Photography About Bags, For everyday use

TSLightningChan
post Feb 26 2018, 02:18 AM, updated 8y ago

420 posts

Hi there sifus and pros.

I've been carrying my small NEX 5R with a small prime lens attached and sometimes another lens in my bag daily coz I take a lot of random shots of random things. Strong addiction to take photos of stuff... lol tongue.gif

Usually I would put the camera and lens in a manfrotto insert (this one :https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71HdQ9dQ6RL._SL1181_.jpg) and put it in my handbag. The problem with that is the insert is too wide causing my bag to become fat and hard to zip.

Then I tried using the bag that the insert came with (Manfrotto Allegra 15W) and placing the camera in without the insert (spare lens in neoprene case). The problem with that is I barely have enough space to put my personal everyday carry items that I would have in my handbag. Worse thing is, because the camera body is not protected by anything. the other stuff would scratch the camera body cry.gif

Can anyone (especially ladies) who carry a camera with them daily recommend something that I can carry both my camera and daily use items inside?. I've look up the internet and those that are recommended are either expensive like Billingham or say "snatch me I'm a camera bag!!" all over. Really do prefer something low profile that looks like an ordinary ladies handbag but still functional and provide enough protection for the camera. Are there such bags in the market? LOL

Finding the perfect camera bag sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by LightningChan: Feb 26 2018, 02:20 AM
adam_lss
post Feb 26 2018, 08:49 AM

7th heaven
4,495 posts

try this bag! u wont get another bag after this!
https://www.lazada.com.my/zorroo-extra-larg....3db23cdcZH3Phc
Everdying
post Feb 26 2018, 10:52 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

lowepro passport sling.
doesnt look like a ladies bag thats for sure, but it also doesnt look like a camera bag...and its only around rm200.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Feb 26 2018, 10:53 AM
sniper on the roof
post Feb 26 2018, 10:54 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(LightningChan @ Feb 26 2018, 02:18 AM)
Hi there sifus and pros.

I've been carrying my small NEX 5R with a small prime lens attached and sometimes another lens in my bag daily coz I take a lot of random shots of random things. Strong addiction to take photos of stuff... lol  tongue.gif

Usually I would put the camera and lens in a manfrotto insert (this one :https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71HdQ9dQ6RL._SL1181_.jpg) and put it in my handbag. The problem with that is the insert is too wide causing my bag to become fat and hard to zip.

Then I tried using the bag that the insert came with (Manfrotto Allegra 15W) and placing the camera in without the insert (spare lens in neoprene case). The problem with that is I barely have enough space to put my personal everyday carry items that I would have in my handbag. Worse thing is, because the camera body is not protected by anything. the other stuff would scratch the camera body  cry.gif

Can anyone (especially ladies) who carry a camera with them daily recommend something that I can carry both my camera and daily use items inside?. I've look up the internet and those that are recommended are either expensive like Billingham or say "snatch me I'm a camera bag!!" all over. Really do prefer something low profile that looks like an ordinary ladies handbag but still functional and provide enough protection for the camera. Are there such bags in the market? LOL

Finding the perfect camera bag  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I use a Billingham Hadley Pro but without the insert so you can think of it as a normal man bag cos I hate the thickness with inserts and cannot stand camera bags

I normally keep my camera in a Daiso PU pouch below for some rudimentary protection though I take special care not to throw my bag around lar. When I do carry extra lenses, I keep them in water bottle warmers made from the same material. Cheap and functional. Been carrying this way for a couple years.

I only use the insert for photography specific trips.

Gambar rujukan:

For camera... I have Fuji XT20, XE2, GF7 and GR so it varies but all can fit.

For lenses... The one I got is much shorter. For smaller primes/pancake lense.... can stack them together.

Lego Warfare
post Feb 26 2018, 12:55 PM

4,676 posts

Peak Design Everday Tote bag would probably be the most ideal for women as an everyday bag type.
MeToo
post Feb 26 2018, 01:01 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Feb 26 2018, 08:49 AM)
This works when you are going on a 3 days camping trip and need to carry everything with you....

No so much when a lady needing an everyday carry...
TSLightningChan
post Feb 26 2018, 02:41 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Feb 26 2018, 08:49 AM)
That's too big for daily use.. haha sweat.gif
TSLightningChan
post Feb 26 2018, 02:42 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 26 2018, 10:52 AM)
lowepro passport sling.
doesnt look like a ladies bag thats for sure, but it also doesnt look like a camera bag...and its only around rm200.
Hmm.. I've seen that before. Shall take a closer look. Thanks for the suggestion yaa notworthy.gif
TSLightningChan
post Feb 26 2018, 02:46 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 26 2018, 10:54 AM)
I use a Billingham Hadley Pro but without the insert so you can think of it as a normal man bag cos I hate the thickness with inserts and cannot stand camera bags

I normally keep my camera in a Daiso PU pouch below for some rudimentary protection though I take special care not to throw my bag around lar. When I do carry extra lenses, I keep them in water bottle warmers made from the same material. Cheap and functional. Been carrying this way for a couple years.

I only use the insert for photography specific trips.

Gambar rujukan:

For camera... I have Fuji XT20, XE2, GF7 and GR so it varies but all can fit.

For lenses... The one I got is much shorter. For smaller primes/pancake lense.... can stack them together.

I like the Billingham Hadley! Unfortunately my bank account don't agree cry.gif

I tried putting those RM20 insert into my handbag. It just feels too fat lol. Daiso PU pouch and bottle warmers might be a solution though. Even the Neoprene lens case I use had a hook and belt loop making it bulky. lol.

Thanks so much for the suggestion. Now to find a bigger handbag.. haha thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSLightningChan
post Feb 26 2018, 02:49 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Feb 26 2018, 12:55 PM)
Peak Design Everday Tote bag would probably be the most ideal for women as an everyday bag type.
I like the design of that one.. but the price range is sitting at the Billingham ballpark... cry.gif

Found one cheaper alternative though. From Manfrotto. (https://www.manfrotto.us/manfrotto-manhattan-3-way-shoulder-bag-changer-20-for-dslr-c). A seller in lelong selling for around RM400 ish.
dvlzplayground
post Feb 26 2018, 09:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

I'm thinking of getting the Crumpler Rocket Booster smile.gif
https://www.crumpler.com/au/rocket-booster/

with the insert from my Lowepro Passport Sling. Great bag, great functionality, but just doesnt look too good.
OOtaii
post Feb 26 2018, 09:43 PM

576 posts

QUOTE(LightningChan @ Feb 26 2018, 02:46 PM)
I like the Billingham Hadley! Unfortunately my bank account don't agree  cry.gif

YL camera is doing clearance sales for bags... including Billingham Hadley
https://www.ylcamera.com.my/collections/cle...oducts/blh-hlst

0.0169sec    2.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:20 AM