[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

lolzcalvin
post May 13 2019, 02:59 PM

shibe in predicament
1,592 posts

QUOTE(jhtay96 @ May 7 2019, 05:12 PM)
Hi, wanted to ask is any recommend for mx blue switch keyboard ?
currently thinking about Varmilo VA108M Panda,varmilo-FS-001 ,corsair k70 m.k2, ducky rgb 2
k70 mk2, top tier kb, varmilo and ducky won't get that kind of build quality corsair offers. unless you want printed pattern kb like varmilo then...
lolzcalvin
post May 13 2019, 04:03 PM

shibe in predicament
1,592 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ May 13 2019, 03:25 PM)
shakehead.gif 

sweat.gif 

rclxub.gif
QUOTE(nders @ May 13 2019, 03:31 PM)
oh my goodness. I thought I read it wrong for a whole 5 minutes. Did someone really said that?

rclxub.gif  doh.gif
QUOTE(horns @ May 13 2019, 03:39 PM)
you can pm quovadis123 or GRexer for this.
nice hehe

60% is a go-to form factor if you're really interested in experimenting all sorts of parts. it has the most comprehensive set of mkkb parts (especially pcb, case, and plate)
corsair k70 mk2 is still using abs caps (their awesome pbt caps are only available for their special edition); it's still using non-detachable cable; and it's still having a non-standard bottom row; and their stabs are still not optimized. although i think it's relatively better than other gaming board options, it's not optimal for good typing experience at stock configurations.

have you checked out varmilo's sword series, or their replacement key caps? they have key cap sets that don't have 'printed patterns'. varmilo boards have better stabilizer optimizations in general.

edit: forgot to mention this: the rubberized wrist rest for k70 mk2 is a dust magnet when you use it long enough. don't take my words for it have a try smile.gif

.. and no, i'm not saying this corsair k70 mk2 is bad. however compared to varmilo, it's not that good imo.
sorry but go easy on me, i was drunk
lolzcalvin
post Aug 20 2019, 04:32 PM

shibe in predicament
1,592 posts

anyone knows where to find ducky x varmilo keyboards?
lolzcalvin
post Aug 23 2019, 03:48 PM

shibe in predicament
1,592 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 23 2019, 11:11 AM)
basically you can find them at varmilo.tmall.com
welcome smile.gif you should join mymkb fb page at https://www.facebook.com/groups/MalaysiaMechanicalKeyboard/ also

like irsyadfy pointed out, you can start with ikbc or ducky; even better ones are filco, varmilo, and leopold (these are pricier). alternatively you can get quovadis123 to build you tuned custom boards with common switches to start with. besides soldered commercial and custom boards, you can also choose modular boards in case you wanna mess with switches and mods (e.g., tecware phantom elite).

mkbs are about first-hand experience. from the 3 base switch types, you will gradually refine your expectations about switches, and other parts of mkb, into what you actually prefer.
va87m is under capslock, south facing. i believe most of their boards are like that.

edit: for beginners, it's always ok to start with a board with whatever features that you want. it's better for you to find out your own preferences with actual usage. also, you should join the mkb meetup in december this year if possible, if you wanna experience first-hand various tuned custom boards.
thanks, but it seems like varmilo has its baseplate caved inwards instead of having the same level as the body...afraid that it'll be difficult to dust off dirts

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Aug 23 2019, 04:49 PM
lolzcalvin
post Aug 23 2019, 08:55 PM

shibe in predicament
1,592 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 23 2019, 07:21 PM)
it's not hard actually but ok hehe just get what suits you the most.
well seems like the 87 keys actually is lifted and the caved depth isn't that bad on it...is there a chance varmilo taobao will have some sort of sale? might wanna grab one of those but not immediately
lolzcalvin
post Aug 30 2019, 02:57 PM

shibe in predicament
1,592 posts

anyone has tried varmilo ec switches before? how does it feel?
lolzcalvin
post Sep 27 2019, 02:11 PM

shibe in predicament
1,592 posts

hey all mech kb sifus, i'm torn between choosing Keychron K4 and Varmilo VA108 Panda. I don't know which suits be the best as it's the first time i'm picking a true mech keyboard other than the gaming-labelled ones.

keychron has to wait until november shipment, while varmilo keyboard I have no idea how long does it take to ship via batch shipment (集运). also, the k4 has LK optical switches while varmilo panda can be chosen with cherry mxes (for I would pick MX brown), and the size is 96% vs 87% TKL.

my environment is strictly office work only, as it'll place in my office space, therefore i'll do a lot of typing and coding. any suggestions and opinions between the two? which will give more edge? how long does it usually take to grab something from tmall/taobao?

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Sep 27 2019, 02:13 PM

0.1089sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:18 AM