How's android doing?
Feb 21 2018, 10:21 AM, updated 8y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
110 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
How is android devices now? Have heard and read that even an android flagship (Samsung Galaxy S8) started light lagging after half a year of normal usage, which is too soon? Does it crash? How is android interfaces now, clean or messy? Can it withstand normal to heavy gaming? My iPhone 6s is still holding up well even after 1.5 years of normal usage+normal/heaving gaming, the only time i need to switch off my phone is due to extreme low battery level, flight, or crashes. Only crashed 5 times in this 1.5 years. The most notable aging part on this iPhone is probably the battery, but i think that will be the case with android devices as well. My iPhone 6s will be due in a year due to age. Thus i plan to buy a new phone in the coming year but the prices of new iPhones now is a scam. Used to be android user, switched to iPhone back then because i like the simplistic design of its hardware and software, and also the fact that it is more stable. (Back then, android devices, even flagships, crashes too often.) Only started to like the design of Samsung S8 and Note8 series due to simplistic design, so i might migrate to either S8 or Note8, or the 9 series in the future. Does new android flagship devices hold up well? Lags? Heats? Crashes? Stability? |
Feb 21 2018, 10:31 AM
531 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Imo, the only android device that could hold up to iPhone's level of software and hardware used to only be Google's Pixel lineup. And it's still kinda is honestly.
Their software is rock solid stable, to the level of iPhone smoothness and without lagging and stutters, and it remains smooth unlike other flagship smartphones. The camera is the best out there, even better than the Galaxy and iPhones. And their hardware design is unique, all that with the purest form of Android. But the current Pixel 2 phones with their many screen issues (personal preference) and their serious lacking of ease of accessibility in Malaysia pushed me over to the iPX. If Android, Pixel. Else, iPhone. |
Feb 21 2018, 10:45 AM
492 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tawau |
Honestly, for smoothness and stability still iphone the best.
Currently using S8 Plus and iPX, S8 sometime still lag or app crash more often then the IPX. Depends on ur usage, if for stability, iphone still best im my opinion |
Feb 21 2018, 10:54 AM
4,602 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
I am currently having an s8+ and note 8
Will I trade it for an iPhone . Never iPhone hide normal crashes by jumping to homescreen and if serious ones it restart the phone so you feel iPhone never crash. While android it display the crashes to you so once awhile it show message app crash is normal. Stability Android not so bad like those years lag, hang and crash instead it's pretty smooth but crashes does occur once awhile instead iPhone they hide the crash while android show the crash. Design I kinda addict to s8 and note 8 curve edge and infinity display if gives a 3d look on your phone. Dual SIM This the part I like about android can just put 2 Sims when apple expect you to buy 2 phones Memory card expansion Android I can expand my memory by just buying a memory card I just added 128gb now it's 64+128 Function What I like about android is about customisation and free to install any APK I want without the need of jail break Widgets I also like widget on android can show live information without the need opening apps. Samsung Pay This the best i already have 12k points i can redeem samsung powerbank, gear watches, wireless charger and etc with the point. I can even redeem starbucks, kenny roger and etc for free This post has been edited by Theoutspokenguy: Feb 21 2018, 11:01 AM |
Feb 21 2018, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(ronaldlim91 @ Feb 21 2018, 10:31 AM) Imo, the only android device that could hold up to iPhone's level of software and hardware used to only be Google's Pixel lineup. And it's still kinda is honestly. Pixel2 for me, the design is still ...neh.... The mixes of materials make it look like a 'normal android phone'. I like how the design of S8 is, not unibody but lookes like it, simple and good.Their software is rock solid stable, to the level of iPhone smoothness and without lagging and stutters, and it remains smooth unlike other flagship smartphones. The camera is the best out there, even better than the Galaxy and iPhones. And their hardware design is unique, all that with the purest form of Android. But the current Pixel 2 phones with their many screen issues (personal preference) and their serious lacking of ease of accessibility in Malaysia pushed me over to the iPX. If Android, Pixel. Else, iPhone. As for the screen, yup it is definitely an issue. QUOTE(pennzoil @ Feb 21 2018, 