USM - Bachelor of Arts (English for Professionals), Need info on the degree course by USM

TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 9 2018, 05:02 PM, updated 6y ago

20 posts

Hi everyone. I'm a recent form 6 graduate and a STPM 2017 candidate. I just received my STPM results three days prior. I was a science student and scored an overall CGPA above 3.00. But here's the thing - I have no wish to proceed with science stream any further. I wish to switch to the arts, and I originally wanted to take up Bachelor of Arts in English Literature at UM. But I only found out recently that since last year, the ministry of higher ed (?) had implemented this rule that science stream students are no longer allowed to switch streams in university, due to not having a proper foundation for the arts programmes (with the exceptions of Music, Dance and the Performing Arts - these are different sets of art programmes and a different case altogether) at STPM level. I messaged UM the other day and they told me the same thing, and the only courses which allow both science and arts students to apply at UM are Economics, Business and Accounting only. I'm not sure about the other universities but I feel it is similar. Online applications for local uni started yesterday, and turns out the options given at UPU online (when choosing our desired courses and university) is based from the stream we took for STPM. Lucky thing, some universities still do offer some substantial amount of art programmes for science students like myself. I'm now opting for an alternative, which is this English programme offered by USM called Bachelor of Arts (Hons) English for Professionals. I'm actually into the creative writing aspect of English - like poetry, stories, shot descriptive essays although my skills in writing lean more strongly to academic writing. I haven't submitted my UPU application yet as I'm still discussing with family members, close friends, teachers and others. Has anyone here on the forum Lowyat.net has taken this course, or know anyone who has taken it? Can anyone give me some insights on what is taught in the course? And what job did you guys get after graduation? Because my parents are skeptical of me taking up the course, out of fear I might not be able to get any job with this degree.

Hopefully anyone could give me some helpful insights.

(PS: since I have no other option but to choose science programmes in the end.. I'm considering courses like Computer Science or Science Education, either in Mathematics or Physics, or TESOL although I'm quite reluctant to pick up any education courses.. and I'm ok with computing. I like computers - but I don't want it to be my career for my entire life. I don't know why did the ministry had to implement this rule.. I just feel so trapped knowing the options will always only show science programmes or some other art programmes but not the course I had wanted to pursue..)

This post has been edited by thisgirlspeaks: Mar 10 2018, 11:03 PM
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 10 2018, 10:11 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ayamlemak @ Mar 10 2018, 10:47 AM)
Hello, congratulations for doing well in your STPM and for moving on to the next step in your academic life.

Its sad to hear such limitations.. when i was studying 5 years ago, i had friends who could change his degree to English just because he didn't do well in Engineering.

I have friends who took a similar course in UiTM, i believe its called English for Business or something, and  I'm an English graduate myself, so here's what i can say about that course. The course focuses mainly on training you to use English in a business setting, so you can expect classes that involve project management, business ethics, business communication, with a side of grammar and literature.

Career wise, I'd say that you don't really have to worry about it, since there are demands for those who can speak and write well in English, it's just that you need to have extra skills that companies are looking for. Right now I'm working as a Content Executive for an online marketplace, and I'm happy to say my skills are being put to good use here, though it took me a while to land this job.

A word of advice though, if you really want to get into English, be prepared to be bombarded with questions like, "Kenapa tak jadi cikgu? Nak mengajar sekolah apa?" from everyone, even in interviews lol.

If you're into creative writing, why not go for marketing or advertising or mass communication? Based on my experience, companies are always looking for people in the field, especially those who can speak and write well in English.
I wish you all the best in your future endeavors.
Ohh i see. I might consider. But i just found out that I can apply for the English Studies course by UKM though, and I might consider about applying for it. I wonder if it is any good though..
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 10 2018, 10:59 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ayamlemak @ Mar 10 2018, 10:47 AM)
Hello, congratulations for doing well in your STPM and for moving on to the next step in your academic life.

Its sad to hear such limitations.. when i was studying 5 years ago, i had friends who could change his degree to English just because he didn't do well in Engineering.

I have friends who took a similar course in UiTM, i believe its called English for Business or something, and  I'm an English graduate myself, so here's what i can say about that course. The course focuses mainly on training you to use English in a business setting, so you can expect classes that involve project management, business ethics, business communication, with a side of grammar and literature.

Career wise, I'd say that you don't really have to worry about it, since there are demands for those who can speak and write well in English, it's just that you need to have extra skills that companies are looking for. Right now I'm working as a Content Executive for an online marketplace, and I'm happy to say my skills are being put to good use here, though it took me a while to land this job.

