Multi Currency Account, which bank are recommended?

Ramjade
post Jul 4 2018, 07:43 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 4 2018, 06:58 PM)
Have you ever tried to remit to Indonesia?

This TW took 4 days and hasn't released the fund sent from my client. Claimed need check... Just AUD 45 and they took 4 days ..
Another is USD 10.

Even if I remit use banks, I have got the clearance. I will never use them regardlesd of cheaper than DBS.

Useless service with slow response.
No one uses TW for transferring money to Indon. doh.gif doh.gif Use TW to send to Western country where you have no access unless you fly there and open account
Reason is TW is based in UK and they see Indon as a dirty country. So the need to check the money. They already mentioned in their FAQ indons are some country where it will take longer time.

If you want fast send to Indon, use what the illegal/legal indons here are using. Same day will reach and is super cheap. Service is available at most money changers and special shops in KV. Don't waste money on those fintech to send money to send Indon not worth your money.

Reason those remittance service and money changer can offer cheaper rates than what TW or other fintech can provide is because of the bulk of businesses they are getting.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 4 2018, 07:48 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 5 2018, 12:25 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 5 2018, 11:52 AM)
Why so susah when using TW ??????????
And so susah need to go to those money changers and special shope.

Use DBS REmit-lar,.......... all from the comfort of the home.

OR ARE YOU GOING TO COUNTER-DEBATE THAT INDONS HAVE NO WAY TO OPEN DBS ACCOUNTS ?  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  That's argument-based technicality,... but I can also counter this argument if you reply me like this,...
Bro I am talking about those illegal indons la in Malaysia. Learn a thing or 2 from them. Why do they go those special shops/money changers? Cause the rate is cheaper than banks. They need to get as much Rp as possible per ringgit. By going to banks, the amount of Rp received is significantly a lot vs going to those shops. And being poor, getting as much Rp per ringgit is your their main concern in providing for their family back in Indon. Lots of illegal indons have Maybank and Cimb account. So they can use Malaysian banks to send money back, but why bother with special shops and money changers? biggrin.gif

If indons want comfort job, they won't want take on jobs like construction worker.

Same concept in SG. Why do you see so many foreigners going to special shop in SG/money changer in SG? Because it's cheaper to send money via those channels than via banks. Again, we must learn a thing or 2 from those people.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 5 2018, 12:26 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 5 2018, 03:08 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 5 2018, 12:48 PM)
Now I bash back : LEARNING IS OKAY. BUT YOU ARE COMPARING THOSE TECHNIQUES ABOVE TO JUSTIFY FOR THE WEAKNESS OF TRANSFERWISE. AND THIS IS THE WRONG WAY TO DEBATE/ARTICULATE !!!!!!!!

The way you wrote : You are telling Jack that, to TT to a western country, can use TW. But to TT to Indonesia, perhaps must go to those special shops, because TW has a clause in their FAQ saying that TT'ing to Indonesia is not 'encouraged'.

Why like that ?? Then wouldn't better to tell Jack to use DBS Remit instead of using those special shops ???

By using DBS Remit, he will just need to pay a slightly higher exchange rate, then he can TT from a one-stop shop from the comfort of his home to anywhere in the world. NO restrictions,....

So,........ which is better now ??? DBS Remit oo TransferWise ??? Or are you going to say depends on where you TT to ???  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
He as a malaysian have access to those special shops which SGreans lack. So you have access why not use it? Only if you don't have access, you need to think up of ways to gain access.

Er actually I will go with depends on where he want to TT. Every tool have it's own pros and cons. Just the right tool for the right job!

Ramjade
post Jul 5 2018, 03:59 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 5 2018, 03:21 PM)
Remit USD to MYR in TW is more better than DBS...sad
Good. Told ya. If you want to give DBS free money and have less money for yourself, go ahead and use DBS. If you want to have more money for yourself then bear with it and use TW. You can't win everything.

For me very simple. I vote with my wallet. Whoever can give me cheaper rates will get my money. No brand or bank loyalty. If DBS can give me better rate, I will use them. If TW can give better rate will use TW.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 5 2018, 04:00 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 6 2018, 09:29 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Jul 6 2018, 04:06 AM)
Agreed. I am certain that 90% of the time TW's exchange rate is better than any banks in the world, for transfer in small amount (< $10K). Only some competing fintech startups would offer slightly better exchange rate. But they can't go too much lower. The bottom line is the interbank exchange as seen in Google.

Watch out for Revolut which is currently not available to Malaysia yet but they are expanding and competing head-to-head with TW.
Fintech really good in letting the masses move money cheaper. If not for them, we will be stuck with blood sucking banks.

Hopefully they are available to Malaysian soon.
Ramjade
post Jul 9 2018, 09:46 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 9 2018, 03:47 PM)
Wait, all these talk about DBS and TW is based on a situation where you send the money yourself? Can't think of any professional company using them to pay salary though.
As reply below. I open TW as I am receiving CB in USD. Not going to give the extra money to PayPal.