10:45 AM) Honestly, for smoothness and stability still iphone the best. Is the lag pretty often? and how bad? I know android has issues of not registering touch, iPhone faces the same issue too but just much much less. Currently using S8 Plus and iPX, S8 sometime still lag or app crash more often then the IPX. Depends on ur usage, if for stability, iphone still best im my opinion Well, probably have to see what apple has to offer this September and decide. Samsung S9 is coming out soon, have to take a look on that as well. QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Feb 21 2018, 10:54 AM) I am currently having an s8+ and note 8 Sorry, but don't be a fanboy of any side and try to attack the other.Will I trade it for an iPhone . Never iPhone hide normal crashes by jumping to homescreen and if serious ones it restart the phone so you feel iPhone never crash. While android it display the crashes to you so once awhile it show message app crash is normal. Stability Android not so bad like those years lag, hang and crash instead it's pretty smooth but crashes does occur once awhile instead iPhone they hide the crash while android show the crash. Design I kinda addict to s8 and note 8 curve edge and infinity display if gives a 3d look on your phone. Dual SIM This the part I like about android can just put 2 Sims when apple expect you to buy 2 phones Memory card expansion Android I can expand my memory by just buying a memory card I just added 128gb now it's 64+128 Function What I like about android is about customisation and free to install any APK I want without the need of jail break Widgets I also like widget on android can show live information without the need opening apps. Samsung Pay This the best i already have 12k points i can redeem samsung powerbank, gear watches, wireless charger and etc with the point. I can even redeem starbucks, kenny roger and etc for free Apple expect us to buy two phones? You yourself bought two phones anyway. This post has been edited by ind3pend3nc3: Feb 21 2018, 03:37 PM |
Feb 21 2018, 03:29 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,027 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Feb 21 2018, 10:21 AM) How is android devices now? I suggest four smartphone companies that I find the most reliable(in software and hardware, personally prefer function over form) Have heard and read that even an android flagship (Samsung Galaxy S8) started light lagging after half a year of normal usage, which is too soon? Does it crash? How is android interfaces now, clean or messy? Can it withstand normal to heavy gaming? My iPhone 6s is still holding up well even after 1.5 years of normal usage+normal/heaving gaming, the only time i need to switch off my phone is due to extreme low battery level, flight, or crashes. Only crashed 5 times in this 1.5 years. The most notable aging part on this iPhone is probably the battery, but i think that will be the case with android devices as well. My iPhone 6s will be due in a year due to age. Thus i plan to buy a new phone in the coming year but the prices of new iPhones now is a scam. Used to be android user, switched to iPhone back then because i like the simplistic design of its hardware and software, and also the fact that it is more stable. (Back then, android devices, even flagships, crashes too often.) Only started to like the design of Samsung S8 and Note8 series due to simplistic design, so i might migrate to either S8 or Note8, or the 9 series in the future. Does new android flagship devices hold up well? Lags? Heats? Crashes? Stability? 1. Sony 2. Google 3. HTC 4. OnePlus 5. Motorola My picks 1. HTC U11+ 2. Google Pixel 2/2 XL 3. Sony Xperia XZ1/XZ1 Compact 4. Sony Xperia XZ Premium 5. OnePlus 5T 6. HTC U11 7. OnePlus 5 8. Motorola Z2 Force MWC is right around the corner, so just prepare for the wave of new phones. But the question is which are the best from the show? |
Feb 21 2018, 03:34 PM
51 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
My picks on android phone
1. HTC U11+ 2. Google Pixel 2 I don't agree with S8 is android flagship.. |
Feb 21 2018, 03:38 PM
4,602 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
QUOTE(ind3pend3nc3 @ Feb 21 2018, 03:05 PM) Pixel2 for me, the design is still ...neh.... The mixes of materials make it look like a 'normal android phone'. I like how the design of S8 is, not unibody but lookes like it, simple and good. I am also not a fanboy used to own iPhones until I find the weakness on apple. Even apple have many issue about secretly slowing down your phone, some bugs that crashes the phone oftenAs for the screen, yup it is definitely an issue. Is the lag pretty often? and how bad? I know android has issues of not registering touch, iPhone faces the same issue too but just much much less. Well, probably have to see what apple has to offer this September and decide. Samsung S9 is coming out soon, have to take a look on that as