Nintendo DS Wi-Fi USB Connector, Related question...
TSD.Sync
May 6 2007, 05:34 PM, updated 19y ago
I just check the aforementioned product review here. And to my surprise, it's only shaped like a normal USB thumb drive. I'm just wondering how does this thing work? It doesn't had any antenna or radar sensor thing so how does it create a wireless hotspot for my DS to connect?
rattan
May 6 2007, 06:17 PM
Droid
some kinda technology la bro.... hehehhee
valppy
May 6 2007, 07:09 PM
swatwolf got ler...ask him about it...
rumizu
May 6 2007, 08:26 PM
i oso have dis thing if u r a noob about wifi connection, dis device is very good for u..
1. Install it using the cd given, then plug in da device.. 2. Load any game dat has a "Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection" logo on da cover 3. Go to the nintendo wi-fi setting of the game by clicking "Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection Settings" 4. Click the "Connect to your Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Connector".. 5. If u hev followed the above steps, just tap A on the next screen.. Ur NDS will connect to the wifi connector.. 6. On your pc, allow the nds that have been detected from your nintendo wifi registration tool.. 7. If u success, a msg will tell u that u've succeeded and then saved ur setting.. 8. A connection testing will be done.. If everything's ok, then u can go online..
This post has been edited by rumizu: May 6 2007, 08:30 PM
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
May 6 2007, 08:35 PM

I have this. Rumizu pretty much explained how this works.
Please note that this only supports Windows XP. If you're using Vista, you might not get it to work properly (driver issues).
TSD.Sync
May 6 2007, 09:54 PM
I see. Hopefully this handy device is sold in my town area.
rumizu
May 7 2007, 12:03 PM
D.Sync I don't think this device is available here.. Ppl usually buy online, for example at Play-Asia..
Instead of Nintendo Wifi Connector, u can also buy WiFiMax from Datel.. It's much better since u can connect other Non-Nintendo device such as PSP or laptop to the network using it...
TSD.Sync
May 7 2007, 12:22 PM
If only I had my own credit card, I will definitely consider to buy online.
rumizu
May 7 2007, 12:30 PM
How bout u get a NexG debit card from Ambank.. It is a Mastercard, so u can do online shopping using it.. Just reload the amount dat u need then u can do the purchasing... The starter pack cost RM 25.. and ur application will definitely be approved..
TSD.Sync
May 7 2007, 02:23 PM
Guess I'll take that alternative. Local store didn't sell.
Monster Hunter G
May 7 2007, 07:20 PM

There is no "magic" lah dude its just your typical Wi-Fi USB dongle. Ever used a Bluetooth dongle on your PC before? its basically the same concept, basically the Dongle/Adapter "tricks" your PC into thinking it has set up an Wireless access point while in general its just your dongle transmitting Wireless signal from your internet line. So its just a "Miniature" access point. Compared to a router the signal isn't as strong and only limited number of devices can be connected to the signal at a time.
You can get certain brands no need to be Nintendo, since Nintendo also rebranded from Belkin WIFi adapter. Im pretty sure I have heard some forumner mentioned certain models of the adapter able to support the DS and PSP but can't remember what brand it is. Last time PCFair also sold some of these for quite a good price.