Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

views

Lybrary P
post Jan 27 2020, 12:01 AM

Probation
0 posts

Hey guys, I'm a newbie to the mech kb hobby and am looking to get a tecware phantom elite tkl with gateron yellows (I heard they are a good budget linear switch). Mainly looking at this kb because of it having universal hotswap sockets which will make it easier for when I try to lube the switches and stabs for the first time and possibly try out different switches later on. Wondering if there are any better recommendations and looking forward to joining the hobby
Lybrary P
post Feb 15 2020, 07:53 PM

Probation
0 posts

Hey! Since my last update I pulled the trigger on buying the Tecware Phantom Elite TKL and lubed up the Gateron Yellows for the board as well as the stabs and the keyboard feels and sounds amazing. I decided to take apart my older keyboard and am going to desolder the Kailh Browns that were on that board to maybe play around with. Wondering if lubing the browns are worth it (lube stem legs or not as well) and if it changes the feel of the browns drastically
Lybrary P
post Feb 15 2020, 11:45 PM

Probation
0 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 15 2020, 11:42 PM)
all switches should be lubed. if possible, do this after a few weeks of use (to make sure switches are broken in first) whether or not it's worth the efforts, you should already know the answer.

for tactile switches, it's up to you to lube the legs or not. again, this is just part of individual preferences. tactility will be reduced after that, but you might like it compared to stock.
ahh I see. Guess I'll just lube a few of them differently and see what I like
Lybrary P
post Feb 19 2020, 02:39 PM

Probation
0 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Feb 19 2020, 10:04 AM)