post May 9 2007, 02:06 AM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

ya in the afternoon its very hot..sigh
Syrian
post May 9 2007, 10:35 AM

2,761 posts

On the fan for him when it's too hot. When I leave him alone in my room, I on the fan for my furkid too biggrin.gif:
Digitral
post May 9 2007, 12:32 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ May 9 2007, 10:35 AM)
On the fan for him when it's too hot.  When I leave him alone in my room, I on the fan for my furkid too biggrin.gif:
hahahha same here.i propersly buy fan for my furkid. scare my furkid will feel hot when stay in room. rclxms.gif

roarus
post May 9 2007, 02:27 PM

1,042 posts

My silly terrier before haircut:

Recently also got the weird dot on skin prob. Darkish color spots. Vet recommends change in diet, said protein was high. Got such thing? Only feed her dog biscuit and dry dog food plus garlic pills.
junnie87
post May 9 2007, 02:56 PM

841 posts

babymiki, how's germaine??

Added on May 9, 2007, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(roarus @ May 9 2007, 02:27 PM)
My silly terrier before haircut:

Recently also got the weird dot on skin prob. Darkish color spots. Vet recommends change in diet, said protein was high. Got such thing? Only feed her dog biscuit and dry dog food plus garlic pills.
what dog food you feed your silky??

how's the spots look like?? small tiny with red black color??

This post has been edited by junnie87: May 9 2007, 02:58 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post May 9 2007, 02:58 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Yes, when the protein is high in dogfood, some dogs develop sensitive skin or skin allergies from the high protein.

What brand are you feeding? You may need to change to a lower protein diet, or vegetarian diet or game meat diet. The brand Addiction carries Vegetarian and Kangaroo meat diet for dogs with sensitive skin, you can try that.
roarus
post May 9 2007, 03:14 PM

1,042 posts

Daily food should be Eukanuba maintenance, unless there are other varieties with the same packaging color.

Currently switched to other brand already, I'll check what's the brand when I get home. Spots are brownish (red/black). Are silly terriers prone to sensitive skin?
crazymouse_yyh
post May 9 2007, 03:18 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ May 9 2007, 03:14 PM)
Daily food should be Eukanuba maintenance, unless there are other varieties with the same packaging color.

Currently switched to other brand already, I'll check what's the brand when I get home. Spots are brownish (red/black). Are silly terriers prone to sensitive skin?
Ohhh... Eukanuba.... not the best brand if compare to other brands in the market. Maybe you should try holistic? California Natural is good for Sensitive skin.

Well, some breeds are allergic... like MS also got sensitive skin, some poodles do.... It really depends on the breeding and also the genetics.... my ckcs got sensitive skin too but she is more of the shedding type than having spots.... if the food is not correct, she sheds till almost bald...

Edited: didn't use the appropriate word.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: May 9 2007, 06:47 PM
chrisoys
post May 9 2007, 04:49 PM

321 posts

Feeding the right amount of dog food will help prevent pimple/hotspot. Most skin problem is due to owner over feed their furkid & many misunderstand by blaming the dog food have high protein content. Alway follow the feeding guideline & no supplement required if feeding them high quality dog food diet.

Pimple/hotspot usually appear in puppyhood is normal. Once they grow up the problem will go away. Why in puppyhood? I stress again this is due to owner over feed the puppy. Most first time dog owner will feed as much as the puppy can eat as they think the puppy are growing and require all the nutritions, not only that dog owner tend to feed them too much but also over supplementation on the pup that resulted the pup over nutrition in their body required. That how the pimple/hotspot pooping out from their body. Usually it appear first on the stomach, thigh & along the spine area.

No over feeding & supplement!!! Encourage more water intake!!! It help solve your dog skin problem.

Above only part of it in maintaining a healthy skin & coat of a dog. It also involve other things like living environment, products use on their coat & daily care.

Thing that are out of your control are the genetic skin problem. You can't do much about it.

