10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Multi Currency Account, which bank are recommended?

Hansel
post Jun 29 2018, 09:49 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 28 2018, 07:14 PM)
Sure. No problem. These are rates offered by the bank and Transferwise as of 7.14pm
Cimb SG (Transfer to My CIMB Malaysia Account )
SGD1000 = RM2925.90

DBS Remit
SGD1000 = RM2916.30
- Of course I don't know whether beng priority customer can get you better discount or not.

Transferwise
SGD1000 = RM2936.86

And this is just the tip of the iceberg. Many other remittance company from SG can offer cheaper rates than Transferwise. Seen it before. But we cannot apply as  either
1) open to SGrean only
2) must have address and SG phone no.
OKay, bro,... thank you.

I appreciated your effort here,...

Can you please include the charges for each of the three entities in the above ?

Let's compare in an absolute sense,...
Ramjade
post Jun 29 2018, 05:50 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 29 2018, 09:49 AM)
OKay, bro,... thank you.

Can you please include the charges for each of the three entities in the above ?

I assume it's already nett charges because both Cimb and dbs are not charging fees. Keep in mind that. Transferwise is already nett fees.

Of course I assume that's no charges on our side. That I can't confirm unless I do a real transfer which I am not going to.
jack2
post Jun 29 2018, 05:59 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 29 2018, 05:50 PM)
I assume it's already nett charges because both Cimb and dbs are not charging fees. Keep in mind that. Transferwise is already nett fees.

Of course I assume that's no charges on our side. That I can't confirm unless I do a real transfer which I am not going to.
My account has been approved after sending email to marah them for being slow that exceeded 3 business days as termed.

Thinking to try moving back SGD from DBS to see who is faster and cheaper.
Hansel
post Jun 29 2018, 07:34 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 28 2018, 07:14 PM)
Sure. No problem. These are rates offered by the bank and Transferwise as of 7.14pm
Cimb SG (Transfer to My CIMB Malaysia Account )
SGD1000 = RM2925.90

DBS Remit
SGD1000 = RM2916.30
- Of course I don't know whether beng priority customer can get you better discount or not.

Transferwise
SGD1000 = RM2936.86

And this is just the tip of the iceberg. Many other remittance company from SG can offer cheaper rates than Transferwise. Seen it before. But we cannot apply as  either
1) open to SGrean only
2) must have address and SG phone no.
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 29 2018, 09:49 AM)
OKay, bro,... thank you.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 29 2018, 05:50 PM)

Okay,... in that case, let's assume there are no more charges at our end for the CIMB Transfer and the DBS Remit. But, I am quite sure there will be charges at the receiving end (our end) for TransferWise.

Just by comparing the above three snapshots above, we can derive the following opinions :-

1) The moment there is a charge of RM20 at the receiving end for TransferWise, the amount received will be equal to DBS Remit's. Incoming TT will normally incur this amount, unless it's from the same overseas branch.

If the final amount to be received is the same,... then I will choose to use DBS Remit because DBS Remit is part of DBS, which has many, many more functions than TransferWise.

2) CIMB, fine,... gain of RM10. But CIMB SG is very limited in its functions,... you know that too,... compared to DBS. Sure, as you said in your eg above, CIMB will not incur any charge IF transferring back to CIMB Msia.

But what happens if the sender needs to transfer to ANOTHER Bank inside Msia. There will be charges then !!!!!!!!! And it will be RM20 or more for incoming TT ! The moment there is a charge of RM20, my received amount via DBS Remit would have beaten yours.

Bear in mind that I have not taken into account yet of intermediary bank charges in the above.

DBS Remit - FREE from all charges to any bank in the world except to a Japanese Bank.... Free from Intermediary Bank charges and FREE from Incoming TT charges at the Receiving Bank. I have personally TT'ed to many countries in the world, including Msia using DBS Remit,... it's all free from all banking charges.

NO need to consider abt priority customer or not with DBS Bank,... because to be a priority customer, you need to be a Treasures Customer,... that's SGD350K Assets-Under-Mgmt, which is another cost in our debate here,... hence, just use normal customer only to debate here.

So,... what do you think ?

