Xiaomi Xiaomi Redmi Note 5/5 Pro Discussion Thread, Snapdragon 636.

weirdguy
post Apr 11 2018, 07:58 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(al_madd @ Apr 10 2018, 11:38 PM)
If 1299..better get nokia 7plus
A bit disappointed to hear that it is more than 1.2K
Like you say, if I want to spend so much - might as well go for Nokia 7+. Otherwise, I will just stick to 4GB.

But how this phone Redmi Note 5 Pro compare to A1 ah? I really like a USB-C le!

weirdguy
post Apr 11 2018, 12:58 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(al_madd @ Apr 11 2018, 10:46 AM)
Of course after july.. Hahah.. If you dare to wait lah.. Haha

Somehow use our money wisely..

Nokia 7+ may be can be purchase as low as 1.5k..voucher and shop back
QUOTE(al_madd @ Apr 11 2018, 08:21 AM)
Of course rn5 pro will have advantages, processor, camera

Yes.. Agreed. No usb type c is a deal breakers for me
My suggestion, if nokia 7+ ia expensive, bettee wait mi A1 2018..
QUOTE(abubin @ Apr 11 2018, 12:49 PM)
Nokia 7+ is a bit overpriced. No doubt it has good build quality but it is out of my budget of around RM800-RM1000.
I agreed that Nokia 7+ is pricy and certainly above my budget of RM1000.
Aiyo, I hate to wait for A1 2018 because till then, so many other new phone to compare again. Never ending compare and never ending wait le!

My initial plan is to get a budget phone and use for 1.5 years, before settling on P20 Pro. I couldn't get myself to spend so much 3K eh! But I really want a high-end camera phone. I owned Lumia 1020 on the first day, now 950XL. In between, uses Redmi 3C or 3S something. Don't exactly remember. Photo quality is drastically different. I'm kinda afraid that I couldn't get used to RN5P, either.

Add:
Maybe I just don't care and jumped with P20 without Pro. Lol.

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Apr 11 2018, 01:05 PM
weirdguy
post Apr 21 2018, 09:38 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Apr 21 2018, 07:43 AM)
im not surprised
xiaomi used to use camera called Sonny
Fake? It is a strong word.
I am confuse. IMO, the dual camera has true specs and how it could be fake? Just that its dual camera just naturally wow people first without understanding the true nature of the mechanics behind. I wouldn't quote fake, but I would say the perception and hype is overrated.

I merely glancing through the news. I am neither fanboys and not really Mobile Followers. I'd been reading everyday here because I'm thinking to get RN5 once it debut next week.
weirdguy
post Apr 24 2018, 11:20 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Apr 24 2018, 11:05 AM)
Though asus offering seems to be better, but i dont trust their quality control, xiaomi in this regard are better

Ps: had a zenfone 5(lcd not function), fonepad 7(won't start) and asus laptops (broken as well)
Same here. My opinion.
My brother in law owned a budget laptop from ASUS. The color on the palmrest came off, barely a year. It was either due to my brother in law's issue with his sweat or the laptop's so called built.

Aiyo.. What time is the Product Launching ah? I couldn't wait to receive the official news.

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Apr 24 2018, 11:21 AM
weirdguy
post Apr 29 2018, 09:49 AM

587 posts

Pre-Order @Lazada already show all RM999 Options out of stock. That's fast. I was contemplating whether to spend on much cheaper model like A1 during Lazada Sale, or even discounted 7X. Then wait here and there, think here and there. Bump, Soya Cincau released their Best RM1,200 Budget Phone and not surprisingly, they nominate Redmi Note 5 as their best rounded Budget Phone for 2018. LOL. We are hardly half way through 2018. Haha.

Anyway, that just put me back on track to get Note 5. Yet, all ran out. Oh well, I will just wait again.
weirdguy
post Apr 29 2018, 01:34 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Apr 29 2018, 12:29 PM)
Still can preoder at pysical Mi Store & others premium dealer (mobile2go/directd) but collection start 5th May..
Will see how. I think I will wait out a little bit longer.

weirdguy
post May 9 2018, 01:57 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 9 2018, 09:09 AM)
Congrats to all RN5i owners... Android "P"opcorn is on its way to Mi devices...

[attachmentid=9786707]
RN5i? Redmi Note 5 with i?
What is the i means?
weirdguy
post Jun 12 2018, 02:35 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 12 2018, 01:07 PM)
It's a no brainer bro, RN5 is superior than Mi A1 in EVERYTHING except it is running MIUI and not Pure Android.
I agreed but RN5 also lack the most important Type-C! Super fast-charging!
weirdguy
post Jun 12 2018, 02:49 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 12 2018, 02:39 PM)
Wrong. USB type-c does not equals to fast charging. That is a misconception. RN5 with it's micro-usb do support fast-charging. Just that the charger that comes with the phone is not fast charger.
Oh. That's interesting to know.
My current Type-C is capable for fast charging and I grew to love it, especially my dated phone's battery is dying. Lol.

weirdguy
post Jun 12 2018, 04:05 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Jun 12 2018, 02:53 PM)
Wahlao, 2.5 hr charged 0% to 100% for 4000mah not enough meh~

You want half hour charged from 0% to 100%?

Although I never use the stock charger before, but I read online that stock charger not support fast charge also can charge the battery from 0 to 100 in 2.5 hour.
Fast charge faster a bit, I think is 2.25 hour maybe?

I used my Honor fast charge adapter, I "feel" very fast. I always scare it will blow up.
2.5 Hr is long for a full charge. I do understand you meant 4000mah, that's require longer time for full charge.

I rather it charged fully faster than require longer time to charge. Because if longer time, I will just plug-in and leave it overnight. Some say is not good, but I couldn't wait 2.5 hours for full charge. Yeah, some phone have those feature that auto stop receiving charge, once full charge has been achieved. Is this phone capable of that?

Type-C able to give quick boost. Eg. 30% in 20 minutes. I really like the quick boost feature, once one phone battery is almost dead.

Just sharing my opinion. I may not get the fact correctly, as I just based it on my experience and my everyday.

QUOTE(YAMiDAMi @ Jun 12 2018, 03:39 PM)
RN5 has better screen and battery!
QUOTE(cherries @ Jun 12 2018, 04:04 PM)
GPS work very well , inside my house also can detect GPS.
I used A1 before and got GPS issue.
Very happy with RN5 now, jump from A1
Good to know. Thanks!

I do realize that RN5 is no doubt more superior than A1. Don't get me wrong on this. I absolutely agree.

Sometimes it is not about features but those small small things that affect your everday. Or it could be just the user like me, who reluctantly to get pass. Either way, it is something that I factor-in.

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Jun 12 2018, 04:08 PM
weirdguy
post Jun 16 2018, 04:53 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(terradrgn @ Jun 15 2018, 05:58 PM)
Oh, that's a bummer.
Then your best bet is ZEROGST12 for 12% discount. still in the RM780~ range .
Doesn't ship to Miri, Sarawak! What the~

0.0922sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:01 PM