Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Bike recommendation for 1st time riding Uncle, budget around 10k

views

TSdudester
post Feb 20 2018, 10:25 PM, updated 7y ago

Enthusiast
811 posts

Hi,
I need recommendation for a bike for a new rider (getting bike licence soon). I have over 20 years driving experience but yet 0 years riding experience.
I plan to initially use the bike around the neighborhood for convenience, and later if I gain enough confidence to office in KL city from Kepong.

I am attracted by the following attributes:
1) Resale value - may sell it after 1 2 years
2) Easy maintenance
3) I like those bikes I've seen that are low with thick wheels
4) Digital display, electronic start
5) Budget around 10k below.
6) Contradicting no1 & 3, I may consider it as a ride to MRT station for future, so it should not be attraction to thief...

I've looked at Benelli , Vespa (not fit above) ..so I think it would have to be Japanese brands.
I've also considered minimal entry models that cost 5-7 but wish I can buy something to enjoy in mean time.

Thank you and much appreciated!

TSdudester
post Feb 20 2018, 10:59 PM

Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(kipas_lipas @ Feb 20 2018, 10:44 PM)
Yamaha 135lc, Yamaha Y15R, Honda RS150, Benelli RFS150i, Modenas v15, Modenas Pulsar 200.. how good are you with clutch bike?
I am virgin to bikes... bicycle balancing still okay. Clutch..if have a choice prefer auto if there's such a thing.
TSdudester
post Feb 20 2018, 11:29 PM

Enthusiast
811 posts

Was thinking of bikes like these...any feedbacks?Attached Image Attached Image
Eilrach
post Feb 21 2018, 12:35 AM

10 posts

You may consider the Yamaha NVX. its an automatic scooter with a bit of focus on sportiness. Has push start button so its slightly harder to steal. Performance is quite adequate as well and it comes with ABS which is an important safety feature

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0KPf6wBWlM

This post has been edited by Eilrach: Feb 21 2018, 12:36 AM
basilisk