A word of advice though, if you really want to get into English, be prepared to be bombarded with questions like, "Kenapa tak jadi cikgu? Nak mengajar sekolah apa?" from everyone, even in interviews lol.

If you're into creative writing, why not go for marketing or advertising or mass communication? Based on my experience, companies are always looking for people in the field, especially those who can speak and write well in English.
I wish you all the best in your future endeavors.
But thank you very very much for your post. I really appreciate it. But I don't think I can apply for UiTM, as I'm a Chinese..? [English is my first language. But i went to a chinese primary school and took chinese all the way to SPM. But idk why I just couldn't click well with the language.. and have faced language-shaming from peers of the same race..]

This post has been edited by thisgirlspeaks: Mar 13 2018, 04:33 PM
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 12 2018, 10:52 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ckeong89 @ Mar 12 2018, 02:16 PM)
This course (if not mistaken) was first offered at 2009. I was doing science stream and offered with this. However i rejected the offer and accepted offer from um. this course is no different from other english language degree according to my MUET teacher and he encouraged me to apply.  So the potential job for the graduates are similar to Tesol etc. you might have to persuade your family members about the good things as  a english professionals if you sincerely want to change stream and take up this degree.
Oo 2009!? The course is only nine years old.. What offer did you accept from UM, if you don't mind me asking? And I see.. I did persuade my parents and they strongly oppose it.. My mother even blew up and scolded me.

This post has been edited by thisgirlspeaks: Mar 12 2018, 10:52 PM
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 13 2018, 04:29 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ Mar 13 2018, 09:08 AM)
Have you thought about your career path? what will you be doing with a Bachelor of Arts?
I did. I wanted to become a writer, or an english teacher, lecturer, or become a journalist. Anything to do with writing.
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 13 2018, 04:31 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Mar 13 2018, 09:44 AM)
Go into marketing/advertising if you hate your life. That being said, you WILL learn a lot about the language of communication and influencing people. Just know that the field is pretty vicious and unforgiving.
Thanks for the suggestion, and no - I don't hate my life, thank you very much. I see, I will do some serious thinking about it. And which part of this world we live in today is ever not vicious and unforgiving?

This post has been edited by thisgirlspeaks: Mar 16 2018, 03:25 PM
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 15 2018, 04:57 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(astraeus @ Mar 13 2018, 09:11 PM)
Back when I was choosing my course after finishing matriculation, my mom suggested maybe I'd like to go for English degree at any university's Faculty of Language (i was originally in Science stream)

I said NO. Because

1) I don't enjoy studying languages 24/7. I prefer to do it on the side.
2) I couldn't figure out what kind of work I can do with an English degree.

So i ended up with a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering instead.

I hope you can choose a suitable course to take. Too bad about the ministry rulibg that science stream students can't go for art courses.. shouldn't really be a problem in my opinion.
I see.. well my mother was quite the opposite in this case XD I've actually come across some online comments saying that language can be kept up on your own and one doesn't necessarily need to take up a full-fledged language course..? But yeah, I'm considering others lah. Mostly computer science or communication, and if worst comes to the worst I'll have to consider science education. But I'm not that keen to become a teacher.. (I'm now working as a temporary teacher btw)

But I'll take your words into serious consideration. smile.gif

This post has been edited by thisgirlspeaks: Mar 15 2018, 04:57 PM
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 16 2018, 03:32 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(astraeus @ Mar 15 2018, 07:43 PM)
If you really want to study English and you have the passion for it, why not? I would go insane studying language all the time, I need some maths for my brain.. that's why I didn't follow my mom's suggestion.. but to this day I still love learning languages, and obviously I won't compare my fluency level to a person who took actual langauge course, and creative writing was never my forte to begin with..

But for you, the problem is trying to get into malaysian public uni will be a headache since you were originally from science stream.

I wish I could offer better advice, but I don't have much experience with this kind of problem, even among my relatives. Hope you can get a good course.
Ye know when you said u need some maths for your brain.. and after being in science stream for so long, i think i would have to agree on that myself though haha. I think it would feel very strange for me knowing that one day i might no longer be dealing with these things ever again. :/

And it's alright, your words and others have helped me to make some better decisions, and to look at things from another perspective. And i really appreciate it. smile.gif no worries.

Thanks btw and hope that you'll have a pleasant day and year ahead!
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 16 2018, 03:43 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(cire2 @ Mar 15 2018, 11:29 PM)
Hi, I studied environmental science and am doing environmental writing in my free time - looking to be a full-time environmental writer / journalist soon.

What I'm trying to say is, you don't really have to take up language-related course to be good in writing. In fact, I recommend against it. Instead, pick any niche you're interested in, say computer science, and combine it with the writing skill you can hone in your free time - you will be able to have more insight and that gives you an edge over the others.