well. Sorry, but don't be a fanboy of any side and try to attack the other. Note that I came here to understand Android more and am finding opportunity to enter back into android, not to attack Android or claim how well Apple as a whole is. "Crashes does occur once in awhile", and that's a lot. iPhone doesn't hide the crash, when it crashes, it shuts down, i definitely would know it, I have eyes to see. If you meant app crash, hell, all phones have app crashes. Free to install any APK? Well, thats why android phones, especially those that download outside from Google Play Store, is so susceptible to viruses and hacks. Most of the feature that u mention isn't relevant at all in this conversation. What i focused on is stability, crashes, not widgets, memories, simcards and your ego. Apple expect us to buy two phones? You yourself bought two phones anyway. Yea I personally have experience iphone crash it just restart and the loading logo just rotate even I help my friend recover guess where the fun part she didn't backup data because iCloud was full need to pay for more space. iPhone owners practically need to pay alot more for space because there no removable disk. Ordinary people compare their entire eco system not 1 subject like stability and nothing else matter that your ego calling. If you are already an apple fanboy then why are you comparing. Just get the next iPhone. If you just want focus 1 feature stability then go for apple no other brand hide their crashes as good as apple. When I said this I saw the app crash right infront of me . I bought two phones so I can have 4 Sims and not 2 Sims. Even apple you certainly said won't get virus and hack you forgotten iCloud was hacked and all celebrities photos are leaked? Lastly, i am just giving my opinion why I prefer android over iOS that why I list down different subject based on you mention Samsung s8 not your ego about fanatic of the apple brand. So relax. This post has been edited by Theoutspokenguy: Feb 21 2018, 03:40 PM |
Feb 21 2018, 03:39 PM
887 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Huawei ok je, not the fastest not slow either, seldom crash, but phone battery can tahan very long, much longer than any flagship, suitable for ppl like me who dont like to bring power bank everywhere. Camera easily top 3 among flagship
HTC & Sony not relevant in 2018 already |
Feb 21 2018, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Feb 21 2018, 03:39 PM) Huawei ok je, not the fastest not slow either, seldom crash, but phone battery can tahan very long, much longer than any flagship, suitable for ppl like me who dont like to bring power bank everywhere. Camera easily top 3 among flagship Huawei has the shittiest software experience I've ever tried, it's trying to be iOS but the concept just falls flat.HTC & Sony not relevant in 2018 already Meanwhile, HTC and Sony has clean and smooth software experience while still being able to keep sending updates and security updates to their phones first and consistently(especially Sony). And the camera quality of the HTC U11+ is rivallable against the P10, while the camera quality and camera function of the Sony Xperia XZ1 is the best in the category. |
Feb 21 2018, 07:52 PM
707 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
after 1 year..
oneplus 3t smoother than S8 |
Feb 21 2018, 08:15 PM
252 posts Joined: Jul 2017 |
Many things come into factor considering on the longevity of a phone's lifespan. Manufacturing type of hardwares, software issue, what bug correlates with a certain period of instability and leads to complete unusable state, user wear and tear, heat exposure and so on.
Android has such a vast range of brands who's using it, so when comparing to an Apple device where their hardware has been lesser in comparison to the first it's kinda hard to pinpoint. |
Feb 22 2018, 04:14 PM
287 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
I'm currently using s8 and oneplus 3t. Hardware/design/camera hand down to S8 (also samsung pay)... but yes.. i can feel the device start to lagging. Bixby is just sitting there making everything slower. Slow camera app launch. Its a great phone really but the software optimization is still not up to par to iphone/pixel. My oneplus 3t is still going strong due to (almost) vanilla android experience. Minimal eye candy but fast. Can start to see the tech is aging tho especially the camera.
EDIT: Just realize this..+1 QUOTE(gotgiant @ Feb 21 2018, 07:52 PM) This post has been edited by heliozguard: Feb 22 2018, 04:17 PM |
Feb 22 2018, 04:18 PM
9,052 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
If raped variety of Android with OEM bloatware, confirm sure lag after 6 months.
For smooth lag free operation, opt for Nexus, Pixel, OnePlus or Android One devices. |
Feb 22 2018, 04:38 PM
335 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
Currently using OnePlus 3 - still as smooth as day one, despite being 1.5 years old.