Ramjade
post Jun 29 2018, 09:23 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 29 2018, 07:34 PM)
Okay,... in that case, let's assume there are no more charges at our end for the CIMB Transfer and the DBS Remit. But, I am quite sure there will be charges at the receiving end (our end) for TransferWise.

Just by comparing the above three snapshots above, we can derive the following opinions :-

1) The moment there is a charge of RM20 at the receiving end for TransferWise, the amount received will be equal to DBS Remit's. Incoming TT will normally incur this amount, unless it's from the same overseas branch.

If the final amount to be received is the same,... then I will choose to use DBS Remit because DBS Remit is part of DBS, which has many, many more functions than TransferWise.

2) CIMB, fine,... gain of RM10. But CIMB SG is very limited in its functions,... you know that too,... compared to DBS. Sure, as you said in your eg above, CIMB will not incur any charge IF transferring back to CIMB Msia.

But what happens if the sender needs to transfer to ANOTHER Bank inside Msia. There will be charges then !!!!!!!!! And it will be RM20 or more for incoming TT ! The moment there is a charge of RM20, my received amount via DBS Remit would have beaten yours.

Bear in mind that I have not taken into account yet of intermediary bank charges in the above.

DBS Remit - FREE from all charges to any bank in the world except to a Japanese Bank.... Free from Intermediary Bank charges and FREE from Incoming TT charges at the Receiving Bank. I have personally TT'ed to many countries in the world, including Msia using DBS Remit,... it's all free from all banking charges.

NO need to consider abt priority customer or not with DBS Bank,... because to be a priority customer, you need to be a Treasures Customer,... that's SGD350K Assets-Under-Mgmt, which is another cost in our debate here,... hence, just use normal customer only to debate here.

So,... what do you think ?
Actually from my experience of using fintech (moneymatch to send money to SG), what you see is what you get. For eg if you are sending SGD3000 to SG, you will get excatly SGD3k in your bank account. Not a cent less. Keep in mind that Transferwise transfer the money to you from their local malaysian bank. So the SGD you send them never actually leave SG. It will go into their SG bank account while they will pay you from their MY account (kind of like IBG/IBFT you the money)

Hope it's clear how transferwise works. Cimb promises no fees if you transfer to your own Cimb bank account but not sure about fees to other bank in Malaysia.
jack2
post Jun 29 2018, 09:29 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

[quote=Ramjade,Jun 29 2018, 09:23 PM]
Actually from my experience of using fintech (moneymatch to send money to SG), what you see is what you get. For eg if you are sending SGD3000 to SG, you will get excatly SGD3k in your bank account. Not a cent less. Keep in mind that Transferwise transfer the money to you from their local malaysian bank. So the SGD you send them never actually leave SG. It will go into their SG bank account while they will pay you from their MY account (kind of like IBG/IBFT you the money)

Hope it's clear how transferwise works. Cimb promises no fees if you transfer to your own Cimb bank account but not sure about fees to other bank in Malaysia.

So conclusion using TW is cheaper? I saw there is few options like ACH, wire transfer and international wire transfer.

Which one to choose
Ramjade
post Jun 29 2018, 09:39 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 29 2018, 09:29 PM)
So conclusion using TW is cheaper? I saw there is few options like ACH, wire transfer and international wire transfer.

Which one to choose
Depends la. So many companies offering the same thing. Not necessary TW is the cheapest. World First is actually cheaper than TW (for SGD > RM). But there's a problem with WF as you need to prove to them you are staying in that origin country before they let you transfer. Eg, open account from Malaysia means can transfer using RM only. you cannot transfer SGD if you open the account from Malaysia.

But fintech is definitely cheaper than banks. Surveyed already.

ACH is basically your IBG/IBFT for US bank account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 29 2018, 09:40 PM
Hansel
post Jun 30 2018, 12:42 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 29 2018, 09:23 PM)

I have heard of such operations.

You don't sound confident, but if you are right abt their operations, then either BNM has relaxed their rules,... or this TransferWise will not last long. There will come a time when they will suddenly stop operation after you banked-in the money to them. I know of these operations. I used to use them too,... until they were warned by BNM. And they stopped operations. A popular moneychanger (BR) used to do this until they stopped.

But I'm keeping an open mind here. So,... they just do money-matching only and no actual transmittals take place ?

Cimb promises no fees if you transfer to your own Cimb bank account but not sure about fees to other bank in Malaysia.