There are tons of writers out there. Everyone is picking every topics to write about everything. Having a niche separates you from the pack. If you're interested in computer science, good - be the greatest technology writer ever.

If you're serious in making a living out of writing - start doing it, you don't have wait until graduation, you don't even have to wait for your course to begin. Chew every books you can get your hands on, collect and organize the knowledge, and start writing. You can start on your blog. Once you've something to show, proceed to the most important part - networking. If you're in usm, identify who are the veteran technology writers in penang, email them and tell them you are young  but eager to learn from them. Share with them some examples of articles in your blog. Set up a casual meetup in a cafe and talk to them. Chances are this will lead you to more connections and your articles can be published in their media. At least this is how I did it.

Remember, you don't have to wait for a degree cert to do all of these things. All the best to you.
I see. I somehow have to agree with you on that recommendation against it part, cuz i've read some comments earlier from other sites mentioning something similar as well. My mum also said the same thing. But becoming a technology writer...? I've never really thought about it though, but what you mentioned earlier about being able to separate myself from the pack interests me.

I'm curious - what do you write about for environmental science?? You post it on a blog, or do you write for some online sites? And actually i have begun to write online, but it's on Wattpad though. I'm currenty working on some full-length novels on the site and have published some short stories on it as well. I'm into creative writing, really, but some teachers from school have pointed out that i might be slightly stronger in academic writing (like in the case for my MUET writing, scored Band 6 several times for my essay homework. Not the whole muet la, just the writing part.) than creative writing. But i will take your words into account.

Btw, thanks for your message. It was really enlightening and i will definitely keep in mind what you said though. Cuz i never really thought much about writing for some other areas, combining the two. I might give it a go. Thanks once again and hope you'll have a great day and year ahead. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by thisgirlspeaks: Mar 16 2018, 03:46 PM
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Mar 27 2018, 05:21 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(cire2 @ Mar 19 2018, 11:24 PM)
To answer most of your questions, I encourage you to read this link (https://ringgitohringgit.com/earn-online-in-malaysia/) By having a picture of how you are going to earn money writing in the future, you should have a better bearing on what direction you want to head and what decision to make in your current phase. If it's any encouragement, this Malaysian lady is earning over 5 digits monthly by freelance writing. (One of the way she did it is freelance writing for foreign employers, which pay in USD. So you see, being good at English is just somewhat a basic, you need to be excellent in a certain niche to land the job. In her case, she is a finance writer.) Hey, if she can do it, surely you can too.

I would say you should continue experimenting on both creative writing and academic writing. See where your heart go. Obviously, you will excel in what you are passionate about. Of course scouring high mark in MUET is an impressive feat - and a band 6 at that - but let's not forget instead of judging your academic writing based solely on content, a lot of the marks in MUET actually go to the answer format, structure and things like that. So perhaps it's a sign that you are good at identifying what are the rules and you make sure you follow them in your writing?

With that said, like most arts such as photography or movie-making or etc., writing is about knowing what are the rules, and then knowing how to break them in a way that define you and make you stand out.

Personally, if I were you, I would consider what is the topic / field that I am passionate about, aside from writing, in this process of choosing major & university. But that's just me. All the best to you.
Hello and soooo sorry for the late reply!

About the MUET part - i think so? I merely kept in mind what teacher said when it comes to writing (like, the basic formats and stuffs for MUET), but the rest the teacher just leave it up to us to expand and explore. (content-wise) I normally choose stands (agree or disagree, depending on which topic) which is not normally chosen by students to argue and debate on, cuz these stands are usually more challenging (and I like that challenge) to talk and discuss about. Besides, I'd also get to have a good view on what's the other side of the argument instead on just always agreeing on what everyone would normally agree on. Anything that's laid out on the table should have its reasons to be there in the first place. I'd take the place to 'help' those 'overshadowed' and 'under-represented' points to be heard in an argument.

And thanks for sharing the link. smile.gif and thanks again. all the best to you too.
TSthisgirlspeaks
post Jan 20 2020, 11:19 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(mooncaelum @ Mar 27 2018, 08:28 PM)
Hi I'm your fellow junior in STPM ! Congrats on your result and I do hope you will get the course you desire!
I'm in the same situation as you but I only took chinese until PT3 (and I barely passed) , I never got the courage to take up mandarin in SPM and nobody pressured me to do so (even my chinese language teachers discouraged me, because they know I do well in English and they think that is good enough- and my friends they mocked me as well, but I'm never bothered by it because I know how bad I am in the language) May I ask what band you got for MUET?
Hi! I scored a Band 5 in MUET

0.0175sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:00 AM