RFT recommendation, For 19'

TSkaka_89
post Feb 18 2018, 02:01 PM, updated 8y ago

470 posts

Hi all,

Any RFT recommendation? Currently using Dunlop Sportmaxx 19' (235/35ZR19). I found that the wear and tear for this tyre is too short. I cannot be replacing the tyre so often.

Also would like to know, is there any drawbacks if i used non-RFT.

Thanks,
6UE5T
post Feb 18 2018, 05:18 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kaka_89 @ Feb 18 2018, 02:01 PM)
Hi all,

Any RFT recommendation? Currently using Dunlop Sportmaxx 19' (235/35ZR19). I found that the wear and tear for this tyre is too short. I cannot be replacing the tyre so often.

Also would like to know, is there any drawbacks if i used non-RFT.

Thanks,
Try check for Michelin PS4S if it has RFT version in that size. If has then get that one coz it's arguably the best tire now on the market and it has tread wear rating of 300 so it would last longer than the Sportmaxx which has TW of only 240. Then there's Goodyear F1A2/3 which has the same 300 TW rating.
Other choices can be Continental CSC6 or Pirelli P Zero PZ4, but TW ratings of both are slightly lower at 280.

RFT is to allow you to still drive up to maybe 80kph even without any air pressure in the tire. So the drawback of not using RFT is only you cannot do that if you have a flat tire or significant loss of air pressure. You may feel the normal tires to be less responsive handling coz the sidewall is not as stiff as RFT tires but then more comfortable. So up to you, do you think the risk of having a flat is high enough for you so that you still need RFT, or just downgrade to normal tires. If I were you I'd just downgrade to normal tires coz very rare to get flat tire.

Btw for what car is this, Merc AMG CLA/A45?
TSkaka_89
post Feb 20 2018, 12:34 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 18 2018, 05:18 PM)
Try check for Michelin PS4S if it has RFT version in that size. If has then get that one coz it's arguably the best tire now on the market and it has tread wear rating of 300 so it would last longer than the Sportmaxx which has TW of only 240. Then there's Goodyear F1A2/3 which has the same 300 TW rating.
Other choices can be Continental CSC6 or Pirelli P Zero PZ4, but TW ratings of both are slightly lower at 280.

RFT is to allow you to still drive up to maybe 80kph even without any air pressure in the tire. So the drawback of not using RFT is only you cannot do that if you have a flat tire or significant loss of air pressure. You may feel the normal tires to be less responsive handling coz the sidewall is not as stiff as RFT tires but then more comfortable. So up to you, do you think the risk of having a flat is high enough for you so that you still need RFT, or just downgrade to normal tires. If I were you I'd just downgrade to normal tires coz very rare to get flat tire.

Btw for what car is this, Merc AMG CLA/A45?
Thanks for the suggestion. Maybe i should just go for non-RFT tyres, is just that I'm a bit worried at high speed. Is it safer to go at high speed with non-RFT. Im talking if cruising at 200km/h.

I've randomly went to a tyre shop ard my house, and they have suggest me with this China Tyre, Giticontrol 288 which is a RFT. And the price the quote me is quite cheap as well approx RM4xx/piece, which I think impossible for RFT. http://giti.com.my/Products/GitiControl_288_RunFlat

There's no review on this product. Non-RFT tyre that you mentioned would cost me around approx RM1.2k/piece right?
leehernandez
post Feb 20 2018, 12:44 PM

no worries going fast on run flat if the speed rating of the tyre is high.
the disadvantage is u can drive when the tyre is run out of air.it will damage the tyres.
according to the website,the speed rating is y for michelin ps4s can go above 240kph.is the max speed rating for a tyre. price range is around rm 1000 for yr size.
6UE5T
post Feb 20 2018, 06:29 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kaka_89 @ Feb 20 2018, 12:34 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion. Maybe i should just go for non-RFT tyres, is just that I'm a bit worried at high speed. Is it safer to go at high speed with non-RFT. Im talking if cruising at 200km/h.

I've randomly went to a tyre shop ard my house, and they have suggest me with this China Tyre, Giticontrol 288 which is a RFT. And the price the quote me is quite cheap as well approx RM4xx/piece, which I think impossible for RFT. http://giti.com.my/Products/GitiControl_288_RunFlat

There's no review on this product. Non-RFT tyre that you mentioned would cost me around approx RM1.2k/piece right?
Sigh what car do you drive la, don't tell me you drive Mercs/BMW etc. but want to settle for cheapo China tires??? If cannot afford good tires, don't use such big rims in the first place. If your car already comes with such huge rims plus RFT tires some more that can cruise at 200kph, that means it must be an expensive car, so that means you CAN afford properly good tires right? So don't be a cheap skate on tires, it's the only contact between your car and the road so it's arguably one of the most important factors of your car!

