4)can view using anything.
How do you back up your Photo?
Mar 3 2018, 11:00 AM
17,022 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Server.
1)as backup 2)can share with everybody and everywhere 3)able to upload anytime anywhere 4)can view using anything. |
Mar 5 2018, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(cyloh @ Mar 3 2018, 11:07 AM) 1st copy on my computer primary HDD for post processing. You will get out of handling when size getting bigger.2nd copy on my computer secondary HDD. 3rd and 4th copy on separate portable HDD.... as I do not own NAS/RAID storage Once post processed, 5th copy (jpeg only) on flickr/google drive. I am considering Amazon Glacier storage instead of having too many backups. |
Mar 5 2018, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(kangkayu @ Mar 5 2018, 11:46 AM) M-Disc. It is not reliable. And troublesome.Claims to last for 1,000 years. Con : DVD restricted to 4.7GB. Me : 2 primary HDD, 2 external HDD, normal DVDs, very special images in M-Disc. Cloud : low res images. Why? the painful experience of losing digital assets. Gone now, gone forever. The disc is very much depend on how you store. I have some disc that cannot be read anymore after 10yrs or less. Some can see the reflective coat get corroded. |
Mar 5 2018, 12:16 PM
Mar 6 2018, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(yankiat @ Mar 5 2018, 03:17 PM) Somehow you might miss the notice.Actually it is not main concern. I would like pretty much use the cloud. But some con that make me against it. 1) I can't share the pic with family and friend. I want them just simply open the apps in the phone and view my pic/video. Don't need everytime ask me post/FB my pic/video. 2) Troublesome to upload/download video with big size. Specially video. 3) Once you go terabyte, it is not cheap to maintain the cloud. Paying such fee every yrs, can makan roti. |
Mar 19 2018, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Mar 14 2018, 10:32 PM) Here's my own experience, rather than factor #3. I think cloud storage is very reliable. Cloud storage is reliable. 1. You can make a shareable link on Google drive and share it with almost anyone. I'm sure you have group chats for your family member. Just post them there? 2. With the current internet speed with have, I have no problem to upload a video of a size of 6-8gb. And my customer has no trouble on downloading them. 3. Yes it is not cheap. But worth it. You won't risk losing your data and you can access them with your smartphone and laptop or anything connected to the internet. What is not reliable is the networking down and speed. 1) the fee is high for big storage like me. I need at least 2TB which can cost RM86/mth. RM1032/yrs. 2) NAS server photo sharing is much more easy to share and permanent compare google drive or others. Different kind of sharing and experience. 3) Upload is still pain in the ass. upload speed is much more slower than download. Last week want to backup a 7gb of data into my iCloud cause 3.5hr. Upload to the NAS is less than 10min. A 3days holiday can have a size of album of 20gb. 4) Another good about NAS server is the enjoyment of watching it from TV in your home. You can instantly access it rather from the net. |
Mar 19 2018, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Mar 19 2018, 11:32 AM) Thanks for the input. Price is my only concern now. Currently the famous is this 2, Qnap and Synology. Which NAS drive are you using right now? Perhaps I shall give it a try in the near future when my cloud storage about to be full. I m using Synology. If you using the cost to calculate, A simple 2hdd 4tb NAS can cost RM3k. Probably last you for 6-7yrs lifetime. Google drive for 2tb a yrs cost RM1032/yrs x 6yrs = RM6192. But you still need an external backup even have NAS. Against physical damage and lost. |
Mar 19 2018, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Mar 19 2018, 05:07 PM) I heard a lot about Synology. Perhaps i can give this brand a shot You can go to PC hardware to learn more about pro and con. There is a NAS thread in there.Yeah, despite paying for drive, I still have a few HDDs lying around. One copy at my friend place, another copy at my gf place and also one copy at my own place. Can't afford to mess around with the photos and videos |
Apr 22 2018, 10:09 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Apr 22 2018, 10:20 PM
Apr 22 2018, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(haturaya @ Apr 22 2018, 10:23 PM) Started with DS106+ in 2006, then upgraded to DS112+ in 2012. Have been working well ever since. Changed the HDD a couple of time (full). Daily backup to a set of external HDD every 1am. Better get a 4bay or 8bay. That is enough to last you very very long.Thinking of upgrading to DS218+ later this year. I start from DS107+ than DS409+ and now DS1815+. Both the old DS spoiled already. |
May 29 2018, 01:44 PM
May 29 2018, 05:37 PM
May 29 2018, 06:09 PM
May 30 2018, 09:24 AM
Another point you guys do not overlook is the home security. House burglary will take away your NAS and everything.
Left you nothing at all. Hardware and file all gone. So how good is your NAS, how secure is your file in the hardware is no use once the theft cart away the whole thing. I m not telling story, assumption or talk kok. This is real situation happen to forumer here before. |
May 30 2018, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 30 2018, 06:58 AM) Don't need to buy an expensive UPS. Enough to backup the NAS and modem router is enough. As long as it give sometime for the NAS to shutdown safely is enough. There is no logic to get an expensive UPS to prolong the run time. If you working and the NAS shutdown at home, you not going to rush back anyway. My NAS always shutdown when lightning. I only go back home and reset the RCD . Not rush back. |
May 30 2018, 02:44 PM
May 30 2018, 07:22 PM
Jun 3 2018, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(Doraku @ Jun 2 2018, 10:43 PM) Well M-DISC dosen`t have reflective layer,and it store the data on rock like layer instead of dye on normal dvd Even it is able to last longer, such disc storage is outdated. Some cons about it1) you can't share your creation with people. It main just store/ backup. 2) you need a read/writer player to read the disc. Many new generation pc/laptop does not include disc player anymore. Got to buy it. And you don't no 10yrs later, you still can buy the player or not. 3) The failure to read is still great with other damage point. Example scratch and dented disc. 4) Adding and deleting some file is not as easy and fast compare HDD. Disc size is limiting to GB. Try to create directory in such size few disc. 5) Searching a file is pain in the ass with many disc. Good luck with few TB file. I have gone to this experience. Even I have don't no how many hundred of this disc in 1x. Once I transfer to NAS, all throw away. |
Jun 3 2018, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 3 2018, 05:35 PM) If I get one bay Nas.. for future how do I change the hard disk to larger ones or when hard disk fails.. what are the options I have? Get the 2bay minimum. Don't save on this. Back up using USB to external drive.. for this, can I still bring this external drive to another computer to open the files and read them? If you using 2bay, swap the old HDD out with larger size. Than it will copy over. Once finish, swap another HDD out. For 2bay, you can take out anyone of the HDD out and read from another PC. |
| Change to: | 0.0275sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:08 PM |