Guess what's my favourite part? It's durable! Dropped it a few times (the most recent fall was last month, my gf accidentally slapped my hand and the phone fell from chest height) and the screen never cracked. Considering upgrade to either S9 or OP6+/OP7. |
Feb 22 2018, 07:30 PM
it not as bad as unusable but just annoying, sluggish then slow, need to clear some background apps or even restart the phone to get back to normal state, which i seldom do this on iphone.
But the trade off is beneficial when come to installing apps and do some sort of things to share or download from web, which iphone cant do due to closed environment/ecosystem. But this bring up some security issue, because u are so free to install everything and end up install some bad app. My point of view is if you dont want spend too much time to manage ur phone, iPhone is the better choice, if u want more economy style and free to do everything, Android phone definitely ur choice. Specification of the phone is just for reference, in term of speed, iPhone 7 can beat my s8 plus ( Change to S8+ from IP7+). Ps: If you already own iPad or Mac, iPhone will be better choice. Seamless and strong bond between these device really make me feel easy and comfort btw. Dont get me wrong, I still love my S8 but iPhone is more handy when come to work, it just work when i need it. |
Feb 22 2018, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Feb 21 2018, 10:54 AM) I am currently having an s8+ and note 8 Will I trade it for an iPhone . Never iPhone hide normal crashes by jumping to homescreen and if serious ones it restart the phone so you feel iPhone never crash. While android it display the crashes to you so once awhile it show message app crash is normal. Stability Android not so bad like those years lag, hang and crash instead it's pretty smooth but crashes does occur once awhile instead iPhone they hide the crash while android show the crash. -This one got alot of argumen, i saw crashes on my S8 average 1-2 times a week, but iPhone none....jump to home screen not likely also Design I kinda addict to s8 and note 8 curve edge and infinity display if gives a 3d look on your phone. -This one i agree with you Dual SIM This the part I like about android can just put 2 Sims when apple expect you to buy 2 phones -This one depends or personal, i use 1 principal sim, the 2nd just for testing network thou. Memory card expansion Android I can expand my memory by just buying a memory card I just added 128gb now it's 64+128 -Not everyone need large capacity, 32GB enough for me, my things mostly on cloud. Function What I like about android is about customisation and free to install any APK I want without the need of jail break -Jailbreak are so old age thing, and cause more damage then benefit....not recommend but I do agree on freedom of apk install, just need to make sure the apk are safe. Widgets I also like widget on android can show live information without the need opening apps. -Not really useful for me(maybe just me) Samsung Pay This the best i already have 12k points i can redeem samsung powerbank, gear watches, wireless charger and etc with the point. I can even redeem starbucks, kenny roger and etc for free -My place so ulu until not much place can use samsung pay...so envy u guys out there can use |
Feb 26 2018, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Feb 21 2018, 03:38 PM) I am also not a fanboy used to own iPhones until I find the weakness on apple. Even apple have many issue about secretly slowing down your phone, some bugs that crashes the phone often Well my bad. Sorry.Yea I personally have experience iphone crash it just restart and the loading logo just rotate even I help my friend recover guess where the fun part she didn't backup data because iCloud was full need to pay for more space. iPhone owners practically need to pay alot more for space because there no removable disk. Ordinary people compare their entire eco system not 1 subject like stability and nothing else matter that your ego calling. If you are already an apple fanboy then why are you comparing. Just get the next iPhone. If you just want focus 1 feature stability then go for apple no other brand hide their crashes as good as apple. When I said this I saw the app crash right infront of me . I bought two phones so I can have 4 Sims and not 2 Sims. Even apple you certainly said won't get virus and hack you forgotten iCloud was hacked and all celebrities photos are leaked? Lastly, i am just giving my opinion why I prefer android over iOS that why I list down different subject based on you mention Samsung s8 not your ego about fanatic of the apple brand. So relax. I used android phone in between of my two iphones. So i’m seeing how is android now in terms of stability. Sorry that your or your friend’s iphone crashes so much. For my past phone usage experience, android phones crashes a lot more than iphones, i just want to see if that still stands. If android phones doesn’t crash a lot