Is it worth to jump from unifi?

TSSeng89
post Mar 10 2018, 02:35 PM, updated 8y ago

2,687 posts

As per topic, I'm currently using unifi rm 179 for 50mbps. Is it worth for me to switch now? The line stable around Pj area? At dataran prima area.
cwm3022
post Apr 18 2018, 02:37 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Seng89 @ Mar 10 2018, 02:35 PM)
As per topic, I'm currently using unifi rm 179 for 50mbps. Is it worth for me to switch now? The line stable around Pj area? At dataran prima area.
What did mean? to jump from unifi to others provider? I think it's only 30MBPS - RM179 offering by UNIFI now . I think you are using a promotion plan from TM. Switch only if you are facing bad experience or downgrade to lower plan~ hmm.gif
Ireferno
post Apr 26 2018, 12:22 AM

740 posts

I won't suggest doing so. Ported out from unifi, regret, suffering for almost 2 years. Can't wait to get out.

Line is decent I guess, but really bad connection to websites based overseas. Not to mention they like to switch ports randomly, which can cause you to disconnect if you're playing online games.
TSSeng89
post Apr 26 2018, 12:58 AM

2,687 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Apr 26 2018, 12:22 AM)
I won't suggest doing so. Ported out from unifi, regret, suffering for almost 2 years. Can't wait to get out.

Line is decent I guess, but really bad connection to websites based overseas. Not to mention they like to switch ports randomly, which can cause you to disconnect if you're playing online games.
Wah .. don't scare me Wei .. u at which area ? I'm pj shouldn't it better ?
Ireferno
post Apr 28 2018, 01:27 AM

740 posts

My area Kota kemuning. I've got a friend living in PJ also using Maxis Fibre playing the same game as me, everyday complaining lol.
Don't get me wrong, Maxis Fibre is great... if you don't browse websites overseas. Or play games only in the SEA region.

My ping to my game server in California under Maxis fibre always has timeouts, sometimes 170ms, sometimes 190ms, sometimes 205ms. Tested under Unifi, constant standard 200ms ping time without any timeouts at all at any time of the day.

Not to mention they love to suddenly have a period of 30sec~ where your connection is suddenly cut, then reconnects with a different latency and ping time.

I regretted swapping from unifi (only swapped because it was RM20 cheaper a month) after only a week of use, already realize it's way worst of, at least for my case.

This post has been edited by Ireferno: Apr 28 2018, 01:33 AM
TSSeng89
post Apr 28 2018, 09:46 AM

2,687 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Apr 28 2018, 01:27 AM)
My area Kota kemuning. I've got a friend living in PJ also using Maxis Fibre playing the same game as me, everyday complaining lol.
Don't get me wrong, Maxis Fibre is great... if you don't browse websites overseas. Or play games only in the SEA region.

My ping to my game server in California under Maxis fibre always has timeouts, sometimes  170ms, sometimes 190ms, sometimes 205ms. Tested under Unifi, constant standard 200ms ping time without any timeouts at all at any time of the day.

Not to mention they love to suddenly have a period of 30sec~ where your connection is suddenly cut, then reconnects with a different latency and ping time.

I regretted swapping from unifi (only swapped because it was RM20 cheaper a month) after only a week of use, already realize it's way worst of, at least for my case.
Aewww.. this is scary man .. my brother is playing Dota 2 .. will getting issue as well ?I just submitted the form holyshit.. my current package is unifi rm179 for 50mbps.. but the cost quite high for now and also without contract .. should I renew unifi with cheaper option ?

Ireferno
post Apr 28 2018, 07:55 PM

740 posts

No harm trying really. It's really not that bad, just a little laggy, even worse if overseas server. "if you're playing games is different"

But from what I can see most people talking here, it's not Maxis Fibre that sucks, but the "free" modem/router that they gave.
Currylaksa
post May 5 2018, 06:31 PM

1,616 posts

Normal usage is okay.

Gaming can be laggy (I'm getting 200-400ms to Overwatch server right now)
iRonTech
post May 8 2018, 08:37 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

time fibre not considered?
TSSeng89
post May 8 2018, 09:15 AM

2,687 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ May 8 2018, 08:37 AM)
time fibre not considered?
Not condo