Wisdom tooth swelling - perocoronitis, Inflamed gum tissue near wisdom tooth.

TSacradabacra
post Feb 20 2018, 09:39 AM, updated 8y ago

I need advice on wisdom tooth gum swelling - it started on Friday night which was a good time because none of the dental clinics opens until Monday the earliest due to CNY so I had to bear the pain ranting.gif like hell for the weekend. On Monday I saw a dentist and he suggested removal of my lower jaw wisdom tooth through minor surgery because it is only partially erupted and the gum covering the tooth has caused perocoronitis (an infection due to foods debris got stuck in between).

Now.

I'm just like my great-great-grandmother who were sooo scared of even hearing the word "doctor" or "surgery". I want to avoid having the surgery, so that's why I need to ask a few questions:

1) Will the tooth eventually erupt fully? (Because if it does, then I just bear the pain rn and don't have to do surgery).
2) In the case where the tooth stays partially erupt with gum on top of it, is it possible to remove only the gum but not the tooth?
3) I read a few articles on having dental surgery at gomen hospital and private clinic and found a few scary stories among those who did the surgery at gomen hospital like this. In the case where the pain won't go away in the next few days I think I am going to call my dentist to arrange a surgery, but I am also thinking of having the surgery at the hospital where they have professionals who can take care when things went wrong. What do you think?

jonlee
post Feb 20 2018, 09:55 AM

143 posts

Hi I wanna share my experience with you on this. I encountered the same problem last month, so I understand your pain. I have to constantly get ice to numb my jaw and ease the pain. I went to a dentist and asked her whether any tooth decay on my wisdom tooth. The dentist gave a quick check and found nothing wrong with the teeth. So it was heat and also gum ulcers that caused the inflammation. I bought Oral Aid to heal the ulcers and after a week or so, the inflammation subsided.
TSacradabacra
post Feb 20 2018, 11:25 AM

@jonlee Thanks for sharing. Did the dentist give you antibiotic?

[UPDATE] My dentist also told me that the tooth will not erupt fully so it has to be taken out surgically. On top of that, the upper tooth will also be removed because otherwise it will hentam the lower jaw. My SO and my brother told me some people just endure the pain, eventually it will get better. Once in a while it will cause you pain of course but no need to remove the tooth. SO also suggested that the dentist only see moneyflies.gif (it may cost me RM900 for the lower tooth surgery and RM200 for the upper one). LOL I don't know what to do.

Surgery --> so sked liao + $$$
Non-surgery --> painful af + possibility it may happen again
gloomberg
post Feb 20 2018, 03:06 PM

510 posts

I'm facing the same situation and dilemma as you. However the cost you mentioned is quite standard, I've checked. My boss said she took out all one go haha to avoid going to dentist another round.
SUScitacitata
post Mar 2 2018, 01:14 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(acradabacra @ Feb 20 2018, 11:25 AM)
@jonlee Thanks for sharing. Did the dentist give you antibiotic?

[UPDATE] My dentist also told me that the tooth will not erupt fully so it has to be taken out surgically. On top of that, the upper tooth will also be removed because otherwise it will hentam the lower jaw. My SO and my brother told me some people just endure the pain, eventually it will get better. Once in a while it will cause you pain of course but no need to remove the tooth. SO also suggested that the dentist only see  moneyflies.gif  (it may cost me RM900 for the lower tooth surgery and RM200 for the upper one). LOL I don't know what to do.

Surgery --> so sked liao + $$$
Non-surgery --> painful af + possibility it may happen again
If its your first episode, and if its clear away then nothing to worry

If it gets inflamed again 2 or more times then it's already indicated for removal.

Surgeries for lower generally costs rm, 800-1200. Upper maybe 150-300.

If its causing food trap, better remove it ASAP as it will decay the tooth in front of it (the second molar)

Hope this helps.
Shadow Kun
post Mar 2 2018, 10:54 AM

TOASTY!
621 posts

My advice is just get on with the surgery or you will have to endure recurring pain and problems in the future.

I can share my "success" story where I cabut 4 wisdom tooth at once at a gomen hospital (hospital ampang. quite good). For 4 tooths they use a general anaesthesia aka put you to sleep so u dont have to endure the horror of the surgery. being gomen of course, you pay next to nothing.

even after its done its not really that painful. more like some discomforts and phantom pain. i didnt particularly restrict my diet at that time and by the next week already feel like i can eat at normal pace.

This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: Mar 2 2018, 10:57 AM

0.0177sec    1.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:21 AM