[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

clivengu
post Feb 7 2020, 03:29 PM

1,850 posts

My 7 years old membran keyboard just died and I am looking to find a good replacement keyboard that can last me for a long time.
I'm planning to venture into mechanical keyboard this round... and has been doing a bit of research last few days. Could you guys recommend which keyboard I should go for. My keyboard size requirement is TKL... No need the num pad, but i'll need the F1-F12 keys.

Im looking into Huntman TE vs Ducky One 2 TKL. May I know what is your take on these 2 keyboards compare side by side, quality wise vs value.

As for the switch. I wasn't very sure... I always like the tactile feel/sound from the Razer blackwidow greenswitches (which I always test play in all the computer shops whenever I have a chance), but at the same time , I am worry it will actually be too noisy for everyday use... My usage are 95% work (photoshop ,autocad, 3ds max etc) , and 5% casual gaming FPS ,csgo etc.

The more I research the more poisoned I am in this. I need to hold back... because honestly, any keyboard should b able to do what I want to do, but im just ... itchy for that .. feeellll.....
clivengu
post Feb 7 2020, 05:14 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 7 2020, 04:55 PM)
im bad at making perspective into words, but welcome to this mkb rabbit hole.

i wouldnt reccomend those 2 kibod just because ppl says so. and for the price you could have a better board, but losing the RGB for sure.
coz base on reviews, razer had some mishaps, and as for ducky, its an ok board. Might as well buy a tecware and cheaply mod it to make it better. still will cost less than a brand new Razer or Ducky but with a much better typing experience.
but with the price estimation and no hassle of modding, i think is better to buy Leopold(i.e Leopold FC750R). never own one, but good reviews and one of the better OEM board overall.

Switch still is a personal preference. Just pick one. Lul. if no like, can always resell later. buy first, think later.  whistling.gif
and trying few switches, will be different then typing on a complete board.
every switch oso got pros and cons. example,
tactile = u gain the crisp sound and tactile feels, but (for me) not good for double tapping in games.
linear = if scratchy no good, but if smooth is like typing on a cloud of boobs.
so again, just pick one. unless u type really really fast, i dont think the sound will annoy officemates.

so good luck !  thumbsup.gif
Thank you for sharing! They are short but informative! The reason I am checking razer n ducky is because I know they are more widely available locally, and I will be able to test them before I buy them.

I am actually looking at Leopold, because I simply love the simple look of it! But I wasn't sure where to get them. I check shopee /lazada and I am not sure if the those price has been hiked up. Or must I buy directly from china/taobao?

As for switches. I assume as long as they are cherry switches, they will feel exactly the same. Meaning I can just go lowyat/any IT shops to test any keyboard with the same Cherry switches?

I try to quickly get into the mkb rabbit hole, and OUT from it as soon as I found one satisfying one whistling.gif

clivengu
post Feb 7 2020, 11:00 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 7 2020, 05:59 PM)
agree on availabiliy.
never owned a Leopold but i think now can get locally oso. not very sure on the price diff if buying straight from Taobao. Others can share info.

yes, basically that. might differ feels a bit due to wear n tear of each shops. just like u driving two godcarmyvi, A might differ from B due to diff wear n tear. but still the same maibi.
I just went to Lowyat to check whatever Mechanical keyboard I can try on. Tried every razer & logitech products. I am surprise to find that I do not actually like the optical switch on the Razer Huntman TE. I seem to enjoy typing the most with the Razer green switch on Blackwidow... Does that mean the Cherry Blue switch will be the closest to my liking for other non razer keyboard?

I tried ducky, but the shop only let me try type on it with the plastic wrapper on top. so basically I cant really get the best feel out of it.