All premium dog foods brnad are good. Avoid supermarket brands!!!
Amanda85
post May 9 2007, 04:52 PM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 9 2007, 03:18 PM)
Ohhh... Eukanuba.... not a very good brand if compare to other brands in the market. Maybe you should try holistic? California Natural is good for Sensitive skin.
vmad.gif ur saying my 1st choice dog food as 'not veli good' .... flex.gif .......u should said 'is juz not d best in market'... icon_idea.gif

if all dogs need 2 go holistic....most owner or mayb substandard ppl like me sure pokai lor... cry.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post May 9 2007, 06:44 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ May 9 2007, 04:52 PM)
vmad.gif  ur saying my 1st choice dog food as 'not veli good' .... flex.gif .......u should said 'is juz not d best in market'... icon_idea.gif

if all dogs need 2 go holistic....most owner or mayb substandard ppl like me sure pokai lor... cry.gif
I thought you feed homecooked? Anyway, I don't really support Eukanuba coz they do unhealthy animal testing and their products contain alot of corn and wheat.... and with the recent case of the wheat gluten tainted with melamine, scared already with such brands.... Unless consume Eukanuba Lamb and Rice, then it is better.

Yah, Maybe i should adjust to say "it is not the best" tongue.gif Sorry yah....
chrisoys
post May 9 2007, 06:50 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 9 2007, 06:44 PM)
I thought you feed homecooked? Anyway, I don't really support Eukanuba coz they do unhealthy animal testing and their products contain alot of corn and wheat.... and with the recent case of the wheat gluten tainted with melamine, scared already with such brands.... Unless consume Eukanuba Lamb and Rice, then it is better.

Yah, Maybe i should adjust to say "it is not the best"  tongue.gif  Sorry yah....
You are wrong. Its still the best dog food in the market. Alot of ppls are blinded with alot of false allegations about Iams.

Whether you giving chicken or lamb the only different in that bag of dog food ingredient is the main protein source only.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 9 2007, 07:08 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 9 2007, 06:50 PM)
You are wrong. Its still the best dog food in the market. Alot of ppls are blinded with alot of false allegations about Iams.

Whether you giving chicken or lamb the only different in that bag of dog food ingredient is the main protein source only.
Then I guess I'm one of the people who are blinded. Or maybe coz I didn't see good results on my dogs when they took Eukanuba.... well, individual thoughts and preference sweat.gif
jtl
post May 9 2007, 07:20 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 9 2007, 06:50 PM)

Are you saying Eukanuba is the best dog food in the market??? Better than Eagle Pack Holistic, Innova Evo, California Natural, Pinnacle and Canidae?
chrisoys
post May 9 2007, 07:52 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ May 9 2007, 07:20 PM)
Are you saying Eukanuba is the best dog food in the market??? Better than Eagle Pack Holistic, Innova Evo, California Natural, Pinnacle and Canidae?
They still the leading dog food manufacturer that produce good quality dog food.

They owned a high tech R&D facilities no other manufacturers can compare to them.

The ppls work there are biochemists, nutritionists, veterinarians, process engineers, food scientists, chemists, biologists and microbiologists.

More than a dozen significant firsts in the area of nutritional science. They hold more patents than many, if not all, from competitors. Example:- Omega 3 & 6, using real chicken meat as protein source, dog food cater to different breed & life stage & many many more.

Iams was founded back in 1946. I think back then Science Diet are their only competitors.

I think we all already out of topic liao. Thread about Silky Terrier now about dog food. LOL rclxms.gif

Added on May 9, 2007, 8:09 pm
QUOTE(lovepassion @ May 6 2007, 05:23 PM)
Presenting Euro,

Now he is very healthy, thanks for all of your support. biggrin.gif
Euro are turning to White Silky Terrier. Color totally out of the breed standard. Not advisible to breed your silky if next time you planning to do so.

Euro look fine to me with no major skin problem. If Euro have serious Skin problem less than 2 months the hair will not grow untill that length in just short period of time.

Please take good care of Euro eyes. She have alot of tear stain that mean something irritated her eyes or tear duct blocked. Try cut away some of the hair around the eyes area & use eyes drop weekly after bath. You can get it from pharmacy (look for Alcon Tear Naturall II) I think selling RM9.90 per bottle. One drop in each eyes will do.

