38 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

EPF SELF-CONTRIBUTION

dickybird
post Feb 16 2019, 02:49 PM

2,093 posts

Frankly speaking I really pulling money out of EPF to invest in the unit trust funds. After 4 years, the funds I put money into are still negative. While my EPF funds are growing steadily.
touristking
post Feb 16 2019, 04:16 PM

5,828 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 16 2019, 07:49 AM)
Frankly speaking I really pulling money out of EPF to invest in the unit trust funds. After 4 years, the funds I put money into are still negative. While my EPF funds are growing steadily.
why did u pull money out of EPF? Because of stupid rumor saying it will go bankrupt?

SUSjalsrix
post Feb 16 2019, 04:51 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 16 2019, 02:49 PM)
Unit trust funds and stock are all a scam by banks to make money for themselves.

It makes less interest than EPF.

I invested in stock in the past and lost money... cry.gif Unit trust is only slightly better but still not as good as EPF.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Feb 16 2019, 04:55 PM
SUSjalsrix
post Feb 16 2019, 05:08 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Feb 15 2018, 10:46 AM)
Difficult to withdraw or not, I can't say as I have no experience doing so. My father however has done so a couple of times to my knowledge and he has yet to complain about their procedures or processing lead time.

But as to whether EPF is worthy investment platform, unless you have the appetite for high risks, then EPF is a very sound platform. Have yet to see a FD offering higher return than EPF so far. But would be happily corrected if anyone knows otherwise!
FD is always lower than EPF , that's for sure.

Except during 1997 when interest rate skyrocketed. laugh.gif
dickybird
post Feb 16 2019, 05:28 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 16 2019, 04:16 PM)
why did u pull money out of EPF? Because of stupid rumor saying it will go bankrupt?
Hardly, of course to look for better returns with unit trust funds that could invest overseas where the EPF has until recently not been allowed to go.
With positive cashflow, the EPF is hardly going to go bankrupt but its transactions might be highly suspicious. And whatever happened to the 5 billion loan to buy shares in the Bursa during the 2008 GFC?

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Feb 16 2019, 04:51 PM)
Unit trust funds and stock are all a scam by banks to make money for themselves.

I invested in stock in the past and lost money... cry.gif Unit trust is only slightly better but still not as good as EPF.
Slightly better than EPF? Have yet to see any positive sign of that.
SUSjalsrix
post Feb 16 2019, 10:14 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 16 2019, 05:28 PM)

Slightly better than EPF? Have yet to see any positive sign of that.
i said 'slightly better than stock NOT EPF'.

Stock is a big gambling den, anytime you can lose a lot of money.
dickybird
post Feb 16 2019, 10:50 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Feb 16 2019, 10:14 PM)
i said 'slightly better than stock NOT EPF'.

Stock is a big gambling den, anytime you can lose a lot of money.
Copy that.
vckc
post Feb 17 2019, 11:56 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Feb 16 2019, 04:51 PM)

Not scam la... you buy unit trust with high fees is it.

In the end it all depends on the fund you pick and it’s management fees. Do your due diligence first before any investment decisions. There are people making good money with higher returns than EPF. High risk high return.

Don’t buy lump sump la. DCA in.
SUSjalsrix
post Feb 17 2019, 02:59 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(vckc @ Feb 17 2019, 11:56 AM)
Not scam la... you buy unit trust with high fees is it.

In the end it all depends on the fund you pick and it’s management fees. Do your due diligence first before any investment decisions. There are people making good money with higher returns than EPF. High risk high return.

Don’t buy lump sump la. DCA in.
You think we have so much free time to do research in real-life?
All the research papers are done by banks so of course, they will only publish the good side and not bad side.

In the past, there were no forums and most people don't know how to use internet.

Those bank agents will only tell you the good things and not bad things.

The bad thing is that we can lose the principle sum. The interest rate isn't as high as EPF either.

Those bank agents are scammers and I really want to scold them everytime I meet them.

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Feb 17 2019, 02:59 PM
vckc
post Feb 17 2019, 03:20 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Feb 17 2019, 02:59 PM)
All the research papers are done by banks so of course, they will only publish the good side and not bad side.

In the past, there were no forums and most people don't know how to use internet.

The bad thing is that we can lose the principle sum. The interest rate isn't as high as EPF either.

Those bank agents are scammers and I really want to scold them everytime I meet them.
Get educated and take calculated risks. Study unit trust performance and returns, check out their ratings, etc etc.

Different strokes for different folks. People who wanna make a higher ROI will have to take higher risks. Some funds can perform 10-20% upside (look at KGF 10 years return. 300% compared to compounded 80% if only with EPF. ) Of course you may lose 10-20% thats part of higher risk investing.