No need to repeat what I have already said earlier. Like I said earlier : No point if transferring only to own bank is free.
hyperzz
post Jun 30 2018, 03:47 AM

215 posts

It's reasonable to doubt TW as this is a relatively new company. You can always consult Mr Google to find out more about the background of TW and who are the big names or venture capital that back TW.

I think TW won't go burst anytime soon. In fact, the high street banks are feeling the heat from fintech, especially in Europe and the US.

Ramjade
post Jun 30 2018, 05:38 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 30 2018, 12:42 AM)
Bro apparently you have not read enough. BNM relaxed their rule that's why we have 2 fintech able to operate out of Malaysia for transferring money.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...icences-issued/
However the cheap ones for transferring money out of Malaysia are moneymatch, instarem and max money. Transferwise does not have license to transfer money out of Malaysia but they have license to transfer money into Malaysia.

BNM tighten their rule and moneymatch can't transfer to your own account anymore. Transferring to family account no problem. But no issue with instarem and max money.

TW will not last that long? They are actually very profitable. TW is from UK. They are giving big banks a run for their money as more mat salleh are choosing transferwise. Transferwise is huge in Europe and US.
https://techcrunch.com/2017/05/16/fintech-u...l-services/amp/.
https://www.bloomberg.com/amp/news/articles...oubling-revenue

I can't help but agree with hyperzz statement. Big banks are feeling the heat from transferwise in Europe since Transferwise was born. Transferwise have been very vocal about big banks.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 30 2018, 05:58 AM
jack2
post Jun 30 2018, 05:51 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 30 2018, 05:38 AM)
Bro apparently you have not read enough. BNM relaxed their rule that's why we have 2 fintech able to operate out of Malaysia for transferring money.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...icences-issued/
However the cheap ones for transferring money out of Malaysia are moneymatch, instarem and max money. Transferwise does not have license to transfer money out of Malaysia but they have license to transfer money into Malaysia.

BNM tighten their rule and moneymatch can't transfer to your own account anymore.  Transferring to family account no problem. But no issue with instarem and max money.

TW will not last that long? They are actually very profitable. TW is from UK. They are giving big banks a run for their money as more mat salleh are choosing transferwise. Transferwise is huge in Europe and US.
https://techcrunch.com/2017/05/16/fintech-u...l-services/amp/.
https://www.bloomberg.com/amp/news/articles...oubling-revenue
TW has branch in KL but Tak ada vacancy bo...

Ramjade
post Jun 30 2018, 06:18 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 30 2018, 05:51 AM)
TW has branch in KL but Tak ada vacancy bo...
No their nearest branch is in SG. All customer service have to call SG.
jack2
post Jun 30 2018, 09:44 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 30 2018, 06:18 AM)
No their nearest branch is in SG. All customer service have to call SG.
US account send to TW US is real time?
Ramjade
post Jun 30 2018, 01:12 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 30 2018, 09:44 AM)
US account send to TW US is real time?
Should be kot. Never get chance to test it out.
jack2
post Jun 30 2018, 01:36 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 30 2018, 01:12 PM)
Should be kot. Never get chance to test it out.
How about TW to TW?
hyperzz
post Jun 30 2018, 01:55 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 30 2018, 01:36 PM)
How about TW to TW?
ACH transfer is either free or low cost but it takes longer time, usually 1 to 2 days.
jack2
post Jun 30 2018, 01:59 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Jun 30 2018, 01:55 PM)
ACH transfer is either free or low cost but it takes longer time, usually 1 to 2 days.
Which method is the fastest
Ramjade
post Jun 30 2018, 02:04 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 30 2018, 01:36 PM)
How about TW to TW?
You are asking the wrong guy. I just set up my TW account and I don't have any US person to send me money yet. Open up account to save money on cash back received from US site rather than ask them to pay into PayPal.
jack2
post Jun 30 2018, 02:16 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 30 2018, 02:04 PM)
You are asking the wrong guy. I just set up my TW account and I don't have any US person to send me money yet. Open up account to save money on cash back received from US site rather than ask them to pay into PayPal.
Ok la bang...
jack2
post Jul 1 2018, 10:51 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Just got someone payment using TW. It is real time.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:26 AM