Other brand I came across is IKBC at Viewnet. The sample keyboard they have there is with cherry Red switch, which I can finally confirm is not to my liking.. Anyone using IKBC? is this brand "ok" to begin with? sweat.gif

clivengu
post Feb 7 2020, 11:28 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Feb 7 2020, 11:16 PM)
IKBC boards are nice and solid.
Thank you for the feedback! I am looking into that. Just found out they have official distributor in Malaysia...
clivengu
post Feb 8 2020, 12:04 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 24 2020, 11:29 PM)
My first love is no more. But 75% of her lives on.
[attachmentid=10413500]
Bro, may I know what brand is this? smile.gif
clivengu
post Feb 8 2020, 12:57 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Feb 8 2020, 12:10 AM)
PCB and case from Kprepublic. The XD84PRO.

Switches salvaged from an IKBC CD108 that I killed...
Ohhh shocking.gif this is built from scratch! cool. I actually like your keyboard size and keys arrangement. Very neat and compact! Got all the keys I need in the smallest form factor. Do you have any recommendation of case that has similar layout as this?
clivengu
post Feb 8 2020, 01:02 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Feb 8 2020, 07:31 AM)
The form factor is called 75%, hence the caption.

There are lots of cheap prebuilt boards on Aliexpress if you search for it. If 75% doesn't work, try searching for 84 key as well. If you want to go custom, some shops also provide assembly service at additional cost if you buy all components from them.

If you want to find high quality prebuilts, I can only recommend the Vortex Tab 75, Vortex Race 3, and Drevo Excalibur.
Thanks ! I begin to understand the 75% size. I looked into the 3 prebuilts you recommended , and I love the look of the Vortex Tab 75 the best. But seems difficult to find and buy. May I know for these prebuilt keyboard , I’ll still be able to buy/swap all the key caps in the future if I want to ? Also the switches, I’ll b able to swap if after sometime I like a change of feel.

Will go fully custom cost more than any of these prebuilt? Say my budget is below rm500. And also I’m fond with the idea of going wireless/ Bluetooth if possible to make my set up cleaner . So far I only know Ikbc offer the Bluetooth version . Is there much other option ? Sorry for asking so many questions 🤭 I think I started to get carry away
clivengu
post Feb 10 2020, 12:21 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Feb 8 2020, 03:20 PM)
Vortex can be bought on Taobao. Though with the current situation, it might take a while... I ordered something on Tuesday and it still hasn't been shipped. Taobao sellers aren't usually that slow.

Yes you can change keycaps, they all use switches with MX style stems.

None of the prebuilts I mentioned have hotswap PCBs, so you'll need to desolder and solder to change switches.

Custom is generally more expensive.

Current version of Vortex Tab 75 can do Bluetooth and USB C. IINM there was a first version that did not.
I probably just aim for TKL for this round as they are more option I can choose from. I found a used Durgod K320 at a reasonable price.. Currently my choice is between Durgod K320 and the IKBC CD87. Durgod used at around rm 250, IKBC new for Rm289. Which will be the better choice? tongue.gif
If I decided to play along in the future, I may pursue in finding my ideal 75%.... at the moment, I can't wait as I have no keyboard to use sweat.gif

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 8 2020, 03:43 PM)
ok the actual culprit is key cap installation. it's good to know about this smile.gif
ok the switch type that you prefer is clicky. it's the noisiest of all hehe

imo you should just start with tecware phantom elite tkl. it's affordable, and it allows you to swap switches on-the-fly. to me, it makes more sense than soldered builds if you intended to learn stuff about mkbs.

the main issue about 75% in terms of key caps, is that you should check if the sets that you are about to purchase have all matching keys with your key layouts. for instance, the right shift of vortex tab is 1.75u, and the bottom row needs 3x 1u caps. generic key caps don't have these keys.

if you're interested in learning more, i really suggest getting to know more about basics first. just do this at your own pace. it helps to make more informed decisions later on. and about commercial board options, what we suggest are really for your reference mainly, based on our personal preferences and experience with them.
Thanks for the recommendation. I looked into tecware phantom, it definitely is affordable option but I really don't like the "look" of it.. sweat.gif I hope to get one that I like, and can use it for a long time... Hopefully I won't get trap into this endless searching for the "endgame" ... whistling.gif
But..for tecware phantom elite, it means it is possible for me to swap all the switches & keycap in the future? They are using Gateron switches which I have not learn about them yet.. are they as good as Cherry Mx?

