Setia Alam by SP Setia, Township project in Shah Alam

bcbg
post Jun 5 2013, 07:29 PM

68 posts

yes, i called up their sales office, says they will be launching the 2.5 sty ones somewhere next year, but plans and pricing not fixed yet. Its gonna be north of setia mall, on the map looks like about 10km away from the current setia indah area.

Btw, those setia indah houses 2 sty ones going for approximately rm700k, can anyone estimate or give some rough idea how much more it can appreciate in say 3 years time? Sp setia no doubt is a town builder, but the location is way out.. So wondering if that's a good place to buy a home and at the same time have good cap appreciation. Would appreciate your opinions on this
bcbg
post Jun 6 2013, 11:05 AM

68 posts

The asking prices for Setia Indah is crazy! I have called dozens of agents/owners and for the 20x70, all asking about 720-770k. Also I have called a few valuers, and they tell me that jalan prices transacted this few months are between 650k-670k only.
bcbg
post Jun 17 2013, 01:49 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(zettygal @ Jun 16 2013, 10:38 PM)
If you are referring to the new units - Melastoma/Maranta, those were sold by developer price of 648-668k 2 years ago. Anyone willing to sell now at 650-670k is selling at a loss. Not logic.
I checked the Melastoma ones, they are going for about RM750k now. the 720k-750k range are the Gloriosa (20x70) ones.
I did not know Melastoma was sold by dev for RM648-668k, so now the owners asking for about RM750k means not much appreciation over the last 2 years too huh.
the seller for Gloriosa said she paid about RM450-500k for her unit back then. Big disparity on prices.
bcbg
post Jun 17 2013, 01:52 PM

68 posts

Last week I went to Setia's sales gallery in setia alam, they have confirmed that the entire block of land parcel marked "developed by others" on their master plan has been sold to PKNS. So now setia's properties are split. 1 part south of citymall, then norther part all taken by PKNS, and after that only the other half of setia.

How do you all view that in terms of appreciation of that area?
Now their sales gallery there busy pushing for their units at semenyih side
bcbg
post Jun 18 2013, 03:05 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 18 2013, 12:00 PM)
setia indah... maybe this will help you negotiate better:

starting dev prices:

gloriosa 588k
gardenia 618k
melastoma 648k
maranta 668k
mimosa 688k

it is obvious the earlier ones can sell around 700k, still get a profit. the later ones - very tough, will need >750k. that's why the range of asking prices.

note majority were bought with 90-95% loan - interest is killing, so some sellers may be very motivated.

go back further, think some can get at<650k.

hope you find one at decent price.
Thanks AVFAN, I've been searching high and low for the prices bought from developer smile.gif
I finally managed to get a Gloriosa unit for 690k! Yes, rather motivated seller. Most sellers are still asking between rm720-750k for the Gloriosa, but the bank valuation for Gloriosa type is just Rm680-700k thereabout.
Of course now that I have bought it, hope prices will pick up further!
thumbup.gif
bcbg
post Jun 18 2013, 07:51 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(waiwai79 @ Jun 18 2013, 06:15 PM)
I tell you one thing frustrating during my search for the house in Setia. I called up and met with dozens of agents. And NONE of them gave the correct/accurate price on their website listing! I will call up, and they will tell me that the price Rm600k 'just' sold, and that property prices there keeps going up by the day, and that I must hurry up else all snapped up! After dozens of times kene the same excuse, I expressed my frustration and the agents told me that 'those other agents' will purposely advertise lower than usual prices in order to get potential clients to call them up. Then these agents will go round setia calling up other agents to co-broke. That's how the system works. In fact I visited close to 20+ agents, but all went back to those few same houses only la. A lot of agents simply advertise prices, but when you ask them point blank, they will say that unit already gone, but they have others within 'higher price range' bla bla. Very fedup also, but I guess its a competitive industry rclxub.gif
bcbg
post Jun 18 2013, 07:52 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 18 2013, 06:50 PM)
good to hear this. fair price today at 690k, imo. seller make a small but decent profit too.
see, if seller keeps asking skyhigh price, no takers for 6-9 mths, the motivation sets in. tongue.gif
6 mths earlier, you could have got a 22x75 for same price but a little older.

btw, you buy for own stay or renting out? indah is good now with many shops open in nearby commerical area.
chinese food, malay food, mamak, banana leaf, coffeshops, 7-11, speedmart, bakery, carwash, hardware - almost everything you want, right there.
Possibly for own stay. I really like the area! Very well developed, no jams smile.gif
Nice and organized layout, not like kelam kabut downtown KL/PJ
bcbg
post Jun 19 2013, 02:28 PM

68 posts

Yea, only later did I realize it would have been better to just call the number on the house itself. Scores of very young freelance agents (not attached to any company) advertising as agents.

