EPF SELF-CONTRIBUTION

SUSNB01
post Aug 19 2020, 11:57 PM

280 posts

Hi i want to ask.

I have been VSSed recently and planned to semi-retire. I don't understand this Self contribution thing.

Example: If my EPF this year(from employer and employee contribution) so far is RM 25,500. Does it means i can only top-up RM35,500 for the rest of this year for a total of RM60k?

I read at website, once reached 55, you can:
Monthly Dividend Payment Withdrawal
Minimum withdrawal is RM600 (RM100 per month for at least 6 months)
The minimum payment period is 6 months and maximum up to 12 months
So this means auto-payment monthly from dividend only i suppose?

Anybody here is living off dividends or planning to do so?

I am planning to top up until reach RM1 million by 55. Sure the hell beats useless FDs!!!. I am planning to live off the EPF dividends and my other passive incomes.

Also, if you put in money to EPF after 55, i read it goes to the Age 60 account, in which case you can't withdraw the money until 60 years old?

This post has been edited by NB01: Aug 19 2020, 11:59 PM
SUSNB01
post Aug 20 2020, 05:14 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Aug 20 2020, 05:02 PM)
I cant answer the second part, for your first part, above...say your epf contribution fro your office rm25k. You personal contribution is still max at 60K, immaterial of your office contribution. so for the year you would have 25K + 60K. hope that clarifies
Oh, thanks! thumbup.gif

Now i will just top it up till 55 and then eat dividend from it. smile.gif
SUSNB01
post Nov 2 2020, 02:43 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 2 2020, 02:19 PM)
i just did a i saraan contribution for my spouse to try to take this 15% (or RM250) "free" given by Govt

more details
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/contribution/i-saraan
Actually this isaraan and voluntary self contribution very confusing. EPF told me no difference except for that RM250 extra Gov give as ang pow.

Then why not just stick to one voluntary self contribution and gip the RM250 there??

Now i have money in both.

SUSNB01
post Nov 13 2020, 04:58 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Nov 13 2020, 04:45 PM)
Isaraan can register online or not?
Cannot
SUSNB01
post Nov 13 2020, 05:31 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Nov 13 2020, 05:03 PM)
If I no submit form, my payment via Maybank will go thru or not if I choose i-saraan?
AFAIK, if you don't create your i-Saraan at EPF, you don't have the account. Check with EPF lah, i am not EPF customer service.
SUSNB01
post Nov 13 2020, 08:20 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Nov 13 2020, 06:11 PM)
Then the incentive RM250 still have or not?
FYI
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution/i-saraan
Retirement Incentive (i-Saraan)
As a member under this incentive, you will receive a 15% government contribution (a maximum of RM250/year [Effective 1 Jan 2018]) on top of your own contributions.

*Not applicable to members that receive a fixed employer contribution.
*Government contribution is limited to members who are below age 55.
Sounds like if you currently have a job with employer contribution, you won't get it.
SUSNB01
post Feb 26 2021, 08:26 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Feb 23 2021, 08:30 PM)
already did 60k on normal self -contribution, then I did another rm5 into I-saraan for fun. No refund pun and balance in EPF didnt reflect RM5 extra  tongue.gif
I just add 10k last month for this year...but not reflected yet...I suppose gotta wait until they update dividend next few days...after that pump in more.

0.0361sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:56 PM