Suprima vs Mark X vs Inspira, Suprima vs Mark X vs Inspira

6UE5T
post Mar 9 2018, 03:14 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(skrtskrt @ Mar 8 2018, 05:35 PM)
Hi sifus, been a lurker here for a while now but as I'm planning to get a car soon, thought i create an account and ask for advice. So as the title denotes, I'm looking for a used car to be daily driven. As of right now I have the Suprima, Inspira 2.0 and 2006/2007 Mark X in mind. The reason I've included the mark x is because I've heard it is remarkably reliable despite being an older car and I am looking for a car that can suit my driving style that is rather aggresive and heavily right footed. Need a car that can be a reliable daily driver as well as a good zippy one for the occasional spirited drives. I like the suprima but am abit worried about the maintenance as it is a turbocharged car although my friends tell me it handles great. The inspira looks nice for me, but as with the suprima has a cvt and I'm not sure how bad is the delay and whether or not the throttle response is weak in the lower gears( drove a nissan once, the cvt was awfully draggy and irresponsive below 80kmh) and in that sense I much prefer AT cars with the better power delivery. I know performance doesn't go hand in hand with reliability but I'm pretty much trying to find the best balance between the 2. 

So as I see it all of these options each have their respective pros and cons and wanted to get advice to choose between them or any other cars that I've missed out on that fit the bill. Thanks smile.gif
How much is your budget? up to 60K?
6UE5T
post Mar 9 2018, 06:23 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Mar 9 2018, 06:13 PM)
Not sure why would people keep praising a first gen mark x but my experience with it ain't no fun. Drove a 3.0 mark x back in a small town getting out of the car is a pain especially for elders. The driver and passenger safety belt is extremely annoying with rapid beeping.
Probably coz it's a bit lower or the car had been lowered?
The seat belt thing, if you're disciplined then should be no issue. smile.gif
6UE5T
post Mar 12 2018, 03:43 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Mar 9 2018, 09:05 PM)
I never sit in another mark X but I guess it's a bit lower. From outside the car does not seems lowered and everything is original. The car is still equipped with the original head unit in Japanese where the radio FM at max 90mhz.
Yeah the car is just slightly lower in std than most if it's a sport package version, and maybe your seat position was also set at the lowest.
The car is direct import from Japan so that's why the radio is like that. I think can modify, or many just change.
6UE5T
post Mar 15 2018, 03:09 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(skrtskrt @ Mar 15 2018, 12:59 AM)
Hey! Do you own a Mark x?  If you do could pls share some maintenance costs and what is the average cost of ownership per year? Thanks !
You can pm me.
6UE5T
post Sep 2 2021, 01:00 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Aug 31 2021, 11:21 PM)
In regards of the tail happy thing, how does it drive in the rain?
For those mark x without vsc/trc like mine, you can easily provoke an oversteer in the wet if you snap the throttle but in most cases it's ok. The stock setup actually still has a bit understeer so still stable and safe most of the time. Highly recommend to use minimum 225 tires or wider. Mine when came stock with 215/60/16 was quite lively and even easier to provoke a slide with the throttle even in the dry. Now I am using 245/40/18 UHP tires with TRD suspension, it sticks well, feels good on medium to high speed sweepers and tracks nicely on straights even at over 240kph. I need to be very aggressive to provoke an oversteer now, except on tight turns or wet surfaces. Note that few owners last time destroyed their X after just a short time owning because many of them came from low powered FWD but drove carelessly.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Sep 2 2021, 01:09 AM
6UE5T
post Sep 2 2021, 01:08 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 1 2021, 02:39 AM)
with that body width & wheelbase i doubt he saying "tail happy" is real
QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 1 2021, 10:24 AM)
like that say every car r tail happy lo. myself suka play stunts kaki.
not specific to mark x
Let's just say it can bite you if you drive a bit careless. Had happened a few times before, usualy by new owners who were too overzealous and overestimate their skill in catching the snap oversteer.
6UE5T
post Sep 3 2021, 11:44 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Sep 3 2021, 11:32 AM)
Hmmm... didn't manage to oversteer my X before...  sweat.gif
That means you drive carefully enough. I managed to completely spun 360 twice in the wet despite using good 245 UHP tires luckily without hitting anything, plus several times of sliding that I managed to catch.
6UE5T
post Sep 4 2021, 09:01 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(outpace @ Sep 4 2021, 02:49 PM)
Just recently done that in a low powered FWD car recently,  sweat.gif  so fortunate to escape scratch less, hence looking at some options and Mark X I guess tick the reliability box and interesting rear wheel drive-drain experience.
Not a big concern, friend told me that the TC will intervene if you pedal too hard while exiting junction on a wet road, the intensity of intervention gradually increased with generation,
older generation (TC) don't intervene at all all,
mid gen Mark X would reduce torque when sense sliding
newest gen would cut of engine RPM straightaway when it sense slide

is that true? the newest gen even got these * Pre-crash Safety Sense (PCS) * Lane Departure Alert (LDA)

By the way, do you guys worry about the availability of parts in coming years
this is the biggest concern is still since the model ended in 2019, any concern with the parts for said next five years? 2019 +5 = 2024, still plenty of supplies from Japan right?
My X is 2008 x120 G package with no VSC/TRC so I don't know how the VSC behave in detail but yes, with the VSC you cannot provoke an oversteer with the throttle so it's pretty safe.

Should be no issue. I have an Evo 9 and even that old discontinued car (last production was 2006) still can get parts easily.

0.0209sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:53 PM