history on N80, I would say other wise. Nokia had really done some excellent firmware updates to fix the bugs in N80 which makes N80 speedy and almost no problem at all...Hope it will be the same for N95...

This post has been edited by Survivor: Apr 10 2007, 09:41 AM
Survivor
post Apr 10 2007, 01:33 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Apr 10 2007, 01:17 PM)
i dont really understand ..
They surely did loads of research n trial on the N95 bfore its launch right..
but then why didnt they notice the battery life problem?
Something so powerful with so little "power"..doesnt make sense.. rclxub.gif
Well...my N95 batt was left with 1 bar yesterday morning before i went to work...then i made a few calls, send a few sms, play with a few applications along the day, then until 10pm yesterday night only the N95 batt ran completely flat....the 1 bar batt life sustain from morning until night...for 15 hours...not bad ma... thumbup.gif
Survivor
post Apr 10 2007, 03:52 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Apr 10 2007, 01:41 PM)
or could it be something wrong with the battery bar?
supposed to show 4 bars..instead its showing 1 bar ? have u tot of it that way?

like my  rclxub.gif  n8800, showing 1 bar..then no batt. then i turn back on.. 3 bars..and surviving.  hmm.gif
Nah, there is nothing wrong with the battery bar. I restart my phone few times during the 1 bar situation because of some software installation that needs restart of the phone. The battery bar still showing 1 bar after restarting the phone.

QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 10 2007, 01:44 PM)
er.. i think its a bad thing to let ur phone off when the battery completely flat out.. coz it may damage ur phone i think.. i would still recommend u have it charged when the signal is out..
I don't think it is bad to let the phone off when the battery is completely flat out...all the portable devices has LDO (low drop-out) voltage regulator which will act as a sensor to the power supply. If ur power supply is low enough, the LDO will send a signal to switch off ur phone before any damage is done. I am pretty sure about this because I work in a semiconductor industry and I know a lot of mobile phone company using it in their phone.

Survivor
post Apr 10 2007, 04:24 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Now...let's get a bit technical...below is the heart of our beloved Nokia N95, Texas Instruments OMAP2420 processor. As you all can see, it has a optimized power management companion chip, TWL92230 . I think that's why Nokia is confident to put a low capacity battery for the Nokia N95.

The OMAP2420 processor is a single-chip applications processor that supports all cellular standards, and complements any modem or chipset and any air interface. It is intended for high-volume wireless handset manufacturers and is not available through distributors.

The OMAP2420 includes the benefits of the OMAP 2 architecture's parallel processing, giving users the ability to instantly run applications and operate multiple functions simultaneously without quality of service compromises. The OMAP2420 includes an integrated ARM1136 processor (330 MHz), a TI TMS320C55x(tm)DSP (220 MHz), 2D/3D graphics accelerator, imaging and video accelerator, high-performance system interconnects and industry-standard peripherals.

Multimedia enhancements made in the OMAP2420 include an added imaging and video accelerator for higher-resolution still capture applications, multi-megapixel cameras and full-motion video encode and decode with VGA resolution of 30 frames per second. An added TV video output supports connections to television displays for displaying images and video captured from the handset. 5-Mb internal SRAM also boost streaming media performance.

To complete the OMAP 2 system, TI offers System Power Managers for maximum battery life and overall system efficiency and performance.
The TWL92230 System Power Manager enables brilliant multimedia performance on demand without compromising standby and talk time capacity.

* Delivers highly power efficient OMAP 2 system solution
      without performance compromises
    * Highly efficient voltage regulators
    * Dynamic voltage management
    * Low battery and thermal shutdown protection
    * Combines power management circuitry and control logic
      into highly integrated single chip

Quote from Texas Instruments

This post has been edited by Survivor: Apr 10 2007, 04:25 PM
Survivor
post Apr 10 2007, 04:27 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Apr 10 2007, 04:12 PM)
hmm.. ok.. Thanks for the info Survivor..
StratOS,

Refer to my quotation from Texas Instruments, one of the feature of the TWL92230 System Power Manager is the low battery and thermal shutdown protection. This is what I am talking about wink.gif
Survivor
post Apr 11 2007, 05:26 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 11 2007, 04:56 PM)
someone actually having a fight with his gf
and the victim is the bf's Nokia N95

do you believe it?

and worst thing is

the N95 that worth more than RM3,000 has become a piece of junk

as, it is broken into ... errmm, two  sweat.gif
Woah....that....that....that is something so unfortunate!...i dun think there is suitable words to describe the feeling of the BF....
Survivor
post Apr 13 2007, 11:15 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(X-Zen @ Apr 13 2007, 10:45 AM)
Guys,

Anyone know how to change the shorcut key of the N95?

Let's say I want a shorcut to straight away go to my errr..converter.

Is it possible ah?
Of cause it can be done smile.gif
Go to Menu>Tools>Settings>General>Personalisation>Standby>Shortcuts>
Then you can choose left selection key or right selection key to link to your converter.
thumbup.gif
Survivor
post Apr 15 2007, 12:13 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

Anyone has experienced their battery running flat very fast even though not using the phone very much? I just finished an overnight charge on my N95 this morning, then the batt ran flat already at the evening, i only made a few minutes call, that's it! What is happening to the phone??
Survivor
post Apr 19 2007, 09:15 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 19 2007, 09:03 PM)
Hi, want to ask you guys question again. Isit N95 is a lot faster than N73 (phone speed)?