Btw, I realized that Indah has guardhouses and patrols, how much are the maint charges? The seller said that so far she has not paid anything, but I don't suppose its free right? Surely now maintenance charges or something? Anyone know? I notice the guards very lax, they just open the boom arm for anyone and everyone ler.. If I stay there, I'm gonna sit on the joint committee (if any)

Gonna sign SNP this mnth thumbup.gif

bcbg
post Jun 21 2013, 11:52 AM

68 posts

The perils of rental properties..
Generally I never rent out to those in security forces (police/army/security guards/rela etc)
bcbg
post Jun 21 2013, 07:17 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(hondaracer @ Jun 21 2013, 06:10 PM)
I am new to Setia Alam..... Where is the location?

Any issue with the house? How old? How far from Chinese Secondary School?

I am keen to buy into Setia Alam... drool.gif
Bank valuation for SP Indah, Gloriosa type intermediate 20x70. OCBC value it about 720k can no problem. MBB kedekut gave max 700k.

The new ones and its dev prices from AVfan:
gloriosa 588k
gardenia 618k
melastoma 648k
maranta 668k
mimosa 688k

The older ones at Impian, especially impian 2-5 or something like that seems to be less popular. Even the agents warn me about cracks due to some land/sand/sinking issue, whatever.. did not confirm it also.
The impians ones are cheaper, 20x70 are like around 500+k, got one unit 30x65 asking 550k only. But these are the older ones la.

You just use your GPS and drive there la, very nice area, lotsa amenities and the roads are wide and well planned. thumbup.gif
In my opinion, its a nice place to stay

The agents were telling me rental there barely 1-1.5k/mnth only..

This post has been edited by bcbg: Jun 21 2013, 07:23 PM
bcbg
post Jun 21 2013, 07:20 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(yschaw @ Jun 21 2013, 05:11 PM)
Perhaps u can try your luck @ SARA forum under the WTB&WTS section. here is he link

SARA
Ah thanks for the link!
bcbg
post Jun 22 2013, 01:54 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(hondaracer @ Jun 22 2013, 11:44 AM)
Hi!!!

Good news.

Hope u can share the result of your search and price.

I am also looking to buy in setia alam.

Driving there now to see see .....
As of last month, I called up a few agents for "Melastoma", asking 750k but they have not gotten the keys yet, so basically you just put downpayment to book it.
As for Gloriosa, asking about 720k now actual owner asking price. As for pictures, just google the house type, they are all pretty standard. But best to just go directly there and call up the numbers advertise ON the actual house itself. Calling up agents online is futile.

But a lot are asking way beyond that. Better check with the bank valuation before commit. So far OCBC most lenient with valuations.
bcbg
post Jun 24 2013, 02:08 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(xyyap @ Jun 24 2013, 11:17 AM)
How is the subsale market @ setia alam?
From my search experience, the subsale market at Setia Indah 12 is quite competitive. 10 agents trying to sell 1 house. But most owners for Indah are still holding out for higher prices since they just got the keys. As for impian, less competition and fairer asking prices vs bank valuations. Indah 13, not yet get keys but quite a few agents already have direct contact with owners who wants to sell before they get the keys. So just have to look at the unit from outside. Generally I would say most owners are still holding out.
bcbg
post Jun 24 2013, 02:40 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(hondaracer @ Jun 24 2013, 02:29 PM)
Hi !

I went to Setia Indah last Sat & Sun, and keen to get a home in Setia Indah.

Is Setia Indah GnG? I see gates and fences. Are these Individual Title, or Strata Title?

