Overdrive in MYVI, how exactly the correct way to use it

SUSMatrix
post May 7 2007, 03:21 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 7 2007, 03:00 PM)
It's default on, when u push the button it will show "O/D OFF" and your rev go higher. smile.gif

So leave it ON for normal driving, OFF it if you need that extra bit of power to overtake.
I do OFF it instead of pushing to 2nd gear/brake to slow the car a little sometimes
This is the correct answer.

Karmakid: Wikipedia is also correct. What u got confuse is whether O/D is on or off. If u read Wikipedia's paragraph carefully, it is referring to O/D=On for lower RPM and save fuel.

I'm not sure about old cars or cars in US, but i think most cars here is default O/D=ON. like my Kia Sephia, default O/D=ON. So it allows you to go to a higher gear, saves FC and lower RPM.

If u set it to off, it's like forcing the auto transmission to NOT USE the highest gear, thus allowing ur more power temporary to overtake, etc.

DO NOT SET YOUR OVERDRIVE OFF UNDER NORMAL CIRCUMSTANCES FOR LONG PERIOD. if you set it OFF for prolonged period, your auto tranny/engine will die faster...i think i read it somewhere...smile.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: May 7 2007, 03:24 PM
SUSMatrix
post May 7 2007, 03:49 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

IMO, Shifting to gear 2 is quite useless...only useful when coming down from Genting in order to slow down ur car without excessive braking.

Last time i tried to put 2 to go up genting...useless...then i put O/D off only it performs normally. IMO, just put O/D off and let the ECU determine ur gear ratio instead of forcing it to a fix gear.

But of course, it could be my KIA behave like that...sweat.gif

SUSMatrix
post May 7 2007, 04:05 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(karmakid @ May 7 2007, 03:52 PM)
ok ok....generally concept it's like that la....
well i think kia and myvi gearbox somehow diff in performance also...maybe i should try it out later....
New car...dun go Genting yet!!! sweat.gif laugh.gif Maybe after 5K then try...but don't blame me if u stress ur engine...a friend of mine last time went up with relatively new Kelisa (not so new...maybe around < 1 year),,,after that she said engine very loud noise already...sweat.gif

If go to genting, better go halfway and take cablecar....dun kill ur car prematurely! Lots of nice car parking there at the cable station also...Benz, BMW...and Myvis of course. smile.gif
SUSMatrix
post May 9 2007, 01:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

"It's easier to understand overclocking a CPU than overdriving a gearstick"-Confucious

ok, Ok, Confucious didn't say that, but i just thought it's nice phrase...sweat.gif

0.0124sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:46 AM