Overdrive in MYVI, how exactly the correct way to use it
spacepilot
May 7 2007, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(karmakid @ May 7 2007, 02:47 PM) haha so u guys perception are same with mine... whereby what explained in wikipedia is the other way round. so one question, what is the diff between "overdrive" and you manually change from D -> 2 ? Most ppl will have that perception but actually OD means you will have an additional top gear so that the output rev is faster than the INput rev. but this produce low torque for comfort driving in high constant speed at a lower engine RPM. Imagine a manual car with OD off is only up to 4th gear and when OD is switch to ON, you will get 5th gear. Simple as that. edit: typo INput This post has been edited by spacepilot: May 8 2007, 09:19 PM
spacepilot
May 9 2007, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(mars2005 @ May 9 2007, 12:45 AM) Overdrive is just a name to describe revolution of engine crankshaft less then the revolution on the wheel. This normally occur at the highest gear shift no matter it's auto or manual gear box. So, switch off overdrive while overtaking is like shifting manual gear from 4 to 3, or 5 to 4. This is correct. In other words, Output revs is faster than Input revs. Take a very simple example, riding a Racer bicycle, have the front gear adjust to the biggest and the rear gear to the smallest, here you have an OVERDRIVE.  Added on May 9, 2007, 10:12 amQUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ May 9 2007, 12:50 AM) isn't overdrive jz letting you stay in da same gear longer (higher revs) den if u dun use da od?? This is the wrong perception most ppl knows, no idea who start it. This post has been edited by spacepilot: May 9 2007, 10:12 AM