Any owners want to sell their house in Setia Indah, I am keen for Setia Indah homes below:
(1) Setia Indah 12 (Gloriosa, Gardenia)
(2) Setia Indah 10 (Regia 1,2,3)

Please PM me the following
(1) Date of VP
(2) Price
(3) Size Land & BU
(4) Bumi/None-Bumi

Thanking all for your assistance.
Buy for investment?
If for investment, maybe the Regia 2 not such a good idea. Did you see the interior? Upstairs 1 big master bedroom and a large bathroom with a tub, then another separate open air shower (literally open air). Somehow I fee the design a bit lacking since the open air part is directly below the roof gutters. I can imagine all the dirty roof water flowing/overflowing and coming right into the bathroom. Also security issues.. 1 big hole there looking for trouble. Anyway, lots of Regia 2 units for sale, asking about rm650.

Gloriosa has the largest BU area, the driveway shorter a bit so the actual house build up is larger which I feel is better la. Last week I was asking around, the asking for intermediate is about 730-740k.

Melastoma designs really nicer, but the BU is smaller, land area also 20x70, but asking already >750k.. a bit not so worth it if compared to Indah 12 designs.

Indah is just guarded. the only GnG is Damai and Eco

This post has been edited by bcbg: Jun 24 2013, 02:41 PM
bcbg
post Jun 25 2013, 01:43 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(tnchsg @ Jun 25 2013, 01:38 PM)
i agree of the weird design, when i visited an unit with my wife, i was thinking that why the owner renovated the house to such a strange design. however, after a call with agent, then i realize it was the original design.

btw, setia impian also a G&G taman, i am staying there.
Oh is Impian GnG? I thought its just gated like Indah? Impian more matured taman and the guards are way better. When I entered Impian, I had to get out of the car to register before being allowed to enter the taman (cant remember which Impian was it), but for the new Indah, we just drive right in only.. no questions whatsoever.

Eh, I especially like the factory looking design lah! LOL
I purposely go get the most factory look-alike (square square ones)
bcbg
post Jun 26 2013, 09:16 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(tnchsg @ Jun 26 2013, 08:47 AM)
the impian houses experienced the sinking problem is true. it happened since day 1 and it is improving right now. i guess the soil settlement is going to reach its steady state. i did check and look at the underneath foundation of the house, so basically the house structure is OK, but you can easily see cracks at the car pouch and backyard (5ft area). this is due to they just built on the earth itself and no foundation to support.
and this can be fixed by having the piling works done before renovation and extension. i get a quote early this year that piling+ backyard extension (2 floors) = rm20000

however this plan might stop for my impian house due to I just got an new unit from BRR...
Where is BRR?

Can kindly share the contact for the contractor that does the piling and extension (2 floors) for rm20k? Am looking for some contractors too
Thanks!
bcbg
post Jun 26 2013, 05:06 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(tnchsg @ Jun 26 2013, 01:46 PM)
bandar bukit raja...should be BBR

i think i need to try my best to find the contractor's contact blush.gif
Ah ok, sorry not so familiar with the surrounding tamans.
Yea, if you manage to find the contractor's contact, do PM me ya. His quote of RM20k to extend both top and bottom floor (2 floors) seems rather decent smile.gif
bcbg
post Jun 26 2013, 05:21 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(gsw8895 @ Jun 25 2013, 02:26 PM)
You manage to buy Gloriosa at 690k ? really good buy..wht direction does it face ? non-bumi lot yup?
It faces south. All those houses there either north or south and I'm ok with both directions. I just don't want west! Yes, non bumi lot.

bcbg
post Jun 29 2013, 12:00 AM

68 posts

Have anyone wondered how SP setia will fare now that its been taken over by EPF, and its chief visionary is leaving SP?
bcbg
post Jun 29 2013, 04:50 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(hondaracer @ Jun 29 2013, 12:40 AM)
Most corporations buy out competitors or new firms with IP. And later the newco will restructure to enjoy the fruits and reduce the duplicated costs.

Sometimes, it is who you know or who is the driver seat....

Will it make setia alam more exclusive and higher price? Now that the "magic touch" is gone??
SP was already a highly efficient company, doubt EPF ability in even running it well, what more reduce duplicated costs. The magic touch of SP will most likely be lost..
Of course the main worry here is that SP's original plan for Setia Alam might not materialize now.

0.0296sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:34 PM