QUOTE(hyperzz @ Jul 9 2018, 07:53 PM)
For TW, you can provide your GBP/EUR/USD/AUD Borderless account number to your oversea employer and ask them to pay your salary by the way of local bank transfer in the UK/EU/US/AUS. Not a cent will be lost in the transfer.
The fund received will be kept in GBP/EUR/USD/AUD and you can convert them into MYR for transferring into your Malaysian bank account anytime.
In this way, you can do the conversion when the rate is favorable to you.
Ramjade
post Jul 9 2018, 11:44 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 9 2018, 10:19 PM)
For sure, we can trust TransferWise, for the purpose of remittance. We can choose to convert our salary a few days later, once the exchange rate is favourable to us, as you rightly suggested.

But, can we treat TransferWise, as a savings account for a long period of time, for safekeeping of our money? After all, TransferWise is not a bank.
I will trust it more than I trust a bank. Bank loan your money out. They don't.
Secondly, they are gearing up towards the "international nomad community"
Ramjade
post Jul 10 2018, 08:32 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 10 2018, 07:11 PM)
Hmm,... dangerous account to have,... say something wrong or do something wrong,... terus deactivate ?....
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 10 2018, 07:32 PM)
Walao...bad customer service. Better don't use them.

If you want, email complain to authority in Sg, like CASE and CCCS

Make TransferrWise work a bit. Let them answerable. Teach them a lesson...
Keep in mind that Jack is involved with cryptocurrencies.

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 10 2018, 07:44 PM)
I will not leave my money with someone who treat customer service like rubbish.

Banks are regulated by governments. While these fintech have free hand to manage their business.

It just take a very aggressive CEO to screw things up. And your money with them is gone for good
Actually fintech are regulated by central banks. No license cannot operate.

For me I have very good experience with TW. Told them I will be very busy for the week. I am only free for 30 minutes and I was going to sleep. They call me back in that 30 minutes to reset my password.

Never seen such efficiency. Call me from UK!!!

I have been dealing with customer service from western companies for 4 years + one thing I am sure is they are more efficient compare to Asians (Malaysia & SG)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 10 2018, 08:32 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 11 2018, 12:09 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 10 2018, 11:14 PM)
Done ! Impressed !

Just verify email, upload ID document and utility bill. I have all these documents in soft copy so very smooth.

UI is very clean and simple. No connection hiccup.

For local fintech, the KYC process is longer. Need to make appointment to either video call or meet in person. Maybe that's BNM rules. This one is very simple.

Receive email for confirmation also very quick. Now see if my money appears in my bank tomorrow as promised.

The only thing I don't like is payment is not linked to my bank. Have to log in separately and make a transfer

Everything kaotim in 15-20 minutes I think.

The nett rates is just under 0.8xx% over XE.com middle rate. Good for small amount. Comparable to local fintech. I think there is no bank charges at receiving bank. So rates is better compare to banks

Fintech is great for us  thumbup.gif
Welcome to the world of fintech. At least you are open minded biggrin.gif

Another way you can save tone of money on exchange is via interactive broker. They let you convert currency at almost spot rate (differences is negligible). The con is need to keep USD100k inside there in cash or stock and you won't get charged USD10/month.
Ramjade
post Jul 11 2018, 04:00 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 11 2018, 01:30 PM)
Like a true sifu  thumbup.gif

A miser might save dimes & quarters, but loses opportunities.

By opportunities I mean technical KnowWho, human relationship, reputation, track records....

I think it is safe to say nobody likes to be a close friend with a miser. A person who is not cincai. A person who reminds you 1 week later you still owe him RM2.65 from the last dinner.

Career wise, colleagues and bosses will not think of him if there is an opportunity.

In business, build up relationship and track records with the customer, suppliers and banks. Share profits with them. So next time you expand business they will also look at you positively.

These are things not quantifiable in numbers.
Banks are not your best friend. Never will and will never be. In times of your need they don't help you. In good time, they try to profit from you.

Are you willing to share your profit with people like them? Not me. Sorry.

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 11 2018, 03:50 PM)
Yea always there are exceptions.

While you can quote me one super wealthy miser, I can quote you 10. Just do a research on the wealthiest people in the world and how they live
Warren buffet also another one. He have resources to live like a king but yet he stayed down to earth. Same goes with Bill D gates.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 11 2018, 04:01 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 12 2025, 11:36 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 12 2025, 10:09 AM)
Can you exchange currency instantly?

E.g. rm3k from MYR to USD, and then immediately back to MYR?

Is the interest rate updated daily or by the second?
If you change on the spot back and forth you lose out on the spread. Don't try to change on the spot back and forth.
Ramjade
post Sep 19 2025, 04:43 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Sep 19 2025, 03:20 PM)
How about Maybank Global Access Account-i compared to RHB multi currency account? which one has better rate?
Both are quite similar multi currency account with debit card.
I think rhb is better. Someone said something about Maybank not cheap.

0.0231sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:30 AM