Certainly. Both are using different processor. N95 OMAP processor is much more superior thumbup.gif
Survivor
post May 2 2007, 10:13 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(heng623 @ May 2 2007, 12:29 AM)
Guys,
Don't need to go to Nokia website to key in your product code to check. Most of the time it is not updated. Just use the NSU (Nokia Software Updater) to check for you whether there is any updated firmware available. It will check your phone and Nokia's server to determine the need to update

Added on May 2, 2007, 12:30 am
No, the latest firmware is :

V 11.0.026
17-04-07
RM-159
Nokia N95 (12.01)

Pictures Taken from Hardwarezone.com.sg

Is the AsiaMap still in tact after the new firmware update?
Survivor
post May 3 2007, 07:10 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ May 3 2007, 05:36 PM)
if who after downloaded the firmware software got chinese word support, pls pm me, thanx!
Mine still have chinese word support thumbup.gif . I m using original Zitron set btw...
Survivor
post May 3 2007, 07:15 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

One question guys. What do u guys use to backup your N95 before the firmware updates? I used the Nokia PC Suit backup function to backup my N95. After my firmware update, i restore it back using the PC Suit also. But when I restoring, it prompt that "restoring may delete the current data on your phone". so by clicking OK, does it affect the new fimware data files???
Survivor
post May 3 2007, 08:23 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(minde @ May 3 2007, 07:42 PM)
hey...anybody know the maxis setting for N95 =,= I lazy go back Maxis centre..
I thought everything is already in your N95? unsure.gif
Survivor
post May 4 2007, 08:12 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ May 3 2007, 08:42 PM)
To those N95 users that have successfully updated their firmware: you using original or ap set?
Original set smile.gif

Added on May 4, 2007, 8:16 am
QUOTE(tr4657 @ May 4 2007, 08:03 AM)
Yeah, same here. Is it because of the GPS? This is the 1st time Nokia has that sound also AFAIK... BTW, I am having problem with my N95... Cannot send MMS, Browse Internet or even checking emails...

I tot is was my SIMcard. But, when I switch to my N93, there is no problem whatsoever. I tried to put my prepaid Hotlink inside N95 and there is no problem ALSO... The problem of 'Packet Data Not Allowed' ONLY APPEARS on my Postpaid Maxis ONLY... Anyone can verify this? Test it and post your result here...

BTW, bought this phone (2 sets, 1 for my dad and 1 for me) from winners (lelong)... Call Lai for best deal...
Please read through this thread from page 1, i think somewhere in the middle there is an instruction on how to disable APN control in order for you to use the internet connection on N95.

Well...i might as well just tell u tongue.gif Go to Menu>Tools>SettingsConnection>APN control> then choose option>disable restrictions. After you disable it, choose for operator access point....then you should be able to use the internet, mms, etc dy....let me know if this helps wink.gif

This post has been edited by Survivor: May 4 2007, 08:17 AM
Survivor
post May 16 2007, 10:07 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

Any power users who think they need an extra battery on their N95? I have one original N95 battery to let go, check it out! Click here.
Survivor
post May 22 2007, 05:42 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Guys, since we are all N95 users here, I would like to ask something: Did you guys notice the scratch marks on top of the #3 numpad?? I google around and found it is quite a common problem with the N95 which is cause by the ribbon in the N95 sliding mechanism. Can the Nokia service center fix this problem for us?? like change the scratched numpad with a new one?
Survivor
post Jul 11 2007, 05:12 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Jul 11 2007, 04:28 PM)
DO u hv research b4?3days?100% not possible.
i think every1 user n95 1days MUST charge once.
I against the "every1 user n95 1days MUST charge once" statement. I charge every two days. But I am a lite user tongue.gif
Survivor
post Jul 13 2007, 10:55 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

Seriously need help here guys!!!

I have plug my N95 to NSU to check for firmware update and it seems the new V12 firmware is available. But I decided to do it later since I haven't backup my phone. So I quit first. Then after I back up my phone and I launch NSU again, it hanged and wont start, so I ctrl+alt+del to end task then restart again. But after that the NSU doesn't seem to respond to my N95 already. How la? Can anyone help to confirm that their NSU is working currently? Please help to plug ur N95 to NSU and check for firmware updates. I want to know whether it is my phone problem or Nokia server problem. Thanks a bunch guys!

This post has been edited by Survivor: Jul 13 2007, 10:57 PM
Survivor
post Jul 14 2007, 12:49 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Jul 14 2007, 12:38 AM)
Apparently, Nokia has removed the updates due to the massive bugs that they found out on V12 after they released..
That's why they removed it now I guess..
Even if they remove it, the NSU should display there is no new firmware available and on the left hand side should have current and update version which is showing the same. But it is not for my case.

Besides, I have asked around and others are not facing this kind of problem like me.

This post has been edited by Survivor: Jul 14 2007, 12:50 AM
Survivor
post Jul 14 2007, 12:57 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jul 14 2007, 12:54 AM)
I didn't have any problem although I've cancelled & start again. Maybe you should clear your Internet Explorer cache & other files. Or worst case, restart your PC. Final step, reinstall your NSU.
Or maybe you should check your product code via NSS 1st...

GOOD NEWS - V12 APAC is finally back into action  rclxm9.gif
I have done it all, restart my PC, reinstall the NSU, restart my phone, reconnect to different USB port, unplug my N95 battery remove and replace sim card.....any more advises?

0.0439sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:25 PM