more than iphone, i will switch to android phones. I am using iphone because i want the stability and simplicity, i just want a phone that works. It is no doubt that android devices have tons more features than iphones, but those are quite irrelevant for me. QUOTE(pennzoil @ Feb 22 2018, 07:30 PM) it not as bad as unusable but just annoying, sluggish then slow, need to clear some background apps or even restart the phone to get back to normal state, which i seldom do this on iphone. Thanks for the insight. Still considering the new Samsung S9, looks good, doesn’t break the wallet as well. See how it performs.But the trade off is beneficial when come to installing apps and do some sort of things to share or download from web, which iphone cant do due to closed environment/ecosystem. But this bring up some security issue, because u are so free to install everything and end up install some bad app. My point of view is if you dont want spend too much time to manage ur phone, iPhone is the better choice, if u want more economy style and free to do everything, Android phone definitely ur choice. Specification of the phone is just for reference, in term of speed, iPhone 7 can beat my s8 plus ( Change to S8+ from IP7+). Ps: If you already own iPad or Mac, iPhone will be better choice. Seamless and strong bond between these device really make me feel easy and comfort btw. Dont get me wrong, I still love my S8 but iPhone is more handy when come to work, it just work when i need it. I had an HTC, very sluggish probably due to the software. Have to restart it frequently. Can’t stand it so only use it for 6months. Rarely restart my iphone lol, sometimes it cleans the app itself, so i don’t need to do that. Idk ios seems more unstable nowadays. iOS used to be simple and almost bug-free, well now Apple pushes us updates so frequently to fix bugs, thou not deal breaking and the bug doesn’t affect older phones. The settings menu now also gets more and more complicated, have to spend time to search for settings lol. That’s why i’m seeing if android is a good choice for me. As for the apps, i found out that app store offers almost all of what i need. Thou some games that i want isn’t on apple, but i think this shouldn’t be the reason i switch. I buy apps if i need to, so third party free apk isn’t really my thing. Last time when i got my HTC, the amount of settings available is overwhelming hahaha. I like it simpler. This post has been edited by ind3pend3nc3: Feb 26 2018, 10:55 AM |
Feb 26 2018, 07:25 PM
5,907 posts Joined: Dec 2012 From: Taiping,Perak |
Truth to be told, sony's interface and software is one of the best in all androids
Feb 26 2018, 08:05 PM
5,144 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Feb 26 2018, 08:17 PM
Feb 28 2018, 09:41 PM
Feb 28 2018, 11:53 PM
Mar 1 2018, 01:24 AM
5,144 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Mar 1 2018, 03:27 PM
Mar 1 2018, 05:41 PM
252 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Mar 1 2018, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(BeruangTocang @ Mar 1 2018, 04:29 PM) Lowyat Forum iPhone lovers: Dumb with no lifeNormal iPhone lovers: Dumb with a life Tech enthusiasts iPhone lovers: Stupid iPhone fanboy/fangio who will defend Apple as hardly as possible. Lowyat Forum Android lovers: Smart with no life Normal Android lover: Smart and has a life Tech enthusiasts Android lovers: Prefers functionality and customability and has a life with extra time. |
Mar 1 2018, 09:58 PM
185 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Aiyo just buy whatever you like la...make your on decision..just like you buy other like car...if ppl say BMW good u die die go buy BMW meh...just buy the car to your liking..same as the phone..u use iPhone no problem does not mean other no problem ma...u use Android got problem does not mean other ppl got problem ma...
Mar 29 2018, 05:00 PM
357 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Androids doing fine..
Apr 6 2018, 07:51 AM
733 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
For me i am using 2 ecosystem. So in this case i have the best of both world. Iphone mainly use for social like whatapps, facebook, browsing, banking, booking flight/movie/etc, gaming, photo and online shopping. Basicly ios i am more comfotable on the security and privacy matters.
While my android is mostly for entertainment which i use for downloaded movie/music, online movie watching, gaming, cctv (Stangely the xiaomi developer screw up the cctv application which until today did not fix it on ios), you tube, vpn, waze, google map, networking, remoting to pc and gaming. And for my kids entertainment. More flexibility, customizafion and freedom in android. Both platforn had it pro and con and had over the years mature so much and so far touch wood i had not had many problem. Ios or android, i like them both so my choice is to have both. Peace! |
| Change to: | 0.0195sec
5 queries
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:59 PM |