If you’re comfortable with EPF just dump your money in there. But don’t go around calling unit trusts a scam just because you got burnt and wasn’t educated by the bankers (irresponsible, they’re just out to make that big commission) about the risks and they’re not your choice of investment.

dickybird
post Feb 17 2019, 11:09 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Feb 17 2019, 02:59 PM)

If you haven't the free time to do due diligence then don't take the risk. If you agree and sign on the line then it is of course that you have fibre due diligence. You can say they didn't tell you the while truth but you could be blinded by the possible returns to the risks and fees you must incur.
As with all things in life, caveat emptor and due diligence.
touristking
post Feb 18 2019, 11:32 AM

5,828 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 16 2019, 10:28 AM)
Hardly, of course to look for better returns with unit trust funds that could invest overseas where the EPF has until recently not been allowed to go.
Investing overseas. I think that was what Pakatan was calling for. So will we see even less overseas investment under PH government?

chinti
post Feb 18 2019, 04:30 PM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

QUOTE(mistyblu @ Dec 20 2018, 10:24 PM)
Dear learned forumers,

Can a civil servant under pension scheme still do self contribution to EPF while still working (not retired yet)?
And will that self-contribution be eligible for tax relief under life insurance + EPF (max RM6K)?
Hope someone can verify this...

Thanks!
just a note for u, EPF is pretty much useless for civil servant with pension scheme. my dad just retired not long ago wit pension scheme, n they took back all his EPF including the interest and also charge him extra cause he withdrawn some last time
Zackwong6167
post Feb 19 2019, 12:05 AM

52 posts

I worked full time in MnC company. Is it possible to self contribute to EPF as well?
Artus
post Feb 19 2019, 01:06 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(Zackwong6167 @ Feb 19 2019, 12:05 AM)
I worked full time in MnC company. Is it possible to self contribute to EPF as well?
If your employer is already contributing to EPF, then no. Self-contribution is mostly for business owners or those who are self-employed.

Not sure what would happen if you self-contribute. Maybe the system would automatically reject the contribution. Or maybe they would call you to refund the contribution.

thesoothsayer
post Feb 19 2019, 03:07 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Feb 19 2019, 01:06 AM)
If your employer is already contributing to EPF, then no. Self-contribution is mostly for business owners or those who are self-employed.

Not sure what would happen if you self-contribute. Maybe the system would automatically reject the contribution. Or maybe they would call you to refund the contribution.
Can self contribute as top up but the total from your deductions and top up is up to 60k annually.
Artus
post Feb 19 2019, 03:37 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Feb 19 2019, 03:07 AM)
Can self contribute as top up but the total from your deductions and top up is up to 60k annually.
From their website, EPF said there are only 3 classes of people that are allowed to do self-contribution:

http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/member/me...lf-contribution

Like I have said earlier, I have no idea what would happen if a person who is not in those 3 classes made some self-contributions.

thesoothsayer
post Feb 19 2019, 05:23 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Feb 19 2019, 03:37 AM)
From their website, EPF said there are only 3 classes of people that are allowed to do self-contribution:

http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/member/me...lf-contribution

Like I have said earlier, I have no idea what would happen if a person who is not in those 3 classes made some self-contributions.
The act itself says you can give notice to do a higher monthly deduction for EPF.
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/web/kwsp/...epf-act-reports

(3) Without prejudice to the provisions of subsections (1) and (1A), an employer and an employee or either of them may, at any time elect to pay monthly contributions at a rate which exceeds the rate respectively set out in the Third Schedule by one ringgit or a multiple of one ringgit subject to any maximum limit of monthly contributions set out in the Third Schedule.

[Am. Act A1504]

(4) Notice of such election shall be given to the Board in such manner as may be prescribed by the Board and where any such notice has been given, this Act shall, in respect of any employer or employee who has elected as aforesaid, apply as if the rate of contribution which such employer or employee has elected to pay, were the rate respectively set out in the Third Schedule:

Provided that an election cannot be made to take effect retrospectively.
Artus
post Feb 20 2019, 02:28 AM

1,985 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Feb 19 2019, 05:23 AM)
The act itself says you can give notice to do a higher monthly deduction for EPF.
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/web/kwsp/...epf-act-reports
I thought the notice in Form 17A is to increase from 8% to 11%, i.e. 3% higher.

Not sure if can choose to go higher than 3% or not.

thesoothsayer
post Feb 20 2019, 06:42 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Feb 20 2019, 02:28 AM)
I thought the notice in Form 17A is to increase from 8% to 11%, i.e. 3% higher.

Not sure if can choose to go higher than 3% or not.
No. The rate for employee is 11%.
The 8% was a one year thing to help ease the burden of those who need the cash. The extra 3% deduction was for those who didn't want reduce their contributions. It's back to the default 11% now.

38 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:06 AM