This post has been edited by clivengu: Feb 10 2020, 12:30 AM
clivengu
post Jun 2 2020, 09:32 PM

1,850 posts

Guys, I bought my first Mechanical Keyboard back in February, it was the Durgod K320- used one at quite a good price. Cherry red switches. Just want to share a bit of my experience. TBH it didn't turn up as how I thought it would be. The first impression is definitely good; well-made solidly build keyboard. Heavy. And the doubleshot pbt keycap simply is amazing attention to detail.

In term of typing experience.. I gave myself sometime to get use to it... I am only occasionally a gamer. Most of the time, I do normal typing(+-70wpm), and use with various softwares. After few months of using the keyboard, I think I can conclude that Cherry red Switch simply is not my favorite. I am not sure if I will like Blue or Brown switches. I thought gamer is swear by Red switches, but this 1-2 weeks I have been playing games more often, I found my finger rather tired, especially playing fps and car racing game, where I constantly have to press onto the "W" forward key. I feel like I need to use more force than i used to in compare to those typical membrane keyboard.

As for Typing, i also dont find it excel either... I think the best typing experience I had is the Razer Green Switch... I have tried a few Cherry Blue switch in the stores, and I still feel the razer green feels more "refined". I am thinking to replace my Durgod keyboard with smthing of a tactile keys... but I am a bit hesitate to go Razer as the build quality isn't as good , and the plastic keycap isnt doubleshot pbt which I really enjoy now. But at the same time, I think im more eager to trying out their green switch in my next keyboard.

Another mistake I made is that, I thought I will like the TKL layout... unfortunately for what I do, I really missed the numpad when needed, I always like smaller footprint keyboard such as the 65% or TKL, for its compactness and look. Unfortunately I need both the F1-F12 function keys and occasionally numbpad.. Look like i just have to stuck with a Full size keyboard.

Any advice on what keyboard i should look for next? I really have been thinking maybe mechanical keyboard isnt the thing for me, and I considering jumping back to normal membrane keyboard sweat.gif such as the expensive logitech mxkeys. Before doing that, I like to give mechanical one more try, as I probably just choose the wrong switch.

btw, anyone interested to swap keyboard with me? I wan to experience different switches before investing in one that I really like. nod.gif

This post has been edited by clivengu: Jun 2 2020, 09:33 PM
clivengu
post Jun 2 2020, 09:59 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 2 2020, 09:47 PM)
Stock Cherry red is already a very light switch. Maybe you are bottoming out too hard and find the impact too jarring.

Maybe you can try some o rings under the keycaps?
Maybe im too excited when gaming, (thought press harder will run/drive faster whistling.gif ) , but I most probably im too use to low profile membrane switch.

Yeah been thinking to try O rings under the keycaps and hope it will give a better feel. May I know for O rings, if there is a difference is quality? I check lazada is around rm 50++ per pack
clivengu
post Jun 2 2020, 11:00 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jun 2 2020, 10:09 PM)
Just try the cheap ones first? RM10 and local stock.

https://shopee.com.my/product/181597743/773...3854?smtt=0.0.9
Thanks! Ordered! hehe

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 2 2020, 10:25 PM)
if cherry red 45g spring(written spec) is 60g bottom out, blacks is heavier than 80g bottom out?  rclxub.gif
i do feel my optical blacks gateron is lighter than cherry blacks thou. feels nicer to type kinda liddat.
i have a few kibod sitting in shelf rarely use(can check my signature) and depends on ur location, i dont mind pinjamkan u my kibods just so u can try n keep u in this hobby. lol.
just some off the shelf, nothing is tuned, biasa biasa kibod. dont expect high quality customs. some might be worse than ur durgod oso.