This post has been edited by chrisoys: May 9 2007, 08:09 PM
Jenn77
post May 9 2007, 11:34 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 9 2007, 07:52 PM)
They still the leading dog food manufacturer that produce good quality dog food.

They owned a high tech R&D facilities no other manufacturers can compare to them.

The ppls work there are biochemists, nutritionists, veterinarians, process engineers, food scientists, chemists, biologists and microbiologists.

More than a dozen significant firsts in the area of nutritional science. They hold more patents than many, if not all, from competitors. Example:- Omega 3 & 6, using real chicken meat as protein source, dog food cater to different breed & life stage & many many more.

Iams was founded back in 1946. I think back then Science Diet are their only competitors.

I think we all already out of topic liao. Thread about Silky Terrier now about dog food. LOL rclxms.gif

Added on May 9, 2007, 8:09 pm

Euro are turning to White Silky Terrier. Color totally out of the breed standard. Not advisible to breed your silky if next time you planning to do so.

Euro look fine to me with no major skin problem. If Euro have serious Skin problem less than 2 months the hair will not grow untill that length in just short period of time.

Please take good care of Euro eyes. She have alot of tear stain that mean something irritated her eyes or tear duct blocked. Try cut away some of the hair around the eyes area & use eyes drop weekly after bath. You can get it from pharmacy (look for Alcon Tear Naturall II) I think selling RM9.90 per bottle. One drop in each eyes will do.
Hi Chrisoys!
Chris is one of the experienced caretaker of 8 silky (if Im not mistaken) plus some puppies recently. Btw, thanks for sharing info about Silky..Any questions can ask him.. is the experience that counts, now when do I get to play with ur puppy, Chris? icon_rolleyes.gif

babymiki
post May 10 2007, 12:16 AM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

Chris, the appropriate times of feeding germaine is once a day is it?

Currently im feeding eagle pack hollistic lamb and rice..i feed twice a day morning and night wo...
chrisoys
post May 10 2007, 08:45 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ May 9 2007, 11:34 PM)
Hi Chrisoys!
Chris is one of the experienced caretaker of 8 silky (if Im not mistaken) plus some puppies recently. Btw, thanks for sharing info about Silky..Any questions can ask him.. is the experience that counts, now when do I get to play with ur puppy, Chris?  icon_rolleyes.gif
I currently have 4 Silky. One of my Show Silky already run away can't find her back.

Added on May 10, 2007, 8:46 am
QUOTE(babymiki @ May 10 2007, 12:16 AM)
Chris, the appropriate times of feeding germaine is once a day is it?

Currently im feeding eagle pack hollistic lamb and rice..i feed twice a day morning and night wo...
Germaine reaching about 10-11 months old you can start feeding her adult dog food. Twice a day (small amount) till about 18months old then you can feed her once a day in the morning will do.

This post has been edited by chrisoys: May 10 2007, 08:46 AM
roarus
post May 10 2007, 11:25 AM

1,042 posts

My dog is 4 years old (adult). Sister changed from eukanuba to a brand called "Best Choice", lamb and rice variety.

My dog seems to only like to eat/drink when there is someone around. Food and water refilled when it is empty. Is it a good practice?

You guys have a pic gallery of your silkies?
chrisoys
post May 10 2007, 12:28 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ May 10 2007, 11:25 AM)
My dog is 4 years old (adult). Sister changed from eukanuba to a brand called "Best Choice", lamb and rice variety.

My dog seems to only like to eat/drink when there is someone around. Food and water refilled when it is empty. Is it a good practice?

You guys have a pic gallery of your silkies?
Provided the dog are eating & drinking there is no problem.

Do check out at Silky N' Frenz Club website & forum for more info & pics of Silky Terrier.

http://www.silkynfrenzclub.com

or

http://silkynfrenzclub.myrealboard.com

This post has been edited by chrisoys: May 10 2007, 12:30 PM

108 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:02 AM