If still want to save, IMHO better opt for non-RFT but from good brands rather than RFT but such shit China tires! RFT or non RFT has nothing to do with capability to handle high speeds. If want cheaper one, can try ask for Hankook S1 Evo 2, it has for your size and it's an excellent tire which should be cheaper than the brands I mentioned BUT do not expect it to be as peanut cheap as those crap China tires! In tire market, those really cheap ones really do reflect their super cheap price, meaning shit tires! Last time even my 17' tires were more expensive than that 19' RFT Giti tires leh! doh.gif Now I'm using 18' even more expensive again.
TSkaka_89
post Feb 20 2018, 06:54 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 20 2018, 06:29 PM)
Sigh what car do you drive la, don't tell me you drive Mercs/BMW etc. but want to settle for cheapo China tires??? If cannot afford good tires, don't use such big rims in the first place. If your car already comes with such huge rims plus RFT tires some more that can cruise at 200kph, that means it must be an expensive car, so that means you CAN afford properly good tires right? So don't be a cheap skate on tires, it's the only contact between your car and the road so it's arguably one of the most important factors of your car!

If still want to save, IMHO better opt for non-RFT but from good brands rather than RFT but such shit China tires! RFT or non RFT has nothing to do with capability to handle high speeds. If want cheaper one, can try ask for Hankook S1 Evo 2, it has for your size and it's an excellent tire which should be cheaper than the brands I mentioned BUT do not expect it to be as peanut cheap as those crap China tires! In tire market, those really cheap ones really do reflect their super cheap price, meaning shit tires! Last time even my 17' tires were more expensive than that 19' RFT Giti tires leh!  doh.gif  Now I'm using 18' even more expensive again.
haha..lol..I never said i wanted to settle down with China tyre. But who knows maybe you knows about it. I'm just sharing it with you which i also I think its ridiculous price for an RFT tyre. I do expect the price is going to be at least RM1k/ piece AND I've replace ones before with SC and it does cost me a bomb. My intention is to get the affordable price with the optimum performance as well. If you can get it cheaper than SC, why not just do outside.

Since you mentioned there's no diff between RFT vs non-RFT in terms of capability, I'm now more confident to go for non-RFT. I also found that the ride is pretty stiff plus, the stiffness of the car absorber. Anyway, many thanks to your suggestions. I will do take note on the brands you mentioned.
6UE5T
post Feb 20 2018, 07:27 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kaka_89 @ Feb 20 2018, 06:54 PM)
haha..lol..I never said i wanted to settle down with China tyre. But who knows maybe you knows about it. I'm just sharing it with you which i also I think its ridiculous price for an RFT tyre. I do expect the price is going to be at least RM1k/ piece AND I've replace ones before with SC and it does cost me a bomb. My intention is to get the affordable price with the optimum performance as well. If you can get it cheaper than SC, why not just do outside.

Since you mentioned there's no diff between RFT vs non-RFT in terms of capability, I'm now more confident to go for non-RFT. I also found that the ride is pretty stiff plus, the stiffness of the car absorber. Anyway, many thanks to your suggestions. I will do take note on the brands you mentioned.
Ok good then, coz I've seen so many people like that. They drive around with expensive cars on huge rims but then guess what, riding on shit China tires like Giti, Ling Long, Landsail, Jinyu, Winrun, whatever! doh.gif Really pathetic IMHO, coz immediately you know their mentality already, all show but no go only.

Aiya never ever change tire at SC, they will cut your throat one! laugh.gif Just go to proper tire shops outside and ask around. Just take note on the tread wear rating, if you want them to last reasonably longer but also good performance, the TW rating is normally around 280-320. Anything higher than that usually performance category drops to mid-range to low end tires, anything lower than that will finish sooner (even 280 will finish quite noticeably faster already than those with 300-320). So happy hunting then.

No surprise that 235/35/19 is pretty stiff no matter what! laugh.gif The tire is wafer thin already, hence very minimal cushioning. I'm really suspecting now that your car is either AMG A45 or CLA45 now, coz those car has this size as std on the 19' option and their suspension is damn stiff. brows.gif Anyway what ever is your car, if you want more comfort, can try downgrade to 18' if can still fit the brake calipers though (A45/CLA45 can coz their base option comes with 18'). Then can fit slightly taller tires, maybe 245/40/18 or 235/40/18. You can trade off your rims to maybe even get some money back and in the future the tires will be much cheaper too.
rodniel
post Feb 22 2018, 10:01 PM

48 posts

Don't have but I heard good things about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 run-flats.
6UE5T
post Feb 23 2018, 06:35 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(rodniel @ Feb 22 2018, 10:01 PM)
Don't have but I heard good things about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 run-flats.
S001 is pretty old tire already, outperformed by newer tires like PS4, CSC5/6, P Zero PZ4, F1A3 etc2. Even the also old PS3 & F1A2 were already better than the S001. Honestly BS now doesn't have any new top tires that can compete with the others. Even the much cheaper Hankook V12E2 & S1E2 are already better than BS top tires now.

0.0168sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:21 PM