i think u answered ur own question on the tiredness of ur fingers.
using membrane does indeed feels lighter on single keys maybe bcoz the travel is shorter n does not feels heavy when pressing it long time bcoz less spring resistance. maybe. idk.  sweat.gif
Thats so nice of you! Appreciate that! Really wan to poison me kao kao. But I don't dare to pinjam expensive keyboard... stress le sweat.gif .... but i'll be happy to have any blue switch keyboard can test to try out to see if i'll like it better tongue.gif
clivengu
post Jun 8 2020, 03:28 PM

1,850 posts

Guys, im looking at Tecware keyboard, since it is highly recommended , and not expensive. I figure it is worth giving it a try. I have a few question, particularly with its keycap... I definitely not a fan of its keycap and the gamer font they use.. I want to ask if these keycaps standardized , and I can swap them with custom keycap anytime? Also actually im more interested in the low profile switches like the Tecware Phantom L, same thing, is this low profile keycap easy to find replacement? Any other low profile switches mkb can recommend? I think i should like low profile better... tried the logitec G915, I like the low profile.. but the price can cost me an arm.
clivengu
post Jun 8 2020, 08:48 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(casualscroller @ Jun 8 2020, 05:46 PM)
I just got the Phantom L! I'm about to get some cheapo pbt keycaps from Lazada for it just because I really hate the current fonts lol. From my research I think only cherry and dsa profiles will be suitable for this one.
Nice! the pbt keycaps really very affordable! but they are not the slim kind like the one on Phantom L right? I hate the font too.. thats the only thing that holds me back from getting them at the moment.
clivengu
post Jun 8 2020, 09:04 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 8 2020, 07:57 PM)
your reference is gmk honeywell. with a good budget, you will get them for sure. (edit: i mean gmk sets like them lol)
tecware boards are 'highly recommended', mainly because it's the closest thing that can fit to the budget of most people. it also has potentials to be tuned to certain extents by beginners.

low-profile switches still needs time to be popular, to create opportunities and confidence for manufacturers to invest on the right tools to mass-produce things like key caps for them.  until then, options for replacement key caps will be limited.

as for compatibility, due to different implementations from manufacturers, and different designs of stems in certain low-profile switches and stabilizers, it's better to do more research first.
Ic. thanks for sharing... I did a bit of research and seems like it is quite difficult to find any low profile keycap that can work with it... unsure.gif
clivengu
post Jun 8 2020, 10:01 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(casualscroller @ Jun 8 2020, 09:12 PM)
Nope. These low profile keycaps are unique to this keyboard afaik. Hence, referring to the more popular profiles below, cherry and dsa are the lowest and more likely to fit. I'll update once I get the keycaps! Just ordered today.

Thanks for the diagram. So the one u ordered from Lazada is the normal Cherry keycap or the DSA? I have the Durgod keyboard with doubleshot pbt keycap... not sure if I can direct swap the keys with the one on the phantom L. tongue.gif , but letterings will not light up.
clivengu
post Jun 8 2020, 10:17 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(casualscroller @ Jun 8 2020, 10:11 PM)
They should be cherry profile, but I'll reconfirm once I get them! Since they're only $18 its worth a shot.
Ok Looking forward hearing from ur update!

Meantime Im reading this.. and got a bit more understanding on the suitable keycaps:

Tecware Phantom L Review
clivengu
post Jun 11 2020, 06:35 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(seand19 @ Jun 11 2020, 03:21 PM)
hey guys, does anybody owns the logitech g913 for malaysia or 915 for US? i have tried looking for looking local reviews or even buyer reviews via lazada and shoppee and cant seem to find any.

I have already seen professional reviews already but id prefer to get a local take on it.

is it any good?
I tried in store before, and I do like the typing feel of the low profile ...looks+feel really premium in person too.. Is just too expensive for something that I wouldnt able to even swap the keycap.. since the keycap is plastic abs... and will result in glossy keycap after a long run...(Very annoying for me) tongue.gif It is "Almost" the keyboard im looking for tbh. Wireless, lowprofile with rgb.

0.1045sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:37 AM